‘“Make straight the way of the Lord”’ (Jn 1:23)

Third Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 61:1-2A, 10-11

The spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me; he has sent me to bring glad tidings to the poor, to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives and release to the prisoners, to announce a year of favor from the LORD and a day of vindication by our God. I rejoice heartily in the LORD, in my God is the joy of my soul; for he has clothed me with a robe of salvation and wrapped me in a mantle of justice, like a bridegroom adorned with a diadem, like a bride bedecked with her jewels. As the earth brings forth its plants, and a garden makes its growth spring up, so will the Lord GOD make justice and praise spring up before all the nations.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-24

Brothers and sisters: Rejoice always. Pray without ceasing. In all circumstances give thanks, for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not despise prophetic utterances. Test everything; retain what is good. Refrain from every kind of evil. May the God of peace make you perfectly holy and may you entirely, spirit, soul, and body, be preserved blameless for the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who calls you is faithful, and he will also accomplish it.

John 1:6-8, 19-28

A man named John was sent from God. He came for testimony, to testify to the light, so that all might believe through him. He was not the light, but came to testify to the light. And this is the testimony of John. When the Jews from Jerusalem sent priests and Levites to him to ask him, "Who are you?" He admitted and did not deny it, but admitted, "I am not the Christ." So they asked him, "What are you then? Are you Elijah?" And he said, "I am not." "Are you the Prophet?" He answered, "No." So they said to him, "Who are you, so we can give an answer to those who sent us? What do you have to say for yourself?" He said: "I am the voice of one crying out in the desert, 'make straight the way of the Lord,'" as Isaiah the prophet said." Some Pharisees were also sent. They asked him, "Why then do you baptize if you are not the Christ or Elijah or the Prophet?" John answered them, "I baptize with water; but there is one among you whom you do not recognize, the one who is coming after me, whose sandal strap I am not worthy to untie." This happened in Bethany across the Jordan, where John was baptizing.

When John the Baptist is asked who he is in this week’s Gospel reading, he replies as the Prophet Isaiah said, that he is to ‘“Make straight the way of the Lord”’ (Gospel reading Jn 1:23). He baptizes with water and proclaims that Jesus is “the one who is more powerful than I is coming after me; … he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit” (Mk 1:8).

What does John’s reply mean to us now, we who were already baptized with water and with the Holy Spirit? Is there a part we can play to make straight the way of the Lord?

The first thing that comes to mind is to live our life in an exemplary way for others to see that we are true Christians. Irrespective of our circumstances, if we live out the Gospel, God may inspire others to join us in walking the way of the Lord.

If we are one of the lucky ones who live in a relatively peaceful country, in an affluent and accommodating society, do well in life, have a good career and a loving family, let us not be lured by the dazzling worldly success to make us think that we are better than others. We are certainly clever, diligent and make good use of the talents that God bestows on us. It is not always easy to remember that our success is part of God’s plan too. We must attribute the success to Him and not ourselves. We must generously share the fruits of our labour especially with those less fortunate. If we are in a position to influence others or sacrifice ourselves for the common good, we must do so with enthusiasm, courage and humility.

If we are sick, poor, elderly, alone, down-trodden or in face of challenges too big to bear, let us remember that all things will past, the tribulation we encounter has meaning and a purpose in God’s plan for us. Let us not think that God has forsaken us and leave us to walk alone in our predicament. Our life is not just about life in this world but also life in the world to come. Let us follow St. Paul’s advice in the second reading that we must “pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ just for you” (1 Th 5:17-18). Sometimes, it is the Christian way of enduring pain and suffering that move others to follow Christ.

In the hope and joy of Advent as we prepare to celebrate the coming of Christ, let us pray for strength and guidance in following John the Baptist’s example to make straight the way of the Lord.

Posted: December 17, 2017

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Will only a few people be saved?
Will we be the ones to stand outside knocking when the master come? Continue Reading >
Finding Peace
When we care for someone, we have to reveal to them their value and gifts. Continue Reading >
Making a decision
In Rome I once met a newly married couple who were visiting from Vancouver. They were clearly in love—it was very sweet. Over lunch I asked how they met. The… Continue Reading >

「『修直上主的道路』」(若 1:23)

將臨期第三主日

依撒意亞先知書 61:1-2,10-11

吾主上主的神臨於我身上,因為上主給我傅了油,派遣我向貧苦的人傳報喜訊,治療破碎了的心靈,向俘虜宣告自由,釋放獄中的囚徒,宣布上主恩慈的喜年。我要萬分喜樂於上主,我的心靈要歡躍於我的天主,因為他給我穿上救恩的衣服,給我披上義德的外衣,使我有如頭戴花冠的新郎,有如佩帶珍珠的新娘。正如大地怎樣產生苗芽,田園怎樣使種子發芽,吾主上主也要怎樣在萬民前,產生正義和讚揚。

得撒洛尼前書 5:16-24

弟兄姊妹們:你們應常歡樂,不斷祈禱,事事感謝:這就是天主在基督耶穌內,對你們所有的旨意。不要消滅神恩,不要輕視先知之恩;但應當考驗一切:好的,應保持;各種壞的,要遠避。願賜平安的天主,親自完全聖化你們,使你們整個的神魂、靈魂和肉身,在我們的主耶穌基督來臨時,保持無瑕可指。那召叫你們的,是忠信的,他必實行。

若望福音 1:6-8,19-28

曾有一人,是由天主派遣來的,名叫若翰。這人來,是為作證,為給光作證,為使眾人藉他而信。他不是那光,只是為給那光作證。這是若翰所作的見證:當時,猶太人從耶路撒冷派遣了司祭和肋未人,到他那裡問他說:「你是誰?」,他明明承認,並沒有否認;他明認說:「我不是默西亞。」他們又問若翰說:「那麼你是誰?你是厄里亞嗎?」他說:「我不是。」他們又問:「你是那位先知嗎?」他回答說:「不是。」於是,他們問他說:「你究竟是誰?好叫我們答覆那派遣我們來的人。你自己說你是誰?」若翰說:「我是在曠野裡呼喊者的聲音:修直上主的道路!正如依撒意亞先知所說的。」被派遣來的有些是法利塞人;他們又問若翰說:「你既不是默西亞,又不是厄里亞,也不是那位先知,那麼,你為什麼施洗呢?」若翰答覆他們說:「我以水施洗,但有一位站在你們中間,是你們所不認識的;他在我以後來,我卻當不起解他的鞋帶。」這些事發生於約但河對岸的伯達尼,若翰施洗的地方。

在本週的福音讀經,當洗者若翰被問及他是誰,他以依撒意亞先知所說的話來回答,即他是為「『修直上主的道路』」(福音讀經 若 1:23)。他用水為人施洗並宣佈耶穌是「繼我以來的那一位,比我更強 … 他卻要用聖神給你們施洗」(谷1:8)。

若翰的回答,對已經接受了水和聖神施洗的我們,有什麼意義?我們可以做什麼來修直上主的道路?

第一件想到的事就是以自己的生活作榜樣,讓人看見我們是真正的基督徒。無論環境如何,只要我們活出福音,天主可能會因此讓人得到啟迪,加入我們的行列,走上主的路。

如果我們幸運地生活在一個比較和平的國家、富裕和包容的社會,生活寫意,事業有成,家庭幸福美滿,讓我們不要因為自己矚目的現世成就而自認比別人好。當然我們聰明、用功,並把天主所賜的才華發揮得淋漓盡致。要記得自己的成功是天主計劃的一部分,並不容易。我們要把成功歸於天主,而不是自己。我們要慷慨地與別人 – 尤其是那些沒那麼幸運的人 – 分享自己努力的成果。如果我們身處一個可以影響別人的位置,或可以為公益而犧牲自己的好處的話,我們一定要以積極、勇敢和謙遜的態度而為之。

如果我們患病、貧窮、年老、孤單、被人踐踏或面對不能承受的挑戰,讓我們記住,一切都會過去,在天主的計劃裏,我們遭遇的不幸是有目的和意義的。我們千萬不要以為天主離棄了我們,讓我們在困厄中獨行。我們的生命不單是在世的生命,也包括來世的生命。讓我們跟隨聖保祿在讀經二的話,我們要「不斷祈禱,事事感謝;這就是天主在基督耶穌內對你們的旨意」(得前 5:17-18)。有時候,基督徒忍耐痛苦的方式會感動人去跟隨基督。

當我們準備慶祝基督的降臨,讓我們在將臨期的希望和喜樂裡,祈求力量和指引,好讓我們能以洗者若翰為模範,修直上主的道路。

Posted: December 17, 2017

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

我們只需播種,天主會做其餘的
「那種子發芽生長,至於怎樣。他卻不知道」(谷 4:27) 繼續閱讀 >
常年期第十主日
耶穌孝敬祂的母親嗎?
當聽到自己母親來到,耶穌的回應聽起來好像有些拒人千里,沒有親切歡迎母親和家人。 繼續閱讀 >
常年期第十主日
我們還記得嗎?
「… 我們記得,我們慶祝,我們相信」 繼續閱讀 >