Planning and Entrusting

Fifteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

AMOS 7:12-15

"Amaziah, priest of Bethel, said to Amos, “Off with you, visionary, flee to the land of Judah! There earn your bread by prophesying, but never again prophesy in Bethel; for it is the king’s sanctuary and a royal temple.” Amos answered Amaziah, “I was no prophet, nor have I belonged to a company of prophets; I was a shepherd and a dresser of sycamores. The LORD took me from following the flock, and said to me, Go, prophesy to my people Israel.”"

EPHESIANS 1:3-14

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavens, as he chose us in him, before the foundation of the world, to be holy and without blemish before him. In love he destined us for adoption to himself through Jesus Christ, in accord with the favor of his will, for the praise of the glory of his grace that he granted us in the beloved. In him we have redemption by his blood, the forgiveness of transgressions, in accord with the riches of his grace that he lavished upon us. In all wisdom and insight, he has made known to us the mystery of his will in accord with his favor that he set forth in him as a plan for the fullness of times, to sum up all things in Christ, in heaven and on earth. In him we were also chosen, destined in accord with the purpose of the One who accomplishes all things according to the intention of his will, so that we might exist for the praise of his glory, we who first hoped in Christ. In him you also, who have heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and have believed in him, were sealed with the promised holy Spirit, which is the first installment of our inheritance toward redemption as God’s possession, to the praise of his glory.

MARK 6:7-13

Jesus summoned the Twelve and began to send them out two by two and gave them authority over unclean spirits. He instructed them to take nothing for the journey but a walking stick— no food, no sack, no money in their belts. They were, however, to wear sandals but not a second tunic. He said to them, “Wherever you enter a house, stay there until you leave. Whatever place does not welcome you or listen to you, leave there and shake the dust off your feet in testimony against them.” So they went off and preached repentance. The Twelve drove out many demons, and they anointed with oil many who were sick and cured them.

In this Sunday’s Gospel reading, we hear that Jesus sends out his twelve apostles two by two to preach the good news of the kingdom of God. As He sends them out, He orders them to take nothing for their journey, no bread, no money, no bag, they are to wear sandals and not to put on two tunics.

Jesus’ orders seem to be primarily intended for apostles, priests, those in religious life or the lay apostolate who take on as their mission in life to evangelize and do God’s work on earth. It is a complete entrusting to God of one’s material needs and reliance on God’s providence. Those of us who live a secular life tend to put in an excessive amount of planning into our lives. When we were young, our parents planned for us. They planned for our education and our upbringing. We then take over to plan for our own future, our career, our family and so on. We plan for our children, maybe even more meticulously than what our parents planned for us. Then we plan for our retirement and end of life. We are a loyal supporter of insurance and purchase a safety net for every imaginable disaster that can happen in our lives.

Surely we cannot do without planning for we need a roadmap for our journey in life. But as we plan, we must bear in mind Jesus’ advice which is equally relevant to us, people of the world “to take nothing for (your) journey, no bread, no bag, no money in (your) belts” (Mark 6:8). We must entrust to God as much as we plan and avoid the pitfall of focusing too much on our worldly cares. Since we are blessed “with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places, just as he chose us in Christ before the foundation of the world to be holy and blameless before him in love” (second reading Ephesians 1:3-4), our ultimate goal in life is our salvation.

“The Lord will give what is good, and our land will yield its increase. Righteousness will go before him, and will make a path for his steps” (Responsorial Psalm 85:13-14). Would you be inspired by this beautiful verse to let go of some of the planning and to entrust more to His divine Providence?

Posted: July 15, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Invitation to God’s Wedding Banquet
Unlike my daughter who must be selective in inviting people to her wedding, God welcomes everyone to his. Continue Reading >
“I am the living bread that came down from heaven” (John 6:51)
“Whoever eats of this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh” (John 6:51) Continue Reading >
We are what we eat
In this Sunday’s Gospel reading, we hear that Jesus sends out his twelve apostles two by two to preach the good news of the kingdom of God. As He sends… Continue Reading >

計劃與交托

常年期第十五主日

亞毛斯先知書 7:12-15

那時候,阿瑪責雅又向亞毛斯說:「先見者,你走吧!趕快到猶大國去,在那裡餬口,在那裡講預言。在貝特耳,不可再講預言,因為這裡是君王的聖所,王國的殿宇。」亞毛斯回答阿瑪責雅,說:「我原來不是先知,也不是先知的弟子,我只是一個放羊、兼修剪野無花果的人。但是,當我正在趕羊時,上主提拔了我。上主對我說:你去向我的百姓以色列,講預言吧!」

厄弗所書 1:3-14

弟兄姊妹們:願我們的主耶穌基督的天主和父受讚美!他在天上,在基督內,以各種屬神的祝福,祝福了我們,因為他於創世以前,在基督內,已揀選了我們,為使我們在他面前,成為聖潔無瑕疵的;又由於愛,按照自己旨意的決定,預定了我們藉著耶穌基督,獲得義子的名分,而歸於他,為頌揚他恩寵的光榮;這恩寵是他在自己的愛子內賜與我們的。我們就是全憑天主豐厚的恩寵,在他的愛子內,藉他愛子的血,獲得了救贖,罪過的赦免。的確,天主豐厚地把這恩寵,傾注在我們身上,賜與我們各種智慧和明達,為使我們知道,他旨意的奧秘,是全照他在愛子內所定的計劃:就是依照他的措施,當時期一滿,就使天上和地上的萬有,總歸於基督元首。我們也是在基督內,才得作天主的產業,因為,我們是由那位按照自己旨意的計劃,成就萬事者,早預定了的,為使我們這些首先在默西亞內,懷著希望的人,頌揚他的光榮;在基督內,你們一聽到了真理的話,即你們得救的福音,便信從了,且在他內,受了恩許聖神的印證;這聖神,就是我們得嗣業的保證,為使天主所置為嗣業的子民,蒙受完全的救贖,為頌揚他的光榮。

馬爾谷福音 6:7-13

那時候,耶穌召集那十二人,開始派遣他們兩個兩個出去,賜給他們制伏邪魔的權柄。耶穌囑咐他們在路上,除了一根棍杖外,什麼也不要帶:不要帶食物,不要帶口袋,也不要在腰帶裡帶銅錢;卻要穿鞋,不要穿兩件內衣。耶穌又對他們說:「你們無論在那裡,進入那一家,就住在那裡,直到離開那裡。無論何處,不接待你們,或不聽從你們,你們就離開那裡,拍去你們腳上的塵土,作為反對他們的證據。」那十二人就出去宣講,使人悔改,並驅逐了許多魔鬼,且給許多病人傅油,治好了他們。

在本主日的福音讀經中,我們聽到耶穌派遣祂的十二宗徒兩個兩個出去傳揚天國福音。祂囑咐他們在路上什麼也不要帶,不要帶食品、金錢、口袋,卻要穿鞋,不要穿兩件內衣。

耶穌的囑咐似乎主要是為宗徒、司鐸、過修道生活的人或是在世上當使徒工作,以傳揚福音,服務天主為己任的平信徒。他們將自己所需完全交托於天主,依賴祂的慈惠眷顧。我們在俗世生活的人傾向於計劃太多。小時候,父母為我們的教育和成長而計劃。然後,我們接力, 為自己的未來、事業、家庭而計劃。我們為子女所計劃的,甚至比父母為自己所計劃的還要精確,一絲不苟。接著,我們計劃退休,以及生命的終結。我們是保險的忠實支持者,對於人生中可能會發生的不測,都會預先購買安全網。

當然,我們不能沒有計劃,人生在世的旅程,我們必需一個藍圖。但當我們計劃的時候,心中要記著耶穌的囑咐:「什麼也不要帶: 不要帶食品,不要帶口袋,也不要在腰帶裡帶銅錢」(谷 6:8) 。在計劃之時,亦要毋忘依賴天主,不致陷於對世間的憂慮,有太多的記掛。我們在世的最終目標是自己的得救,因為我們已被「各種屬神的祝福,祝福了我們,因為祂於創世以前,在基督內已揀選了我們,為使我們在祂面前,成為聖潔無瑕疵的」(讀經二 弗 1:3-4)。

「上主也必賜下康樂幸福;我們的土地,必有收穫。正義在上主前面行走,救恩必緊隨上主的腳步」(答唱詠 詠85:13-14) 。你會不會被這美麗的聖詠感動,少一點計劃,多一點交托,多一點依賴來自天主的庇蔭呢?

Posted: July 15, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十五主日:門徒的培育 吳智勳神父

馬爾谷福音重視門徒的培育,未受培育就不能有效地宣講。他在第三章已提到耶穌揀選十二門徒,但要到第六章才說耶穌派他們出去,表示門徒要聽過耶穌的道理,目睹耶穌平息風浪、驅魔、治病、復活死人,經驗過不被接納的遭遇。經歷過這些培育後,耶穌才派遣他們出去,甚至這個派遣本身都包含了培育,同時把基督徒的特質描繪出來。

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:揀選與派遣
繼續閱讀 >