He is willing, so be cleansed!

Sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Leviticus 13:1-2, 44-46

The Lord said to Moses and Aaron, "If someone has on his skin a scab or pustule or blotch which appears to be the sore of leprosy, he shall be brought to Aaron, the priest, or to one of the priests among his descendants. If the man is leprous and unclean, the priest shall declare him unclean by reason of the sore on his head. "The one who bears the sore of leprosy shall keep his garments rent and his head bare, and shall muffle his beard; he shall cry out, 'Unclean, unclean!' As long as the sore is on him he shall declare himself unclean, since he is in fact unclean. He shall dwell apart, making his abode outside the camp."

1 Corinthians 10:31-11:1

Brothers and sisters, Whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do everything for the glory of God. Avoid giving offense, whether to the Jews or Greeks or the church of God, just as I try to please everyone in every way, not seeking my own benefit but that of the many, that they may be saved. Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ.

Mark 1:40-45

A leper came to Jesus and kneeling down begged him and said, "If you wish, you can make me clean." Moved with pity, he stretched out his hand, touched him, and said to him, "I do will it. Be made clean." The leprosy left him immediately, and he was made clean. Then, warning him sternly, he dismissed him at once. He said to him, "See that you tell no one anything, but go, show yourself to the priest and offer for your cleansing what Moses prescribed; that will be proof for them." The man went away and began to publicize the whole matter. He spread the report abroad so that it was impossible for Jesus to enter a town openly. He remained outside in deserted places, and people kept coming to him from everywhere.

The story of the healing of the leper in today’s Gospel Reading is full of marked contrasts. It begins with a touching scene. A leper who is socially isolated and forbidden to come close to people (rf Lev 13:46, Nm 5:2) directly approaches Jesus, kneels before Him and begs Him with a heart-rending request. His boldness and trust in Jesus (leprosy was then considered curable only by divine power rf Nm 12:10-15, 2 Kgs 5:1-14) are met by the pity and power of His touch and word. Then the scene turns into exhilaration. The leper is so exhilarated by his cure that he ignores Jesus’ stern warning not to tell it publicly. The leper who has to live “outside the camp” (rf Lev 13:46) is freed and restored to community life while Jesus who is free before is now unable to “enter the town openly” and has to “stay in desert places” (Mk 1:45), suffering the isolation of a leper.

But more than these apparent contrasts are the hidden contradictions of Jesus and the Law. The Law cannot help the leper. It is powerless to cure him. It can only tell him where to live, how to dress and what to shout (rf Lev 13:45). But Jesus can – “If you are willing, you can make me clean” (Mk 1:40) – and with this imploration of faith, the leper is made clean. The Law gives the priest the authority to pronounce the leper clean (rf Lev 14:1-20, Mk 1:44), but it is Jesus who has the power to make him clean. Not only can Jesus effect physical cleansing, for if leprosy is thought of as a sign of sin, then Jesus also has the power to actuate spiritual cleansing (cf Mk 2:1-12, Mt 9:1-8). The Law guards against potential defilement in order to ensure ritual purity (rf Lev 13, 14, Nm 19), but Jesus opens the door of mercy to people that may defile Him – He touches them (rf Mk 1:41, 5:41). And instead of getting Himself defiled, Jesus’ touch which is an outward expression of His inward compassion, brings deliverance, healing and restoration.

Sin is like leprosy. What leprosy does to the body, sin does to the soul and a leprous soul resembles that of a leprous body. As leprosy gradually deforms the body, makes it insensitive, dysfunctional and eventually destroys the whole person; sin acts the same way. It progressively enslaves the soul, eats away and goes deeper into its being, separates it from God and eventually leads it to eternal death. As leprosy defiles everything a leper touches, sin infects the soul and poisons a person’s thoughts, words and deeds. As leprosy leaves a person alone, helpless, despised and rejected; sin locks the soul in darkness, guilt, shame and despair. But while leprosy which has no human cure before is now treatable, sin is incurable by any human means. It can only be cured by the sacrificial blood of Christ on the cross (rf Mt 26:28).

Blessed indeed if we are aware that we are spiritual lepers for early detection of the disease renders easier recovery. Imitate the leper then: be brave to approach the Lord, be humble, fall before Him, entreat Him with sincere contrition, acknowledge that He needs not grant our petition, but be confident, surrender to His will in good faith and then . . . be ready to receive His touch and hear Him say, “I am willing! Be cleansed!” (Mk 1:41).

Posted: February 11, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Invitation to God’s Wedding Banquet
Unlike my daughter who must be selective in inviting people to her wedding, God welcomes everyone to his. Continue Reading >
“I am the living bread that came down from heaven” (John 6:51)
“Whoever eats of this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh” (John 6:51) Continue Reading >
We are what we eat
The story of the healing of the leper in today’s Gospel Reading is full of marked contrasts. It begins with a touching scene. A leper who is socially isolated and… Continue Reading >

祂願意,潔淨了吧!

常年期第六主日

肋未紀 13:1-2,45-46

上主訓示梅瑟和亞郎說:「如果人在皮肉上生了腫瘤,或瘡癤,或斑痕,他皮肉上有了這種痲瘋病的症狀,就應把他帶到亞郎司祭,或他作司祭的一個兒子前。「凡身患痲瘋病的人,應穿撕裂的衣服,披頭散髮,將口唇遮住,且喊說:「不潔!不潔!」在他患痲瘋病的日子內,常是不潔的。他既是不潔的,就應獨居,住在營外。」

格林多前書 10:31-11:1

弟兄姊妹們:你們或吃或喝,或無論做什麼,一切都要為光榮天主而做。你們不可成為使猶太人,或希臘人,或天主的教會,跌倒的原因,但要如同我一樣,在一切事上,使眾人喜歡;不求自己的利益,只求大眾的利益,為使他們得救。你們該效法我,如同我效法基督一樣。

馬爾谷福音 1:40-45

那時候,有一個痳瘋病人,來到耶穌面前,跪下求耶穌,說:「你若願意,就能潔淨我。」耶穌動了憐憫的心,就伸手撫摸他,向他說:「我願意,你潔淨了吧!」痳瘋病立刻消失,他就潔淨了。然後,耶穌嚴厲警告他,立即催他走,並向他說:「當心!什麼也不可告訴人,但去叫司祭檢驗你,並奉獻梅瑟所規定的獻禮,向人證明你潔淨了。」但那人一離去,便開始極力宣揚,把這事傳揚開了,以致耶穌不能再公開進城,只好留在外邊荒野;但眾人卻從各處來到他那裡。

今天福音讀經,痳瘋病人被治癒的故事裡面有很多對比。故事開始時的場面令人感動。一個被社會孤立和被禁止走近別人的痳瘋病人(參 肋13:46, 戶5:2),直接來到耶穌跟前跪下,提出一個令人心碎的乞求。他的勇氣和對耶穌的信任(那時候,人們相信只有來自上天的能力才可治好痳瘋病 – 參 戶12:10-15, 列下5:1-14) 換得祂憐憫的觸摸和大能的說話。然後場面轉為歡天喜地。痲瘋病人因為被治癒, 高興得忘記了耶穌的嚴厲警告,就是不可公開告訴任何人。那個要住在「營外」的痲瘋病人(參 肋13:46)獲得自由,重返團體生活,而之前自由自在的耶穌,現在卻不能「公然進城」而要「留在外邊荒野的地方」(谷 1:45)受着像痲瘋病人遭受的被隔離之苦。

除了這些明顯的對比之外,耶穌和律法之間也隱藏着很多矛盾甚至對立。律法不能幫助那痲瘋病人。律法沒有能力治癒他。律法只能告訴他要住在那裡,穿什麼衣服和要大聲喊叫什麼 (參 肋13:45),但耶穌可以治癒他─「你若願意,就能潔淨我」(谷1:40)。以這信德的懇求,那痳瘋病人便潔淨了。律法給司祭權力去證明痳瘋病人已經潔淨了(參 肋14:1-20,谷1:44),但有能力使他潔淨的人是耶穌。若認為痲瘋病是罪惡的象徵,那麼,耶穌不但能潔淨人身體,也有力量潔淨心靈(參 谷2:1-12, 瑪9:1-8)。律法注重潔淨,怕禮儀受到污染(參 肋13, 14, 戶19),但耶穌為可能引致自己不潔的人打開慈悲之門─祂觸摸他們(參 谷1:41, 5:41)。耶穌的觸摸,是祂對人形之於外的內在憐憫,這並沒有使祂自己不潔,反而帶來釋放,治癒和修好。

罪惡好像痲瘋一樣,痳瘋對身體的影響就如罪惡對靈魂的影響。一個患痳瘋的靈魂就像一個患痳瘋的身體。痳瘋令身體變形,失去感覺和功能,然後慢慢地摧毀那個人;罪惡也一樣。靈魂逐漸成為罪惡的奴隸,靈魂被蠶食和被侵入,使人與天主分開而走向永死。痲瘋病人會污染每一件他接觸過的東西,罪惡會感染靈魂,荼毒一個人的思言行為。痳瘋病令人孤立無助,被鄙視,被拒絕;罪惡令靈魂困在黑暗、內疚、羞愧和失望中。以前人不能治癒的痳瘋病,現在能被根治,惟有罪惡卻是用任何人的方法都不能醫治的。只有憑基督在十字架上犧牲的聖血才能醫治(參 瑪 26: 28)。

若我們能察覺自己靈魂患上了痲瘋,那麼我們便真是有福了。正所謂病向淺中醫,能容易復原。就讓我們來學習那痲瘋病人:勇敢地靠近天主,謙虛地在祂面前跪下,誠懇地認罪悔改,承認祂不必應許我們的請求,但要有信心,以信德承行祂的旨意,然後. . . 預備接受祂的觸摸,聽祂說:「我願意,你潔淨了吧」(谷 1:41)。

Posted: February 11, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第六主日:憐憫人的耶穌 吳智勳神父

本星期的福音讀經仍接續上星期的主題。馬爾谷以驅魔治病去突顯耶穌的權威,指出祂是天主子、救主的身份。今日,馬爾谷用另一方式,突出祂說話的權威及祂是一個怎樣的人。

繼續閱讀 >