The Christian call to holiness

Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 6:1-2A,3-8

In the year King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a high and lofty throne, with the train of his garment filling the temple. Seraphim were stationed above. They cried one to the other, “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts! All the earth is filled with his glory!” At the sound of that cry, the frame of the door shook and the house was filled with smoke. Then I said, “Woe is me, I am doomed! For I am a man of unclean lips, living among a people of unclean lips; yet my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!” Then one of the seraphim flew to me, holding an ember that he had taken with tongs from the altar. He touched my mouth with it, and said, “See, now that this has touched your lips, your wickedness is removed, your sin purged.” Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? Who will go for us?” “Here I am,” I said; “send me!”

1 Corinthians 15:1-11

I am reminding you, brothers and sisters, of the gospel I preached to you, which you indeed received and in which you also stand. Through it you are also being saved, if you hold fast to the word I preached to you, unless you believed in vain. For I handed on to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures; that he was buried; that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures; that he appeared to Cephas, then to the Twelve. After that, Christ appeared to more than five hundred brothers at once, most of whom are still living, though some have fallen asleep. After that he appeared to James, then to all the apostles. Last of all, as to one born abnormally, he appeared to me. For I am the least of the apostles, not fit to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me has not been ineffective. Indeed, I have toiled harder than all of them; not I, however, but the grace of God that is with me. Therefore, whether it be I or they, so we preach and so you believed.

Luke 5:1-11

While the crowd was pressing in on Jesus and listening to the word of God, he was standing by the Lake of Gennesaret. He saw two boats there alongside the lake; the fishermen had disembarked and were washing their nets. Getting into one of the boats, the one belonging to Simon, he asked him to put out a short distance from the shore. Then he sat down and taught the crowds from the boat. After he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Put out into deep water and lower your nets for a catch.” Simon said in reply, “Master, we have worked hard all night and have caught nothing, but at your command I will lower the nets.” When they had done this, they caught a great number of fish and their nets were tearing. They signaled to their partners in the other boat to come to help them. They came and filled both boats so that the boats were in danger of sinking. When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at the knees of Jesus and said, “Depart from me, Lord, for I am a sinful man.” For astonishment at the catch of fish they had made seized him and all those with him, and likewise James and John, the sons of Zebedee, who were partners of Simon. Jesus said to Simon, “Do not be afraid; from now on you will be catching men.” When they brought their boats to the shore, they left everything and followed him.

In my previous reflection (2016) of today’s Gospel Reading, I reflected on the missionary mandate of the Church and our own missionary work as Christians. Today, I would like to give some thoughts on Christian “vocation”.

Mark and Matthew have a similar account of Jesus’ call of His first disciples. Jesus sees certain fishermen (Simon, Andrew, James and John) while walking by the seashore. He calls them and they follow Him. Luke’s account is more dramatic. Jesus inexplicably enters into Peter’s boat and works a miracle. Overwhelmed by Jesus’ power, Peter makes a confession and then together with James and John, they leave everything and follow Him. In John’s Gospel, the story is completely different. Jesus is passing by and John the Baptist points Him out to two of his disciples, “Behold the Lamb of God!” (Jn 1:36). They follow Him; He asks them and invites them to “Come and see” (Jn 1:39).

The calling of the first disciples offers us a collage of how Christian vocation comes about. In Mark and Matthew, Jesus initiates the call, powerful and direct ─ “Come after me, I will make you fishers of men” (Mk 1:17, Mt 4:19). In Luke, Peter and others are drawn by Jesus’ power and come to Him on their own accord. In John’s Gospel, the call happens indirectly and comes from a third party. Though “vocation” is now often overlapped with the word career or profession, it literally means a “call” ─ vocatio in Latin. And the earliest reference of the word is not just an ordinary call but a call from God ─ a divine call to serve the Church or humanity by living out a particular life and commit to it with all the time and energy. The call may come by different ways like that of the first disciples. While holy orders, marriage and consecrated life are specific vocations to individuals, as Christians, the foremost call from God is the universal call to holiness, that is, everyone who is baptized is called to live a life of holiness. “The classes and duties of life are many, but holiness is one” (LG 41). Thus, “all the faithful of Christ are invited to strive for the holiness and perfection of their own proper state” (LG 42).

This call to holiness is first of all, a conversion experience. It invites us to turn towards God by aligning our will to His will; by following and imitating the life of Jesus, “. . . the prime and fundamental vocation that the Father assigns to each of [us] in Jesus Christ through the Holy Spirit: the vocation to holiness, that is, the perfection of charity” (CL 16). In today’s Readings, both Isaiah and Peter are aware of God’s presence. His power and holiness have made them realize their own sinfulness and unworthiness. Yet they are called to serve the Lord and both respond in faith to follow God’s assigned path. Therefore, the call to holiness is not just “a simple moral exhortation” but “an essential and inseparable element of [a] new life” (CL 16, 17).

Secondly, the call to holiness is a preparation for a higher calling ─ the call to communion with God. “The desire for God is written in the human heart, because man is created by God and for God and God never ceases to draw man to Himself” (CCC 27); “The root reason for human dignity lies in man’s call to communion with God” (GS 19). It is a preparatory step that draws us to a deeper union with God. Since “Love is the fundamental and innate vocation of every human being” (CCC 2392), this preparation helps us to nurture and foster a growing desire to love God. It enables us to see in our “daily activities as an occasion to join [ourselves] to God, fulfill His will, serve other people and lead them to communion with God in Christ” (CL 17).

St Pope John Paul II, in his homily at Central Park, October 7 1995 said, “Love makes us seek what is good; love makes us better persons. It is love that prompts men and women to marry and form a family, to have children. It is love that prompts others to embrace the consecrated life or become priests”. Hence, every vocation is a commitment to love because each vocation is a response to God’s call to love. So whether in our profession, family or church, we should strive to make use of our God-given gifts for the sake of the greater common good and to build up the Kingdom of God here on earth.

Note:
LG Lumen gentium
CL Christifideles laici
GS Gaudium et spes

Posted: February 10, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Have we “resurrected” too?
In my previous reflection (2016) of today’s Gospel Reading, I reflected on the missionary mandate of the Church and our own missionary work as Christians. Today, I would like to… Continue Reading >
Judging is Wrong, Sometimes Right
Two stories: First, aboard the papal plane in 2013, Pope Francis said, in reference to the gay lobby in the Vatican, “You must distinguish between the fact of a person… Continue Reading >
“Blessed is the king who comes in the name of the Lord!” (Luke 19:38)
Jesus went up to Jerusalem voluntarily, knowing well that He would die a violent death there Continue Reading >

基督徒成聖的召叫

常年期第五主日

依撒意亞先知書 6:1-2,3-8

烏齊雅王逝世那年,我看見上主坐在崇高的御座上,他的衣邊拖曳滿殿。「色辣芬」侍立在他左右,他們互相高呼說:「聖!聖!聖!萬軍的上主!他的光榮充滿大地!」由於呼喊的聲音,門限的基石也震撼了;殿宇內充滿了煙霧。我遂說:「我有禍了!我完了!因為我是個唇舌不潔的人,住在唇舌不潔的人民中間,竟親眼見了君王——萬軍的上主!」當時有一個「色辣芬」飛到我面前,手中拿著火鉗,從祭壇上取了一塊火炭,接觸我的口說:「你看,這炭接觸了你的口唇,你的邪惡已經消除,你的罪孽已獲赦免!」那時,我聽見上主的聲音說:「我將派遣誰呢?誰肯為我們去呢?」我回答說:「我在這裡,請派遣我!」——上主的話。

格林多前書 15:1-11

弟兄姊妹們:我願意你們認清,我們先前給你們所傳報的福音;這福音你們已接受了,且堅信不移;如果你們照我給你們所傳報的話,持守了福音,就必因這福音得救,否則,你們就白白地信了。我當日把我所領受的,傳授給你們了,其中首要的是:基督照經上記載的,為我們的罪死了,被埋葬了,且照經上記載的,第三天復活了,並且顯現給刻法,以後顯現給那十二人;此後,又一同顯現給五百多弟兄,其中多半,到現在還活著,有些已經死了。隨後,顯現給雅各伯,以後,顯現給眾宗徒;最後,也顯現給我這個像流產兒的人。我原是宗徒中最小的一個,不配稱為宗徒,因為我迫害過天主的教會。然而,因天主的恩寵,我成為今日的我;天主賜給我的恩寵,沒有落空,我比他們眾人更勞碌;其實不是我,而是天主的恩寵偕同我。總之,不拘是我,或是他們,我們都這樣傳了;你們也都這樣信了。——上主的話。

路加福音 5:1-11

那時候,耶穌站在革乃撒勒湖邊;群眾擁到他面前,要聽天主的道理。他看見兩隻船,在湖邊停著;漁夫離開了船,正在洗網。他上了其中一隻屬於西滿的船,請他把船稍微划開,離開陸地;耶穌就坐下,從船上教訓群眾。一講完了,就對西滿說:「划到深處去,撒你們的網,捕魚吧!」西滿回答說:「老師,我們已整夜勞苦,毫無所獲;但我要遵照你的話撒網。」他們照樣做了,網了許多魚,網也幾乎破裂了。於是,他們呼喚另一隻船的同伴,來協助他們。他們來到,裝滿了兩隻船,以致船也幾乎下沉。西滿伯多祿一見這事,就跪伏在耶穌面前,說:「主,請你離開我!因為我是個罪人。」西滿和同他一起的人,因他們所捕獲的魚,都驚駭起來;他的夥伴,即載伯德的兒子雅各伯和若望,也一樣驚駭。耶穌對西滿說:「不要怕!從今以後,你要做捕人的漁夫!」他們把船划到岸邊,就捨棄一切,跟隨了耶穌。

我曾經在二零一六年為今天福音讀經寫了一篇反思,談及教會的傳教使命和我們自己作為基督徒的傳教工作。今天我為基督徒的「召叫」作另一個反思。

馬爾谷和瑪竇在耶穌召叫衪首批門徒的記載是相似的。耶穌在海邊步行的時候,看到一些漁夫(西滿、安德肋、雅各伯和若望)。祂召叫他們,他們便跟隨祂。路加的記載比較戲劇性。耶穌不明地上了伯多祿的船,行了個奇蹟。伯多祿驚駭於耶穌的力量,承認自己是個罪人,然後與雅各伯和若望一起,捨棄一切,跟隨了耶穌。在《若望福音》卻是一個完全不同的故事。耶穌路過,而若翰洗者就為他的兩位門徒指出祂:「看,天主的羔羊!」(若 1:36)。他們跟隨了耶穌;祂邀請他們:「來看看罷!」(若 1:39)。

首批門徒的召叫為我們綜合地描述了基督徒如何被召叫。在《馬爾谷福音》和《瑪竇福音》,是耶穌主動的召叫,有力而直接 ─「來跟隨我!我要使你們成為漁人的漁夫」(谷 1:17,瑪 4:19)。在《路加福音》,伯多祿和他的同伴被耶穌的權能所吸引,自動地跟隨祂。在《若望福音》,召叫不是直接的,而是從第三者而來的。雖然現在「召叫」往往包含有事業或職業的意思,但拉丁文 vocatio 的字面解釋是「一個呼喚」。這個字最早期不是指一個普通的呼喚,而是天主的呼喚,─個從上天而來的呼喚; 好叫一個人承諾以一生的時間和精力,為教會或普世萬民服務。召叫可能從不同的途徑而來,像首批門徒一樣。雖然聖秩、婚姻或獻身生活是屬於個人的召叫,但天主對基督徒首要而共同的召叫就是成聖,意思是每一個曾經受洗的人都是被召叫去活出有聖德的人生。「在各種生活形式與職位上,眾人都修練同一聖德」(LG 41)。所以「每位基督信徒都被邀請,並有責任獲致聖德,成全其本身生活的形態」(LG 42)。

成聖的召叫首先是一個皈依的經驗。這召叫請我們歸向天主,使自己的意思符合天主的旨意;跟隨並模仿耶穌的一生,「天父在耶稣基督内藉着聖神,指示給 [我們] 每一位平信徒的首要和基本的聖召 ─ 即成聖的召叫,成全愛德的召叫」(CL 16)。在今天的讀經,依撒意亞和伯多祿二人都意識到天主的臨在。祂的權柄和至聖使他們知道自己的罪過和不配。他們被召服侍上主,而二人皆以信德來回應,跟隨天主指定的道路。所以,成聖的召叫並不只是「單純的道德勸諭」而是「 [一個 ]新生命必不可少的主要因素」(CL 16,17)。

第二,成聖的召叫是為一個更高層次的召喚作準備,就是與天主結合,「對天主的渴求已銘刻在人的心中,因為人是由天主及為天主而受造; 而天主也不斷地吸引人」(天主教教理 27);

「人性所以尊嚴,其最大理由便是因為人的使命是同天主結合」(GS 19)。成聖是準備的步驟,引領我們與天主有更深的結合。 既然「愛是每一個人基本的和天賦的召叫」(天主教教理2392) ,這成聖的凖備有助培養我們渴望愛天主。讓我們可以把「日常活動,看作是 [我們] 與天主結合、完成祂的旨意、服務别人、引別人在基督内與天主共融的機會」(CL 17)。

聖教宗若望保祿二世在美國紐約中央公園1995年10月7日的講道說:「仁愛使我們找尋什麼是好的;仁愛使我們做一個更好的人。男女為愛而結婚,組織家庭,生兒育女。另一些人也因為愛而渡獻身生活或成為司鐸」。所以,每個召叫都是愛的承諾,每個召叫都是回應天主愛的呼喚。無論在我們的職業、家庭或敎會,我們應努力運用天主給我們的恩賜,謀求共同的福祉,在世上建造天主的國度。

附註:
LG《教會》教義憲章
CL 《基督信友平信徒》勸諭
GS 《論教會在現代世界牧職憲章》

Posted: February 10, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙年常年期第五主日:罪過 吳智勳神父

耶穌傳道的基本訊息便是:「你們要悔改,信從福音。」(谷 1:15)悔改是假定人犯了罪,人離開從前背向天主的狀態,回過頭來,面向天主。如果人連最基本有罪的狀態也不承認,便無悔改的可能。今天第一篇讀經和福音,提供了對罪的了解及啟示。讓我們對罪過做反省。

繼續閱讀 >