I Believe

Second Sunday of Lent

Genesis 22:1-2, 9A, 10-13, 15-18

God put Abraham to the test. He called to him, "Abraham!" "Here I am!" he replied. Then God said: "Take your son Isaac, your only one, whom you love, and go to the land of Moriah. There you shall offer him up as a holocaust on a height that I will point out to you." When they came to the place of which God had told him, Abraham built an altar there and arranged the wood on it. Then he reached out and took the knife to slaughter his son. But the LORD's messenger called to him from heaven, "Abraham, Abraham!" "Here I am!" he answered. "Do not lay your hand on the boy," said the messenger. "Do not do the least thing to him. I know now how devoted you are to God, since you did not withhold from me your own beloved son." As Abraham looked about, he spied a ram caught by its horns in the thicket. So he went and took the ram and offered it up as a holocaust in place of his son. Again the LORD's messenger called to Abraham from heaven and said: "I swear by myself, declares the LORD, that because you acted as you did in not withholding from me your beloved son, I will bless you abundantly and make your descendants as countless as the stars of the sky and the sands of the seashore; your descendants shall take possession of the gates of their enemies, and in your descendants all the nations of the earth shall find blessing— all this because you obeyed my command."

Romans 8:31B-34

Brothers and sisters: If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son but handed him over for us all, how will he not also give us everything else along with him? Who will bring a charge against God's chosen ones? It is God who acquits us, who will condemn? Christ Jesus it is who died—or, rather, was raised— who also is at the right hand of God, who indeed intercedes for us.

Mark 9:2-10

Jesus took Peter, James, and John and led them up a high mountain apart by themselves. And he was transfigured before them, and his clothes became dazzling white, such as no fuller on earth could bleach them. Then Elijah appeared to them along with Moses, and they were conversing with Jesus. Then Peter said to Jesus in reply, "Rabbi, it is good that we are here! Let us make three tents: one for you, one for Moses, and one for Elijah." He hardly knew what to say, they were so terrified. Then a cloud came, casting a shadow over them; from the cloud came a voice, "This is my beloved Son. Listen to him." Suddenly, looking around, they no longer saw anyone but Jesus alone with them. As they were coming down from the mountain, he charged them not to relate what they had seen to anyone, except when the Son of Man had risen from the dead. So they kept the matter to themselves, questioning what rising from the dead meant.

The Catholic Catechism states, “We firmly believe, and hence we hope that, just as Christ is truly risen from the dead and lives forever, so after death the righteous will live forever with the risen Christ and he will raise them up on the last day” (CCC 989). When we gather as a faith community to celebrate the Eucharist, we profess in unison, “I look forward to the resurrection of the dead and the life of the world to come” (Nicene Creed). This belief is at the heart of the mystery revealed in this Sunday’s readings.

In the first reading, “God tested Abraham” by asking Abraham to sacrifice his only son, Isaac (Gen 22:1). Abraham’s faith is pushed to its utmost limit; however, God’s faithfulness surpasses all human inclinations. At this most trying moment in Abraham’s life, God raises up Abraham from the ashes of despair, “Because you have done this, and have not withheld your son, your only son, I will indeed bless you, [...] and by your offspring shall all the nations of the earth gain blessing for themselves, because you have obeyed my voice” (Gen 22:16-18). St. Paul encourages us that nothing can separate the faithful from the love of God, not “hardship, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword” (Rm 8:35). If we suffer and die “with Christ, we believe that we will also live with Him” (Rm 6:8). The Catechism reminds us that “hope in the bodily resurrection of the dead established itself as a consequence intrinsic to faith in God as creator of the whole [person], soul and body. The creator of heaven and earth is also the one who faithfully maintains his covenant with Abraham and his posterity. It was in this double perspective that faith in the resurrection came to be expressed” (CCC 992). Abraham rises, after all, through his unshakable faith in God’s oath to him.

In the Gospel of Mark, Jesus reveals his true identity to his friends, Peter, James and John, in a way that is most fantastical and astounding. He is “transfigured … his clothes became dazzling white, such as no one on earth could bleach them” (Mk 9:3). Not only is the Transfiguration a revelation of Christ’s divinity, it also foretells Christ’s death, resurrection and ascension. Jesus “reveals that he will have to go by the way of the cross at Jerusalem in order to ‘enter into his glory’. [...] the cloud indicates the presence of the Holy Spirit. The whole Trinity appeared: the Father in the voice; the Son in the man; the Spirit in the shining cloud” (CCC 555). Therefore, our resurrection, like Christ’s, will be the work of the Most Holy Trinity. St. Paul reassures us that “if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also through his Spirit who dwells in you (Rm 8:11). Not only has this vision strengthened the faith of Jesus’ disciples, but it has also “prepared them for the terrible struggle of which they were to be witnesses in Gethsemani” (“Catholic Encyclopedia”, www.newadvent.org). Similarly, as we struggle with life’s challenges, pain or even death of loved ones, we are also strengthened by this glorious vision of Christ’s Transfiguration.

During the season of Lent, as we remember God’s faithfulness to Abraham, may we be courageous enough to obey God’s voice, offer our failings and fear to God, and place our trust in His unconditional love. Let us pray:

We rise again from ashes,
from the good we’ve failed to do.
We rise again from ashes,
to create ourselves anew.
If all our world is ashes,
then must our lives be true,
an offering of ashes, an offering to you.

We offer you our failures,
we offer you attempts,
the gifts not fully given,
the dreams not fully dreamt.
Give our stumblings direction,
give our visions wider view,
an offering of ashes, an offering to you.

(Tom Conry “Ashes”)

Posted: February 25, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“The Lord is near.” (Philippians 4:5)
Rejoice, be glad; be gentle and humble Continue Reading >
Salvation history is human history
Let us widen our lens when reading the Bible and do not dissociate its stories with our present age and the world we are in now Continue Reading >
The End or the Beginning
Advent is indeed, a time of remembering, reflection, and transformation. Continue Reading >

我信

四旬期第二主日

創世紀 22:1-2,9,10-13,15-18

那時候,天主試探亞巴郎,說:「亞巴郎!」亞巴郎回答說:「我在這裡。」天主說:「帶你心愛的獨生子依撒格,到摩黎雅地方去,在我要指給你的一座山上,將他獻為全燔祭。」當他們到了天主指給亞巴郎的地方,亞巴郎便在那裡,築起一座祭壇,擺好木柴,將兒子依撒格捆好,放在祭壇的木柴上。亞巴郎正伸手舉刀,要宰獻自己的兒子時,上主的使者從天上,對亞巴郎大聲說:「亞巴郎!亞巴郎!」亞巴郎回答說:「我在這裡。」使者說:「不可在這孩子身上下手,不要傷害他!我現在知道你實在敬畏天主,因為你為了我,竟然連自己的獨生子,也不顧惜。」亞巴郎舉目一望,見有一隻公綿羊,兩角纏在灌木中,於是前去取了那隻公綿羊,代替自己的兒子,獻為全燔祭。上主的使者由天上,又呼喚亞巴郎說:「我指著自己起誓——上主的斷語——因為你做了這事,沒有顧惜你的獨生子,我必多多降福你,使你的後裔繁多,如同天上的星辰,如同海邊的沙粒。你的後裔,必佔領他們仇敵的城門;地上萬民,都要因你的後裔,而蒙受祝福,因為你聽從了我的話。」

羅馬書 8:31-34

弟兄姊妹們:如果天主偕同我們,誰能反對我們呢?天主既然沒有憐惜自己的兒子,反而為我們眾人,把他交出來,豈不也把一切,與他一同賜給我們嗎?誰能控告天主所揀選的人呢?是使人成義的天主嗎?誰能定他們的罪?是那已死,或更好說已復活,現今在天主右邊,代我們轉求的基督耶穌嗎?

馬爾谷福音 9:2-10

那時候,耶穌帶著伯多祿、雅各伯和若望,單獨帶領他們上了一座高山,在他們面前變了容貌:耶穌的衣服發光,那樣潔白,世上沒有一個漂布的,能漂得那樣白。厄里亞和梅瑟,也顯現給他們,正在同耶穌談論。伯多祿於是開口對耶穌說:「師父,我們在這裡真好!讓我們搭三個帳棚:一個為你,一個為梅瑟,一個為厄里亞。」伯多祿原來不知道該說什麼,因為他們都嚇呆了。當時,有一團雲彩,遮蔽了他們,從雲中有聲音說:「這是我的愛子,你們要聽從他!」他們忽然向四周一看,見不到任何人,只有耶穌同他們在一起。他們從山上下來的時候,耶穌囑咐他們,非等人子從死者中復活後,不要將他們所見的,告訴任何人。他們遵守了這話,卻彼此討論:從死者中復活是什麼意思。

天主教教理這樣教導:「我們堅決地相信,也堅決地希望,就如基督確實從死者中復活和永遠地活著,同樣義人在死後,將永遠與復活的基督一起生活,同時在末日基督會使他們復活。」(天主教教理989)。作為一個信仰團體聚集一起,慶祝感恩聖祭時,我們齊聲宣認:「我期待死人的復活及來世的生命」(尼西亞信經)。這就是主日讀經所彰顯的奧秘的中心信念。

在第一篇讀經 ,「天主試探亞巴郎」,遂叫他把他的獨生子依撒格獻為全燔祭(創22:1)。亞巴郎的信德被考驗到極限;但是天主的忠信遠超過人性所傾向的。在亞巴郎受到生命中最大的考驗時,天主把他從絕望的灰土中高舉起來:「因為你作了這事, 沒有顧惜你的獨生子,我必多多祝福你,[…] 地上萬民要因你的後裔蒙受祝福,因為你聽從了我的話」(創22:16-18)。聖保祿宗徒這樣勉勵我們,沒有任何東西能使信眾與天主的愛隔絕,不管是「困苦嗎?是窘迫嗎?是迫害嗎?是饑餓嗎?是赤貧嗎?是危險嗎?是刀劍嗎?」(羅8:35)。如果我們受苦而「與基督同死,我們相信也要與他同生」(羅6:8)。《天主教教理》也這樣提醒我們:「對亡者肉身復活的希望,本身是信仰的必然後果,即相信天主創造了整個的人,包括靈魂和肉身。天地的創造者也是那信守盟約者,即祂與亞巴郎及其子孫所訂的盟約。就是在這雙重的透視下,復活的信仰開始呈現出來」(天主教教理992)。因為亞巴郎對天主的誓言有絕不動搖的信德,最終他被高舉了。

在馬爾谷福音裏,耶穌用一個非常奇異和令人震驚的方式,把祂真正的身份顯示給祂的朋友…伯多祿、雅各伯和若望。祂「變了容貌…祂的衣服發光,那樣潔白,世上沒有一個漂布的能漂得那樣白」(谷9:3)。耶穌顯聖容不只顯露了基督的天主性,同時也預告了基督的死亡、復活和升天。耶穌「宣示了『為進入祂的光榮』(路 24:26),必須先經過耶路撒冷的十字架。[…] 雲彩是指聖神的臨在:整個聖三都顯現了:父以聲音、子以人形、 聖神以雲彩」(教理 555)。因此,我們的復活就如基督的復活一樣,是天主聖三的化工。聖保祿再三向我們保證說:「如果那使耶穌從死者中復活者的聖神住在你們內,那麼,那使基督從死者中復活的,也必要藉那住在你們內的聖神,使你們有死的身體復活。」(羅8:11)。這景象不但增強了耶穌眾門徒的信德,而且也「使他們作好準備,在革責瑪尼園內,為那可怕的掙扎作見證」(《天主教百科全書》, www.newadvent.org) 。 同樣,當我們為生命中的各種挑戰、痛苦或甚至摰愛離世而掙扎的時候,基督顯聖容這個光榮景象,使我們堅強起來。

在四旬期裏,當我們紀念天主對亞巴郎的忠信時,但願我們能勇敢地聽從天主的聲音,把我們的弱點和恐懼奉獻給天主,及把我們的信任交托於祂無條件的大愛中。讓我們一起祈禱:

我們從灰土中再次起來,
從那些我們沒有做的善行中。
我們從灰土中再次起來,
為自己的重生。
如果我們的世界是灰土,
那我們的生命必定是真實的,
一個灰土的奉獻, 奉獻給祢。

將我們的失敗獻給祢,
將我們的努力獻給祢,
那些未能完全施予的禮物,
那些未能完全夢見的夢想。
請在我們跌倒時,給我們指引,
讓我們的眼光,有更廣闊的視野,
一個灰土的奉獻,奉獻給祢。

(Tom Conry 「灰土」)

Posted: February 25, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第二主日:愛的代價 吳智勳神父

本主日的三篇讀經有一共同的主題:愛的代價。用今日的術語來說,就是愛不能是便宜的。第一篇讀經有關亞巴郎獻子的故事是長期爭議的題目。倘若你今天問我:天主在夢中叫你把兒子殺了獻給祂,你可以不可以做?我會立刻回答:不可以,因為現代人的良心顯示這是不道德的。

繼續閱讀 >