What can we learn from the teaching of “repaying good for evil” ?

Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 5:1-7

Let me now sing of my friend, my friend's song concerning his vineyard. My friend had a vineyard on a fertile hillside; he spaded it, cleared it of stones, and planted the choicest vines; within it he built a watchtower, and hewed out a wine press. Then he looked for the crop of grapes, but what it yielded was wild grapes. Now, inhabitants of Jerusalem and people of Judah, judge between me and my vineyard: What more was there to do for my vineyard that I had not done? Why, when I looked for the crop of grapes, did it bring forth wild grapes? Now, I will let you know what I mean to do with my vineyard: take away its hedge, give it to grazing, break through its wall, let it be trampled! Yes, I will make it a ruin: it shall not be pruned or hoed, but overgrown with thorns and briers; I will command the clouds not to send rain upon it. The vineyard of the LORD of hosts is the house of Israel, and the people of Judah are his cherished plant; he looked for judgment, but see, bloodshed! for justice, but hark, the outcry!

Philippians 4:6-9

Brothers and sisters: Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Keep on doing what you have learned and received and heard and seen in me. Then the God of peace will be with you.

Matthew 21:33-43

Jesus said to the chief priests and the elders of the people: "Hear another parable. There was a landowner who planted a vineyard, put a hedge around it, dug a wine press in it, and built a tower. Then he leased it to tenants and went on a journey. When vintage time drew near, he sent his servants to the tenants to obtain his produce. But the tenants seized the servants and one they beat, another they killed, and a third they stoned. Again he sent other servants, more numerous than the first ones, but they treated them in the same way. Finally, he sent his son to them, thinking, 'They will respect my son.' But when the tenants saw the son, they said to one another, 'This is the heir. Come, let us kill him and acquire his inheritance.' They seized him, threw him out of the vineyard, and killed him. What will the owner of the vineyard do to those tenants when he comes?" They answered him, "He will put those wretched men to a wretched death and lease his vineyard to other tenants who will give him the produce at the proper times." Jesus said to them, "Did you never read in the Scriptures: The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone; by the Lord has this been done, and it is wonderful in our eyes? Therefore, I say to you, the kingdom of God will be taken away from you and given to a people that will produce its fruit."

Using allegorical approach has its pros and cons when interpreting the bible; like in today’s Gospel reading when Jesus adapts Isaiah’s “Vineyard Song” (First Reading) for His parable of the Wicked Tenants. Conventional Christian interpretation alludes the six main characters to: God – the landowner, Israel – the vineyard, the Jewish religious leaders – the tenants, the prophets – the landowner’s servants/slaves, Jesus – the son and the Gentiles/Church – the other tenants. Other allegorical interpretations allude those who have been baptized as God’s vineyard, cultivated and nourished by His Word or as the bad tenants whom God trusts, but lose the privilege through sinfulness etc. Different backgrounds and perspectives of the readers at different times give rise to a variety of interpretations. Today, instead of studying the parable through more allegories, I would like to reflect on the teaching of “repaying good for evil”.

Undeniably, the landowner is superbly good. Not only is he benevolent in making everything right for his tenants, he is also incomprehensibly patient with them even when they act viciously toward his servants. With good will and kindness, he even sends his own son as the last resort. Yet the tenants are impenitent and in their wickedness, they repay evil for good and go from bad to worst.

In real life, when we are mistreated by others or being repaid by evil for our good deeds, the idea of “an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth” seems fair and appropriate. But when Paul says to the Romans, “Do not repay anyone evil for evil, be concerned for what is noble in the sight of all” or when Peter in his letter says, “Do not return evil for evil or insult for insult . . . that you might inherit a blessing”, what can we understand from these words? (Rm 12:17; 1 Pet 3:9).

As Christians, when we take evil in our hands and retaliate, we are telling God that we can handle it in our own way. Thus we make ourselves the judge and are no longer walking by faith. Instead, we should turn evil over to God and put our trust in His judgment. If we truly believe that God is all-knowing and that He is just, let Him deal with it according to His way and in His time, for He says, “Vengeance is mine, and recompense, for the time when their foot shall slip; because the day of their calamity is at hand, their doom comes swiftly” (cf Ps 147:6, 69:33, 72:4; Deut 32:35). Jesus takes a step further. Not only are we to abstain from returning evil, He teaches us to repay good for evil: to love our enemies, to do good to those who hate us and to pray for those who bring evil upon us (rf Mt 5:44). In this way, not only will we be freed from the sins of hostility and vengeance, it will also enable us to forgive and regain peace. Surely we have suffered, but it is by such that we merit God’s blessings and truly become His children in perfection (rf Mt 5:45-48).

Though at times it may appear that Evil seems to gain an upper hand (like the bad tenants) but that is only for a while. As we know for certain that the tenants are no match for the landowner’s power that can easily overcome them, so Good will definitely triumph in the end. God who is Good itself will not take revenge without giving sufficient time and patience for Evil to return to Good. Let us then remember that God is not without anger, but rather “slow to anger” (Ex 34:6, Nu 14:18, Ps 86:15). So let our pathway of faith be one that “leaves room for the wrath of God” and we ourselves “do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good” (Rm 12:19, 21).

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Twenty-ninth Sunday in Ordinary Time
Our Mission is Love
The Christian identity is intricately tied to the mission of the Church - to bring the Gospel of Life to all; a life that “sets us free from every kind… Continue Reading >
Twenty-eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time
“Many are called, but few are chosen” (Matthew 22:14)
That we will be among the chosen few, we must live our life “in a manner worthy of the Gospel of Christ” (Philippians 1:27). Continue Reading >
Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time
What can we learn from the teaching of “repaying good for evil” ?
Free ourselves from taking revenge and we merit God's blessings as His children in perfection Continue Reading >

我們能從「以德報怨」教導中領悟到什麼呢?

常年期第二十七主日

依撒意亞先知書 5:1-7

我要為我的愛友,謳唱一首有關他葡萄園的情歌:我的愛友,有一座葡萄園,位於肥沃的山崗上;他翻掘了土地,除去了石塊,栽種了精選的葡萄樹,園中築了一座守望台,又鑿了一個榨酒池。他原希望葡萄園出產好葡萄,但它卻出產了野葡萄。耶路撒冷的居民和猶大人啊!現在請你們,在我與我葡萄園之間,判別是非:我為我的葡萄園所能做的,還有什麼沒有做到?我原希望它出產好葡萄,為什麼卻出產了野葡萄?現在,我要告訴你們,我將怎樣對待我的葡萄園:我必撤去它的籬笆,讓它被吞噬;拆毀它的圍牆,讓它受踐踏;我要使他變成荒地,不再修剪,不再耕鋤;荊棘和蒺藜,將叢叢而生;並且我要命令雲彩,不再給它降下時雨。萬軍上主的葡萄園,就是以色列家,而猶大人,即是他鍾愛的幼苗。上主原希望正義,看,竟是流血;上主原希望公平,看,卻是冤聲!

斐理伯書 4:6-9

你們什麼也不要掛慮,只在一切事上,以懇求和祈禱,懷著感謝之心,向天主呈上你們的請求;這樣,天主那超乎各種意想的平安,必要在基督耶穌內,固守你們的心思念慮。此外,弟兄們!凡是真實的,凡是高尚的,凡是正義的,凡是純潔的,凡是可愛的,凡是榮譽的,不管是美德,不管是稱譽:這一切,你們都該思念;凡你們在我身上所學得的,所領受的,所聽見的,所看到的:這一切,你們都該實行。這樣,賜平安的天主,必與你們同在。

瑪竇福音 21:33-43

那時候,耶穌對司祭長和民間長老說:「你們再聽一個比喻吧!從前有一個家主,培植了一個葡萄園,周圍圍上籬笆,園內掘了一個榨酒池,築了一座守望台,把它租給園戶,就離開了本國。快到收成的時候,家主打發僕人,到園戶那裡,去收取果子。園戶捉住了僕人,將一個鞭打了,將一個殺死了,將另一個用石頭砸死了。家主再打發一些僕人去,人數比以前還多;園戶也照樣對待了他們。「最後,家主打發自己的兒子,到園戶那裡去。家主心想:他們會敬重我的兒子。「但園戶一看見是兒子,就彼此說:這是繼承人,來!我們殺掉他,我們就能得到他的產業。於是,園戶捉住家主的兒子,把他推到葡萄園外面,殺了。「那麼,當葡萄園的主人回來時,他要怎樣處置那些園戶呢?」司祭長和民間長老回答說:「要凶惡地消滅那些凶惡的人,把葡萄園,另租給按時給他繳納出產的園戶。」耶穌對他們說:「『匠人棄而不用的石頭,反而成了屋角的基石;那是上主的所作所為,在我們眼中,神妙莫測』這句經文,你們沒有讀過嗎?「為此,我對你們說:天主的國,必由你們當中奪去,而交給結果實的外邦人。」

以寓言的方式來詮釋聖經,有利亦有弊;例如今天的福音讀經,耶穌在祂的《園户比喻》中,引用了依撒意亞的《葡萄園寓言詩》(讀經一)。傳統基督宗教解釋這故事所暗示的六個主要角色為:天主是園主,以色列是葡萄園,猶太宗教領袖是園户,先知是園主的僕人,耶穌是兒子,外邦人、教會變是其他的園戶。當然還有其他對這比喻作出的解釋,例如認為那些接受過洗禮的人是天主的葡萄園,得到聖言的培育和滋養,又或是如起初獲天主信任的惡園戶,因犯罪而喪失特權等等。不同時代的讀者因為不同的背景和觀點,會作出不同的解釋。今天,我不想引用更多詮釋來研究這比喻,而是想從中反思「以德報怨」這教導。

毫無疑問,園主是至善的。他不僅善待園戶,照顧他們的一切,而且當他們殘害他的僕人時,他也是極度容忍。出於他的善意和仁慈,最後甚至派遣了自己的兒子。可惜的是,園戶竟不知悔改,以怨報德,恩將仇報使情况日趨惡劣。

在現實生活中,當我們受到別人的惡意對待或我們的善行得到惡報的時候,「以眼還眼,以牙還牙」這想法似乎是公平適當的。但當聖保祿對羅馬人說:「對人不可以惡報惡,對眾人要勉勵行善」,或聖伯多祿在他的書信中說:「總不要以惡報惡,以罵還罵;但要祝福,因為你們原是為繼承祝福而蒙召的」,我們能從這幾句説話中領悟到什麼呢? (羅 12:17; 伯前 3:9)。

作為基督徒,當我們自己反擊惡行時,我們在告訴天主,我們可以用自己的方式來處理。這樣,我們自己便成了法官,偏離了信德的道路。然而,我們應該把惡行交給天主,信靠祂的判斷。如果我們真的相信天主是全知的,是公義的,就讓祂按照祂的方式和祂認為適當的時候來處理,因為祂說:「等到他們失足之時,我必復仇報復;他們滅亡的日子確已臨近,給他們預定的命運就要來到」(參照 詠 147:6, 69:33, 72:4; 申 32:35)。耶穌更進一步教導我們不僅要戒除以惡還惡,更教導我們以善還惡:愛我們的敵人,善待憎恨我們的人及為迫害我們的人祈禱 (參考 瑪 5:44)。這樣,我們不僅能擺脫敵意和仇恨的罪,還使我們能寬恕而重獲平安。當然我們受了苦,但正是由於受苦,便值得天主的祝福,真正能成為祂的成全兒女 (參考 瑪 5:45-48)。

雖然有時邪惡似乎佔了上風(像惡園戶),但這只是暫時性的。正如我們確切知道,園戶的力量遠不及園主,園主很容易能把園戶擊敗,所以至善最終一定得勝。天主就是至善,在邪惡受到報應之前,祂以忍耐讓邪惡有足夠的時間悔改,回歸於至善。我們要銘記,天主並非不會憤怒,只是「緩於發怒」(出34:6,户14:18,詠86:15)。所以讓我們在信仰的道路上「給天主的忿怒留有餘地」,而我們自己「不可為惡所勝,反應以善勝惡」(羅 12:19, 21)。

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿七主日:做個感恩的人 吳智勳神父

今日福音的比喻是接著上星期的,對象也是司祭長和民間長老。耶穌說這比喻的時候,是祂榮進耶路撒冷之後,並且已經和當權者發生過正面衝突;接二連三的比喻,都是耶穌給予他們震撼性的當頭棒喝。

繼續閱讀 >