The Empty Tomb

The Resurrection of the Lord

Acts 10:34A, 37-43

Peter proceeded to speak and said: “You know what has happened all over Judea, beginning in Galilee after the baptism that John preached, how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power. He went about doing good and healing all those oppressed by the devil, for God was with him. We are witnesses of all that he did both in the country of the Jews and in Jerusalem. They put him to death by hanging him on a tree. This man God raised on the third day and granted that he be visible, not to all the people, but to us, the witnesses chosen by God in advance, who ate and drank with him after he rose from the dead. He commissioned us to preach to the people and testify that he is the one appointed by God as judge of the living and the dead. To him all the prophets bear witness, that everyone who believes in him will receive forgiveness of sins through his name.”

1 Corinthians 5:6B-8

Brothers and sisters: Do you not know that a little yeast leavens all the dough? Clear out the old yeast, so that you may become a fresh batch of dough, inasmuch as you are unleavened. For our paschal lamb, Christ, has been sacrificed. Therefore, let us celebrate the feast, not with the old yeast, the yeast of malice and wickedness, but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth.

John 20:1-9

On the first day of the week, Mary of Magdala came to the tomb early in the morning, while it was still dark, and saw the stone removed from the tomb. So she ran and went to Simon Peter and to the other disciple whom Jesus loved, and told them, “They have taken the Lord from the tomb, and we don’t know where they put him.” So Peter and the other disciple went out and came to the tomb. They both ran, but the other disciple ran faster than Peter and arrived at the tomb first; he bent down and saw the burial cloths there, but did not go in. When Simon Peter arrived after him, he went into the tomb and saw the burial cloths there, and the cloth that had covered his head, not with the burial cloths but rolled up in a separate place. Then the other disciple also went in, the one who had arrived at the tomb first, and he saw and believed. For they did not yet understand the Scripture that he had to rise from the dead.

It’s fair to say that the Christian faith in Jesus as the Son of God and the Savior of the world stands or falls with the truth of Easter. St. Paul said it just as much: “If Christ has not been raised, then our preaching is in vain and your faith is in vain” (1 Cor 15:14).

In vain indeed is our faith if the best evidence we can offer to substantiate the foundational truth of resurrection is just the empty tomb, as so many Christians are still inclined to believe. Interestingly, the theologians, who seem to disagree on almost everything, are somehow in one accord in rejecting the crude reasoning of the empty tomb theory. Objectively speaking, the empty tomb in and of itself can only be taken as an indication that Jesus’ body had disappeared. What had happened to the body gone missing? Possibilities are many. Resurrection, if it happened, can only be one of them. To insist that the body had been resurrected just because the tomb was empty is simply too rash a conclusion.

Some people discredit the empty tomb theory even further due to the fact that it was discovered by women (Mt 28:1), whose witness account was not recognized legally and culturally in ancient Israel. Surprising as it may seem, but this is exactly what makes the Easter narratives of the gospels credible. It is remarkable that the gospel authors would not shy away from presenting women as witnesses even though their lack of credibility in providing legal testimony was common knowledge. If such narratives were faked, wouldn’t it make more sense for them to use male witnesses instead? (Note 1)

One other argument in support of the truth of Easter, as presented so eloquently by Pope Benedict XVI (note 2), is that the apostolic preaching with all its boldness and passion, including what we hear from St. Peter in today’s first reading, would be unthinkable unless the witnessed event – the resurrection – was real.

Equally unthinkable is the notion that St. Paul would falsify the testimony that the resurrected Jesus “appeared to Kephas, then to the Twelve. After that, he appeared to more than five hundred brothers at once, most of whom are still living, though some have fallen asleep. After that he appeared to James, then to all the apostles. Last of all, as to one born abnormally, he appeared to me” (1 Cor 15:5-8). Since most of these witnesses were still alive when this testimony was given, St. Paul took the risk of being corrected and labeled a liar if what he said publicly was not true.

Note 1: Gerald O’Collins made this argument in Interpreting Jesus, p.126.
Note 2: Jesus of Nazareth II, p. 275

Other Sunday Reflections

Spiritual Talk – Easter 何庭耀神父

This Easter (Year B), Fr. Anthony Ho explains to us the resurrection of the Lord and what this miracle means to us. Jesus’ resurrection is not simply a memory that produces emotions within us, but an opportunity for us to continue a loving relationship with Him. Fr. Ho also talks about the incorruptible bodies of some Saints, and how they point to the resurrection of body and soul.






Continue Reading >

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/

空墓

耶穌復活主日

宗徒大事錄 10:34,37-43

那時候,伯多祿說:「你們都知道:在若翰宣講洗禮以後,從加里肋亞開始,在全猶太所發生的事:天主怎樣以聖神和德能,傅了納匝肋人耶穌,使他巡行各處,施恩行善,治好一切受魔鬼壓制的人,因為天主同他在一起。 「耶穌在猶太人地區,及在耶路撒冷所行一切,我們都是見證人。但是,他們卻把耶穌懸在木架上,殺死了。第三天,天主使他復活了,叫他顯現出來,不是給所有百姓,而是給天主所預先揀選的見證人,就是給我們這些、在他從死者中復活後,與他同食共飲的人。 「他吩咐我們向百姓講道,指證他就是天主所立:生者與死者的判官。一切先知都為他作證:凡信他的人,賴他的名字,都要獲得罪赦。」

聖保祿宗徒致格林多人前書 5:6-8

弟兄姊妹們: 你們豈不知道:少許的酵母,能使整個麵團發酵嗎?你們應把舊酵母除淨,好使你們成為新和的麵團,正如你們原是無酵餅一樣,因為我們的逾越節羔羊基督,已被祭殺,作了犧牲。所以,我們過節,不可用舊酵母,也不可用奸詐和邪惡的酵母,而只可用純潔和真誠的無酵餅。

聖若望福音 20:1-9

一周的第一天,清晨,天還黑的時候,瑪利亞瑪達肋納,來到墳墓那裡,看見石頭已從墓門挪開了。於是,她跑去見西滿伯多祿,及耶穌所愛的那另一個門徒,對他們說:「有人從墳墓中,把主搬走了;我們不知道他們把他放在那裡。」 伯多祿便和那另一個門徒出來,到墳墓那裡去。兩人一起跑,但那另一個門徒,比伯多祿跑得快,先來到了墳墓那裡。他俯身看見了放著的殮布,卻沒有進去。 跟著他的西滿伯多祿,也來到了,進入了墳墓,看見了放著的殮布,也看見耶穌頭上的那塊汗巾,不同殮布放在一起,而在另一處捲著。 先來到墳墓的那個門徒,也進去了,一看見就相信了。 這是因為他們還不明白,耶穌必須從死者中復活的那段聖經。

可以這樣說,基督徒相信耶穌是天主子和救世主是完全建立於復活節的真相上。聖保祿也這樣說:「假如基督沒有復活,那麼,我們的宣講便是空的,你們的信仰也是空的。」(格林多前書15:14)。

假如空墓是支持耶穌復活這基本信理的唯一證據, 那麽,我們的信仰便真的落空了,然而很多基督徒仍傾向這樣相信。有趣的是, 神學家雖然對很多事情都各持己見,但卻異口同聲地拒絕認同空墓這個不完善的論據。客觀來說,空墓只能表示耶穌的遺體不見了。不見了的遺體究竟發生了什麼事?會有很多可能性。如果復活是真的,它只不過是其中之一的可能性。假如單憑空墓便認定那身體已經復活, 這結論未免倉猝。

由於空墓是由婦女所發現的, 故此有人更進一步懷疑這空墓論。(瑪竇28:1)在古以色列, 婦女的見証在法律和習俗上都不被承認。其實,福音這出人意表的有關復活節的記述,正是它可信的原因。值得注意的是,福音作者們並不因為見証人是婦女而有所迴避,即使他們明知道婦女的見証在法律上是被認為不可信的。如果真的要捏造假故事,用男性證人, 不是更加合理嗎?(注1)

另一個很有力支持復活真相的理據,由教宗本篤十六世(注2)提出,就是宗徒們宣講福音時所表現的勇氣和熱忱,包括我們今天在第一篇讀經裡聽到聖伯多祿的說話。除非宗徒們見證耶穌復活是千真萬確的事, 否則他們的表現是不可思議的。

同樣不可思議的是聖保祿會作假見證, 訛稱耶穌已復活 「顯現給刻法,以後顯現給那十二位;此後,又一同顯現給五百多弟兄,其中多半到現在還活著,有些已經死了。隨後,顯現給雅各伯,以後,顯現給眾宗徒;最後,也顯現了給我這個像流產兒的人。」(格林多前書15:5-8)。當聖保祿公開地作這見証時, 大多數被點名道姓的證人還活著,如果他宣稱的是虛假的, 他便要冒著極大的風險, 隨時會被人拆穿和被稱為騙子了。

Note 1: Gerald O’Collins 在 《解讀耶穌》第 126 頁的理據
Note 2: 《納匝肋人耶穌 二》第 275 頁

其他主日反省

我期待死人的復活 吳智勳神父

復活期間我們常圍繞著聖洗與復活這些主題,今天讓我們用信經最後三句作反省:「我承認赦罪的聖洗只有一個,我期待死人的復活,及來世的生命」。






繼續閱讀 >
神修話語 – 乙年耶穌復活主日 何庭耀神父

這個復活節(乙年),何庭耀神父給我們講解基督復活的事跡和這件奇蹟對我們的意義。耶穌的復活對於我們來說,不單是一份產生情感的回憶這麼簡單,而是給我們一個機會跟祂延續一個愛的關係。何神父也談及一些聖人不腐化的遺體,和它們怎樣指向肉體和靈魂的復活。






繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:基督第三日自死者中復活
繼續閱讀 >

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/