Jesus’ uplifting presence in the Gospels

Third Sunday of Easter

Acts 3:13-15, 17-19

Peter said to the people: "The God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, the God of our fathers, has glorified his servant Jesus, whom you handed over and denied in Pilate's presence when he had decided to release him. You denied the Holy and Righteous One and asked that a murderer be released to you. The author of life you put to death, but God raised him from the dead; of this we are witnesses. Now I know, brothers, that you acted out of ignorance, just as your leaders did; but God has thus brought to fulfillment what he had announced beforehand through the mouth of all the prophets, that his Christ would suffer. Repent, therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be wiped away."

1 John 2:1-5A

My children, I am writing this to you so that you may not commit sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous one. He is expiation for our sins, and not for our sins only but for those of the whole world. The way we may be sure that we know him is to keep his commandments. Those who say, "I know him," but do not keep his commandments are liars, and the truth is not in them. But whoever keeps his word, the love of God is truly perfected in him.

Luke 24:35-48

The two disciples recounted what had taken place on the way, and how Jesus was made known to them in the breaking of bread. While they were still speaking about this, he stood in their midst and said to them, "Peace be with you." But they were startled and terrified and thought that they were seeing a ghost. Then he said to them, "Why are you troubled? And why do questions arise in your hearts? Look at my hands and my feet, that it is I myself. Touch me and see, because a ghost does not have flesh and bones as you can see I have." And as he said this, he showed them his hands and his feet. While they were still incredulous for joy and were amazed, he asked them, "Have you anything here to eat?" They gave him a piece of baked fish; he took it and ate it in front of them. He said to them, "These are my words that I spoke to you while I was still with you, that everything written about me in the law of Moses and in the prophets and psalms must be fulfilled." Then he opened their minds to understand the Scriptures. And he said to them, "Thus it is written that the Christ would suffer and rise from the dead on the third day and that repentance, for the forgiveness of sins, would be preached in his name to all the nations, beginning from Jerusalem. You are witnesses of these things."

We can imagine that Jesus’ crucifixion must be very hard for His disciples, not only are they saddened by the death of a loved one, their hope for Jesus as the promised Messiah to redeem Israel is shattered. The events that follow are overwhelming too, on the third day, an empty tomb is found and a vision of angels who announce that He is alive is reported (cf. Luke 24:21-24).

Jesus understands the confusion, doubts and even disbelief in His disciples’ minds. In this Sunday’s Gospel reading, we hear that when Jesus appears to his disciples, He greets them warmly “Peace be with you” (Luke 24:36). He does not condemn them for their lack of faith, but wants to convince them that truly, He is risen from the dead. He invites them to look at his hands and feet, to touch him to prove that he is not a ghost “for a ghost does not have flesh and bones as you see that I have” (Luke 24:39). He even eats a piece of fish in their presence. As a great teacher, he explains to them patiently that “everything written about me in the Law of Moses, the Prophets, and the Psalms must be fulfilled […] the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day” (Luke 24:44, 46).

Sometimes, we may also find ourselves confused and in doubt when our faith is challenged by authorities, politics, popular culture, values and beliefs of the day. We may be unable to stand firm as a defender of our Christian faith. We wish so much that Jesus can be with us, to be our mentor, to console, to encourage us and to be our beacon of light when we do not know which way to take. Have we ever imagined that He might have returned to our midst? It is just that we, like His disciples after Jesus’ Resurrection, are unable to recognize him at once. With the eyes of faith, we will be able to recognize Jesus’ presence in the people we encounter whom will empower us to remain hopeful when the situation seems hopeless in the eyes of the world, and to await in Christian joy as we endure the most difficult of circumstances personally, as a community or as a people.

Without fail, we can always find Jesus’ uplifting presence in the Gospels. With this Sunday’s Gospel Acclamation, let us call on Jesus to help us fortify our faith through the Scriptures:
“Lord Jesus, open the Scriptures to us: make our hearts burn with love when you speak. Alleluia” (See Luke 24:32).

Posted: April 15, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Who are the Genuine Leaders Among Us?
A genuine leader gathers rather than scatters; brings peace instead of hatred; leads with compassion. Continue Reading >
Planning and Entrusting
“The Lord will give what is good” (Responsorial Psalm Ps 85:13) Continue Reading >
All FLL Volunteers Share in Jesus’ Prophetic Office
If Jesus was given the cold shoulder by his hometown people, why should we expect our mission in exercising his prophetic office to be any easier? Continue Reading >

耶穌臨在福音中,振奮人心

復活期第三主日

宗徒大事錄 3:13-15,17-19

那時候,伯多祿對群眾說:「亞巴郎、依撒格和雅各伯的天主,我們祖先的天主,光榮了自己的僕人耶穌;他就是你們所解送,並在比拉多前所否認的。雖然比拉多原判定要釋放他,你們卻否認了那聖潔而且正義的人,竟要求把殺人犯賜給你們,反而殺害了『生命之原』;天主卻從死者中復活了他。我們就是這事的見證人。「弟兄們!我知道你們所做的,是出於無知;你們的首領也是如此。但天主藉著眾先知的口,預言他的默西亞必要受難的事,也就這樣應驗了。你們悔改,並回心轉意吧!好消除你們的罪過。」

若望一書 2:1-5

我的孩子們,我給你們寫這些事,是為叫你們不要犯罪;但是,誰若犯了罪,我們在父那裡,有正義的耶穌基督作護慰者。他自己就是贖罪祭,贖我們的罪過,不但贖我們的,而且也贖全世界的罪過。如果我們遵守他的命令,由此便知道我們認識他。那說「我認識他」,而不遵守他命令的,是撒謊的人,在他內沒有真理。但是,誰若遵守他的話,天主的愛在他內,才得以圓滿;由此我們也知道,我們是在他內。

路加福音 24:33,35-48

那時候,往厄瑪烏的兩位門徒,回到耶路撒冷,遇見那十一位門徒,及同門徒一起的人,就把在路上的事,及在分餅時,他們怎樣認出了耶穌,述說了一遍。他們正談論這些事的時候,耶穌站在他們中間,向他們說:「願你們平安!」眾人都害怕起來,想是見了鬼。耶穌向他們說:「你們為什麼害怕?為什麼心裡疑惑?你們看看我的手、我的腳,分明是我。你們摸摸我,應該知道:鬼是沒有肉軀和骨頭的。你們看:我是有的。」說了這話,就把手和腳伸給他們看。他們由於歡喜,還是不敢信,只是驚訝。耶穌向他們說:「你們這裡有什麼可以吃的?」他們便給了耶穌一片烤魚。耶穌就接過來,當他們面前吃了。耶穌對他們說:「我以前還同你們在一起的時候,就對你們說過這話:凡是梅瑟法律、先知及聖詠,指著我所記載的話,都必須應驗。」耶穌於是開啟他們的明悟,叫他們理解經書。耶穌又向他們說:「經上曾這樣記載:默西亞必須受苦,第三天要從死者中復活;並且必須從耶路撒冷開始,因他的名,向萬邦宣講悔改,以得罪之赦。你們就是這些事的見證人。」

對祂的門徒來說,我們可以想像耶穌被釘死在十字架上,是如何沉重的打擊,他們不但因失去至愛而傷心,而他們的希望─耶穌成為應許的默西亞─亦幻滅了。接下來所發生的事情,在第三天,墳墓空了,天使顯現時卻説祂復活了,他們一下子也接受不了(參閲 路 24:32)。

耶穌明白門徒們心中的混亂、疑惑,甚至不相信。在這個主日的福音讀經,我們聽到當耶穌出現在門徒當中時,祂溫和友善地向他們說:「願你們平安!」(路 24:36)。耶穌沒有責備他們沒有信德,而是要他們相信,祂的確已從死者中復活了。祂請門徒們看他的手腳,還要請他們摸摸祂,以證明祂不是鬼,因為「鬼是沒有肉,沒有骨的;你們看,我卻是有的」(路 24:39)。祂甚至在他們面前吃了一塊魚。作為一個偉大的師傅,祂耐心地給他們解釋 「凡是梅瑟法律,先知和聖詠所載關於我的一切,都必須應驗 […] 基督必須受苦,第三天要從死者中復活」(路 24:44,46)。

當我們的信德被權力、政治、流行文化、時下的價值觀和信念挑戰時,我們發現自己也會感到混亂和疑惑。我們未必能堅守自己作為基督信仰的保衞者的本份。我們渴望耶穌可以和我們一起,做我們的師傅,可以安慰、鼓勵我們;當我們不知道前路該怎樣走的時候,做我們的指路明燈。我們有沒有想過,祂可能已經回到我們中間?只是我們不能立刻認出祂,就像耶穌復活後,祂的門徒不能立刻認出祂一樣。憑著信德的眼光,我們一定可以從相遇的人當中認出耶穌,祂會給我們力量,好讓我們在世人眼中的絕望景況中保持希望,好讓我們自己,或團體,或人類在受到困境煎熬時,能夠在基督的喜樂中忍耐和等待。

我們一定能在福音中找到耶穌的臨在,而祂必使我們振奮起來。讓我們以這個主日的「福音前歡呼」來呼求耶穌通過聖經來堅定我們的信徳:
「主,耶穌,求祢給我們解釋聖經,好使我們的心在祢講話時,也熾熱起來 。(福音前歡呼」(參閲 路 24:32)。

Posted: April 15, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 復活期第三主日:我信聖神,我信從宗徒傳下來的教會 吳智勳神父

復活主日我們講論過信經中「我期待死人的復活及來世的生命」,今天讓我們反省另外兩句:「我信聖神,祂是主及賦予生命者」及「我信從宗徒傳下來的教會」。

繼續閱讀 >