Does Jesus Honor His Mother?

Tenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Genesis 3:9-15

After the man, Adam, had eaten of the tree, the LORD God called to the man and asked him, "Where are you?" He answered, "I heard you in the garden; but I was afraid, because I was naked, so I hid myself." Then he asked, "Who told you that you were naked? You have eaten, then, from the tree of which I had forbidden you to eat!" The man replied, "The woman whom you put here with me— she gave me fruit from the tree, and so I ate it." The LORD God then asked the woman, "Why did you do such a thing?" The woman answered, "The serpent tricked me into it, so I ate it." Then the LORD God said to the serpent: "Because you have done this, you shall be banned from all the animals and from all the wild creatures; on your belly shall you crawl, and dirt shall you eat all the days of your life. I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will strike at your head, while you strike at his heel."

2 Corinthians 4:13-5:1

Brothers and sisters: Since we have the same spirit of faith, according to what is written, I believed, therefore I spoke, we too believe and therefore we speak, knowing that the one who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus and place us with you in his presence. Everything indeed is for you, so that the grace bestowed in abundance on more and more people may cause the thanksgiving to overflow for the glory of God. Therefore, we are not discouraged; rather, although our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this momentary light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to what is seen but to what is unseen; for what is seen is transitory, but what is unseen is eternal. For we know that if our earthly dwelling, a tent, should be destroyed, we have a building from God, a dwelling not made with hands, eternal in heaven.

Mark 3:20-35

Jesus came home with his disciples. Again the crowd gathered, making it impossible for them even to eat. When his relatives heard of this they set out to seize him, for they said, "He is out of his mind." The scribes who had come from Jerusalem said, "He is possessed by Beelzebul," and "By the prince of demons he drives out demons." Summoning them, he began to speak to them in parables, "How can Satan drive out Satan? If a kingdom is divided against itself, that kingdom cannot stand. And if a house is divided against itself, that house will not be able to stand. And if Satan has risen up against himself and is divided, he cannot stand; that is the end of him. But no one can enter a strong man's house to plunder his property unless he first ties up the strong man. Then he can plunder the house. Amen, I say to you, all sins and all blasphemies that people utter will be forgiven them. But whoever blasphemes against the Holy Spirit will never have forgiveness, but is guilty of an everlasting sin." For they had said, "He has an unclean spirit." His mother and his brothers arrived. Standing outside they sent word to him and called him. A crowd seated around him told him, "Your mother and your brothers and your sisters are outside asking for you." But he said to them in reply, "Who are my mother and my brothers?" And looking around at those seated in the circle he said, "Here are my mother and my brothers. For whoever does the will of God is my brother and sister and mother."

One can’t say Jesus is very respectful of his mother in this Sunday’s gospel. When told his mother and siblings are outside asking for him, Jesus’ response, as quoted by Mark, is: “Who are my mother and my brothers?… For whoever does the will of God is my brother and sister and mother.” This sounds more like a rebuke than an affectionate welcome for his mother and relatives. Has Jesus forgotten the 4th commandment – honor thy father and thy mother? Could this be a sin committed by Jesus, who is supposedly sinless? Let’s reflect a little more before rushing into such a conclusion.

Put under the microscope in the first reading is Adam and Eve’s violation of God’s command not to eat from the tree of knowledge of good and bad (Gn 2:16-17). The consequence of our first parents’ disobedience is immediate and catastrophic: their nakedness, for which they have “felt no shame” before the violation suddenly makes them feel unsafe (Gn 2:25). But how is this catastrophic? Doesn’t everyone feel unsafe when naked? Hang on. There’s something more to this problem than meets the eye. Hidden underneath Adam’s seemingly harmless feeling of vulnerability is a devastating reality that necessitates God’s immediate action.

“I was afraid, because I was naked, so I hid myself,” Adam explains on God’s probing (Gn 3:9-10). When does a man feel like he needs to hide from God’s piercing eyes? You guessed it: when he is living in a state of grave sin. Such is the state that Adam and Eve find themselves in after disobeying God’s command. Since true happiness can only be found in God, our first parents can’t possibly be happy when they don’t want to be near God. In fact, there’s a place that is so far removed from God that His presence absolutely cannot be felt. It is called “hell”. When they choose not to follow God’s way; when they intentionally avoid God, desiring not to dwell in His abode of eternal happiness; hell is the only dwelling place left for them. Clearly, humanity is in dire straits after Adam and Eve’s fall from grace.

But God, who is loving and merciful, does not want the human race to fall away from Him forever. As a result, He announces His redemptive plan as soon as the first sinful act of our first parents is committed. To the serpent – identified later as “the Devil and Satan” by John (Rev 12:9) – He pronounces His judgement: “I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will strike at your head, while you strike at his heel” (Gn 3:15). This passage is what the Christian tradition has always referred to as “the first Gospel” or Protoevangelium, because we see in this ancient event a prophetic announcement of Jesus’ redemption which will crush Satan’s head and save us from eternal damnation (CCC410).

Note that apart from the Savior, whose job it is to crush Satan’s head; strategically placed in this confrontation between the good and the evil forces is “the woman” whom the Church traditionally understands as Mary since it’s her offspring, Jesus, that will strike at Satan’s head (CCC411, LG55). Her pivotal appearance in “the first Gospel”, just as the indispensable role she plays in the actual Gospel, is rich in meaning for many reasons, including her restoration of Eve’s mishaps, her immaculate conception, her singular mission as the Co-operatrix of our Lord in the salvation of mankind, etc. (CCC 411, 968). But for the purposes of this reflection, let’s focus on just one important reason: her obedience of faith.

Why is “the woman” – Mary – present in this decisive and monumental struggle between the forces of good and evil? She is there because she agrees to with the obedience of faith. When asked to play a pivotal role in God’s plan of salvation, Mary’s response is affirmative: “Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord; let it be to me according to your word” (Lk 1:38). Her “yes” made God’s plan possible; her “yes” gave the Son the body that he needed for his sacrificial offering and made it possible for the Son to do the Father’s will (c.f. Heb 10:5-7, Redemptoris Mater n.13). Mary is “full of grace” because she believed – “And blessed is she who believed that there would be a fulfillment of what was spoken to her from the Lord” (Lk 1:28, 45).

Now back to this Sunday’s Gospel reading that has planted so much doubt in our heads. The crowd feels obliged to announce Mary’s arrival out of respect for her identity as Jesus’ mother. Far from being a rebuke of his mother, Jesus’ reply on hearing the announcement is a strong endorsement of her supreme honors and privileges, reminding the crowd – and the world – that Mary deserves our utmost respect not so much because she is his mother, but because she believed and obeyed the word of God. Mary’s obedience reversed the disobedience of Eve; her belief untied the knot created by Eve’s unbelief. “For whoever does the will of God is my brother and sister and mother”, our Lord insists (Mk 3:35).

Posted: June 10, 2018

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

His disciples “said to one another, ‘Then who can be saved?’”
Jesus said, “For humans it is impossible, but not for God; for God all things are possible” (Mark 10:26-27) Continue Reading >
As it was in the beginning, is now and will be forever and ever
God's eternal plan encompasses all that He has predestined to occur Continue Reading >
The flow of grace
Whatever is good, true, and beautiful in culture, society or other religions is, indirectly related to Christ and thus should not be suppressed or despised Continue Reading >

耶穌孝敬祂的母親嗎?

常年期第十主日

創世紀 3:9-15

亞當吃了知善惡樹的果子後,上主天主呼喚亞當,對他說:「你在那裡?」亞當回答說:「我在樂園裡,聽到了你的聲音,就害怕,因為我赤身露體,便躲藏起來。」天主說:「誰告訴了你,赤身露體?莫非你吃了我禁止你吃的果子嗎?」亞當說:「是你給我作伴的那個女人,給了我那樹上的果子,我才吃了。」上主天主於是對女人說:「你為什麼做了這事?」女人回答說:「是蛇哄騙了我,我才吃了。」上主天主對蛇說:「因你做了這事,你在一切畜牲和野獸中,是可咒罵的;你要用肚子爬行,畢生日日吃土。我要把仇恨放在你和女人,你的後裔,和她的後裔之間。她的後裔要踏碎你的頭顱;你要傷害他的腳跟。」

格林多後書 4:13-5:1

弟兄姊妹們:我們既然具有經上所載的:「我信了,所以我說」那同樣的信心,我們也信,所以也說,因為我們知道,那使主耶穌復活的,也要使我們與耶穌一起復活,並使我們與你們一起,站在他面前。其實,這一切都是為了你們,為使獲得恩寵的人越增多,感謝也越增加,好歸光榮於天主。為此,我們決不膽怯;縱使我們外在的人,日漸損壞,但我們內在的人,卻日日更新,因為我們現時輕微的苦難,正無可比擬地,給我們造就永遠的光榮賞報;因為,我們所注目的,不是那看得見的,而是那看不見的;那看得見的,原是暫時的;那看不見的,才是永遠的。因為我們知道:如果我們這地上帳棚式的寓所,拆毀了,我們必由天主,獲得一所房舍,一所非人手所造,而是永遠在天上的寓所。

馬爾谷福音 3:20-35

耶穌到了家裡,群眾又聚集起來,以致他們連飯都不能吃。耶穌家裡的人,聽見有人說:「他瘋了!」便出來要抓住耶穌。有些從耶路撒冷下來的經師說:「他附有貝耳則步。」又說:「他賴魔王驅魔。」耶穌於是把經師叫來,用比喻向他們說:「撒旦怎能驅逐撒旦呢?如果一個國家自相紛爭,那國家就不能存立;如果一個家庭自相紛爭,那家庭也將不能存立。如果撒旦起來自相攻擊紛爭,也就不能存立,必要滅亡。沒有人能進入壯士的家,搶劫他的家具,除非先把那壯士捆綁起來,然後才可搶劫他的家。「我實在告訴你們:世人的一切罪惡,連所說的任何褻瀆的話,都可得赦免;但誰如果褻瀆了聖神,就永遠不得赦免,而且要永遠背負罪債。」耶穌說這話,是因為他們說:「他附有邪魔。」耶穌的母親和耶穌的兄弟來了,站在外邊,派人去叫耶穌。那時,群眾正圍著耶穌坐著,有人對耶穌說:「看,你的母親和你的兄弟,在外邊找你。」耶穌回答他們說:「誰是我的母親和我的兄弟?」於是環視坐在他周圍的人,說:「看,我的母親和我的兄弟!凡奉行天主旨意的人,就是我的兄弟、姊妹和母親。」

從這個主日的福音讀經來看,似乎耶穌不大尊重祂的母親。當人告知耶穌祂母親和兄弟在外面要求見祂時,按馬爾谷,祂的回應是:「誰是我的母親和我的兄弟?…..因為誰奉行天主的旨意,他就是我的兄弟、姊妹和母親」。聽起來耶穌好像拒人千里,沒有親切歡迎母親和家人。耶穌是否忘記了十誡中的第四誡─當孝敬父母?雖然説耶穌不會有罪,但祂這反應是否犯了罪?我們先別倉猝下結論,先探討一下。

今天的讀經一將原祖亞當和厄娃違背天主的命令,吃了知善惡樹上的果子一事放在顯微鏡下細看(創2:16-17)。我們的原祖父母不服從天主命令的後果是即時和災難性的:在犯錯前,他們赤身露體,「並不害羞」,但現在他們卻突然感到不安(創2:25)。但為甚麼說這是災難性?每個人赤身露體時,不是都會覺得不安嗎?請讀下去。這是表面,内裡有更深層次的問題。亞當的脆弱,看來沒有什麼害處,其實裡面卻出現了一些極壞的問題,需要天主立即採取行動。

當天主查問亞當時,他這樣向天主解釋:「我害怕,因為我赤身裸體,所以我藏了起來」(創3:9-10)。人在甚麼時候會覺得他需要躲避天主鋭利的眼光?你猜對了:當他生活在重罪中時。這就是亞當和厄娃在違背天主命令之後所處的狀態。由於真正的幸福只能在天主内得到,當原祖不想靠近天主時,他們是不可能快樂的。事實上,有一個地方離開天主極遠,甚至連祂的存在也絕對不能感覺得到。那地方稱為「地獄」。當人選擇不遵循天主的道路時;當人故意迴避天主,不欲棲身於祂永遠幸福的居所時;地獄是他唯一的歸宿。很明顯,當原祖父母失去天主的恩寵之後,人類便處於極大的危機中。

但天主慈愛憐憫,不希望人永遠離開祂。結果在我們的原祖父母第一次犯罪的同時,天主立刻宣佈祂的救贖計劃。祂對這條蛇 – 後來若望指證它就是「魔鬼或撒殫」(默12:9)- 宣佈判決:「我要把仇恨放在你和女人,你的後裔和她的後裔之間,她的後裔要踏碎你的頭顱,你要傷害他的腳跟」(創 3:15)。這段話在基督信仰傳統上一直被稱為「原始福音」或Protoevangelium,因為在這個古老的故事中,我們看到上主的預告,宣佈耶穌的救贖會踏碎撒殫的頭顱並拯救我們於地獄永罰(天主教教理410)。

請注意,除了救世主會踏碎撒殫的頭外;在這善與惡的對抗中,有一個「女人」被巧妙地安排於其中。教會傳統一向認為這「女人」是聖母瑪利亞,因為是她的後代,耶穌,會攻擊撒殫的頭(天主教教理411,《教會》憲章55)。她在「原始福音」中的關鍵角色,就像她在新約福音中的角色一樣,是不可或缺的,因為種種原因,她的角色充滿涵意,包括她修復了厄娃所犯的錯、她的無玷始胎、她在天主救世計劃中,與天主無與倫比地配合的獨特使命等(天主教教理 411, 968)。但在這裡,我們只強調一個重要的原因:她出於信德的服從。

為什麼這「女人」─聖母瑪利亞─會出現在這場有決定性和激烈的善與惡的爭鬥中?她出現是因為她出於信德的順從。當她被要求在天主的拯救計劃中擔綱關鍵性的角色時,瑪利亞的回答非常肯定:「看,上主的婢女,願照你的話成就於我吧!」(路1:38)。她的應允讓天主的計劃成為可能;她的應允給聖子一個用來做祭獻的身體,使聖子能夠承行聖父的旨意(參看希10:5-7,《救世主之母》通諭 n.13)。聖母「充滿恩寵」是因為她相信,而「那信了由上主傳於她的話必要完成的,是有福的」(路1:28, 45)。

現在回到這個主日令我們感到困惑的福音讀經。由於尊重她作為耶穌母親的身份,人們覺得有必要宣告聖母瑪利亞的到來。而耶穌的反應絕不是譴責祂的母親,祂的回答肯定了她至高無上的榮譽和特殊地位,祂提醒群衆 – 和世界 – 聖母值得我們極度的尊敬,並不因為她是祂的母親, 而是因為她相信並服從天主的聖言。聖母瑪利亞的服從扭轉了厄娃的不服從;她的堅信解開了因厄娃的不信所形成的死結。主耶穌堅持地說:「因為誰奉行天主的旨意,他就是我的兄弟、姊妹和母親」(谷3:35)。

Posted: June 10, 2018

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

「主快來了」(斐 4:5)
要歡欣,喜樂;要寛仁和謙虛 繼續閱讀 >
丙年將臨期第三主日: 我們該做甚麼?
路加福音是一部很重視社會問題的福音,特別關心貧窮的人,常常透露天主不會捨棄他們。今天問問題的三批人,都是邊緣人物,他們沒有社會地位,甚至受人鄙視,但福音就偏偏把他們記了下來。至於其他重要人物問了甚麼,福音倒沒有興趣記載。 繼續閱讀 >
救恩史就是人類歷史
讓我們以廣角的目光閱讀聖經,不要將其故事與我們現今世代和我們現處的世界分開 繼續閱讀 >