Our Mission is Love

Twenty-ninth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 45:1,4-6

Thus says the LORD to his anointed, Cyrus, whose right hand I grasp, subduing nations before him, and making kings run in his service, opening doors before him and leaving the gates unbarred: For the sake of Jacob, my servant, of Israel, my chosen one, I have called you by your name, giving you a title, though you knew me not. I am the LORD and there is no other, there is no God besides me. It is I who arm you, though you know me not, so that toward the rising and the setting of the sun people may know that there is none besides me. I am the LORD, there is no other.

1 Thessalonians 1:1-5B

Paul, Silvanus, and Timothy to the church of the Thessalonians in God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ: grace to you and peace. We give thanks to God always for all of you, remembering you in our prayers, unceasingly calling to mind your work of faith and labor of love and endurance in hope of our Lord Jesus Christ, before our God and Father, knowing, brothers and sisters loved by God, how you were chosen. For our gospel did not come to you in word alone, but also in power and in the Holy Spirit and with much conviction.

Matthew 22:15-21

The Pharisees went off and plotted how they might entrap Jesus in speech. They sent their disciples to him, with the Herodians, saying, "Teacher, we know that you are a truthful man and that you teach the way of God in accordance with the truth. And you are not concerned with anyone's opinion, for you do not regard a person's status. Tell us, then, what is your opinion: Is it lawful to pay the census tax to Caesar or not?" Knowing their malice, Jesus said, "Why are you testing me, you hypocrites? Show me the coin that pays the census tax." Then they handed him the Roman coin. He said to them, "Whose image is this and whose inscription?" They replied, "Caesar's." At that he said to them, "Then repay to Caesar what belongs to Caesar and to God what belongs to God."

The Christian identity is intricately connected to the mission of the Church – the mission to which each one of us is called through Baptism. On this very special Sunday, designated as the World Day of Mission by the Pope, we are urged to reflect on our “Christian identity and our responsibility as believers in a world marked by confusion, disappointment and frustration, and torn by numerous fratricidal wars that unjustly target the innocent” (Pope Francis’ Message for World Mission Day 2017).

Identity is seen by some as a fluid concept as it can be understood differently in different contexts and cultures. However, for Catholics and all those who believe in Christ, we understand that who we are is intricately tied to the mission of the Church, that is, to bring the Gospel of Life to all; a life that “sets us free from every kind of selfishness, and is a source of creativity in love” (Ibid). Pope Francis explains that the Church’s mission “is not to spread a religious ideology, much less to propose a lofty ethical teaching”, but to bring joy, hope, love, and new life to all whom we encounter (Ibid).

So, what are we called to be and to do? Indeed, to be and to do are one and the same. Isaiah clearly and beautifully explains that God calls us into being and intimately knows us even though we do not know Him: “I call you by your name, I surname you, though you do not know me” (Is 45:4). We are God’s beloved children; each conceived in the mind of God long before our existence. Indeed, as God calls each of us into being, He invites you and me to be part of His salvific plan. St. Paul affirms that God “has chosen you, because our message of the gospel came to you not in word only, but also in power and in the Holy Spirit and with full conviction” (1Thess 1:5).

“Ascribe to the Lord glory and strength”, the Psalmist proclaims. Indeed, there is only one Creator God who is rightfully all-powerful, but more importantly this God is loving, compassionate, “gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love” (Ps 145:8). As we live to our full potentials and upholding human dignity in all we do, we give glory to our loving God. This week’s Gospel reminds us to “give to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21). Whatever we do in God’s name – caring for the sick, serving the poor, journeying with the lonely, fighting for justice, or speaking for the voiceless, we are revealing God’s boundless love and mercy while living up to our best selves according to God’s perfect design.

Posted: October 22, 2017

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

How do we prepare for Advent in this unprecedented time?
In the beginning of the Advent season, we are waiting, watching, expecting, and preparing ourselves for the coming of a Savior. With the entire globe weathering COVID-19, the highly infectious… Continue Reading >
The Shepherd and the King
Jesus is no ordinary king. Like David, his Old Testament type, he is a Shepherd-King. Continue Reading >
Is the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer?
In God's kingdom of eternal joy, there is no shortage of resources nor discrimination of treatment. Continue Reading >

我們的使命是愛

常年期第二十九主日

依撒意亞先知書 45:1,4-6

上主牽著他的受傅者居魯士的右手,使他征服他面前的列國,解除列王的腰帶,並在他面前開啟城門,使門戶不再關閉;上主對他這樣說:「為了我的僕人雅各伯,及我所揀選的以色列的原故,我指名召叫了你,給你起了這個稱號,縱然你還不認識我。「我是上主,再沒有另一位;除我以外,沒有別的神;雖然你還不認識我,我卻武裝了你,為叫從東到西的人,都知道:除我之外,再沒有另一位。我是上主,再沒有另一位。」

得撒洛尼前書 1:1-5

保祿和息耳瓦諾及弟茂德,致書給在天主父及主耶穌基督內的得撒洛尼人的教會。願恩寵與平安與你們同在!我們常為你們眾人感謝天主,在祈禱中時常記念你們;在天主和我們的父前,不斷記念你們因信德所做的工作、因愛德所受的勞苦、因盼望我們的主耶穌基督所有的堅忍。天主所愛的弟兄,我們知道你們是蒙召選的,因為我們把福音傳到你們那裡,不僅用言語,而且也藉德能和聖神,以及堅固的信心。

瑪竇福音 22:15-21

那時候,法利塞人商討,怎樣在言談上,叫耶穌落入圈套。於是,法利塞人派自己的門徒和黑落德黨人,到耶穌面前,說:「師父,我們知道你是真誠的,按真理教授天主的道路,不顧忌任何人,因為你不看人的情面。現在,請你告訴我們:你以為如何?納稅給凱撒,可以不可以?」耶穌看破他們的惡意,就說:「假善人,你們為什麼要試探我?拿一個稅幣,給我看看!」他們便遞給他一塊「德納」。耶穌對他們說:「這肖像和名號是誰的?」他們對耶穌說:「凱撒的。」耶穌對他們說:「那麼,凱撒的,就應歸還凱撒;天主的,就應歸還天主。」

基督徒的身份很微妙地與教會的使命聯繫在一起──這是我們藉著洗禮而被召叫的使命。在這個被教宗訂立為普世傳教節的特別主日,教宗敦促我們反思「當我們身處一個受到假象所混淆、受到挫敗所重創、受到多次手足相殘、尤其傷及無辜的戰爭所撕裂的世界中,我們作為基督徒的身份和信徒的責任是什麼」(教宗方濟各2017年普世傳教節文告)

由於身份在不同的情況及文化中可以有不同的理解,有些人認為身份的意思是不固定的,可以改變的。但是對天主教徒及所有基督徒而言,我們明瞭到我們的身份是很微妙地與教會的使命連繫在一起,亦即是把生命的福音帶給全人類; 這生命「使我們擺脫各式各樣的自私,又成為在愛內的創造力的泉源」(同上)。教宗方濟各解釋說,教會的傳教使命「並非傳播一個宗教理念,甚至不是高調倡議倫理道德」,而是要把喜樂、希望、愛心和新生命帶給所有與我們相遇的人 (同上)。

那麼,被召叫的我們,身份是什麼和我們該做什麼呢?其實,這兩者是完全相同的。依撒意亞先知清晰美妙地說明,縱然我們不認識天主,祂已召叫我們,讓我們存在,並親切地認識我們:「為了我的僕人雅各伯和我揀選的以色列的緣故,我提著你的名召叫了你,給你起了這個稱號,縱然你還不認識我」(依45:4)。我們都是天主鍾愛的子女;在我們存在於這世界之前,我們每一個人都已在天主的構思中。事實上當天主按照祂的聖意,創造我們的時候,祂亦同時邀請你和我成為祂的救贖計劃的一部份。聖保祿宗徒肯定的說:天主「召選了你們,因為我們把褔音傳到你們那裏,不僅在乎言語,而且也在乎德能和聖神,以及堅固的信心」(得前 1:5)。

聖詠的作者這樣宣揚上主:「光榮與威能歸於上主」。的確,只有造物主天主才堪稱全能偉大的;但最重要的是,這是一位富於慈愛、憐憫人的天主,「慈悲為懷,寬仁大方,祂常緩於發怒,仁愛無量」(詠145:8)。當我們在生命裡,將人性的潛能發揮得淋漓盡致,及在所做的一切事情上, 堅守人性的尊嚴,我們就是把光榮歸於我們那位充滿慈愛的天主。今個主日的福音提醒大家:「天主的,就應歸還天主」(瑪 22:21)。我們因著天主之名,不論做任何事情──照顧病者、服務貧苦、陪伴孤獨者、爭取公義、又或是為不能發聲的人發聲──我們彰顯了天主的無限仁愛和慈悲,亦按照天主的完美計劃,活出最美善的自己。

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, and so on. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿九主日:屬於天主的該歸還天主 吳智勳神父

今日的福音,常為人津津樂道。其背景是耶穌進入耶路撒冷後,把在聖殿中做買賣的人趕走,並開始對猶太當權者加以責斥。當權的人完全處於被動和捱打的劣勢,意識到必須反守為攻,展開對耶穌一浪接一浪的攻擊。今日福音記載的,是第一個回合。

繼續閱讀 >