How do we deal with sufferings?

Twenty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Jeremiah 20:7-9

You duped me, O LORD, and I let myself be duped; you were too strong for me, and you triumphed. All the day I am an object of laughter; everyone mocks me. Whenever I speak, I must cry out, violence and outrage is my message; the word of the LORD has brought me derision and reproach all the day. I say to myself, I will not mention him, I will speak in his name no more. But then it becomes like fire burning in my heart, imprisoned in my bones; I grow weary holding it in, I cannot endure it.

Romans 12:1-2

I urge you, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God, your spiritual worship. Do not conform yourselves to this age but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and pleasing and perfect.

Matthew 16:21-27

Jesus began to show his disciples that he must go to Jerusalem and suffer greatly from the elders, the chief priests, and the scribes, and be killed and on the third day be raised. Then Peter took Jesus aside and began to rebuke him, "God forbid, Lord! No such thing shall ever happen to you." He turned and said to Peter, "Get behind me, Satan! You are an obstacle to me. You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do." Then Jesus said to his disciples, "Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. What profit would there be for one to gain the whole world and forfeit his life? Or what can one give in exchange for his life? For the Son of Man will come with his angels in his Father's glory, and then he will repay all according to his conduct."

In this Sunday reflection, we are still in the context of the 16th chapter of Matthew’s Gospel, in which Jesus says to Peter, “You are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church” (Mt 16:18). But having made the claim, everything has turned around almost immediately. Jesus shows the disciples an uncompromising way of life in which he must go to Jerusalem, and suffer greatly from the elders, chief priests, and scribes, be killed, and on the third day, be raised by His Father. It is an extremely hard and disturbing message for Peter and the disciples. They are completely devastated by the suffering and death of the one whom they love so dearly.

Peter, probably still in a high mood when he, “took Jesus aside, and began to rebuke him” (Mt 16:22). Let us stay in that scene for a while to imagine how extraordinary it is to rebuke Jesus! Indeed, it is very important to begin examining our conscience: There are times when we hear Jesus, and we want to do exactly what Peter does, to rebuke Him. He reacts counter-intuitively, even against our own understandings, expectations, and desires to rebuke Jesus. “Lord, this can’t be right!” “You are wrong about this.” When we rebuke Jesus by imposing our own desires, we are in a bad spiritual space. Peter is no different from all of us, and he says, “God forbid, Lord! No such thing shall ever happen to you” (Mt 16:22).

How would Jesus respond to Peter? With the most shocking words in the Gospel, He immediately rebukes Peter, “Get behind me, Satan!” (Mt 16:23). Can we imagine being called Satan by Jesus? In fact, when Jesus rebukes Peter with the word “Satan”, He is speaking the language of the “father of lies” (John 8:44)! The great lie is that Christian life can be lived without the cross, without suffering out of love. That is why when Peter tries talking Jesus “out of the cross”, he is indeed speaking the language of Satan. Suffering and death are not on Peter’s agenda, but these are on Jesus’. Jesus is proposing to them the only valid solution to the problem of suffering and evil, and thereby, the only valid path to joy is the sacrifice of the self in love! Jesus announces that he is going to Jerusalem in order to give himself up. He says in the last supper, “This is my body, which will be given for you. This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which will be shed for you” (Lk 22:19-20). In these words, he sums up what he will be doing in Jerusalem. He will sacrifice himself in love for others, and in this he will come to live and become a source of life for others.

Jesus further elaborates his teaching, “What profit would there be for one to gain the whole world and forfeit his life?” (Mt 16:26). Walking the path of self-protection and self-promotion may indeed win us the whole world, but the price is way too high, for it will compromise the person that God wants us to be, the “best version of ourselves”. What God expects from us is radical when it comes to love. True love entails our willingness to suffer. We are meant to be bearers of the divine love in the world. Such is our mission which will always involve suffering because it means a path of self-denial, and that the divine love will always meet with resistance. Jesus is inviting us to make a decision to love, and actively “take up his cross, and follow me”, consciously walking the way of the cross with Him! (Mt 16:24).

So, friends, do you want to be happy? Follow that teaching. Which path do we walk, a path of self-protection, or a path of self-emptying, self-giving love? “Whoever loses his life for my sake will find it” (Mt 10:39). Give your life away as a gift, and you will experience the joy of resurrection.

Posted: September 3, 2017

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

“A time of waiting and watching” (CCC 672)
Let us join the psalmist to sing praises to the Lord, who on a day unbeknownst to us, “will judge the world with righteousness, and the peoples with equity.” (Psalm… Continue Reading >
“Cherish the hope God gives of being raised by him” (2 Macc 7:14)
As we journey on over hills and valleys, let us turn our gaze away from our own darkness to the light of Christ. Continue Reading >
“For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save” (Luke 19:10)
We like to think that we can have God in our own pocket. But we’ve got it all wrong. It’s God who finds us and reveals Himself to us; it’s… Continue Reading >

我們如何面對苦難?

常年期第二十二主日

耶肋米亞先知書 20:7-9

上主,你引誘了我;我讓自己受了你的引誘;你確實比我強,你勝利了。我終日成為笑柄,人人都嘲笑我。因為我每次發言,必得叫喊,必得高呼:「暴虐!破壞!」實在,上主的話,使我日日成為受侮辱和譏笑的原因。如果我說:我不再想念他,不再以他的名發言,我就覺得五內如焚,好像有一團烈火,蘊藏在我的骨髓裡;我竭力抑制,亦不可能。

羅馬書 12:1-2

弟兄姊妹們: 我以天主的仁慈,請求你們,獻上你們的身體,當作生活、聖潔和悅樂天主的祭品:這才是你們合理的敬禮。你們不可與此世同化,反而應以更新的心思,變化自己,為使你們能辨別:什麼是天主的旨意,什麼是善事,什麼是悅樂天主的事,什麼是成全的事。

瑪竇福音 16:21-27

那時候,耶穌開始向門徒說明:他必須上耶路撒冷去,要由長老、司祭長和經師手中,受許多痛苦,並將被殺,但第三天要復活。伯多祿便拉耶穌到一邊,諫責耶穌說:「主,千萬不可!這事絕不會臨到你身上!」耶穌轉身對伯多祿說:「撒旦,退到我後面去!你是我的絆腳石,因為你所體會的,不是天主的事,而是人的事。」於是,耶穌對門徒說:「誰若願意跟隨我,該棄絕自己,背著自己的十字架,來跟隨我,因為,誰若願意救自己的性命,必要喪失性命;但誰若為我的原故,喪失自己的性命,必要獲得性命。人縱然賺得全世界,卻賠上了自己的靈魂,為他有什麼益處?或者,人還能拿什麼,作為自己靈魂的代價?「將來,人子要在他父的光榮中,同他的天使降來,那時,他要按照每人的行為,予以賞報。」

在今個主日的福音中, 我們繼續反思瑪竇福音第十六章的內容。耶穌對伯多祿說: 「你是伯多祿, 在這磐石上, 我要建立我的教會。」(瑪16:18) 當耶穌說了這些話後, 便把話題立即轉變顛倒。耶穌告訴祂的門徒, 祂的生命將不會與現世妥協: 祂必須上耶路撒冷去, 要從長老、司祭長和經師們受到許多痛苦, 然後被殺, 但第三天要復活。這一切對伯多祿和宗徒們來說, 是一個極難接受及困擾他們的信息。當他們知道這個如此被敬愛的人, 將會受到這極大的痛苦甚至死亡, 他們真的完全崩潰了!

當時伯多祿仍是滿腔熱誠之際,聽到了耶穌此話語後,便「拉耶穌到一邊, 諫責祂」(瑪 16:22) 。讓我們停留在這一幕裏, 去細想一下「諫責」耶穌是多麼不尋常的舉動! 事實上, 省察我們的良知是十分重要的: 很多時當我們聽到耶穌不合己意的聲音, 我們就如伯多祿一樣, 去指責耶穌。伯多祿的反應不只是憑直覺的, 他甚至是遺背自己的理解、期盼、和意願去指責耶穌。「主, 這事不可能是對的!」「祢這樣做是錯的。」當我們以自己的意願去指責耶穌時, 我們就處於一個很朽壞的屬靈狀況中。伯多祿與我們沒有任何分別, 他說: 「主, 千萬不可! 這事絕不會臨到袮身上!」(瑪 16:22)

耶穌怎樣回應伯多祿呢? 耶穌立刻用一些令人非常震驚的字眼, 去責難伯多祿: 「撒殫, 退到我後面去!」(瑪 16:23) 我們能否想像自己被耶穌叫做撒殫? 其實, 當耶穌用「撒殫」一詞去責難伯多祿時, 祂同時也指「撒謊者的父親」的言語 (若8:44)! 天下間最大的謊言就是: 活出基督徒的生命是不需要背負十字架、不需要為了愛而受苦。這也是為什麼當伯多祿盡量勸諫耶穌離開十字架時, 他其實是說著撒殫的言語。苦難及死亡並不在伯多祿的議程中, 但卻存留在於耶穌的心坎裏。耶穌向門徒們提出了唯一可以有效地解決苦難及罪惡等難題的方案, 亦是唯一可以有效地達到喜樂的途徑, 就是在愛內犧牲自己。耶穌宣佈祂要到耶路撒冷去, 把自己完全交出。在最後晚餐中, 耶穌說:「這是我的身體, 為你們而捨棄的…….這杯是用我為你們流出的血而立的新約」(路 22:19-20)。這幾句說話總括了祂將會在耶路撒冷所做的一切。 祂將會為了愛衆人而犧牲自己, 然後從死者中復活, 而成為衆人生命的泉源。

耶穌再進一步詳細地講解祂的教導:「人縱然賺得了全世界, 卻賠上了自己的靈魂, 為他有什麼益處?」(瑪 16:26) 我們去行一條自我保護和自我晉升的道路, 的確可能會為我們嬴得全世界, 但卻使我們不能達到天主的要求時, 這代價實在是太大了。天主希望我們成為「至美至善的人」, 去愛時要愛得徹底。 真正的愛需要我們願意受苦。我們生來就是要成為愛的傳送者, 把天主的愛帶到這個世界。這個使命往往包含很多苦痛, 因為這是一條自我犧牲的道路, 而活出天主的愛也時常會遇到阻力。耶稣邀請我們為愛作出一個抉擇, 積極地「背著自己的十字架來跟隨我」(瑪 16:24), 與祂一同在十字架苦路上前進!

朋友們, 你們願意常喜樂嗎? 跟隨耶穌的教導吧! 你們願意跟從那一條道路呢? 一條自我保護, 或是一條自我交出愛的道路嗎? 「誰為我的緣故, 喪失了自己的性命, 必要獲得性命」(瑪 10:39)。請把你們的生命當作禮物附出吧!你們將會體會到真正復活的喜悅!

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿二主日:十字架的愛 吳智勳神父

上星期日的福音讀經講述伯多祿明認耶穌為基督、為天主子,揭開耶穌傳道生涯新的一頁。耶穌稱讚他有福,並稱他為磐石,著他帶領教會。

繼續閱讀 >