“Many are called, but few are chosen” (Matthew 22:14)

Twenty-eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 25:6-10A

On this mountain the LORD of hosts will provide for all peoples a feast of rich food and choice wines, juicy, rich food and pure, choice wines. On this mountain he will destroy the veil that veils all peoples, the web that is woven over all nations; he will destroy death forever. The Lord GOD will wipe away the tears from every face; the reproach of his people he will remove from the whole earth; for the LORD has spoken. On that day it will be said: "Behold our God, to whom we looked to save us! This is the LORD for whom we looked; let us rejoice and be glad that he has saved us!" For the hand of the LORD will rest on this mountain.

Philippians 4:12-14, 19-20

Brothers and sisters: I know how to live in humble circumstances; I know also how to live with abundance. In every circumstance and in all things I have learned the secret of being well fed and of going hungry, of living in abundance and of being in need. I can do all things in him who strengthens me. Still, it was kind of you to share in my distress. My God will fully supply whatever you need, in accord with his glorious riches in Christ Jesus. To our God and Father, glory forever and ever. Amen.

Matthew 22:1-14

Jesus again in reply spoke to the chief priests and elders of the people in parables, saying, "The kingdom of heaven may be likened to a king who gave a wedding feast for his son. He dispatched his servants to summon the invited guests to the feast, but they refused to come. A second time he sent other servants, saying, 'Tell those invited: "Behold, I have prepared my banquet, my calves and fattened cattle are killed, and everything is ready; come to the feast."' Some ignored the invitation and went away, one to his farm, another to his business. The rest laid hold of his servants, mistreated them, and killed them. The king was enraged and sent his troops, destroyed those murderers, and burned their city. Then he said to his servants, 'The feast is ready, but those who were invited were not worthy to come. Go out, therefore, into the main roads and invite to the feast whomever you find.' The servants went out into the streets and gathered all they found, bad and good alike, and the hall was filled with guests. But when the king came in to meet the guests, he saw a man there not dressed in a wedding garment. The king said to him, 'My friend, how is it that you came in here without a wedding garment?' But he was reduced to silence. Then the king said to his attendants, 'Bind his hands and feet, and cast him into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.' Many are invited, but few are chosen."

In this Sunday’s Gospel, Jesus teaches us with another parable. The kingdom of heaven is compared to a king who gives a wedding banquet for his son. When the invited guests do not show up, the invitation is extended to everyone whom his slaves would find on the streets.

Jesus teaches us time and again that divine salvation is for each and every one of us, regardless of who we are. But when we accept the call of God and partake in the banquet, we accept the call of God, we are expected to wear a wedding robe, otherwise the king would tell the attendants to throw us “into the outer darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth” (Matthew 22:14).

Putting on a wedding robe is to conform to a dress code, a code of behavior. If the dress code is not beach wear, I cannot wear shorts and flip flops to a restaurant for fine dining. If I do this, I would not be allowed in; I am disrespectful of the other guests. If the kingdom of heaven is the banquet, the wedding robe symbolizes my thoughts, words and deeds. If I accept God’s call for redemption, I must conform to what is expected of my Christian faith.

Sometimes I have the opportunity to attend daily Mass at noon. I am almost a stranger in that church and yet every time I go there, I am amazed by the warmth and welcome from the people around me. On one dull, snowy and stormy winter day, I bumped my car into someone’s car in the church parking lot. I was forgiven right away before my apologies without my asking. On another bitterly cold day, I did not have my gloves with me and a gentle lady whom I did not know pulled out a pair of gloves from her purse and made me wear it for the short walk to church. In them, I see what “people of goodwill” means when we pray the “Glory to God” at Mass. There is so much to learn from them, to whom I am a stranger. They are attending the wedding banquet with the proper attire. I must be like them, I must live my life “in a manner worthy of the Gospel of Christ” (Philippians 1:27).

The moral of the parable is, we must remember, “Many are called, but few are chosen” (Matthew 22:14). We must follow and imitate Jesus, conform our will to God’s and join the priest as he prays the Eucharistic Prayer during Mass to “order our days in your peace, and command that we be delivered from eternal damnation and counted among the flock of those you have chosen” (Eucharistic Prayer I).

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Third Sunday of Advent
‘“Make straight the way of the Lord”’ (Jn 1:23)
Is there a part we can play to make straight the way of the Lord? Continue Reading >
Second Sunday of Advent
“. . . among those born of women there has not risen a greater than John the Baptist”
Is it because of His status? His relation to Jesus? His role? Continue Reading >
First Sunday of Advent
The Jitters of the Last Day
Fear Not! Wherever the Head goes, His Body follows. Continue Reading >

「被召請的人多,被選上的人少」(瑪 22:14)

常年期第二十八主日

依撒意亞先知書 25:6-10

萬軍的上主在這座山上,要為萬民擺設美酒佳餚的盛宴;佳餚是精選的,美酒是醇清的。在這座山上,你要撤除那封在萬民臉上的面帕,那掩蓋各國的殮帳。上主要永遠取消死亡;吾主上主要從人人的臉上,拭去淚痕,要由整個地面,除去自己民族的恥辱:因為上主說了。到那一天,人要說:「看!這是我們所依賴的、拯救我們的天主;這是我們所依賴的上主;我們要因他的救援,鼓舞喜樂,因為上主的手,停留在這山上。」

斐理伯書 4:12-14,19-20

我也知道受窮,也知道享受;在各樣事上和各種境遇中,或飽飫、或飢餓、或富裕、或貧乏,我都得到了秘訣。我依賴加強我力量的那位,能應付一切。但是,你們也實在做得好,因為你們分擔了我的困苦。我的天主必要以自己的財富,在基督耶穌內,豐富地滿足你們的一切需要。願光榮歸於天主,我們的父,直到永遠。阿們。

瑪竇福音 22:1-14

那時候,耶穌用比喻對司祭長和民間的長老說:「天國好比一個國王,為自己的兒子辦婚宴。他打發僕人,去召叫被請的人,來赴婚宴,被請的人,卻不願意來。「國王又派自己的僕人,說:『你們對被請的人說:看,我已經預備好了我的盛宴,我的公牛和肥畜都宰殺了,一切都齊備了,你們來赴婚宴吧!』「被請的人卻不理:有的去耕田,有的去做自己的生意,其餘的竟捉住僕人,凌辱後殺死了。「於是,國王大怒,派自己的軍隊,消滅了那些殺人凶手,焚毀了他們的城市。「然後,對僕人說:『婚宴已經齊備了,但是被請的人,都不配。現在,你們到各路口去,凡是你們所遇到的,都請來赴婚宴。』「那些僕人就出去,到大路上,凡遇到的,無論壞人好人,都召集來了,婚宴就坐滿了客人。「國王進來,巡視參加婚宴的客人,看見在那裡,有一個沒有穿婚宴禮服的人,便對他說:『朋友,你到這裡來,怎麼不穿婚宴禮服?』那人無言以對。國王於是對僕役說:『你們捆起他的手腳,把他丟在外面的黑暗中;在那裡必有哀號和切齒。』「因為被召的人多,被選的人少。」

這個主日的福音讀經,耶穌用另一個比喻教導我們。天國好比一個國王為兒子擺設婚宴。當被邀請的人沒有來赴宴,他便派遣僕人到大路上去,邀請他們遇到的每一個人來參加。

耶穌多次教導我們,不管我們是誰,從天主而來的救恩是為我們每一個人的。但當我們接受天主召叫參加婚宴,我們要穿上婚宴禮服,否則,國王會吩咐僕人把我們「丟到外面的黑暗中,在那裡他要哀號切齒」(瑪 22:14)。

穿上婚宴禮服是遵守著裝要求,是一個行為的準則。如果著裝要求不是沙灘裝,我不能穿短褲和沙灘涼鞋進入高級餐廳。如果我這樣做,就是對其他賓客不尊重,我會被拒諸門外。如果天國是婚宴,婚宴禮服便是我的思、言、行為。如果我接受天主所召叫的救贖,我必須遵守基督信仰對我的要求。

有時我有機會在中午參與平日彌撒。在這教堂,我可算是一個陌生人。然而,每一次我到這教堂,其他教友的親切和對我的歡迎令我非常驚訝。在一個陰暗,風雪交加的冬日,在教堂的停車場,我不慎使車子碰到別人的車子,我還未及道歉,懇求對方原諒,我已被寬恕了。在另一個嚴寒的日子,我忘了帶手套。在我步往教堂的短短的路上,一位我不認識的女士從手袋中掏出一對手套,一定要我戴上。在他們身上,我見到在彌撒《光榮頌》中提及的,在世享平安的「主愛的人」。在他們身上,有太多值得我這個陌生人學習的地方。他們穿著適合的服裝赴宴。我要與他們一樣,「處世為人必須符合基督的福音」 (斐 1:27) 。

我們要謹記比喻的教訓「被召請的人多,被選上的人少」(瑪 22:14) 。我們要跟隨並仿傚耶穌,讓自己的意願符合天主的意思,在彌撒中,參與神父的禱告「使我們一生平安度日,脫免永罰,並得列入你揀選的人群中」。(彌撒聖祭感恩經第一式) 。

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿八主日:信仰有如參加喜宴嗎? 吳智勳神父

今日福音中天國的比喻,其實是兩個比喻:一個是對猶太人說的,特別是當權的司祭長和民間長老;另一個可說是對我們這些基督徒說的。 第一個比喻是說,天國是首先給猶太人的;猶太人先被邀請,這是很清楚的福音訊息。所謂僕人,可以代表歷代先知;不同年代天主派遣先知到來召請祂的子民,但他們拒絕了邀請,甚至出手殺害上主的僕人,而招至上主的懲罰。

繼續閱讀 >