Faith is a gift, an immense privilege of belief

Twenty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 22:19-23

Thus says the LORD to Shebna, master of the palace: "I will thrust you from your office and pull you down from your station. On that day I will summon my servant Eliakim, son of Hilkiah; I will clothe him with your robe, and gird him with your sash, and give over to him your authority. He shall be a father to the inhabitants of Jerusalem, and to the house of Judah. I will place the key of the House of David on Eliakim's shoulder; when he opens, no one shall shut when he shuts, no one shall open. I will fix him like a peg in a sure spot, to be a place of honor for his family."

Romans 11:33-36

Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God! How inscrutable are his judgments and how unsearchable his ways! For who has known the mind of the Lord or who has been his counselor? Or who has given the Lord anything that he may be repaid? For from him and through him and for him are all things. To him be glory forever. Amen.

Matthew 16:13-20

Jesus went into the region of Caesarea Philippi and he asked his disciples, "Who do people say that the Son of Man is?" They replied, "Some say John the Baptist, others Elijah, still others Jeremiah or one of the prophets." He said to them, "But who do you say that I am?" Simon Peter said in reply, "You are the Christ, the Son of the living God." Jesus said to him in reply, "Blessed are you, Simon son of Jonah. For flesh and blood has not revealed this to you, but my heavenly Father. And so I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church, and the gates of the netherworld shall not prevail against it. I will give you the keys to the kingdom of heaven. Whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven; and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven." Then he strictly ordered his disciples to tell no one that he was the Christ.

Last year, I have reflected on a similar passage from Luke; focusing on our understanding of who Jesus is (Lk 9:18-24). This year, I would like to give some thoughts on our faith in relation to the keys of Peter.

Peter’s confession of faith reveals a reality that most of us have overlooked; that faith is a divine gift (rf CCC 153). What Jesus says is perfectly true: Peter’s conviction of our Lord’s divinity is not acquired in any human manner, but is a revelation from the heavenly Father. Our capacity to believe the hypostatic union of Jesus Christ (union of both the divine and human nature in Him as a single person) would not have come from any natural effort of learning. In fact, quite contrary to our intellect, this is totally absurd if not ridiculous. To be able to believe such apparent foolishness, we need a supernatural grace from God and a right human disposition (rf CCC 154, cf Lk 8:15). Once we respond to this sacred gift of God, we are able to realize God’s loving plan to save humanity through the incarnate Son.

But faith is not just some superficial joyful hearings of God’s word. Jesus in His Parable of the Sower has clearly stated that in order to be truly saved, one’s faith has to take root and bear fruit (Lk 8:4-8; cf Mt 7:17-20, Mk 4:20). “Faith is not an isolated act. No one can believe alone, just as no one can live alone . . . Each believer is thus a link in the great chain of believers” which is: the community, the Church (CCC 166). “It is the Church that believes first, and so bears, nourishes, and sustains our faith” (CCC 168).

Peter is entrusted by Jesus with a specific task. He is the “rock” of His Church. The “keys” given to Peter signify his authority to govern the House of God, the Church (cf Is 22:19-23, CCC 553). Bonded in unity with Peter, the rest of the apostles are also given the pastoral office to look after the flock (cf Jn 21:15-17, CCC 880). In a similar manner, each pope, in succession to Peter, receives the same divine command to maintain fidelity to the tradition of the revealed faith. And Jesus’ words to Peter are in effect to every pope who sits in the chair of Peter. This does not imply that the popes can make any arbitrary decisions regarding doctrinal and moral matters (rf CCC 891).Together with the college of bishops, under the primacy of the Pope, they carry the entrusted task of shepherding and guarding the doctrinal truth from error (rf CCC 881).

Let us be reminded that though truly our faith is a gift – an immense privilege of belief – it is also our faith in a divinely instituted Church that continues to assure us of remaining in the truth. For “I cannot believe without being carried by the faith of others, and by my faith I help support others in the faith” (CCC 166).

Posted: August 27, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

New Jerusalem - the Final Apocalypse
As we come close to the end of the Easter season, we have a great privilege to read the final chapters of the Book of Revelation, and the great story… Continue Reading >
Why does Jesus call the love commandment new?
Divine love does not come naturally to us, it needs practice Continue Reading >
“My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me” (John 10:27)
It is in our interior silence that we can perceive Jesus’ gaze and hear his call Continue Reading >

信德是天主賜予的禮物, 是個重大的恩典

常年期第二十一主日

依撒意亞先知書22:19-23

上主對宮廷長舍布納說:「我要革除你的職務,撤去你的地位。到那天,我要傳召希耳克雅的兒子厄里雅金,做我的僕人。我要把你的朝衣,給他穿上;把你的玉帶,給他束腰;將你的管治權,交在他手中。他將作耶路撒冷居民,及猶大家族的慈父。「我要將達味家室的鑰匙,放在他肩上;他開了,沒有人能關;他關了,沒有人能開。我要堅定他,有如釘在硬地裡的木橛;他將成為自己家族榮譽的寶座。」

羅馬書 11:33-36

啊,天主的富裕、智慧和知識,是多麼高深!他的判斷,是多麼不可測量!他的道路,是多麼不可探察!有誰曾知道上主的心意?或者,有誰曾當過他的顧問?或者,有誰曾先施恩於他,而希望他還報呢?因為萬物都出於他,依賴他,而歸於他。願光榮歸於他,至於永世!阿們。

瑪竇福音 16:13-20

那時候,耶穌來到了斐理伯的凱撒勒雅境內,就問門徒說:「人們說人子是誰?」門徒說:「有人說是洗者若翰;有人說是厄里亞;也有人說是耶肋米亞,或者先知中的一位。」耶穌對他們說:「你們說我是誰?」西滿伯多祿回答說:「你是默西亞,永生天主之子。」耶穌回答他說:「約納的兒子西滿,你是有福的,因為不是肉和血啟示了你,而是我在天之父。我再給你說:你是伯多祿 (磐石);我要在這磐石上,建立我的教會;陰間的門,決不能戰勝她。我要將天國的鑰匙交給你;凡你在地上所束縛的,在天上也要被束縛;凡你在地上所釋放的,在天上也要被釋放。」耶穌於是嚴禁門徒,不要對任何人說他是默西亞。

去年我與大家分享了路加福音內一段類似的經文;主要集中於明瞭耶穌的身份 (路9:18-24)。今年, 我想反思我對信德與伯多祿籲匙的關係。

伯多祿的信德宣言, 揭示了一個大部份人都會忽略了的事實, 那就是信德是天主賦予的恩賜 (教理l53)。耶穌對伯多祿說的話是確實的: 伯多祿宣認耶穌的天主性, 這信德並非來自人的啟示, 而是來自在天之父的啟示。我們之所以有能力去相信耶穌基督的天主性和人性結合於同一個主體內, 並不是靠人努力學習而得來的。事實上按理性來說, 這觀念既怪誕又荒謬; 因此, 要能相信這些表面看來愚眜的想法, 就必須靠天主的超性恩寵和人對真理的正確意向 (教理l54, 路 8:l5)。一旦我們對天主這個恩寵作出回應時, 我們才能明瞭, 天主是為了愛我們才透過天主子降生成人, 去展開拯救人類的偉大計劃。

但是信德不是人在聽了天主聖言後, 所感受到的一些膚淺的喜悅。耶穌在撒種的比喻中很明確地說出, 人若要真的得救, 他的信德必須在好地裏扎根而結出果實 (路 8:4-8; 瑪 7:l7-20; 谷 4:20)。「信德並非一個孤立的行為。 沒有人能够單獨去信, 正如沒有人能够單獨生活…這樣, 信眾就像一條鎖鍊, 每個信徒就是其中一環」。那信仰的鎖鍊就是信仰的團體, 就是教會 (教理166)。「是教會首先相信、 孕育、滋養及撐持我們的信仰」(教理 l68)。

耶穌交給了伯多祿一項特殊的任務: 他是祂教會的「磐石」。伯多祿的「掌鑰權」象徵着他有治理天主之家, 即教會的權力 (依 22:19-23; 教理 553)。與伯多祿相連結, 其他的宗徒也被賜予這個牧民職務去牧放整個羊群 (望 2l:15-l7; 教理 880)。同樣, 每一個繼承伯多祿的教宗都領受了從天主而來的命令, 就是要對啟示的信條維持其傳統及忠信。耶穌對伯多祿所說的話也是對每一位坐在伯多祿宗座上的教宗而說的。但這並不意味着教宗們可以隨便決定有關信仰和道德的教義 (教理 891)。在教宗的首席權下, 聯同各主教團, 他們肩負起牧民和維護信仰教義正確無誤的任務 (教理 881)。

我們要提醒自己, 縱然信德是天主賜予的禮物 – 是個重大的恩典– 我們仍要藉著天主所建立的教會的信德, 才能存留在真理內; 因為「若無別人信德的支持, 我不可能去信; 同樣, 藉著我的信德,我也能支持別人的信德」(教理 166)。

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿一主日:磐石的信德 吳智勳神父

今日的福音讀經是瑪竇福音的分水嶺,在此之前,耶穌戰無不勝,門徒從未經歷過挫折,耶穌要培育他們面對十字架的道路,而最佳的辦法就是依賴信德。

繼續閱讀 >