How many of us realize that the resurrection from the dead is at the heart of our Christian faith?

Thirty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

2 Maccabees 7:1-2,9-14

It happened that seven brothers with their mother were arrested and tortured with whips and scourges by the king, to force them to eat pork in violation of God's law. One of the brothers, speaking for the others, said: "What do you expect to achieve by questioning us? We are ready to die rather than transgress the laws of our ancestors." At the point of death he said: "You accursed fiend, you are depriving us of this present life, but the King of the world will raise us up to live again forever. It is for his laws that we are dying." After him the third suffered their cruel sport. He put out his tongue at once when told to do so, and bravely held out his hands, as he spoke these noble words: "It was from Heaven that I received these; for the sake of his laws I disdain them; from him I hope to receive them again." Even the king and his attendants marveled at the young man's courage, because he regarded his sufferings as nothing. After he had died, they tortured and maltreated the fourth brother in the same way. When he was near death, he said, "It is my choice to die at the hands of men with the hope God gives of being raised up by him; but for you, there will be no resurrection to life."

2 Thessalonians 2:16-3:5

Brothers and sisters: May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who has loved us and given us everlasting encouragement and good hope through his grace, encourage your hearts and strengthen them in every good deed and word. Finally, brothers and sisters, pray for us, so that the word of the Lord may speed forward and be glorified, as it did among you, and that we may be delivered from perverse and wicked people, for not all have faith. But the Lord is faithful; he will strengthen you and guard you from the evil one. We are confident of you in the Lord that what we instruct you, you are doing and will continue to do. May the Lord direct your hearts to the love of God and to the endurance of Christ.

Luke 20:27-38

Some Sadducees, those who deny that there is a resurrection, came forward and put this question to Jesus, saying, "Teacher, Moses wrote for us, If someone's brother dies leaving a wife but no child, his brother must take the wife and raise up descendants for his brother. Now there were seven brothers; the first married a woman but died childless. Then the second and the third married her, and likewise all the seven died childless. Finally the woman also died. Now at the resurrection whose wife will that woman be? For all seven had been married to her." Jesus said to them, "The children of this age marry and remarry; but those who are deemed worthy to attain to the coming age and to the resurrection of the dead neither marry nor are given in marriage. They can no longer die, for they are like angels; and they are the children of God because they are the ones who will rise. That the dead will rise even Moses made known in the passage about the bush, when he called out ‘Lord,’ the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob; and he is not God of the dead, but of the living, for to him all are alive."

Resurrection from the dead is an idea that is often ridiculed, not only in the secular world but also even among the Christians. Apart from the annual Easter celebration which we generally accept as a custom, how many of us realize that the resurrection from the dead is at the heart of our Christian faith? (Christian belief of the resurrection from the dead is tied to Christ’s own resurrection). How many of us can really capture the significance of that most explosive historical moment when Jesus was resurrected?

The significance is shown in the kerygma of the early church which focused on Jesus’ death, burial and resurrection with His resurrection as the core message. Jesus’ resurrection vindicated His claims and by it He conquered sin and death. This supernatural act of God in history authenticated the words and works of Jesus. St. Paul says, “if there is no resurrection of the dead, then neither has Christ been raised. And if Christ has not been raised, then empty is our preaching; empty, too, your faith” (1 Cor 15:13-14). If Christ’s resurrection is but a figment of human imagination, then our faith will be no more than some philosophical or ethical teachings of an exceedingly gifted man. “Faith in the resurrection rests on faith in God who ‘is not God of the dead, but of the living’……………..to be a witness to Christ is to be ‘a witness to his resurrection’ to [have eaten and drunk] with him after he rose from the dead” (CCC 993, 995).

Belief in the resurrection of the dead implies belief in life after death. The idea of an afterlife is not exclusively Christian. It is taught in many religions but one of the most striking differences between Christian and non-Christian belief with regard to life after death is the Christian belief in bodily resurrection. Even though some believed it (see First Reading), it was supposed to happen to everyone at the end of time and not to one person in the middle of history. The centrality of the resurrection of Jesus constitutes the basis for the Christian hope of immortality and Christ’s Parousia or “return to earth”. The hope of a future life encourages us to persevere in good deeds (see Second Reading) and endure trials and sufferings (rf Rom 8:18, 1 Peter 4:12-13).

Christ’s own resurrection and the belief of the resurrection from the dead are like directional arrows which point us to our target: the heavenly home where eternal life begins.

Posted: November 6, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Remember!
Turn our gaze and see with eyes of an enlightened heart Continue Reading >
Life is a Test and Temporary Assignment
"The way you see your life shapes your life" (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 41). Some people may see life as a journey, or a roller coaster (up and… Continue Reading >
"The holy Spirit … will teach you everything and remind you of all that [I] told you” (Jn 14:26)
The voice of the Holy Spirit may become clearer if we listen and pray with a faithful heart. Continue Reading >

我們有多少人會明白到從死者中復活是我們基督宗教信仰的核心?

常年期第三十二主日

瑪加伯下 7:1-2,9-14

那時候,有兄弟七人,與他們的母親一同被捕。國王命人用鞭子和牛筋,痛打他們,強迫他們吃法律禁止的豬肉。其中一個兄弟,代表發言說:「你想問什麼?你想由我們知道什麼?我們已經準備,寧死不願背叛我們祖先的法律。」他在快要斷氣的一剎那,高聲說:「你這窮凶極惡的人!你使我失去現世的生命,但是宇宙的君王,必要使我們這些為他的法律而殉難的人復活,獲得永生。」這一個以後,輪到第三個兄弟受刑了!在命令他伸出舌頭時,他就爽快地伸出,且毅然伸開雙手,慷慨地說:「這些肢體是從上天得來的,但是,現在為了他的法律,我不吝嗇這一切,希望有一天,從他那裡,仍再得到。」國王和他的侍從,都驚訝這少年人,不怕受苦的精神。他死了以後,他們用同樣的酷刑,處罰第四個兄弟。他臨死時,這樣說:「我們這些深信天主許諾使人復活的人,死在人手中,是求之不得的;可是為你,決不會復活獲得永生。」

聖保祿宗徒致得撒洛尼人後書 2:16-3:5

弟兄姊妹們:願我們的主耶穌基督,和那愛我們,並開恩將永遠的安慰和美好的希望,賜與我們的天主父,鼓勵你們的心,並在各種善工善言上,堅固你們。此外,弟兄們!請為我們祈禱,好叫主的聖道,也像在你們那裡一樣,順利展開,並得到光榮;也叫我們脫離壞人與惡人,因為不是人人都有信德。主是信實的,他必堅固你們,保護你們免於凶惡。我們在主內信賴你們;你們既然現今實行了我們所吩咐的,將來也必實行。願主指引你們的心,去愛天主,並學習基督的堅忍。

聖路加福音 20:27-38

那時候,否認復活的撒杜塞人中,有幾個來問耶穌,說:「師父,梅瑟給我們寫下:如果一個人的哥哥死了,撇下妻子而沒有子嗣,他的弟弟就應娶他的妻子,給他哥哥立嗣。有兄弟七人,第一個娶了妻子,沒有子嗣就死了。第二個,及第三個,都娶過她為妻。七個人都是如此:沒有留下子嗣就死了。後來,連那婦人也死了。「那麼,在復活的時候,這婦人是他們那一個的妻子?因為他們七個人,都娶過她為妻。」耶穌對他們說:「今世之子也娶也嫁;但那堪得來世,及堪當由死者中復活的人,他們也不娶,也不嫁;甚至他們也不能再死,因為他們相似天使;他們既是復活之子,也就是天主之子。「至論死者復活,梅瑟已在荊棘篇中指明了:他稱上主,為亞巴郎的天主,依撒格的天主,及雅各伯的天主。天主不是死人的天主,而是活人的天主;所有人為他都是生活的。」

我們有多少人會明白到從死者中復活是我們基督宗教信仰的核心?

基督的復活和人能從死者中復活的信念就像指標一樣,指向我們的目的地:天上的家, 我們開始永生的地方。

死人復活這說法不僅在俗世中,甚至在基督徒之間也會經常被人取笑。 除了一年一度的復活節慶典我們已普遍接受為習俗, 我們有多少人會明白到從死者中復活是我們基督宗教信仰的核心?(基督徒關於死者復活的信念是基於基督自己的復活)。 我們有多少人能真正明白到歷史上最爆炸性的一刻– 耶穌復活的意義?

耶穌復活的意義可見於初期教會之福音宣講,那時期的宣講聚焦在耶穌的死亡,埋葬和復活,而耶穌復活更是主要訊息。 耶穌復活證明了祂之前的宣言,而藉著復活, 祂征服了罪惡和死亡。天主在歷史上這超自然的行動證實了耶穌言行的真確性。 聖保祿說:「假如死人復活是沒有的事,基督也就沒有復活,假如基督沒有復活,那麼,我們的宣講便是空的,你們的信仰也是空的。」(格前15:13-14)。 如果基督復活只是人想像出來的幻象,那麼我們的信仰也不過是來自一個出色的智者的哲學或倫理教導。「復活的信仰奠基於對天主的信心上,因為『祂不是一個死人的天主,而是活人的天 主』…. 基督的見証人,就是『祂復活的見証人』, 曾經在祂從死者中復活後與祂一起飲食」(天主教教理 CCC 993,995)。

相信死者復活,意味著相信人死後仍有生命。人死後仍有生命這種想法並不是基督宗教所獨有。很多其他宗教也有這樣的信念,但基督宗教和非基督宗教信仰其中最顯著的區別是,基督宗教相信肉身的復活。儘管有些人相信這說法(見讀經一),但肉身的復活應該在末世時發生在每個人身上,而並非發生在歷史中的一個人身上。以耶穌復活為中心,是基督徒盼望永生和基督再來的根基。我們對未來生命的盼望振奮着我們,賜給我們力量,完成各種善行(見讀經二),忍受試探和苦楚(羅8:18,伯前 4:12-13)。

基督的復活和人能從死者中復活的信念就像指標一樣,指向我們的目的地:天上的家, 我們開始永生的地方。

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙常年期第三十二主日:死人復活 吳智勳神父

本週的福音讀經記載耶穌與撒杜塞人討論「死人復活」的問題,讓我們先把這段對談放回當天的時空裡去分析。耶穌進了耶京後,當權者相繼來挑戰他。先是法利塞人,他們本是個宗教性的團體,重視聖經和守梅瑟的法律,但卻問了一個政治性的問題──能否給凱撒納稅,耶穌的回答使他們啞口無言。

繼續閱讀 >