As it was in the beginning, is now and will be forever and ever

Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Genesis 2:18 - 24

The LORD God said: "It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a suitable partner for him." So the LORD God formed out of the ground various wild animals and various birds of the air, and he brought them to the man to see what he would call them; whatever the man called each of them would be its name. The man gave names to all the cattle, all the birds of the air, and all wild animals; but none proved to be the suitable partner for the man. So the LORD God cast a deep sleep on the man, and while he was asleep, he took out one of his ribs and closed up its place with flesh. The LORD God then built up into a woman the rib that he had taken from the man. When he brought her to the man, the man said: "This one, at last, is bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; this one shall be called 'woman, ' for out of 'her man’ this one has been taken." That is why a man leaves his father and mother and clings to his wife, and the two of them become one flesh.

Hebrews 2:9 - 11

Brothers and sisters: He "for a little while" was made "lower than the angels, " that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone. For it was fitting that he, for whom and through whom all things exist, in bringing many children to glory, should make the leader to their salvation perfect through suffering. He who consecrates and those who are being consecrated all have one origin. Therefore, he is not ashamed to call them “brothers.”

Mark 10:2 - 16

The Pharisees approached Jesus and asked, "Is it lawful for a husband to divorce his wife?" They were testing him. He said to them in reply, "What did Moses command you?" They replied, "Moses permitted a husband to write a bill of divorce and dismiss her." But Jesus told them, "Because of the hardness of your hearts he wrote you this commandment. But from the beginning of creation, God made them male and female. For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh. So they are no longer two but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, no human being must separate." In the house the disciples again questioned Jesus about this. He said to them, "Whoever divorces his wife and marries another commits adultery against her; and if she divorces her husband and marries another, she commits adultery." And people were bringing children to him that he might touch them, but the disciples rebuked them. When Jesus saw this he became indignant and said to them, "Let the children come to me; do not prevent them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Amen, I say to you, whoever does not accept the kingdom of God like a child will not enter it." Then he embraced them and blessed them, placing his hands on them.

The self-existence of our Triune God is often extolled in our prayers of adoration and praise – “. . . as it was in the beginning, is now and will be forever and ever”. With no beginning and no end, God is eternally present; transcending time, space and matter (rf Ex 3:14, Ps 90:2, Is 46:9-10, Rev 1:8). And because He transcends all things, God’s plan is also eternal, encompassing all that He has predestined to occur (Is 14:26-27, Rm 8:28-30). This Sunday’s readings enable us to recapture God’s eternal plan for marriage . . .

. . . as it was in the beginning

The well-known proverb “Well begun is half done” needs no further elaboration. This week’s first reading depicts the beginning of God’s creative work. It is well begun and is ALL done. Creation is completed with the creation of a man and a woman and God “looked at everything He had made, and found it very good” (Gen 1:31). So the man and the woman are very good in God’s eyes; for out of His love, they are created in His image and likeness (rf Gen 1:26). Created for one another, “their mutual love becomes an image of the absolute and unfailing love with which God loves man” (CCC1604). They are also bestowed with blessings and supernatural gifts to carry out God’s plan, “Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth and subdue it” (Gn 1:28). So God is the author of marriage and He endows it with its own proper laws (rf CCC 1603).

. . . is now

In the Gospel Reading, we have a glimpse of how the dignity and sacredness of marriage has eroded over time. Even in Moses’ time, divorce has already set foot in the unbreakable union of the two lives who were once one flesh (rf Gen 2:24). The original communion between man and woman as in the Creator’s plan has been distorted, not from the nature of man and woman but from sin (rf CCC 1607). The consequence of sin not only brings in the “sting of death” (1 Cor 15:56) but also the disorder of the relationship between man and woman, manifested itself in “discord, a spirit of domination, infidelity, jealousy and conflicts that can escalate into hatred and separation” (CCC 1606). Needless to say, down the centuries, many different expressions of the marital bond (for example free union, trial marriage or cohabitation etc.) which God originally established have watered down the perpetual and exclusive covenantal nature of marriage. Yet despite turmoil and disruptions, God’s plan for marriage remains unchanged. Realizing in those who are faithful to their commitment of marriage, God’s plan continues to progress among His peoples.

. . . will be forever and ever

Jesus cleverly turns the Pharisees’ test of the controversial issue of divorce into a teaching that antedated even that of Moses. Not only does He seal the indissolubility and fidelity of marriage with His own authority, “let no one separate what God has joined” (Mk 10:9), He also reminds us of the beautiful vocation of man and woman that is in God’s creation plan. And He Himself raises the matrimonial covenant between a man and a woman to the dignity of a sacrament (rf CCC 1601) by signifying it as the union of Christ and His Church (rf Eph 5:23-25), an efficacious sign that communicates grace and blessings (rf CCC 1617). Spousal union is but a reflection of the nuptial covenant between God and His people (rf Is 54:5; 62:45, Hosea 2:14-23, Eze 16:8, Mal 2:14). “The covenant between the spouses is integrated into God’s covenant with man. Authentic married love is caught up into divine love” (CCC 1639).

Throughout the Holy Scripture – from the creation of man and woman in the beginning to the conclusion of the “wedding feast of the Lamb (Rev 19:7, 9) – the significance of marriage, its institution and meaning, its origin and end, its various realizations throughout the history of salvation, are all within the eternal plan of God. By the incarnation of the Son of God and His giving of His life, Christ has restored “the original order of creation disturbed by sin, He Himself gives strength and grace to live marriage in the new dimension of the Reign of God. It is by following Christ, renouncing themselves and taking up their crosses that spouses will be able to receive the original meaning of marriage and live it with the help of Christ” (CCC 1615), as it was in the beginning, is now and will be forever and ever. Amen.

Posted: October 7, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Companions on the Journey
Christ comes to offer his heart to us first so that we may have the courage to journey with him and let “the will of the Lord [...] prosper” (Is… Continue Reading >
His disciples “said to one another, ‘Then who can be saved?’”
Jesus said, “For humans it is impossible, but not for God; for God all things are possible” (Mark 10:26-27) Continue Reading >
As it was in the beginning, is now and will be forever and ever
God's eternal plan encompasses all that He has predestined to occur Continue Reading >

起初如何,今日亦然,直到永遠

常年期第二十七主日

創世紀 2:18-24

上主天主說:「人單獨不好,我要給他造個與他相稱的助手。」 上主天主用塵土,造了各種野獸,及天空中的各種飛鳥,都引到人面前,看人怎樣起名;凡人給生物起的名字,就成了那生物的名字。人於是給各種畜牲、天空中各種飛鳥,和各種野獸,起了名字;但人沒有找到一個與自己相稱的助手。 上主天主於是使人熟睡,當人睡著了,就取出了他的一根肋骨,再用肉補滿原處。然後,上主天主用那由人取來的肋骨,形成了一個女人,引她到人面前。 人於是說:「這才真是我的骨中之骨,肉中之肉,她應稱為『女人』,因為是由男人取出的。」 為此,人應離開自己的父母,依附自己的妻子,兩人成為一體。

希伯來書 2:9-11

弟兄姊妹們: 我們看見了那位「稍微遜於天使」的耶穌,因所受死亡之苦,接受了尊崇和光榮的冠冕;這原是出於天主的恩寵,使他為每個人嘗到死味。 其實,這是適當的:那為萬物終向,及萬物根源的天主,要藉苦難,來成全那領導眾子進入光榮,並拯救眾子的首領。因為祝聖者與被祝聖者,都是出於一源;為這個原故,耶穌稱眾人為弟兄,並不以為恥。

馬爾谷福音 10:2-16

那時候,有些法利塞人前來問耶穌:許不許丈夫休妻?意思是要試探他。 耶穌回答他們說:「梅瑟吩咐了你們什麼?」 他們說:「梅瑟准許了寫休書休妻。」 耶穌對他們說:「這是因為你們心硬,梅瑟才給你們寫下了這條法令。但是,從創造之初,天主造了他們一男一女。為此,人要離開他的父母,依附自己的妻子,兩人成為一體,以致他們不再是兩個,而是一體了。所以,天主所結合的,人不可拆散。」 回到家裡,門徒又問耶穌這事。耶穌對他們說:「誰若休自己的妻子,而另娶,就是犯姦淫,辜負妻子;若妻子離棄自己的丈夫,而另嫁,也是犯姦淫。」 有人帶一些小孩子來見耶穌,要耶穌撫摸他們;門徒卻斥責他們。耶穌見了,就生氣,對門徒說:「讓小孩子到我跟前來,不要阻止他們!因為天主的國,正屬於這樣的人。我實在告訴你們:誰若不像小孩子一樣,接受天主的國,決不能進去。」 耶穌於是抱起小孩子來,給他們覆手,祝福了他們。

在我們祈禱欽崇和讚美那位自有的,三位一體的天主時,經常會這樣頌讚 「. . . 起初如何,今日亦然,直到永遠」。 沒有開始也沒有終結,天主永遠存在; 超越時間,空間和物質(参 出 3: 14,詠 90:2,依 46:9-10,默 1:8)。 因為祂超越萬物,天主的計劃也是永恆的,當中包括一切祂已預定要發生的事(依14:26-27,羅 8:28-30)。 這個主日的讀經使我們能夠重温天主所訂下婚姻這永恆的計劃 . . .

⋯ 起初如何

那耳熟能詳的格言「好的開始是成功的一半」,相信毋須多作解釋了。 本週的讀經一描繪了天主創世工程的開始。 一個好的開始,然後一切都完成了。造了一男一女之後,創世就完成了, 天主「看了他所造的一切,認為樣樣都很好」(創 1:31)。 所以在天主眼中,那男人和女人都是很美好的; 因為出自祂的愛,他們是按照祂的肖像和模樣造的(参創 1:26)。 男女是為了對方而受造的,「他們互相的愛情成為反映天主對人類絕對和永恆之愛的肖像」(天主教教理 1604)。 天主亦賜予他們祝福和超凡的恩典來執行衪的計劃,「你們要生育繁殖,充滿大地,治理大地」(創 1:28)。 因此,天主是婚姻的締造者,並且由祂賦予固有的法則(参 天主教教理 1603)。

. . . 今日亦然

在福音讀經中,我們可以看到婚姻的尊嚴和神聖如何隨著時間的消逝而受到侵蝕。原本牢不可破,二人成為一體的結合,即使在梅瑟時代,已經被離婚破壞了 (参 創 2:24)。在造物主計劃中,男人女人之間的共融被扭曲了。這不是來自男人和女人的本性,而是來自罪惡(参 天主教教理1607)。罪的後果不僅帶來了「死亡的刺」(格前 15:56),更擾亂了男女關係的秩序,產生了「紛爭、支配慾、不忠、嫉妒和衝突,逐漸導致仇恨和決裂」(天主教教理 1606)。不用說,長久以來,天主最初建立的婚姻結合, 都被一些類似婚姻的名義(例如自由結合、試婚或同居等)淡化了原本應為永遠專一的只屬於二人的婚姻盟約。幸而,儘管動盪和破壞,天主的婚姻計劃並未有變,仍能在那些忠於婚姻承諾的人身上實現。天主的計劃在祂的子民中繼續進展。

. . . 直到永遠

當法利賽人將具爭議性的離婚問題來考驗耶穌時, 祂巧妙地將這問題轉為一個比梅瑟還要早的教導。 祂不僅用祂自己的權威來肯定婚姻是永續和忠誠的,「天主所結合的,人不可拆散」(谷10:9),也提醒我們在天主創世計劃內,男和女的結合是美好的聖召。耶穌祂自己更將一男一女之間的婚姻盟約提升到聖事的尊位(参天主教教理1601),並以婚姻來象徵基督和祂教會的結合(參 弗 5:23-25),一個通傳恩寵和祝福有效的標記(參 天主教教理1617)。 配偶間的盟約是反映天主與祂子民之間的婚約(参 依 54:5; 62:45,歐 2:14-23,則 16:8,拉 2:14)。 「夫婦的盟約融入天主與人類建立的盟約中, 真正的夫妻之愛歸宗於天主的愛」(天主教教理 1639)。

在聖經中 — 從開始創造男女到最後的「羔羊婚宴」(默 19:7,9) — 都强調着婚姻的重要性,其制度和意義,起源和結局, 在救恩史中的各種實現,都是在天主永恆的計劃之內。 藉著天主聖子降生成人和獻出自己的生命,基督已經恢復了「受造界被罪惡所擾亂的原有秩序,親自賦予人力量和恩寵,好能在天主國的新幅度中度婚姻生活。夫婦藉著追隨基督、犧牲自我和背負自己的十字架, 才能「領悟」婚姻的本義,並在基督的助佑下,把它生活出來」(天主教教理 1615),就如 起初如何,今日亦然,直到永遠。阿孟。

Posted: October 7, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年常年期廿七主日:男女地位平等 吳智勳神父

今日的福音明顯地論男女的結合,特別強調婚姻不可拆散。這種講法,基督徒已是耳熟能詳了,我們現在則以婦女的地位,作為今天反省的主題。  從前,在猶太社會中,婦女地位低微。在統計人數時,女人與小孩都不算在內。例如:舊約以色列人出埃及,只算男子六十萬;新約五餅二魚的奇蹟,只統計男子有五千。可見這是猶太人的風俗,但聖經的啟示,並沒有輕視婦女的地位。

繼續閱讀 >