Is Jesus truly far away from us now?

The Ascension of the Lord

Acts 1:1-11

In the first book, Theophilus, I dealt with all that Jesus did and taught until the day he was taken up, after giving instructions through the Holy Spirit to the apostles whom he had chosen. He presented himself alive to them by many proofs after he had suffered, appearing to them during forty days and speaking about the kingdom of God. While meeting with them, he enjoined them not to depart from Jerusalem, but to wait for "the promise of the Father about which you have heard me speak; for John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit." When they had gathered together they asked him, "Lord, are you at this time going to restore the kingdom to Israel?" He answered them, "It is not for you to know the times or seasons that the Father has established by his own authority. But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, throughout Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth." When he had said this, as they were looking on, he was lifted up, and a cloud took him from their sight. While they were looking intently at the sky as he was going, suddenly two men dressed in white garments stood beside them. They said, "Men of Galilee, why are you standing there looking at the sky? This Jesus who has been taken up from you into heaven will return in the same way as you have seen him going into heaven."

Ephesians 1:17-23

Brothers and sisters: May the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, give you a Spirit of wisdom and revelation resulting in knowledge of him. May the eyes of your hearts be enlightened, that you may know what is the hope that belongs to his call, what are the riches of glory in his inheritance among the holy ones, and what is the surpassing greatness of his power for us who believe, in accord with the exercise of his great might, which he worked in Christ, raising him from the dead and seating him at his right hand in the heavens, far above every principality, authority, power, and dominion, and every name that is named not only in this age but also in the one to come. And he put all things beneath his feet and gave him as head over all things to the church, which is his body, the fullness of the one who fills all things in every way.

Mark 16:15-20

Jesus said to his disciples: “Go into the whole world and proclaim the gospel to every creature. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved; whoever does not believe will be condemned. These signs will accompany those who believe: in my name they will drive out demons, they will speak new languages. They will pick up serpents with their hands, and if they drink any deadly thing, it will not harm them. They will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.” So then the Lord Jesus, after he spoke to them, was taken up into heaven and took his seat at the right hand of God. But they went forth and preached everywhere, while the Lord worked with them and confirmed the word through accompanying signs.

One of today’s biggest tragedies is to turn Jesus into a vaguely remembered figure located/situated in a faraway distance. Our culture tends to read the ascension as “enlightenment” rather than a biblical reality, and it causes a huge misconception. Under the “enlightenment” explanation, ascension means that Jesus has gone up to heaven where it is far away and is irrelevant to our world. That is why atheists often read the story of the Ascension and say, “We are just dealing with wild fantasies here. What a myth!” So, on the Feast of the Ascension, what does Jesus teach in the Mark’s Gospel about the Ascension?

“Then the Lord Jesus, after he spoke to them, was taken up into heaven and took his seat at the right hand of God” (Mk 16:19). Even though Jesus ascends into heaven to the dimension of God, He has not gone upwards and far away, rather he is going to heaven so that He can direct His operations more fully and completely on earth. The “heavenly throne” of Christ means that He is more present on earth. From this higher and more inclusive dimension, He can now reign over all the earth. He can be present, not only in Palestine for a period of time and in space, but He is also fully present to all of His creations forever! That is why it is erroneous to consider ascension as “Jesus has left” or “He is way up there in some place, and now we are on our own.” On the contrary, He is gone to reign and to continue the work of building up His kingdom here below. “Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as in heaven” (Mt 6:10). He is gone more deeply and fully into our world, to a dimension that transcends ours, and at the same time, impinges deeply upon us. His own personal ministry is now happening in His mystical body of the Church in which He is directing. He intends to return in order to bring the full reconciliation of heaven and earth!

So, how do we respond to this beautiful and truthful reality? It is precisely when the angels, two men dressed in white garments, stand beside the disciples who are gazing up to the heaven and say, “Men of Galilee, why are you standing there looking at the sky” (Acts 1.10)? Jesus always wants to encounter us in an intimate and personal way. He is coming to touch our hearts, and to breathe His life into our situations, difficulties, desires, and our life. Therefore, do not stare up to heaven and look towards a distant figure, rather cling to Him dearly and draw to Him closely. Then get to work, help to build up this new order of God so that the path of love, forgiveness, and non-violence can be fully restored. That I think is what the Feast of the Ascension is about.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including “THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN HEAVEN AND EARTH”, “SEATED AT THE RIGHT HAND OF THE FATHER”, and “FEAST OF THE ASCENSION”. For more information, please visit Word On Fire.

Posted: May 13, 2018

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

The Price of Status Quo
The “conflicts and disputes” among us, rooted in our egocentrism, juxtapose with our deeper desire for goodness, justice, and peace (Jm 4:1). Through this internal tension, we are able to… Continue Reading >
“But who do you say that I am?” (Mark 8:29)
One of today’s biggest tragedies is to turn Jesus into a vaguely remembered figure located/situated in a faraway distance. Our culture tends to read the ascension as “enlightenment” rather than… Continue Reading >
Are You a Follower of Christ Or Just a Fan?
As fascinating as the Bible is, we must keep in mind that biblical interpretation is ultimately not academic but liturgical. Continue Reading >

現在耶穌是真的遠離了我們嗎?

耶穌升天節(節日)

宗徒大事錄 1:1-11

德敖斐羅,我在第一部書中,已論及耶穌所行所教的一切,直到他藉聖神,囑咐了所選的宗徒之後,被接去的那一天為止。他受難以後,用了許多憑據,向他們顯明自己還活著,四十天之久,顯現給他們,講論天主國的事。耶穌與他們一起進食時,吩咐他們不要離開耶路撒冷,但要等候父的恩許,說:「你們聽我所說過的,若翰固然以水施了洗,但不多幾天以後,你們要因聖神受洗。」他們聚集的時候,就問耶穌說:「主,現在就要給以色列復國嗎?」耶穌回答說:「父以自己的權柄,所定的時間和日期,不是你們應當知道的;但當聖神降臨於你們身上時,你們將充滿聖神的德能,要在耶路撒冷,及全猶太和撒瑪黎雅,並直到地極,為我作證人。」耶穌說完這些話,就在他們觀望中,被舉上升;有一朵雲彩接了他去,離開他們的眼界。他們向天注視著他上升的時候,忽然,有兩個穿白衣的人,站在他們面前,向他們說:「加里肋亞人!你們為什麼站著望天呢?這位離開你們,被接到天上去的耶穌,你們看見他怎樣升了天,也要怎樣降來。」

厄弗所書 1:17-23

弟兄姊妹們:願我們的主耶穌基督的天主,即那光榮的父,把智慧和啟示的神恩,賜與你們,好使你們認識他。並願他光照你們心靈的眼目,為叫你們認清:他的寵召,有什麼希望;在聖徒中,他嗣業的光榮,是怎樣豐厚;他對我們相信的人,所施展強而有效的德能,是怎樣偉大。正如他已將這德能,施展在基督身上,使他從死者中復活,叫他在天上,坐在自己右邊,超乎一切率領者、掌權者、異能者、宰制者,以及一切現世及來世,可稱呼的名號以上。天主又將萬有置於他腳下,使他在教會內做至高的元首;這教會就是基督的身體,是基督在一切內,充滿一切的圓滿。

馬爾谷福音 16:15-20

那時候,耶穌顯現給十一位宗徒,對他們說:「你們往普天下去,向一切受造物,宣傳福音;信而受洗的,必要得救;但不信的,必被判罪。「信的人,必有這些奇蹟相隨:因我的名驅逐魔鬼、說新語言、手拿毒蛇,甚或喝了什麼致命的毒物,也不會受害;按手在病人身上,可使人痊瘉。」主耶穌給宗徒說了這些話以後,就被接升天,坐在天主的右邊。宗徒出去,到處宣講;主與他們合作,並以奇蹟相隨,證實所傳的道理。

這個世代其中一個最大的悲劇,就是將耶穌化作一個在遠方而我們只能依稀記起的人物。我們的文化傾向將耶穌升天視為「啟蒙」,而不是聖經上所記錄的事實,造成極大的誤解。用「啟蒙」來解釋耶穌升天,意味著祂去到遙遠的天堂,與我們的世界無關。正因為如此,無神論者經常在讀完耶穌升天的事蹟後說:「這只是毫無根據的幻想,只是個神話!」在耶穌升天節,讓我們細讀《馬爾谷福音》怎樣記載,耶穌升天。

「主耶穌給他們說了這些話以後,就被接升天,坐在天主的右邊」(谷 16:19)。即使耶穌升了天,去到天主的領域,祂並非高高在上,遙不可及,反之祂在天國裡,更能圓滿和全面地指揮祂在世上的工作。基督在「天國的王座」意味著祂在地上更真實地臨在。從這更高、更包容的領域,祂現在可以統治整個地球。祂的臨在,不僅僅是在巴勒斯坦的一段時空,而是永遠完全臨在於祂的受造物當中!所以將耶穌升天視為「耶穌已經離開」或「祂處身高天某處,現在我們衹能靠自己」的想法是大錯特錯的。相反,祂的離去是為繼續建立祂在地上的王國。「願你的國來臨,願你的旨意承行於地,如在天上一樣!」(瑪 6:10)。祂現在更深入,更完全地走進我們的世界,到一個超越我們的層次,而同時也深深地影響著我們。祂的工作在祂領導下的教會妙身中繼續進行。祂準備再回來,使天國和人間徹底修和!

那麼,我們如何回應這個優美而又真確的事實呢?當門徒們在望著天上的時候,兩名穿著白色衣服的天使出現在他們旁邊時說:「加里肋亞人!你們為什麼站著望天呢」(宗 1.11) ?耶穌總想和我們每個人親密地相遇。祂來是為觸及我們的心靈,將祂的生命注入我們的環境、困難、渴望和生命中。因此,不要衹盯著天上遠處的祂,而是要親密地依附著祂,靠近祂。接著就要開始工作,參與建立天主國度的新秩序,重新建設那慈愛、寬恕和非暴力之路。我認為這就是耶穌升天節的意義。

鳴謝
以上是Bishop Robert Barron講道的摘錄,包括 “THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN HEAVEN AND EARTH”, “SEATED AT THE RIGHT HAND OF THE FATHER”、和 “FEAST OF THE ASCENSION”。詳情請瀏覽:Word On Fire

Posted: May 13, 2018

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 耶穌升天節:有使命感的基督徒 吳智勳神父

「祂升了天,坐在聖父的右邊」,這兩句信經的話,出自今日的福音。雖然耶穌升天瞻禮不及耶穌苦難、復活和聖神降臨那麼重要,但既在信經出現,其重要性不應被忽視。

繼續閱讀 >