“Here I am, Lord; I come to do your will” (Psalm 40)

Second Sunday of Ordinary Time

1 Samuel 3:3B-10, 19

Samuel was sleeping in the temple of the LORD where the ark of God was. The LORD called to Samuel, who answered, "Here I am." Samuel ran to Eli and said, "Here I am. You called me." "I did not call you, " Eli said. "Go back to sleep." So he went back to sleep. Again the LORD called Samuel, who rose and went to Eli. "Here I am, " he said. "You called me." But Eli answered, "I did not call you, my son. Go back to sleep." At that time Samuel was not familiar with the LORD, because the LORD had not revealed anything to him as yet. The LORD called Samuel again, for the third time. Getting up and going to Eli, he said, "Here I am. You called me." Then Eli understood that the LORD was calling the youth. So he said to Samuel, "Go to sleep, and if you are called, reply, Speak, LORD, for your servant is listening." When Samuel went to sleep in his place, the LORD came and revealed his presence, calling out as before, "Samuel, Samuel!" Samuel answered, "Speak, for your servant is listening." Samuel grew up, and the LORD was with him, not permitting any word of his to be without effect.

1 Corinthians 6:13C-15A, 17-20

Brothers and sisters: The body is not for immorality, but for the Lord, and the Lord is for the body; God raised the Lord and will also raise us by his power. Do you not know that your bodies are members of Christ? But whoever is joined to the Lord becomes one Spirit with him. Avoid immorality. Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the immoral person sins against his own body. Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own? For you have been purchased at a price. Therefore glorify God in your body.

John 1:35-42

John was standing with two of his disciples, and as he watched Jesus walk by, he said, "Behold, the Lamb of God." The two disciples heard what he said and followed Jesus. Jesus turned and saw them following him and said to them, "What are you looking for?" They said to him, "Rabbi" — which translated means Teacher —, "where are you staying?" He said to them, "Come, and you will see." So they went and saw where Jesus was staying, and they stayed with him that day. It was about four in the afternoon. Andrew, the brother of Simon Peter, was one of the two who heard John and followed Jesus. He first found his own brother Simon and told him, "We have found the Messiah" — which is translated Christ —. Then he brought him to Jesus. Jesus looked at him and said, "You are Simon the son of John; you will be called Cephas" — which is translated Peter.

In this Sunday’s Mass readings, the focus is on God’s calling.

When Samuel is a boy, he ministers to the Lord before Eli the priest (ref 1 Sam 3:1). In the first reading, when Samuel has not yet known the Lord and the word of the Lord has not been revealed to him, he is called by the Lord. He does not recognize the call from the Lord and thinks that it is from Eli. It is Eli who realizes that it might be a call from the Lord and helps Samuel respond.

In the gospel reading, we hear that when Jesus walks by John the Baptist, the latter’s exclamation “Look, here is the Lamb of God!” (Jn 1:35), prompts two of his disciples, one of whom is Andrew, to follow Jesus at once. When Jesus invites the two new followers to “Come and see” (Jn 1:39), they do and remain with Him that day. Not only does Andrew respond to Jesus’ call, he brings to Jesus his brother Simon, whom Jesus names Peter, who would become the rock upon which Jesus builds His church (Ref Ma 16:18).

To listen to God’s call and to do His will is a continual process as we go through our earthly journey. As the circumstances in our life change, we may be called to serve Him in ways that we can never imagine before. It is very important to listen to Him all the time. It is only after we have listened and discerned that we can find the best way to serve Him. We might need someone to help us listen, someone who has solid faith and rich experience in life, a parent, a godparent, a teacher, a mentor or someone like John the Baptist, who helps his disciples recognize God and listen to His call. Not only does Andrew respond to Jesus’ call, he brings his brother to Jesus too. Whatever our role in life may be, we must bear in mind the example of Andrew. We are obliged to help those around us listen to God so that they can discern God’s plan in their lives and follow accordingly.

With this outlook, let us all join in and sing the Responsorial Psalm this Sunday at Mass “Here I am, Lord; I come to do your will” (Psalm 40).

Posted: January 14, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Third Sunday in Ordinary Time
Come Follow Me
To heed God’s voice is to know God’s “ways”, “paths” and “truth”. When we accept God’s invitation to “come and follow”, we embark on an adventure of knowing ourselves and… Continue Reading >
Second Sunday of Ordinary Time
“Here I am, Lord; I come to do your will” (Psalm 40)
As the circumstances in our life change, we may be called to serve Him in ways that we can never imagine before. Continue Reading >
Second Sunday of Ordinary Time
“. . . peace among people of good will” (Lk 2:14)
Be it as simple as the shepherds or as wise as the Magi, God's blessings are the same for those who seek Him with good will and humility. Continue Reading >

「我的天主,看,我已來到!我樂意奉行袮的旨意」(詠 40)

常年期第二主日

撒慕爾紀上 3:3-10,19

撒慕爾在安放天主約櫃的上主殿內睡覺。那時,上主召叫說:「撒慕爾,撒慕爾!」撒慕爾回答說:「我在這裡!」就跑到厄里面前說:「你叫了我,我在這裡。」厄里說:「我沒有叫你,回去睡吧!」他就回去睡了。上主又叫撒慕爾;撒慕爾起來,走到厄里那裡,說:「你叫了我,我在這裡。」厄里對他說:「我兒,我沒有叫你,回去睡吧!」撒慕爾不知道是上主,因為上主的話,尚未啟示給他。上主第三次又叫了撒慕爾;撒慕爾起來,又走到厄里那裡,說:「你叫了我,我在這裡。」厄里於是明白,是上主叫了這少年,便對撒慕爾說:「去睡吧!如果有人再叫你,你就回答說:『請上主發言,你的僕人在此靜聽。』」撒慕爾就回去,仍睡在原處。上主走近,像前幾次一樣召叫說:「撒慕爾,撒慕爾!」撒慕爾便回答說:「上主,請發言!你的僕人在此靜聽。」撒慕爾漸漸長大;上主與他同在,使他所說的一切話,沒有一句落空。

格林多前書 6:13-15,17-20

弟兄姊妹們:人的身體不是為了淫亂,而是為了主;主也是為了身體。天主既使主復活了,他也要以自己的能力,使我們復活。你們不知道,你們的身體是基督的肢體嗎?那與主結合的,便是與他成為一神。你們務要遠避邪淫。人無論犯的是什麼罪,都是在身體以外;但是,那犯邪淫的,卻是冒犯自己的身體。難道你們不知道,你們的身體是聖神的宮殿嗎?這聖神是你們從天主領受的,住在你們內,而你們已不是屬於自己的了!你們原是用高價買回來的,所以,務要用你們的身體光榮天主。

若望福音 1:35-42

那時候,若翰和他的兩個門徒,站在那裡;若翰看見耶穌走過,便注視著耶穌,說:「看,天主的羔羊!」那兩個門徒聽見若翰說這話,便跟隨了耶穌。耶穌轉過身來,看見他們跟著,便問他們說:「你們找什麼?」他們回答說:「辣彼!——意即師父——你住在那裡?」耶穌對他們說:「你們來看看吧!」於是他們去了,看見了耶穌住的地方;就在那天,在耶穌那裡住下。那時,大約是第十時辰。西滿伯多祿的哥哥安德肋,就是聽了若翰的話,而跟隨了耶穌的那兩人中的一個,先去找到了自己的弟弟西滿,並向他說:「我們找到了默西亞(意即基督)。」於是帶他到耶穌面前。耶穌注視著他,說:「你是若望的兒子西滿,你要叫『刻法』(意即伯多祿)。」

這個主日的彌撒讀經,焦點是天主的召叫。

當撒慕爾還是小孩的時候,他在厄里大司祭面前服事上主(參 撒上 3:1 )。在讀經一,當撒慕爾還未認識上主,當上主的話尚未啟示給他的時候,上主便呼喚了他。他不知道是上主在叫他,以為叫他的是厄里。厄里明白是上主在叫撒慕爾,便幫助他回應。

在福音讀經,我們聽到耶穌經過洗者若翰那裡時,後者的驚嘆「看,天主的羔羊!」(若 1:35) 驅使他的兩個門徒,其中一個是安德肋,立刻跟隨耶穌。當耶穌邀請這兩位新的跟隨者「來看看罷!」(若 1:39),他們去看祂所住的地方,當天就在祂那裡住下了。安德肋不但回應耶穌的召叫,他還帶同弟弟西滿到祂那裡,耶穌給他命名伯多祿,後來更成為耶穌所建立的教會的磐石(參 瑪 16:18 )。

人生在世,我們要不斷聆聽天主的召叫,承行祂的旨意。隨着人生路上的環境變遷,我們可能被召喚以從未想過的方式服侍天主。所以,在任何時候都要聆聽,實在非常重要。只有在聆聽和明辨以後,我們才能找到服侍天主的最好方法。我們可能需要一個幫助我們聆聽的人,一個充滿信德和富有人生經驗的人,可能是父母、代父母、老師、輔導者、或一個像洗者若翰那樣的人,懂得幫助門徒認出天主,而且聆聽祂。安德肋不但自己回應耶穌的召喚,他還將自己的弟弟帶給耶穌。無論我們是什麼身分,我們要記得安德肋的榜樣,要幫助身邊的人聆聽天主,好讓他們也能在自己的人生中,明辨和活出天主的計劃。

以這樣的思維和願景,讓我們在主日彌撒《答唱詠》中齊聲高唱:「我的天主,看,我已來到!我樂意奉行袮的旨意」(詠 40)。

Posted: January 14, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第二主日:寓居在基督內的信仰 吳智勳神父

本主日的福音表面上平平無奇,沒有奇跡的出現,沒有戲劇性的記載,但事實上作者有意讓讀者知道,基督徒在那裡找到最重要的經驗,他們的信仰就在那裡奠基。這個簡單的故事,啟示了基督信仰的特質。

繼續閱讀 >