Are we approaching the end of time?

Thirty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Daniel 12:1 - 3

In those days, I Daniel, heard this word of the Lord: "At that time there shall arise Michael, the great prince, guardian of your people; it shall be a time unsurpassed in distress since nations began until that time. At that time your people shall escape, everyone who is found written in the book. "Many of those who sleep in the dust of the earth shall awake; some shall live forever, others shall be an everlasting horror and disgrace. "But the wise shall shine brightly like the splendor of the firmament, and those who lead the many to justice shall be like the stars forever."

Hebrews 10:11 - 14, 18

Brothers and sisters: Every priest stands daily at his ministry, offering frequently those same sacrifices that can never take away sins. But this one offered one sacrifice for sins, and took his seat forever at the right hand of God; now he waits until his enemies are made his footstool. For by one offering he has made perfect forever those who are being consecrated. Where there is forgiveness of these, there is no longer offering for sin.

Mark 13:24 - 32

Jesus said to his disciples: "In those days after that tribulation the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light, and the stars will be falling from the sky, and the powers in the heavens will be shaken. "And then they will see 'the Son of Man coming in the clouds' with great power and glory, and then he will send out the angels and gather his elect from the four winds, from the end of the earth to the end of the sky. "Learn a lesson from the fig tree. When its branch becomes tender and sprouts leaves, you know that summer is near. In the same way, when you see these things happening, know that he is near, at the gates. Amen, I say to you, this generation will not pass away until all these things have taken place. Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away. "But of that day or hour, no one knows, neither the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father."

This Sunday’s Gospel Reading is a very interesting passage in which Jesus spoke to his disciples about the end of time. With the increasing frequency and severity of the natural disasters in the recent past, people see these unusual phenomena as a sign of the end of the world although scientists have concluded that the real reason is that we have not been taking good care of the environment. We have in fact been exploiting the planet on which we live. This has become a topic of conversation and even concern to a lot of people, whether or not they have a religious belief. People have started making predictions about the end of the world and when it would happen. Indeed, Jesus told us that all these – wars, earthquakes, famines, sufferings, family rising against one another, people rising against people (Mark 13:7-8, 12) – would happen before the end of time. He said “when you see these things taking place, you know that he is near” (Mark 13:29). When we look around, what Jesus said seems to be happening now.

As we can see, despite all the abuses we human beings have collectively done to the earth and to each other, none of the predictions about the end of the world have come true. The people who make such predictions claim to know the future. But they don’t really know because Jesus said “But about that day or hour no one knows …. But only the Father” (Mark 13:32)

At the end of time, the Son of Man will come again “with great power and glory” (Mark 13:26) to judge the living and the dead. When that happens, we want to be among the elect that the Son of Man will send his Angels to gather “from the ends of the earth to the ends of heaven”. (Mark 13:27) How may we merit to be counted among the elect? Luke 21:36 tells us how: “Be alert at all times, praying that you may be able to stand before the Son of Man”. We must watch our lives to make sure that we live by the words of Jesus that He promised would not pass away. (Mark 13:31) If we live out the Gospels, if we live according to the teachings of the Church, then we have no fear and may look forward to the end of time with faith and hope.

Meanwhile as we wait in joyful hope for Jesus’ coming in glory, it is quite inevitable that we will have to endure sufferings one way or the other in this world of calamities. Jesus told us that our earthly journey will be so. When we need consolation and grace to see us through our difficult journey in life, we know that Jesus will not forsake us. Let us be reminded of our Lord’s endless mercy and compassion for us in these uplifting verses from the beautiful Chinese hymn “Praise to the Lord’s Benevolence”

“He has not promised that the sky will always be blue,
He has not promised that flowers will always be in bloom,
But He has promised that He will always be benevolent”
Posted: November 15, 2015

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Word of God Is Love Not Violence
Just as Isaiah’s nakedness doesn’t make him a flasher; Jesus’ destructive act doesn’t make him a violent person. Continue Reading >
To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Seeing Into the Future
Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise. Continue Reading >

時間是否快要終結?

常年期第三十三主日

達尼爾先知書 12:1-3

我,達尼爾,聽到上主這樣說:那時候,保佑你國家和子民的偉大護守天使彌額爾,必要起來;那將是一個災難的時期,是自開國以來,直到那時,從未有過的;那時,你的人民,凡冊上有名的,都必得救。許多長眠於塵土的人,要醒來:有的要進入永生,有的要永遠蒙羞受辱。賢明之士,要發光,有如穹蒼的光輝;那些引導許多人歸於正義的人,要永遠發光,如同星辰。

希伯來書 10:11-14,18

每一位司祭,都天天侍立,執行敬禮,並屢次奉獻,那些總不能除去罪惡的同樣犧牲;但是,基督只奉獻了一次贖罪的犧牲,以後便永遠坐在天主右邊,從今以後,只等待將他的仇人,變作他腳下的踏板。因為,他只藉一次奉獻,就永遠使被聖化的人,得以成全。如果這些罪已經赦了,也就不再需要贖罪的祭獻了。

馬爾谷福音 13:24-32

那時候,耶穌向門徒說:「在那些日子裡,在那災難以後,太陽將要昏暗;月亮不再發光;星辰要從天上墜下;天上的萬象也要動搖。「那時,人要看見人子,帶著大威能和光榮,乘雲降來。那時,人子要派遣天使,由四方,從地極到天邊,聚集他所召選的人。「你們應由無花果樹,取個比喻:幾時它的枝條,已經發芽,生出嫩葉,你們就知道夏天近了。同樣,你們幾時看見,這些事發生了,就該知道:人子已近在門口了。「我實在告訴你們:非到這一切發生了,這一世代,決不會過去。天地要過去,但是,我的話決不會過去。「至於那日子或那時刻,除了父以外,誰也不知道,連天上的天使和子,都不知道。」

這個主日讀經是一篇很有意思的經文,講述耶穌對祂的門徒說及時間的終結。近來,天災愈來愈多和愈來愈嚴重,人看見這些不尋常的現象,便認為是世界末日的徵兆,雖然科學家告訴我們真正原因是我們沒有好好照顧環境。但事實上,我們亦一直在自私地消耗着我們所居住的地球。無論是否有宗教信仰, 世界末日已成為很多人的話題,甚至是擔心的事情。有人開始預測甚麼時候世界會終結。耶穌告訴我們,在末世之前會有戰爭,地震,饑荒,苦痛,家人民族會互相攻擊。(谷 13:7-8, 12) 祂說:「當你們看見這些事發生時,就該知道:人子已近在門前」 (谷 13:29) 若我們環顧四周,耶穌說的事情好像已發生了。

雖然我們人類沒有愛惜地球,我們互相攻擊,但所有世界末日的預測,沒有一個成真。作預測的人聲稱可以預知未來,但他們其實不可能預知,因為耶穌曾說過:「至於那日子和時間,只有父知道。」 (谷 13:32)

在時間的終結,人子會「帶着威能和光榮」而來審判生者死者。 (谷 13:26) 那時候,我們要是祂的選民,我們要是祂 「派遣天使從四方八面,由地極到天邊」 所聚集的選民 。(谷 13:27) 我們要怎樣,要有甚麼功勞,才配為人子的選民?聖路加告訴我們怎樣做:「你們應當時時醒寤祈禱 … 為使你們能立於人子之前。」(路 21:36) 我們一定要警覺,做好自己,要求自己按照耶穌的說話去生活,耶穌應承我們祂的話 「永不過去」。 (谷 13:31) 如果我們活出福音的精神,按照教會的教導去生活,那麼我們便不必害怕,而能懷着信德和希望來期待末日的來臨。

我們在歡喜希望中等候耶穌光榮的來臨,但在這紛亂之世,遭受痛苦實在難免。耶穌告訴我們,人世間的旅程就是這樣。在崎嶇的人生路繼續前行, 當我們需要安慰和恩寵時,我們知道耶穌絕不會離棄我們。讓《主慈頌》以下振奮人心的歌詞提醒自己,上主對我們的無限慈悲和憐憫:

「祂未曾應許天常蔚藍
祂未曾應許花兒常開
祂卻恩許祂的慈愛常在」

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

天主永遠常存 吳智勳神父

今天的福音讀經是馬爾谷記載耶穌最後的一篇講道。在這篇講道中,耶穌預言耶路撒冷城的毀滅、世界窮盡與及勸誡世人要時時醒寤。耶穌這篇講道與祂平日所談的主題明顯地不同,聖經學家對這類型的講論統稱為默示神學。

繼續閱讀 >