The Holy Trinity is a mystery

The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity

Deuteronomy 4:32-34, 39-40

Moses said to the people: "Ask now of the days of old, before your time, ever since God created man upon the earth; ask from one end of the sky to the other: Did anything so great ever happen before? Was it ever heard of? Did a people ever hear the voice of God speaking from the midst of fire, as you did, and live? Or did any god venture to go and take a nation for himself from the midst of another nation, by testings, by signs and wonders, by war, with strong hand and outstretched arm, and by great terrors, all of which the LORD, your God, did for you in Egypt before your very eyes? This is why you must now know, and fix in your heart, that the LORD is God in the heavens above and on earth below, and that there is no other. You must keep his statutes and commandments that I enjoin on you today, that you and your children after you may prosper, and that you may have long life on the land which the LORD, your God, is giving you forever."

Romans 8:14-17

Brothers and sisters: For those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive a spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you received a Spirit of adoption, through whom we cry, "Abba, Father!" The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs, heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if only we suffer with him so that we may also be glorified with him.

Matthew 28:16-20

The eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain to which Jesus had ordered them. When they all saw him, they worshiped, but they doubted. Then Jesus approached and said to them, "All power in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age."

There is a story about St. Augustine walking on a beach as he contemplated the mystery of the Trinity. He saw a boy digging a hole in the sand and going out to the sea again and again to bring water from the ocean to pour into the hole. The boy told St. Augustine that he was pouring the entire ocean into the hole. When St. Augustine said the whole ocean would not fit in the hole, the boy replied, “You cannot fit the Trinity in your tiny little brain.” The story ends when the boy disappears and St. Augustine is said to have been talking to an angel. (The Golden Legend by Jacobus de Voragine)

This Sunday is Trinity Sunday. The Holy Trinity is a mystery that is beyond human comprehension. As Christians, we believe with faith in The Holy Trinity, one God in three persons, the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. It is Jesus Himself who asks His apostles to believe, “Believe me when I say that I am in the Father, and the Father is in me” (Jn 14:11) and He was in the glory of God the Father’s presence before the world began (cf John 17:5). Jesus also tells them about the Holy Spirit “whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and remind you of all I have told you (Jn 14:26). Indeed, on the day of Pentecost, the disciples received the Holy Spirit in the form of “tongues as if of fire which parted and came to rest upon each of them” (Acts 2:3).

In the Gospel Reading of this Sunday, we hear that Jesus tells his apostles to “make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit” (Mt 28:19). We who are blessed with the gift of faith to believe and who have received the Sacraments of Baptism and Confirmation have been redeemed; our sins have been forgiven. We have become the adopted children of God (second reading). Jesus has His apostles teach us “to obey everything that I have commanded you” (Mt 28:20). Now it is up to us to obey and live out faithfully what Jesus teaches us so that we can live in holiness and are worthy of being called the children of God.

As a profession of faith in our daily lives, outward signs are important. Would you consider making our faith more visible to other people by making the sign of the Cross in appropriate circumstances, for example in a restaurant before a meal? As we make the sign of the Cross, we are proudly telling others that we are Catholics and we believe in the mystery of the Holy Trinity.

Posted: May 27, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Invitation to God’s Wedding Banquet
Unlike my daughter who must be selective in inviting people to her wedding, God welcomes everyone to his. Continue Reading >
“I am the living bread that came down from heaven” (John 6:51)
“Whoever eats of this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh” (John 6:51) Continue Reading >
We are what we eat
There is a story about St. Augustine walking on a beach as he contemplated the mystery of the Trinity. He saw a boy digging a hole in the sand and… Continue Reading >

天主聖三是一個奧秘

天主聖三節

申命紀 4:32-34,39-40

那時候,梅瑟對人民說:「你且考察,在你以前及過去的世代,從天主在地上造了人以來,由天這邊,到天那邊,是否有過像這樣的大事?又是否聽過像這樣的事?是否有一民族,如同你一樣,聽到了天主由火中說話的聲音,還仍然活著?或者,是否有過一個神,以災難、神蹟、奇事、戰爭、強力的手、伸展的臂,和可怕的威能,企圖將某一民族,由另一民族中,領出來,如同上主你們的天主,在埃及,在你們眼前,對你們所做的一樣?「所以,今日你該知道,且要牢記在心:天上地下,只有上主是天主,再沒有別的神。你應遵守他的法令和誡命,就是我今日所訓示給你的,好使你和你的後代子孫,得享幸福,在上主你的天主,永遠賜給你的土地上,長久安居。」

羅馬書 8:14-17

弟兄姊妹們:凡受天主聖神引導的,都是天主的子女。其實你們所領受的聖神,並非使你們作奴隸,以致仍舊恐懼;而是使你們作義子。因此,我們呼號:「阿爸,父呀!」聖神親自和我們的心神,一同作證:我們是天主的子女。我們既是子女,便是承繼者,是天主的承繼者,是基督的同承繼者;只要我們與基督一同受苦,也必與他一同受光榮。

瑪竇福音 28:16-20

那時候,十一個門徒就往加里肋亞,到耶穌給他們所指定的山上。他們一看見耶穌,就朝拜了他,雖然有人還心中疑惑。耶穌於是上前對他們說:「天上地下的一切權柄,都交給了我,所以,你們要去使萬民成為門徒,因父及子及聖神之名,給他們授洗,教訓他們遵守我所吩咐你們的一切。「看!我同你們天天在一起,直到今世的終結。」

有一個關於聖奧思定在沙灘散步時思考天主聖三奧秘的故事,描述聖人看見男孩在沙中掘了一個洞,男孩不斷走到海邊把海水帶來,倒進洞裡。男孩告訴聖奧思定他要把整個海洋倒進洞裡。當聖奧思定說那洞容不下海洋的時候,男孩答道:「你細小的腦袋容不下天主聖三」。故事的結尾,就是男孩不見了。據說和聖奧思定談話的,其實是個天使。(Jacobus de Voragine著The Golden Legend)

這個主日是天主聖三節。天主聖三這奧秘是超過人類所能理解的。作為基督徒,我們憑著信德來相信天主聖三─三位一體的天主─聖父、聖子及聖神。耶穌自己要求祂的宗徒相信「你們要相信我:我在父內,父也在我內」(若 14:11) 和在未有世界以前,祂已經在聖父的光榮內 (參閱 若 17:5) 。耶穌亦告訴他們,天主聖神「就是父因我的名所要派遣來的聖神,他必要教訓你們一切,也要使你們想起,我對你們所說的一切」 (若 14:26)。的確,在五旬節那天,門徒們接受了「散開好像火的舌頭,停留在他們每人頭上」的天主聖神」(宗 2:3)。

在主日的福音讀經,我們聽到耶穌對宗徒們說:「所以你們要去使萬民成為門徒,因父及子及聖神之名給他們授洗」 (瑪 28:19) 。我們這些得到信德的恩賜而相信並接受洗禮和堅振的人,已得到救贖;我們的罪已被赦免。我們成為天主的義子義女(讀經二)。耶穌要祂的宗徒教導我們要「遵守我所吩咐你們的一切」(瑪 28:20)。現在是時候讓我們服從和忠誠地活出耶穌的教導,在聖善中生活,好讓我們堪當被稱為天主的子女。

在日常生活中宣認我們的信德,外在的記號非常重要。你可有考慮在適當時候劃十字聖號,例如在餐廳用膳之前,讓自己的信仰更顯而易見?當我們劃十字聖號時,我們正自豪地告訴別人,我們是天主教徒,而我們相信天主聖三的奧秘。

Posted: May 27, 2018

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 聖三主日(聖三節):聖三與我 吳智勳神父

今年的道理我屢次用信經作題材,今日的瞻禮更形重要,因天主聖三是信經的骨幹︰「我信唯一的天主,全能的聖父……我信唯一的主,耶穌基督……我信聖神……」,都是先稱呼每位的地位身份,然後是祂的作為及與人的關係。所以當我們談論聖三時,可從兩方面去探討︰第一是天主內在的生命,第二是天主與人的關係。

繼續閱讀 >