The Flooding Image of Noah

First Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 2:1-5

This is what Isaiah, son of Amoz, saw concerning Judah and Jerusalem. In days to come, the mountain of the LORD’s house shall be established as the highest mountain and raised above the hills. All nations shall stream toward it; many peoples shall come and say: “Come, let us climb the LORD’s mountain, to the house of the God of Jacob, that he may instruct us in his ways, and we may walk in his paths.” For from Zion shall go forth instruction, and the word of the LORD from Jerusalem. He shall judge between the nations, and impose terms on many peoples. They shall beat their swords into plowshares and their spears into pruning hooks; one nation shall not raise the sword against another, nor shall they train for war again. O house of Jacob, come, let us walk in the light of the Lord!

Romans 13:11-14

Brothers and sisters: You know the time; it is the hour now for you to awake from sleep. For our salvation is nearer now than when we first believed; the night is advanced, the day is at hand. Let us then throw off the works of darkness and put on the armor of light; let us conduct ourselves properly as in the day, not in orgies and drunkenness, not in promiscuity and lust, not in rivalry and jealousy. But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the desires of the flesh.

Matthew 24:37-44

Jesus said to his disciples: “As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. In those days before the flood, they were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, up to the day that Noah entered the ark. They did not know until the flood came and carried them all away. So will it be also at the coming of the Son of Man. Two men will be out in the field; one will be taken, and one will be left. Two women will be grinding at the mill; one will be taken, and one will be left. Therefore, stay awake! For you do not know on which day your Lord will come. Be sure of this: if the master of the house had known the hour of night when the thief was coming, he would have stayed awake and not let his house be broken into. So too, you also must be prepared, for at an hour you do not expect, the Son of Man will come.”

Happy New Year! We come to the beginning of the new liturgical year. During Advent, it reminds us the arrival of Jesus in history at Christmas. We are also aware of Christ’s arrival now in our hearts. But the third theme, and what the Gospel reading focused on, is the coming of Jesus, in glory at the end of time. What does that mean, and what is this doctrine of the Son of Man coming all about?

We begin with the passage taken from the Gospel of Matthew. Jesus says to his disciples, “As it was in Noah’s day, so will it be when the Son of man comes.” (Matthew 24:37) These words are definitely not comforting. Noah’s time was the time of the flood which devastated the earth and ended lives. Jesus specified further, “For in those days before the Flood people were eating, drinking, taking wives, taking husbands, right up to the day Noah went into the ark.” (Matthew 24:37) The arrival of the Flood was sudden and its impact devastating. It might be the same way when Jesus comes.

Why is Jesus just not giving us good news? If he is the Life, which he is, then any lives opposing to him must give way. If he is the Truth, and in fact he is, then any false claimants to the truth must be ceased. If he is the Way, then any false ways have to be abandoned. Unfortunately, we are standing right at a “fault line” in the spiritual order. We are “gluttonous”, seeking our ultimate fulfillment in other ways. Nevertheless, we are meant to realize a deeper and liberating truth, in which nothing here on earth will last, and everything will pass away! Therefore, do not expect to find our ultimate fulfillment in the earthly things, but look elsewhere, look higher.

Jesus is not just one more prophet or teacher among many, but instead He is the very incarnation of God’s eternal wisdom, love, and the way of being. “The Word became flesh, and dwell among us” (John 1:14). It means that he is the link to the eternal power that runs through, suffuses, and transcends all things. He is the power which endures even when the plants, the planets, and the earth itself fade away. He is the Son of God breaking in to our sinful world like a cleansing fire, like a wild storm, like “the night the burglar would come” (Matthew 24:43).

The whole point of this “flooding image” is not solely to frighten us, but rather telling us what to look for. Do not keep your eyes fixed on the always passing world. Rather, we are looking to Jesus. Advent, from Latin word adventus, means “a coming, approach, arrival”. Christ is coming to us! So “stay awake” (Matthew 24:43), watch for him, look to him, and wait for him. In this season, our Gospel reading is prompting us to keep our spiritual focus, to keep our eyes on what really matters.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including “Incoming!”, “Look to the Son of Man”, “The End of the World as We Know It”, and “The Second Coming”. For more information, please visit Word On Fire.

Posted: November 27, 2016

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

Where do I stand in response to God’s invitation
This Sunday Gospel reading shows that one can and should stand before God, individually, and assume spiritual responsibility. It confronts each of us with a big question, “Where do I… Continue Reading >
“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)
Let us free ourselves from our presumptions, so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart. Continue Reading >
Envy
Some of you might have enjoyed the movie Parasite, a Korean film that won last year’s Academy award for best picture. The film is very well acted and well made,… Continue Reading >

諾厄時期的洪水景象

將臨期第一主日

依撒意亞先知書 2:1-5

阿摩茲的兒子依撒意亞,關於猶大和耶路撒冷所見的事情:到末日,上主的聖殿山,必要矗立在群山之上,超乎一切山岳;萬民都要向它湧來。將有許多民族前去,說:「來!我們攀登上主的聖山,往雅各伯天主的聖殿去!他必指示我們他的道路,教導我們遵行他的途徑。因為法律將出自熙雍,上主的話將出自耶路撒冷。」他將統治萬邦,治理眾民;致使眾人都把自己的刀劍,鑄成鋤頭,將自己的槍矛,製成鐮刀;民族與民族,不再持刀相向,人也不再學習戰鬥。雅各伯家!來!讓我們在上主的光明中行走吧!

羅馬書 13:11-14

弟兄姊妹們:你們該認清這個時期,現在已經是由睡夢中醒來的時辰了,因為我們的救恩,現今比我們當初信的時候,更臨近了。黑夜深了,白日已近,所以我們該脫去黑暗的行為,佩戴光明的武器;行動要端莊,好像在白天一樣,不可狂宴豪飲,不可淫亂放蕩,不可爭鬥嫉妒;但該穿上主耶穌基督;不應只掛念肉性的事,以滿足私慾。

瑪竇福音 24:37-44

那時候,耶穌向門徒們說:「就如在諾厄的日子怎樣,人子的來臨也要怎樣。因為就如在洪水以前的日子,人照常吃喝婚嫁,直到諾厄進入方舟的那一天,仍然沒有覺察;直到洪水來了,把他們都捲去了;人子的來臨,也必要這樣。那時,兩個人同在田間,一個被接去,一個卻被遺棄;兩個女人同在磨旁推磨,一個被接去,一個卻被遺棄。「所以,你們要醒寤,因為你們不知道:你們的主人在那一天要來。這一點你們要明白:如果家主知道,盜賊幾更天要來,他必要醒寤,不讓自己的房屋被挖穿。為此,你們應該準備,因為你們料想不到的時辰,人子就來了。」

新年快樂!新禮儀年開始了。將臨期提醒了我們以下幾點:歷史上,耶穌在聖誕節降臨。現在,基督降臨於我們心中。將來,耶穌在末世光榮地再來,也是此主日福音讀經的重心。這究竟是怎麼樣呢?人子再來的道理又是什麼?

讀經選自瑪竇福音。從這裡開始,耶穌對祂的門徒說:「人子的來臨就像在諾厄的時日一樣。」(瑪竇福音 24:37) 這些字眼有點令人不安。在諾厄的時日,洪水滅世。耶穌更詳細說明:「在洪水以前,人們照常吃喝婚嫁,直到諾厄進入方舟的那一天。」(瑪竇福音 24:37) 洪水來得突然,摧毀一切,耶穌來的時候可能也是這樣。

為什麼耶穌不給我們帶來所有都是好消息呢?如果耶穌是生命,而耶穌確是生命,任何反對耶穌的都要讓開。如果耶穌是真理,而耶穌確是真理,冒認真理的人必要停止。如果耶穌是道路,而耶穌確是道路,任何假的道路要被摒棄。可惜,我們不時會站在心靈的斷層上。我們「貪饕」,而用其他的方法來滿足自己。耶穌在此的敎導是要我們認識和活出一個更深層次的,釋放自己的真理,就是世間任何事物都不會長久,一切都會過去。不要以為可以在世物中尋找到終極的成就和滿足,但卻要到別處尋找,要高瞻遠望。

耶穌不只是眾先知或師傅的其中一位,卻是天主永遠的智慧,愛情和生命之路。祂降臨人間,「聖言成了血肉,寄居在我們中間。」(若望福音 1:14) 意思就是耶穌聯繫着永遠長存的權能,這權能可以穿透,充盈和跨越一切。所有植物,星辰,地球都會消失,但祂的權能永遠長存。祂是天主子,像滌淨之火,像狂風,像「要在甚麼時候來」的「小偷」一樣,進入我們這罪惡之世。(瑪竇福音 24:43)

洪水滅世的景象,不是用來嚇怕我們,而是告訴我們要留意甚麼。不要放眼於會成為過去的世界。我們要仰望主耶穌。將臨期,源於拉丁語,是「來臨,到達」的意思。主耶穌會在任何時來臨!故此,「應該隨時準備好」(瑪竇福音 24:43),要守望祂,仰望祂,等待祂。在這時節,福音讀經提醒我們應該保持心靈專注,放眼於真正重要的事情上。

鳴謝
這是Bishop Robert Barron講道的摘錄, 包括 “Incoming!", “Look to the Son of Man", “The End of the World as We Know It", and “The Second Coming". 詳情請溜覽 Word On Fire.

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

甲年將臨期第一主日 : 我期待天主的國來臨嗎? 吳智勳神父

我們日常生活中有很多期待:期待男女朋友來電、期待子女成才、期待經濟好轉、期待假期來臨可以「嘆世界」。期待總帶著憧憬與興奮。

繼續閱讀 >