Salvation history is human history

Second Sunday of Advent

Baruch 5:1-9

Jerusalem, take off your robe of mourning and misery; put on the splendor of glory from God forever: wrapped in the cloak of justice from God, bear on your head the mitre that displays the glory of the eternal name. For God will show all the earth your splendor: you will be named by God forever the peace of justice, the glory of God’s worship. Up, Jerusalem! stand upon the heights; look to the east and see your children gathered from the east and the west at the word of the Holy One, rejoicing that they are remembered by God. Led away on foot by their enemies they left you: but God will bring them back to you borne aloft in glory as on royal thrones. For God has commanded that every lofty mountain be made low, and that the age-old depths and gorges be filled to level ground, that Israel may advance secure in the glory of God. The forests and every fragrant kind of tree have overshadowed Israel at God’s command; for God is leading Israel in joy by the light of his glory, with his mercy and justice for company.

Philippians 1:4-6, 8-11

Brothers and sisters: I pray always with joy in my every prayer for all of you, because of your partnership for the gospel from the first day until now. I am confident of this, that the one who began a good work in you will continue to complete it until the day of Christ Jesus. God is my witness, how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus. And this is my prayer: that your love may increase ever more and more in knowledge and every kind of perception, to discern what is of value, so that you may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ for the glory and praise of God.

Luke 3:1-6

In the fifteenth year of the reign of Tiberius Caesar, when Pontius Pilate was governor of Judea, and Herod was tetrarch of Galilee, and his brother Philip tetrarch of the region of Ituraea and Trachonitis, and Lysanias was tetrarch of Abilene, during the high priesthood of Annas and Caiaphas, the word of God came to John the son of Zechariah in the desert. John went throughout the whole region of the Jordan, proclaiming a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins, as it is written in the book of the words of the prophet Isaiah: A voice of one crying out in the desert: “Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths. Every valley shall be filled and every mountain and hill shall be made low. The winding roads shall be made straight, and the rough ways made smooth, and all flesh shall see the salvation of God.”

One common phenomenon when reading the Bible is seeing its stories within the confinement of the biblical realm, as if they were disconnected and unrelated to the rest of our world. Luke wrote his gospel from a historical perspective – not a chronological history book with which we are familiar – but on the history of salvation. By aligning Jesus’ birth (rf Lk 2:1-2) and the emergence of John the Baptist (rf Lk 3:1-2) with the facts of the contemporary world and secular history, Luke reminds his readers that salvation history is human history (rf Lk 1:5, 2:1-2, 3:1-2, Acts 4:6, 11:28, 18:2, 12).

The introduction of John the Baptist in today’s Gospel Reading is superscribed against the backdrop of a critical time in the world history – the breaking in of God’s kingdom on earth. The time was somewhere between 27 and 29 AD, the fifteenth year of the reign of Tiberius Caesar (14-37 AD). Herod the Great (the enemy of the infant Jesus) was dead and his kingdom was split among his three sons – Herod Antipas, Philip and Archelaus. Herod Antipas ruled Galilee in northern Palestine and his domain included Nazareth, Capharnaum, Cana, Naim; places where Jesus spent the greatest part of His life. Philip was given a section northeast of Galilee and Archelaus governed Judea, Samaria and Idumea. Archelaus was so detestable to the Jews that they had him removed and Pontius Pilate was then appointed to govern his inheritance. Pilate would never have dreamed that by such appointment, he would later encounter Jesus in His final destiny and he himself was then made known throughout history.

Luke also casts light on the religious situation and leadership of Palestine at that time. Annas, though deposed by the Romans of his high priesthood in 15 AD, nevertheless continued to exert his influence in the supreme religious jurisdiction of Israel. He was succeeded by various members of his family but it was his son-in-law Caiaphas (high priest 18-36 AD) who played the fateful role that instigated Jesus’ death (rf Jn 11:49-50). He too, like Pontius Pilate, would not have expected himself prophesying the redemptive death of Jesus (rf Jn 11:51-52). These were the political and religious rulers of that critical period in which each of them was predestined to take part in God’s salvation plan.

Hence stories in the Bible are not merely contained in the biblical world and certainly not from myths, legends or imaginations. They were stories lived out by people in the real world wherein all were born and died much the same as we are now. Life is like a thread in a tapestry; each thread is essential for building up the whole tapestry, adding designated shade and colour to it. Each thread is placed alongside with another thread which does the same. Each is interwoven with another and supported by many others. The problem is that we often look from the back of the tapestry and thus all we see are loose ends, tangled knots and meaningless patterns. We forget that God sees all that is. He is the weaver who silently, wondrously, and orderly guides every thread with His tender hand. According to His design in the making of His grand tapestry, God will complete His work in due time. With this in mind, let us widen our lens when reading the Bible and do not dissociate its stories with our present age and the world we are in now. We are part of each other and share the same history together. We are all in one tapestry and the threads that began in the past are still continuously being woven today.

Posted: December 9, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

“The Lord is near.” (Philippians 4:5)
Rejoice, be glad; be gentle and humble Continue Reading >
Salvation history is human history
Let us widen our lens when reading the Bible and do not dissociate its stories with our present age and the world we are in now Continue Reading >
The End or the Beginning
Advent is indeed, a time of remembering, reflection, and transformation. Continue Reading >

救恩史就是人類歷史

將臨期第二主日

巴路克先知書 5:1-9

耶路撒冷!請你脫去守喪時悲傷的衣服,永遠穿上天主光榮的華服,披上天主正義的披肩;在你頭上,戴上永生者光榮的冠冕;因為天主要對天下萬邦,顯示你的榮耀;給你起名,永遠叫 「正義的和平」,和 「虔敬的光榮」。耶路撒冷!請你起來,站在高處,向東遠眺。看,你的子女奉聖者的命,由西方至東方集合;他們喜形於色,因為天主終於想起了他們。他們曾離你遠去,由仇人押送步行;如今,天主卻把他們給你再領回來;他們體面光榮,好像皇子一樣,被人抬著歸來;因為天主已命令,夷平一切高山和無盡的丘陵,填平所有山谷,使它們化為平地,好讓以色列在天主的光榮下,平安前行。森林和一切香樹,要依照天主的命令,給以色列遮蔭;因為天主要在喜樂中,以他固有的仁慈和正義,在自己榮耀的光輝下,親自領回以色列。

斐理伯書 1:4-6,8-11

我每次祈禱,總是愉快地為你們各位祈禱,因為你們從最初的一天,直到現在,就協助了宣傳福音的工作;我深信,在你們內開始這美好工作的那位,必予以完成,直到耶穌基督的日子。天主為我作證:我是怎樣以基督耶穌的情懷,愛你們眾人。我所祈求的是:願你們的愛德日漸增長,充滿真知識和各種見識,使你們能辨別卓絕之事,為叫你們直到基督的日子,常是潔淨無瑕的,賴耶穌基督,滿結義德的果實,為光榮讚美天主。

路加福音 3:1-6

凱撒提庇留執政第十五年,般雀比拉多作猶太總督,黑落德作加里肋亞分封侯,他的兄弟斐理伯作依突勒雅和特辣曷尼地方的分封侯,呂撒尼雅作阿彼肋乃分封侯,亞納斯和蓋法作大司祭時,在荒野中有天主的話,傳給匝加利亞的兒子若翰。若翰於是走遍約但河一帶地方,宣講悔改的洗禮,為得罪之赦。正如先知依撒意亞預言書上記載的:「在荒野中有呼號者的聲音:你們當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑!一切深谷要填滿,一切山岳丘陵要剷平,彎曲的要修直,崎嶇的要闢成坦途!凡有血肉的,都要看見天主的救援。」

閱讀聖經時的一個普遍現象,就是在聖經範圍的限制下看它的故事,聖經故事好像沒有連貫性並且與我們的世界毫不相干。路加從歷史的角度寫福音 – 不是我們熟悉的按時序的歷史書 – 而是救恩史。將耶穌的出生(路 2:1-2)和洗者若翰(路 3:1-2)的出現, 與當時的世界和世俗的史實聯繫起來,路加是要提醒他的讀者,救恩史就是人類歷史(路1:5, 2:1-2,3:1-2,宗4:6,11:28,18:2,12)。

在今天的福音讀經,洗者若翰出現的背景是世界歷史上一個關鍵時刻 – 天主的王國來臨世上了。時間大約在公元 27至 29 年間,即凱撒提庇留執政第十五年(公元14至37年)。大黑落德(嬰孩耶穌的敵人)已死,他的王國被他的三個兒子瓜分 –黑落德安提帕、斐理伯和阿爾赫勞。黑落德安提帕在巴勒斯坦北部統治加里肋亞,他的領土包括納匝肋城、葛法翁、加納、納因;耶穌生命中大部份時間都在這些地方度過。斐理伯分得加里肋亞東北的一段地帶,而阿爾赫勞統治猶大,撒瑪黎雅和依杜默雅。猶太人非常憎厭阿爾赫勞,甚至將他除掉,然後任命般雀比拉多去統治他繼承的土地。比拉多做夢也想不到,這個委任使他在耶穌的最後生命與祂相遇,而比拉多自己則因此而名留歷史。

路加還說明了當時巴勒斯坦一帶的宗教和領導狀況。雖然亞納斯在公元 15 年被羅馬人罷免他的大司祭職,但他繼續在以色列的最高宗教管轄層發揮影響力。他的職務由不同的家庭成員繼承,他的女婿蓋法(公元18至36年間的大司祭)扮演了促使耶穌死亡的重大角色(若11:49-50)。他也像般雀比拉多一樣,料不到自己會預言耶穌為救贖而死(參 若11:51-52)。這些都是那個關鍵時期的政治和宗教統治者,他們每個人都被預定參與天主的救贖計劃。

因此,聖經裡面的故事不只限於聖經領域,當然也不是來自神話、傳說或想像。聖經故事是真實世界中人活出來的故事,而這些人都像我們現在的人一樣經歷生與死。生命就像掛毯中的一條線;每條線對於做成整個掛毯至關重要,為其添加指定的陰影和顏色。每一條線都與另一條線並排放置,克盡職守。每條線都與另一條線交織,並與許多其他的線互相支撐。問題是我們經常從掛毯的背面看,因此我們所看到的都是鬆散的線頭、糾纏一起的結和毫無意義的圖案。我們忘記了天主能看到一切。祂是那靜靜地、奇妙地、有條不紊地、用祂溫柔的手有秩序地引導每一條線的編織者。按著祂為製作那偉大堂皇的掛毯而設計的計劃,天主將在適當的時候完成祂的工作。考慮到這一點,讓我們以廣角的目光閱讀聖經,不要將其故事與我們現今世代和我們現處的世界分開。我們是彼此的一部分,分享著相同的歷史。我們全都在一張掛毯中,從過去開始編織的線條到今天仍是不斷地在編織中。

Posted: December 9, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙年將臨期第二主日: 具體地回應天主的救恩 吳智勳神父

若翰洗者首先代天主發言,要求我們把主的道路修直,意思就是要人把自己的心路修正,作為對天主救恩的回應,這也是將臨期的訊息。讓我們就拿第二篇讀經聖保祿的說話,作為將臨期的具體回應行動,好能經驗天主的救恩。

繼續閱讀 >