My prophetic role as a baptized Christian calls me to begin first with my own repentance and reformation.

Second Sunday of Advent

Baruch 5:1-9

Jerusalem, take off your robe of mourning and misery; put on the splendor of glory from God forever: wrapped in the cloak of justice from God, bear on your head the mitre that displays the glory of the eternal name. For God will show all the earth your splendor: you will be named by God forever the peace of justice, the glory of God’s worship. Up, Jerusalem! stand upon the heights; look to the east and see your children gathered from the east and the west at the word of the Holy One, rejoicing that they are remembered by God. Led away on foot by their enemies they left you: but God will bring them back to you borne aloft in glory as on royal thrones. For God has commanded that every lofty mountain be made low, and that the age-old depths and gorges be filled to level ground, that Israel may advance secure in the glory of God. The forests and every fragrant kind of tree have overshadowed Israel at God’s command; for God is leading Israel in joy by the light of his glory, with his mercy and justice for company.

Philippians 1:4-6, 8-11

Brothers and sisters: I pray always with joy in my every prayer for all of you, because of your partnership for the gospel from the first day until now. I am confident of this, that the one who began a good work in you will continue to complete it until the day of Christ Jesus. God is my witness, how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus. And this is my prayer: that your love may increase ever more and more in knowledge and every kind of perception, to discern what is of value, so that you may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ for the glory and praise of God.

Luke 3:1-6

In the fifteenth year of the reign of Tiberius Caesar, when Pontius Pilate was governor of Judea, and Herod was tetrarch of Galilee, and his brother Philip tetrarch of the region of Ituraea and Trachonitis, and Lysanias was tetrarch of Abilene, during the high priesthood of Annas and Caiaphas, the word of God came to John the son of Zechariah in the desert. John went throughout the whole region of the Jordan, proclaiming a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins, as it is written in the book of the words of the prophet Isaiah: A voice of one crying out in the desert: “Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths. Every valley shall be filled and every mountain and hill shall be made low. The winding roads shall be made straight, and the rough ways made smooth, and all flesh shall see the salvation of God.”

“The word of God came to John the son of Zechariah in the desert”——-what an unlikely opening verse for the preparation of Jesus’ public ministry! Luke had just named all the important people (both political and religious) in that historical period but none of them received the word of God. Why then John, a relatively strange and unknown man, was called to be the herald instead of the emperor, the governor, the tetrarchs or the high priests and why in the desert instead of the more populated Jerusalem or Rome? The appearance of John the Baptist in the liturgy on the Second Sunday of Advent reminds me of two things. First, that time and again God chose unlikely people and unlikely places and second, my own prophetic role as a baptized Christian.

John was only made known to us through the promise of the angel to his father Zechariah (Lk 1:5-25), yet he stood as a pivotal figure—-the hinge on which the age of the law and prophets was closing and a new era of grace and redemption was about to begin. Likewise, though it was the least favorable place to evangelize, the wilderness was a place of transformation, a place of shelter from the world’s allurements. It was the place where God had shaped His chosen people and formed the nation Israel, a place where solitude and barrenness opened the human hearts to the Lord. Do not think that one has to be prominent or of great influence in order to be chosen by God. Indeed He prefers to “bring down the powerful and lift up the lowly” (Lk 1:52). He chose David, a young lad to be the King of Israel and Mary, a lowly maiden to be the Mother of God. He chose a manger to be His birth place, a cross as a saving instrument and His earthly ministry began in Galilee, a Gentile territory (Mt 4:12-25).

It is one thing to be chosen, but quite another to promptly fulfill the call. Like fire in the heart and bone (Jer 20:9), John as a prophet “in the spirit and power of Elijah” (Lk 1:17) could not resist the divine compulsion to proclaim God’s word (cf 1 Cor 9:16), even to the point of becoming the first martyr (Mt 14:1-12, Mk 6: 14-29). The core of his cry was for people to repent and to reform their lives. It was a call to get ready and to make preparations for the coming of the Messiah by turning to God and returning to His way. Do I, as a baptized Christian, have such fervor to tell people the necessity of repentance and help them remove any obstacles that stand in the way of the Lord? Am I capable of directing them to the right path so that they can be released from the pattern of sin? Can I be a light in the darkness for them to seek out the way to the Lord so that their hearts are opened and cleansed for His comings both in flesh (Christmas) and in glory (Parousia)?

Perhaps in order to be able to fulfill this prophetic role, I must first begin with my own repentance and reformation. Like John, can I separate myself spiritually by choosing not to participate or follow worldly affairs or habits but fill my life with things that matter to God’s kingdom? Do I need to repair holes in my life and clean up the mess that I may have made in my past? Do I have the courage to ask for the Lord’s forgiveness and the determination to start anew? I believe only until then, when I have straightened my own crooked paths and smoothened my own bumpy ways, would I be ready to say as Isaiah said, “Here am I, send me!” (Is 6:8) and become the true herald of God when He so chooses.

Posted: December 6, 2015

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Where do I stand in response to God’s invitation
This Sunday Gospel reading shows that one can and should stand before God, individually, and assume spiritual responsibility. It confronts each of us with a big question, “Where do I… Continue Reading >
“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)
Let us free ourselves from our presumptions, so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart. Continue Reading >
Envy
Some of you might have enjoyed the movie Parasite, a Korean film that won last year’s Academy award for best picture. The film is very well acted and well made,… Continue Reading >

作為一個基督徒,在受洗時所領受的先知職務要求我從懺悔和改造自己開始。

將臨期第二主日

巴路克先知書 5:1-9

耶路撒冷!請你脫去守喪時悲傷的衣服,永遠穿上天主光榮的華服,披上天主正義的披肩;在你頭上,戴上永生者光榮的冠冕;因為天主要對天下萬邦,顯示你的榮耀;給你起名,永遠叫 「正義的和平」,和 「虔敬的光榮」。耶路撒冷!請你起來,站在高處,向東遠眺。看,你的子女奉聖者的命,由西方至東方集合;他們喜形於色,因為天主終於想起了他們。他們曾離你遠去,由仇人押送步行;如今,天主卻把他們給你再領回來;他們體面光榮,好像皇子一樣,被人抬著歸來;因為天主已命令,夷平一切高山和無盡的丘陵,填平所有山谷,使它們化為平地,好讓以色列在天主的光榮下,平安前行。森林和一切香樹,要依照天主的命令,給以色列遮蔭;因為天主要在喜樂中,以他固有的仁慈和正義,在自己榮耀的光輝下,親自領回以色列。

斐理伯書 1:4-6,8-11

我每次祈禱,總是愉快地為你們各位祈禱,因為你們從最初的一天,直到現在,就協助了宣傳福音的工作;我深信,在你們內開始這美好工作的那位,必予以完成,直到耶穌基督的日子。天主為我作證:我是怎樣以基督耶穌的情懷,愛你們眾人。我所祈求的是:願你們的愛德日漸增長,充滿真知識和各種見識,使你們能辨別卓絕之事,為叫你們直到基督的日子,常是潔淨無瑕的,賴耶穌基督,滿結義德的果實,為光榮讚美天主。

路加福音 3:1-6

凱撒提庇留執政第十五年,般雀比拉多作猶太總督,黑落德作加里肋亞分封侯,他的兄弟斐理伯作依突勒雅和特辣曷尼地方的分封侯,呂撒尼雅作阿彼肋乃分封侯,亞納斯和蓋法作大司祭時,在荒野中有天主的話,傳給匝加利亞的兒子若翰。若翰於是走遍約但河一帶地方,宣講悔改的洗禮,為得罪之赦。正如先知依撒意亞預言書上記載的:「在荒野中有呼號者的聲音:你們當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑!一切深谷要填滿,一切山岳丘陵要剷平,彎曲的要修直,崎嶇的要闢成坦途!凡有血肉的,都要看見天主的救援。」

「當時在荒野中,有天主的話傳給匝加利亞的兒子若翰」,用這樣的一句話作為耶穌公開傳教的開場白,是多麽不尋常的。因在這話之前,路加剛提到當時所有政治和宗教的重要人物,但天主沒有傳話給他們。 為何是若翰被選為先驅,一個較為奇特和不見經傳的人,而不是帝王、總督、侯爵或大司祭呢? 又為什麼是在荒野不是在比較人口多的耶路撒冷或羅馬呢? 若翰洗者在將臨期第二主日的出現,讓我想起兩件事情。 第一,天主又再一次選擇意想不到的人和意想不到的地方。 第二,我自己作為一個受了洗的基督徒的先知 職務。

我們之 所以認識若翰,全是由天使向他父親匝加利亞的一個承諾 (路1:5-25) 来的 。 但若翰却成為兩個時代交接間的一個關鍵性人物,那就是律法與先知時代的結束,恩寵和救贖新時代的即將開始。不要以為只有重要的或有影響力的人才會被天主所選。 事實上,天主喜歡「推下權勢者,舉揚卑微貧困的人」(路1:52) 。 衪選擇了達味,一個年輕的小伙子為以色列的君王;衪選擇了瑪利亞,一個卑微的婢女為天主的母親。荒野雖是最不利傳福音的地方,但却是一個能改造人心和避開世間誘惑的地方。 荒野亦是天主塑造衪的選民,建立以色列國的地方。 荒野也是一個讓孤寂和空無打開世人向主之心的地方。同樣地, 衪選擇了一個馬槽作為衪的出生地, 一個十字架作為救贖的工具而衪在世時的傳教工作是在加里肋亞開始的,一個外邦人的地方 (瑪4:12-25) 。

被召叫是一回事,但是能迅速回應那召叫是另一回事。就像心中有火在焚燒藴藏在骨髓內 (耶20:9) ,作為先知的若翰, 以「厄里亞的精神和能力」(路1:17) 和在上主的無法抗拒催促下,宣講了上主的話 (參見格前9:16) ,甚至成為第一位的殉道者 (瑪14:1-12,谷6:14-29) 。 他宣講的核心是人要悔改,改造自己的生活。人要為即將到來的默西亞作好準備,皈依祂,跟隨祂的路。 作為一個受了洗的基督徒,我可有熱誠告訴他人要悔改,幫助他們去除障礙,步向天主的路嗎? 我可有能力引領他們到正確的路上,使他們脫離罪惡嗎? 我能否成為他們在黑暗中的光,讓他們找到上主的路,並以打開的心扉和潔淨的心靈來迎接主的降生(聖誕)和祂光榮的再來呢?

或許,為了能履行這先知的職務,我必須從懺悔和改造自己開始。 我能否像若翰,在靈性上選擇不參與和不跟隨世俗的事或習慣,並以天國的事來充實自己的生命呢? 我是否需要修好我生活中的漏洞,清理我過往的謬誤? 我可有勇氣請求上主寬恕和下定決心重新開始呢? 我相信,唯有當我修正了自己的歪途,理順了自己的顛簸路後,我才可以像依撤意亞那樣說:「我在這裡,請派遣我!亅(依6:8) 。唯有這樣,我才能在上主派遣時成為衪真正的使者。

Posted: December 6, 2015

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙年將臨期第二主日: 具體地回應天主的救恩 吳智勳神父

若翰洗者首先代天主發言,要求我們把主的道路修直,意思就是要人把自己的心路修正,作為對天主救恩的回應,這也是將臨期的訊息。讓我們就拿第二篇讀經聖保祿的說話,作為將臨期的具體回應行動,好能經驗天主的救恩。

繼續閱讀 >