“. . . peace among people of good will” (Lk 2:14)

The Epiphany of the Lord

Isaiah 60:1-6

Rise up in splendor, Jerusalem! Your light has come, the glory of the Lord shines upon you. See, darkness covers the earth, and thick clouds cover the peoples; but upon you the LORD shines, and over you appears his glory. Nations shall walk by your light, and kings by your shining radiance. Raise your eyes and look about; they all gather and come to you: your sons come from afar, and your daughters in the arms of their nurses. Then you shall be radiant at what you see, your heart shall throb and overflow, for the riches of the sea shall be emptied out before you, the wealth of nations shall be brought to you. Caravans of camels shall fill you, dromedaries from Midian and Ephah; all from Sheba shall come bearing gold and frankincense, and proclaiming the praises of the LORD.

Ephesians 3:2-3A, 5-6

Brothers and sisters: You have heard of the stewardship of God’s grace that was given to me for your benefit, namely, that the mystery was made known to me by revelation. It was not made known to people in other generations as it has now been revealed to his holy apostles and prophets by the Spirit: that the Gentiles are coheirs, members of the same body, and copartners in the promise in Christ Jesus through the gospel.

Matthew 2:1-12

When Jesus was born in Bethlehem of Judea, in the days of King Herod, behold, magi from the east arrived in Jerusalem, saying, “Where is the newborn king of the Jews? We saw his star at its rising and have come to do him homage.” When King Herod heard this, he was greatly troubled, and all Jerusalem with him. Assembling all the chief priests and the scribes of the people, He inquired of them where the Christ was to be born. They said to him, “In Bethlehem of Judea, for thus it has been written through the prophet: And you, Bethlehem, land of Judah, are by no means least among the rulers of Judah; since from you shall come a ruler, who is to shepherd my people Israel.” Then Herod called the magi secretly and ascertained from them the time of the star’s appearance. He sent them to Bethlehem and said, “Go and search diligently for the child. When you have found him, bring me word, that I too may go and do him homage.” After their audience with the king they set out. And behold, the star that they had seen at its rising preceded them, until it came and stopped over the place where the child was. They were overjoyed at seeing the star, and on entering the house they saw the child with Mary his mother. They prostrated themselves and did him homage. Then they opened their treasures and offered him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. And having been warned in a dream not to return to Herod, they departed for their country by another way.

With the Feast of the Epiphany of the Lord, our celebration of the Mystery of the Incarnation during the Christmas season comes to a conclusion. Although today’s Gospel Reading narrates the episode of the Magi, it is to the simple souls of the shepherds that Christ first manifests Himself (besides His parents) (rf Lk 2:8-11). The manners of Christ’s manifestation are different for the shepherds and the Magi. Being chosen, the shepherds directly receive from the angels the “good news of great joy” (Lk 2:10, 14). Knowledgeable in astronomical signs, the Magi are guided by a star to the promised king who has been prophesied by the pagan prophet Balaam (rf Mt 2:2, Nm 24:17). While it should not be difficult to understand why the shepherds are being chosen (cf Lk 1:51-53, 6:20-21; Mt 5:3-10), what about the Magi?

In his homilies on the Gospel of Matthew, St. John Chrysostom reflected with these words: “For what reason induced [the three Magi], or the hope of what benefits, to worship one who was king so far off . . . And why did they at all worship one who was in swaddling clothes? For if He had been a grown man, one might say, that in expectation of the succor they should receive from Him.” Thus he concluded that they were not in search for an earthly king for “they would have neither adored nor offered gifts” when all they saw was “a shed, a manger, a child in swaddling clothes and a poor mother.” The Magi, through natural science, discover by faith what Herod and the religious leaders miss despite their possession of the Scriptures. “[The Magi] sought a heavenly king, though they found in Him no sign of royal pre-eminence, yet content with the testimony of the star alone, they adored: for they saw a man and they acknowledged a God”. In their humility, the Magi bend down to the poor infant and thus open up God’s plan of salvation for the Gentiles.

The story of the Magi provides us with lessons that are both symbolic and instructive. The Magi represent people of all cultures. They are the first, followed by many more throughout the centuries – great and small, kings and slaves – all making pilgrimages to Christ. All are coheirs, sharers and members of the same body (rf Second Reading Eph 3:2-3). Light shines upon those who seek God and opens their hearts for the Truth. Light disappears when there is deception, hypocrisy, arrogance and violence (the star disappears when the Magi have an audience with King Herod rf Mt 2:1-2, 9-10). The Magi teach us the virtues of fortitude, perseverance and humility. Attentive to astronomical events, the Magi are willing and bold enough to explore and undertake a lengthy uncertain journey to a faraway land in search of something in which they believe. When it seems they are lost without guidance, they look for ways to continue. Ignoring the danger of possible envy and rivalry, they come to inquire King Herod of the newborn king (rf Mt 2:2). Despite their prestigious status, they humble themselves to kneel before the meagre child and offer him the precious gifts without hesitation, complaint or disappointment (rf Mt 2:11).

In our own search for God, do we admire the shepherds who find God with minimal effort? Or do we see ourselves as the Magi engage in great strain? The important fact is not how much time and effort are involved but the final outcome. In either case, both the shepherds and the Magi discover God. The former “returned glorifying and praising God for all that they had heard and seen” (Lk 2:20) and the latter “went back to their own country by another way” as new persons (Mt 2:12). Let us recapture the heavenly greetings: “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace among people of good will” (Lk 2:14). Be it as simple as the shepherds or as wise as the Magi, God’s blessings are the same for those who seek Him with good will and humility.

Posted: January 7, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity
The Holy Trinity is a mystery
As Christians, we believe with faith in The Holy Trinity, one God in three persons, the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. Continue Reading >
Pentecost Sunday
Christ’s Passover is Our Passover
Not only does the breath of God revive and refresh our hearts, it empowers us to live a life of truth, courage, and faith. Continue Reading >
The Ascension of the Lord
Is Jesus truly far away from us now?
We may ask why would Jesus leave us behind and gone to heaven? Why wouldn’t he stay with us in this world? He is far away from us now, and… Continue Reading >

「… 主愛的人在世享平安」(路 2:14)

主顯節

依撒意亞先知書 60:1-6

耶路撒冷啊!起來炫耀吧!因為你的光明,已經來到;上主的榮耀,已經照耀在你身上。看啊!黑暗籠罩著大地,陰雲遮蔽著萬民;但上主卻照耀著你,他的榮耀,要彰顯在你的身上。萬民要奔赴你的光明;眾王要投奔你升起的光輝。舉目向四方觀望吧!他們都聚集來到你這裡;你的眾子,要從遠方而來,你的女兒,要被抱回來。那時,你見到這情形,必要喜形於色,你的心靈,必要興奮愉快,因為,海洋的珍寶,都要歸於你,萬民的財富,都要歸你所有。成群結隊的駱駝,以及米德楊和厄法的獨峰駝,要齊集在你境內;牠們從舍巴,滿載黃金和乳香而來,宣揚上主的榮耀。

厄弗所書 3:2-3,5-6

弟兄姊妹們:想你們必聽說過,天主為了你們,以恩寵賜與我的職分;就是藉著啟示,使我得知他的奧秘;這奧秘在以前的世代,沒有告訴過任何人,現在卻藉聖神,啟示給他的聖宗徒和先知;這奧秘就是:外邦人藉著福音,在基督耶穌內,與猶太人同為承繼人,同為一身,同為恩許的分享人。

瑪竇福音 2:1-12

當黑落德為王時,耶穌誕生在猶大的白冷。看,有賢士從東方來到耶路撒冷,說:「剛誕生的猶太人君王在那裡?我們在東方見到了他的星,特來朝拜他。」黑落德王聽見了,就驚慌起來;全耶路撒冷也同他一起驚慌。黑落德王便召集了眾司祭長和民間的經師,仔細考問他們:「默西亞應當生在那裡?」他們對他說:「在猶大的白冷,因為先知曾這樣記載:『你猶大白冷啊!你在猶大的郡邑中,決不是最小的,因為將由你出來一位領袖;他將牧養我的百姓以色列。』」於是,黑落德暗暗把賢士叫來,仔細詢問他們那星出現的時間;然後打發他們往白冷去,說:「你們去仔細尋訪那嬰孩,幾時找到了,就向我報告,好讓我也去朝拜他。」 賢士聽了王的話,就走了。看,他們在東方所見的那星,走在他們前面,直至來到嬰孩所在的地方,就停在上面。他們一見到那星,極其高興歡喜。他們走進屋裡,看見嬰孩和他的母親瑪利亞,就俯伏朝拜了那嬰孩,並打開自己的寶匣,給嬰孩奉獻了禮物,即黃金、乳香和沒藥。賢士在夢中得到指示,不要回到黑落德那裡,就由另一條路,返回自己的地方。

隨着主顯節來臨,我們在聖誕期慶祝天主降生成人這奧蹟便告一段落。雖然今天的福音讀經講述三賢士的故事,(除祂的父母外) ,基督首先顯示自己給心靈單純的牧羊人 (參 路 2:8-11)。基督以不同的方式顯示自己給牧羊人和三賢士。牧羊人是被揀選的,他們直接從天使那裡聽到「大喜訊」(路 2:10, 14) 。通曉天文星象的三賢士,跟隨一顆星的引路,去到異教先知巴郎所預言的君王那裡 (參 瑪 2:2, 戶 24:17 ) 。要明白為什麼牧羊人會被揀選並不困難 (路 1:51-53, 6:20-21; 瑪 5:3-10),那為什麼三賢士會被揀選呢?

金口聖若望為《瑪竇福音》的講道,有這樣的反思:「有什麼理由促使 (三賢士) ,或者,他們希望得到什麼好處,才會到遠方去朝拜一個君王 … 為什麼他們會朝拜一個用襁褓包着的[小孩]?如果祂是成人,或許可以說,是期望從祂那裡得到急需的援助。」因此,金口聖若望的結論是他們並非尋找俗世的君王,因為當他們看見的只是「一個棚子、一個馬槽、一個用襁褓包着的小孩和一個貧窮的母親」,「他們不會朝拜祂,也不會獻上禮品」。黑落德王和各宗教領袖雖擁有經書但未曾發現的,卻被三賢士以自然科學和信德發現了。「(三賢士)尋找一個天上君王,雖然在祂身上,他們找不到皇者顯赫的徵兆,但滿足於從那顆星得到的唯一證明,他們朝拜祂: 因為雖然他們看到的是一個人,但他們確認的卻是一位天主」。懷着謙卑的心,三賢士俯伏在地,朝拜那貧窮的嬰孩,從而開啟了天主對異邦人的救贖計劃。

三賢士的故事給我們的教訓是象徵式和指導式的。三賢士代表所有民族的人。他們是最早的朝聖者,歷代以來很多步他們後塵而來的人,無論是偉大的或卑微的,是君主或奴隸,都是步向基督的朝聖者。同為承繼人,分享者,同為一身 (參 讀經二 弗 3:2-3) 。光會照耀那些尋找天主,並為真理打開自己的心的人。每當有欺騙、虛偽、傲慢和暴力,光就會消失(當三賢士見黑落德王時,那顆星就不見了──參 瑪 2:1-2, 9-10)。三賢士教導我們剛毅、堅忍和謙遜的美德。他們留意天象,願意和有勇氣踏上漫長而不明朗的旅途到遠方探索,尋找自己所相信的。當他們好像迷了路,沒有指引的時候,他們想辦法繼續旅程。他們不理會可能引起的妒忌和敵對的威脅,他們到黑落德王那裡,去詢問有關新生的君王的事情(參 瑪 2:2)。儘管地位尊貴,他們謙虛自己,俯伏在那貧窮的孩子前,毫不猶豫,沒有抱怨,沒有失望地給祂獻上珍貴的禮物(參 瑪 2:11)。

在尋找天主的過程中,我們會羨慕那些不費吹灰之力便找到天主的牧羊人嗎?還是覺得自己與歷盡艱辛的賢士較為相似?其實最重要的,不是我們用了多少時間和努力,而是最後的結果。牧羊人和賢士都找到了天主。前者「為了他們所聽見和看見的一切 … 就光榮讚美天主回去了」(路 2:20),後者以新人身份「由另一條路返回自己的地方去了」(瑪2 :12)。讓我們也同樣地讚頌天主:「天主在天受光榮,主愛的人在世享平安」(路 2:14) 。無論單純如牧羊人,或智慧如賢士,天主賜給懷着謙卑善意去尋找祂的人的祝福是一樣的。

Posted: January 7, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

主日的聖言與反省 (乙年主顯節) : 信仰旅程 吳智勳神父

主顯節是個重大的節日,從前稱為三王來朝,那是不太正確的稱呼,因為聖經既沒有說是三個,更沒有說他們是皇帝,稱他們為賢士或聰明人似乎比較妥當。主顯表示天主顯示自己給人,首先是猶太人,後是外邦人,整件事表示耶穌基督是全人類的救主。

繼續閱讀 >
神修話語 – 主顯節 (乙年)

今個主日是主顯節,何庭耀神父給我們講解耶穌在聖經裡顯現祂天主性的事跡。像朝拜耶穌的三王一樣,我們可以把自己的禮物奉獻給祂,以善行、祈禱和犧牲代表黃金、乳香和沒藥。而加納婚宴的奇蹟也提醒我們,只要我們懷着信德和希望,天主是不會令我們失望的。

在線聆聽 >