Honouring the Holy Family

The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph

Sirach 3:2-6,12-14

God sets a father in honor over his children; a mother’s authority he confirms over her sons. Whoever honors his father atones for sins, and preserves himself from them. When he prays, he is heard; he stores up riches who reveres his mother. Whoever honors his father is gladdened by children, and, when he prays, is heard. Whoever reveres his father will live a long life; he who obeys his father brings comfort to his mother. My son, take care of your father when he is old; grieve him not as long as he lives. Even if his mind fail, be considerate of him; revile him not all the days of his life; kindness to a father will not be forgotten, firmly planted against the debt of your sins —a house raised in justice to you.

Colossians 3:12-21

Brothers and sisters: Put on, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, heartfelt compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience, bearing with one another and forgiving one another, if one has a grievance against another; as the Lord has forgiven you, so must you also do. And over all these put on love, that is, the bond of perfection. And let the peace of Christ control your hearts, the peace into which you were also called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, as in all wisdom you teach and admonish one another, singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or in deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Wives, be subordinate to your husbands, as is proper in the Lord. Husbands, love your wives, and avoid any bitterness toward them. Children, obey your parents in everything, for this is pleasing to the Lord. Fathers, do not provoke your children, so they may not become discouraged.

Luke 2:41-52

Each year Jesus’ parents went to Jerusalem for the feast of Passover, and when he was twelve years old, they went up according to festival custom. After they had completed its days, as they were returning, the boy Jesus remained behind in Jerusalem, but his parents did not know it. Thinking that he was in the caravan, they journeyed for a day and looked for him among their relatives and acquaintances, but not finding him, they returned to Jerusalem to look for him. After three days they found him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions, and all who heard him were astounded at his understanding and his answers. When his parents saw him, they were astonished, and his mother said to him, “Son, why have you done this to us? Your father and I have been looking for you with great anxiety.” And he said to them, “Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” But they did not understand what he said to them. He went down with them and came to Nazareth, and was obedient to them; and his mother kept all these things in her heart. And Jesus advanced in wisdom and age and favor before God and man.

The days leading up to and around Christmas are usually hectic with all sorts of hustle-bustle: shopping, decorating, cooking, and not to mention the most important task of making room in our hearts for Christ. Imagine: during this busy time, you take your children to the shopping mall for the obligatory photo with Santa; while waiting in line, you suddenly realize that your children have vanished. Anxiety and fear set in; you frantically look around only to find your precious ones lingering at their favourite toy store, transfixed by the promises of those wonderful objects that only your children can see. Your first emotional instinct is to scream and yell at them, “Why have you treated us like this? Look, your father and I have been searching for you in great anxiety” (Lk 2:48). But then, you realize they are the most important things in your life, you collapse and quietly crush them in your loving embrace. Now, this familial embrace is picture-perfect for Christmas, surpassing any photos with Santa!

On the Feast of the Holy Family, Christians all over the world celebrate and honour the earthly family of Jesus, deemed as the model of all Christian families. When we read Luke’s account of the twelve-year-old Jesus who, for reasons unknown to his parents, Mary and Joseph, decides to ditch them and remains in Jerusalem to talk with some strangers in the temple, we cannot help but feel puzzled and worried as any parents would feel in similar situations. After three days of backtracking to Jerusalem, Mary and Joseph finally find Jesus “in the temple, sitting among the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions” (Lk 2: 46) Interestingly, Luke describes them as “astonished”; not angry, anxious, or afraid. Mary simply accepts Jesus’ explanation, “Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” (Lk 2:49). Just as the children beholding the promises held by the wonderful toys displayed in store windows, Jesus follows his heart and chooses to remain in His Father’s house. It is remarkable that Jesus, even in his youthful innocence, understands that He belongs to God, His heavenly Father, and recognizes how “blessed are those who live in [God’s] house” (Ps 84:4). He remains “obedient” to Mary and Joseph and as he matures, his wisdom increases “in years, and in favour with God and human beings” (Lk 2:51-52). Even though Mary and Joseph cannot understand this profound mystery, they embrace Jesus’ answer without question; not with human logic, but with faith. Such is a perfect snapshot of Christmas: the Holy Family choosing unconditional trust in God’s plan.

Parents may not fathom why their children do what they do or say what they say; however, Mary manages to “treasure all these things in her heart” (Lk 2:51). Perhaps Mary recognizes the immense depth and breadth of God’s love; she has “boldness before God” and understands that she, like Jesus, must obey God’s commandments and does “what pleases him” (1 Jn 3:21-22).

As we celebrate Christmas and anticipate the new year, may we remain faith-filled and trust in God even when situations defile human logic. May our hearts be open to God’s mystery and like Mary, treasure “all these things” in our hearts.

Posted: December 30, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Are we ready to accompany Jesus into Jerusalem and point out His true identity to others?
It is not until after Jesus' death does His true identity is revealed. Continue Reading >
Doing What We Should Do
There are certain things that we should be doing right now but maybe don’t feel like doing. Like what? Forgiving, smiling, doing our duty, being agreeable. Some of us are… Continue Reading >
We are spiritually dead. Who can help?
In this 5th Sunday of Lent, we continue our Lenten journey with a magnificent meditation from the Gospel of John, the story of raising Lazarus from the dead. The details… Continue Reading >

尊崇聖家

聖家節

撒慕爾紀上 1:20-22,24-28

時候到了,亞納就懷了孕,生了一個兒子,給他起名叫撒慕爾,說:「因為他是我向上主求得的。」約過了一年,她的丈夫厄耳卡納和全家上史羅去,向上主奉獻年祭,並還所許的願。亞納卻沒有上去,因她對丈夫說:「等孩子斷了乳,我要帶他去,將他奉獻給上主,以後他要永遠住在那裡。」撒慕爾斷乳後,亞納便帶著小孩和一頭三歲的牛,一『厄法』麵和一皮囊酒,來到史羅上主的聖殿﹔孩子還很小。他們祭殺了牛以後,孩子的母親來到厄里面前,對他說:「我主,請聽!我主,就如你活著那樣真實,我就是曾在你旁邊祈求上主的那個婦人。那時,我為得到這孩子而祈禱;上主就賞賜了我所懇求的。所以,我現在把他獻於上主;他一生是屬於上主的。」亞納便把他留在上主那裡。

聖若望一書 3:1-2,21-24

親愛的諸位:請看:父賜給我們何等的愛情,使我們得稱為天主的子女,而且我們也真是如此。世界所以不認識我們,是因為不認識父。可愛的諸位,現在我們是天主的子女,但我們將來如何,還沒有顯明;可是,我們知道:一顯明了,我們必要相似他,因為我們要看見他實在怎樣。可愛的諸位,假使我們的心不責備我們,在天主前便可放心大膽;那麼我們無論求什麼,必由他獲得,因為我們遵守了他的命令,行了他所喜悅的事。天主的命令就是,叫我們信他的子耶穌基督的名字,並按照他給我們所出的命令,彼此相愛。那遵守天主命令的,就住在天主內,天主也住在這人內;我們所以知道天主住在我們內,就是藉他賜給我們的聖神。

路加福音 2:41-52

每年逾越節,耶穌的父母必往耶路撒冷去。耶穌到了十二歲,他們又照節日的慣例上去了。過完了節日,他們回去的時候,孩童耶穌卻留在耶路撒冷;他的父母並未發覺。他們只以為他在同行的人中間;走了一天的路程後,才在親戚和相識的人中尋找他。既找不著,便折回耶路撒冷找他。過了三天,就在聖殿裡找到了耶穌。他正坐在經師中,聆聽他們,也詢問他們。凡聽見他的人,對他的智慧和對答,都驚奇不止。他的父母一看見他,便大為驚異。耶穌的母親就向耶穌說:「孩子,你為什麼這樣對待我們?看,你的父親和我,一直痛苦的找你。」耶穌對他們說:「你們為什麼找我?你們不知道:我必須在我父親那裡嗎?」但是,他們不明白耶穌對他們所說的話。耶穌就同他們下去,來到納匝肋,屬他們管轄。他的母親把這一切默存在心中。耶穌在智慧和身量上,並在天主和人的恩愛上,漸漸增長。

聖誕節前後的日子通常是繁忙的,充斥着各式各樣的喧囂:購物、裝飾、烹飪,更不用說要在心中,為基督騰出空間這件最重要的事情。想像一下:在這繁忙的時候,你帶著孩子到購物商場,慣常地與聖誕老人合照;排隊等候時,你突然發現你的孩子不見了。你焦慮恐懼;瘋狂地四圍搜索,卻發現你的寶貝們在他們最喜歡的玩具店裡徘徊,凝望著只有孩子才能看到的那些精美物品所帶來的希望。你第一個反應是對他們尖叫:「為什麼你這樣對待我們?看,你的父親和我一直痛苦的找你」(路 2:48)。然後當你醒覺到,孩子是你生命中最重要的東西時,你崩潰了, 於是靜靜地把他們緊緊擁在懷中。此刻,這一家人的擁抱就是聖誕節最完美的照片,遠勝過任何與聖誕老人的合照!

在聖家節,世界各地的基督徒一起慶祝並尊崇耶穌在世上的家—聖家,他們被視為所有基督徒家庭的榜樣。路加記述耶穌十二歲時,為了一些祂的父母 — 瑪利亞和若瑟不明白的原因,祂決定不跟隨他們,留在耶路撒冷與聖殿裡一些陌生人交談。當我們讀到路加的記載,就如天下父母在類似情況下,都不禁感到困惑和擔心。瑪利亞和若瑟原路折返耶路撒冷,過了三天,他們終於找到耶穌「在聖殿裡,坐在經師中間,聆聽他們,也詢問他們」(路2:46)。有趣的是,路加描述他們是「驚異的」;不是生氣、焦慮或害怕。瑪利亞只是接受了耶穌的解釋,「你們不知道我必須在我父親那裡嗎?」(路 2:49)。耶穌就像孩子看到商店櫥窗裡精彩玩具帶來的希望那樣,跟隨自己的心意,選擇留在祂父親那裡。特別的是,即使當時的耶穌年少純真,祂也明白自己屬於天主—祂的天父,並且認知到那些住在[天主]家中的人是多麼「有福的」(詠 84:4)。祂仍然屬瑪利亞和若瑟「管轄」,而隨著祂的成長,祂的智慧在「天主和人前的恩愛上,漸漸地增長」(路 2:51-52)。儘管瑪利亞和若瑟無法理解這個深邃的奧秘,他們卻毫無疑問地接受耶穌的回答;這不是靠人的思維,而是基於信德。這是聖誕節的完美寫照:聖家選擇無條件地信任天主的計劃。

父母可能無法理解孩子所做的事,或所說的話的原因;然而,瑪利亞卻能做到「把這一切默存在心中」(路 2:51)。也許瑪利亞認知到天主之愛博大深寬;她「在天主前放心大膽」,並且明白她和耶穌一樣,必須遵守天主的誡命,做「祂所喜悅的事」(若一 3:21-22)。

當我們慶祝聖誕並期待新一年的來臨時,即使人類的邏輯思維已被各種情況玷污破壞,讓我們仍然滿懷信德,信靠天主。願我們為天主的奧秘敞開心扉,像瑪利亞一樣,把「這一切」默存在我們心中。

Posted: December 30, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

聖家節:聖家的啟示 吳智勳神父

聖家節使人聯想到家庭。我們每一個人都有自己的家,在認識的親友中,有些家庭是幸福的,有些是破碎傷心的,現今的社會更有很多單親的家庭。在此聖家節日,我們可能有一種感嘆:要是每一個家都像聖家一樣多好呢!的確,不少教友在家中有聖家像,願意效法聖家,並求聖家祝福。

繼續閱讀 >