Is Jesus’ law of love a continuity or a discontinuity to the law of Moses?

Thirty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Malachi 1:14B-2:2B,8-10

A great King am I, says the LORD of hosts, and my name will be feared among the nations. And now, O priests, this commandment is for you: If you do not listen, if you do not lay it to heart, to give glory to my name, says the LORD of hosts, I will send a curse upon you and of your blessing I will make a curse. You have turned aside from the way, and have caused many to falter by your instruction; you have made void the covenant of Levi, says the LORD of hosts. I, therefore, have made you contemptible and base before all the people, since you do not keep my ways, but show partiality in your decisions. Have we not all the one father? Has not the one God created us? Why then do we break faith with one another, violating the covenant of our fathers?

1 Thessalonians 2:7B-9, 13

Brothers and sisters: We were gentle among you, as a nursing mother cares for her children. With such affection for you, we were determined to share with you not only the gospel of God, but our very selves as well, so dearly beloved had you become to us. You recall, brothers and sisters, our toil and drudgery. Working night and day in order not to burden any of you, we proclaimed to you the gospel of God. And for this reason we too give thanks to God unceasingly, that, in receiving the word of God from hearing us, you received not a human word but, as it truly is, the word of God, which is now at work in you who believe.

Matthew 23:1-12

Jesus spoke to the crowds and to his disciples, saying, "The scribes and the Pharisees have taken their seat on the chair of Moses. Therefore, do and observe all things whatsoever they tell you, but do not follow their example. For they preach but they do not practice. They tie up heavy burdens hard to carry and lay them on people's shoulders, but they will not lift a finger to move them. All their works are performed to be seen. They widen their phylacteries and lengthen their tassels. They love places of honor at banquets, seats of honor in synagogues, greetings in marketplaces, and the salutation 'Rabbi.' As for you, do not be called 'Rabbi.' You have but one teacher, and you are all brothers. Call no one on earth your father; you have but one Father in heaven. Do not be called 'Master'; you have but one master, the Christ. The greatest among you must be your servant. Whoever exalts himself will be humbled; but whoever humbles himself will be exalted."

What Jesus says in today’s Gospel of Matthew is well understood by many. The core message is simple: practise what you preach. When we say this to others or that being said to by others, there is a subtle implication of something hypocritical, that is, it points to a lack of integrity in the words which are said and in the deeds which are shown. To Jesus, it is an open and straight forward denunciation of the scribes and the Pharisees whose deeds do not conform to their teachings. Apart from His anger towards their perversion of Israel’s religious spirit, Jesus’ denunciation reflects the deep opposition between His ministry and the teachers of the Law in His time; the opposition that arises from the controversies surrounding the attitude towards the Law.

To the Jews, there is no question about the validity of the Law but its interpretation could be contentious; whether it is in the light of the Pharisaic tradition or Jesus’ own teachings. While Jesus upholds the authority and teachings of the scribes and the Pharisees (rf Mt 23:2-3), He teaches His disciples not to call anyone rabbi or master (rf Mt 23:7-9). While Jesus Himself intents to fulfill the law and commands fidelity to “every letter and stroke of letter” of the Law (Mt 5:17-19), He overthrows the laws of retaliation, divorce and oath taking (rf Mt 5:31-42). So what does Jesus want to preach?

Jesus wants to preach love and compassion – “I desire mercy, not sacrifice” (Mt 9:13). He makes it the fundamental principle of interpreting the Law (rf Mt 22:34-40). He practises what He preaches: He welcomes sinners – He eats with them (rf Mk 2:15-17); He befriends them (rf Jn 4:1-18, Lk 7:36-39); He heals on the Sabbath (rf Mk 1:21-31, 3:1-6, Jn 5:5-18, Lk 13:10-12); He forgives all sinners even His enemies (rf Mk 2:5; Jn 8:3-11; Lk 7:48, 23:24) and He lays down His life for His friends (rf Jn 15:13). His distinctive emphasis of the “love command” (rf Jn 15:12) is therefore in direct confrontation with the legalistic rigorous attitude of the Pharisaic Judaism (rf Mt 9:1-17, 12:1-14, 15:1-20) and more so, when He claims superiority over it (rf Mt 5:21-28).

As Jesus’ followers, we certainly would not want to be like the Pharisees but neither should we become an antinomian (one who takes the principle of salvation by faith and divine grace to the point of asserting that the saved are not bound to follow the Law of Moses). The Law remains valid as the revealed Word of God. It is the ”handed on” and written revelation of God as norm and regulation for life. But by Jesus’ resurrection, the turning point in salvation history, the Law is now filtered through the teaching authority of the risen Lord who, not only “fulfills” the Law (Mt 5:17) but revives its proper spirit.

If we follow Jesus’ command of love when keeping the Law, we will be safeguarded on one hand, from being a rigid conservative and on the other hand, from being a loose liberal. Perhaps most importantly, we will avoid falling into hypocrisy like the scribes and the Pharisees for “love does not boast, it is not proud. . .it is not self seeking” (1 Cor 13:4-5).

Posted: November 5, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Will only a few people be saved?
Will we be the ones to stand outside knocking when the master come? Continue Reading >
Finding Peace
When we care for someone, we have to reveal to them their value and gifts. Continue Reading >
Making a decision
In Rome I once met a newly married couple who were visiting from Vancouver. They were clearly in love—it was very sweet. Over lunch I asked how they met. The… Continue Reading >

耶穌愛的誡命是否梅瑟法律的延續?

常年期第三十一主日

瑪拉基亞先知書 1:14-2:2,8-10

萬軍的上主說:我是大王。我的名在異民中,必受敬畏。司祭們!這是向你們提出的警告:如果你們不聽從,不把光榮我名的事,放在心上——萬軍的上主說——我必使詛咒,臨到你們身上,必使你們的祝福,變為詛咒。

得撒洛尼前書 2:7-9,13

我們慈祥地對待你們,像撫育自己孩子的母親。我們如此眷愛你們,不但願意將天主的福音,交給你們,而且也願意將我們的性命,交給你們,因為你們是我們所疼愛的。 弟兄們,你們應回想我們的勤勞和辛苦:我們向你們宣講天主的福音時,黑夜白日工作,免得加給你們任何人負擔。 為此,我們不斷感謝天主,因為你們聽到我們所傳布的、天主的言語,並沒有拿它當人的言語,而實在當天主的言語,領受了;這言語,在你們信者身上,發生了效力。

瑪竇福音 23:1-12

那時候,耶穌對民眾和他的門徒說: 「經師和法利塞人,坐在梅瑟的講座上,凡他們對你們所說的,你們要謹守遵行;但不要照他們的行為去做,因為他們只說不做。他們把沉重得難以負荷的擔子捆好,放在別人肩上,自己卻不肯用一個指頭動一下。他們所做的一切工作,都是為叫人看;為此,他們把經匣放寬,衣繸加長;他們又喜愛筵席上的首位,會堂中的上座;喜愛人在街市向他們致敬,稱他們為『辣彼』(師父)。 「至於你們,不要被稱為『辣彼』,因為你們的師父,只有一位;你們眾人都是兄弟。你們也不要在世上稱任何人為父,因為你們的父,只有一位,就是天上的父。你們也不要被稱為導師,因為你們的導師,只有一位,就是默西亞。 「你們中最大的,就該作你們的僕役。凡高舉自己的,必被貶抑;凡貶抑自己的,必被高舉。」

很多人都明白耶穌今天在瑪竇福音所說的話。主要的信息非常簡單:實踐你所宣講的。當我們對人這樣說,或他人對我們這樣說的時候,就意味著有人表現虛偽,換言之,就是言行不一。對耶穌來說,這是對經師和法利賽人的公開直接譴責。他們的行為並不符合自己所教導的。耶穌的憤怒除了因為他們扭曲了以色列的宗教精神之外,祂的譴責亦反映出耶穌的事工和當代的導師有極大的分歧,而引起分歧的是他們對法律的不同態度和看法。

對猶太人來說,法律的合法性是無可置疑的,具爭議的只是釋義:是該跟據法利賽人的傳統還是用耶穌自己的教導來解釋呢?。耶穌承認經師和法利賽人的權力和他們的教導 (參 瑪 23:2-3),但祂教祂的門徒不要稱任何人為師傅或導師 (參 瑪 23:7-9)。耶穌自己要成全法律和命令人忠心地守法,「一撇或一畫」也要遵守, 但祂廢除了以牙還牙、休妻、及發誓的法律。那麼,究竟耶穌教導的是什麼?

耶穌是要教導仁愛和憐憫 – 「我喜歡仁愛勝過祭獻」(瑪 9:13) 。 祂以仁愛為解釋法律的基本原則 (參 瑪 22:34-40)。祂身體力行自己的教訓:祂歡迎罪人 – 祂與他們一起吃喝 (參 谷 2:15-17) ; 與他們做朋友 (參 若 4:1-18, 路 7:36-39); 在安息日醫治病人 (參 谷 1:21-31, 3:1-6, 若 5:5-18, 路 13:10-12); 祂寬恕所有罪人,甚至寬恕自己的敵人 (參 谷 2:5; 若 8:3-11; 路 7:48, 23:24)及為自己的朋友捨掉性命 (參 若 15:13)。祂的重點是教導「愛的誡命」(參 若 15:12),是直接針對法利賽式嚴苛法規為主的猶大教義 (參 瑪 9:1-17, 12:1-14, 15:1-20),更甚的是,祂聲稱祂的教導更為優越 (參 瑪 5:21-28)。

身為耶穌的跟隨者,我們一定不願意像法利賽人,但我們也不應該認為既然救贖是藉着信德和從天主而來的恩典,所以得救者並不一定要跟隨梅瑟的法律。這法律是天主啟示的聖言,從古開始傳下來,作為我們生活的規範和准則。但藉着耶穌復活這救恩史的轉捩點,法律的訓導和釋義權都因此被濾淨而歸於復活的主。祂不但「滿全」了法律 (瑪 5:17),更使法律真正的精神復甦。

如果我們以耶穌愛的誡命來遵守法律,我們便可避免成為呆板的保守派,或寬鬆的自由派。而最重要的是,我們更能避免成為口不對心,只說不做的經師和法利賽人, 因為「愛不誇張,不自大 … 不求己益」(格前 13:4-5) 。

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第三十一主日:耶穌論人 吳智勳神父

今日福音的背景,是耶穌和法利塞人、黑落德黨人、撒杜塞人、法學士交鋒三個回合後對他們的評論,到現在仍值得教會內人士作自我反省。現分述如下:

繼續閱讀 >