The Jitters of the Last Day

First Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 63:16B-17, 19B; 642-7

You, LORD, are our father, our redeemer you are named forever. Why do you let us wander, O LORD, from your ways, and harden our hearts so that we fear you not? Return for the sake of your servants, the tribes of your heritage. Oh, that you would rend the heavens and come down, with the mountains quaking before you, while you wrought awesome deeds we could not hope for, such as they had not heard of from of old. No ear has ever heard, no eye ever seen, any God but you doing such deeds for those who wait for him. Would that you might meet us doing right, that we were mindful of you in our ways! Behold, you are angry, and we are sinful; all of us have become like unclean people, all our good deeds are like polluted rags; we have all withered like leaves, and our guilt carries us away like the wind. There is none who calls upon your name, who rouses himself to cling to you; for you have hidden your face from us and have delivered us up to our guilt. Yet, O LORD, you are our father; we are the clay and you the potter: we are all the work of your hands.

1 Corinthians 1:3-9

Brothers and sisters: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. I give thanks to my God always on your account for the grace of God bestowed on you in Christ Jesus, that in him you were enriched in every way, with all discourse and all knowledge, as the testimony to Christ was confirmed among you, so that you are not lacking in any spiritual gift as you wait for the revelation of our Lord Jesus Christ. He will keep you firm to the end, irreproachable on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is faithful, and by him you were called to fellowship with his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.

Mark 13:33-37

Jesus said to his disciples: "Be watchful! Be alert! You do not know when the time will come. It is like a man traveling abroad. He leaves home and places his servants in charge, each with his own work, and orders the gatekeeper to be on the watch. Watch, therefore; you do not know when the Lord of the house is coming, whether in the evening, or at midnight, or at cockcrow, or in the morning. May he not come suddenly and find you sleeping. What I say to you, I say to all: 'Watch!'"

This Sunday marks the beginning of Advent. The Church continues to prepare for the coming of the Lord, in terms of both his first coming as our Savior and his return in glory as our Judge. Those of us who have been paying attention cannot but notice the strong flavor of eschatological imminence that has characterized the scriptural readings of the recent weeks:

• Prepare well for the Lord, who will bring those who have fallen asleep with him upon his return; don’t make the mistake of the foolish ones in the parable of the ten virgins (2nd reading and Gospel, 32nd Sunday in Ordinary Time).
• Stay alert! The Lord will “come like a thief at night” (1 Thes 5:2); in his final judgement, He will hold us accountable for all the gifts that we have received from Him (2nd reading and Gospel, 33rd Sunday in Ordinary Time).
• On the Last Day, Jesus will judge us according to our works of charity. The righteous ones will go to his right and receive eternal life; the evil ones will go to his left and suffer eternal punishment (Gospel, Christ the King).

On this First Sunday of Advent, the imminence of the Lord’s Day takes on a new urgency. “Be watchful! Be alert! You do not know when the time will come,” Jesus tells his disciples (Mk 13:33). St. Paul also implores God to keep the Corinthian church “firm to the end” so that they will be “irreproachable on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ” (1 Cor 1:8).

The metaphors used in the Scriptures to explain Christ’s second coming are many and varied. In addition to those mentioned above, the more popular ones are: stone hewn from a mountain that broke up the statue of iron, tile, bronze, silver, and gold (Daniel 2); “One like a son of man coming, on the clouds of heaven” (Daniel 7:13); natural disasters, wars, persecutions of Christians (Lk 21:10-28); the two beasts from the sea and the earth (Rev 13), the new Jerusalem (Rev 21), etc.

Of all the amazing images that the Scriptures use to disclose the concluding chapter of all human history – a chapter so irresistible and yet so unfathomable to the human mind – the most intriguing one is that of the Lamb being united with his bride in a joyous heavenly feast (cf. Rev 19). The bride, wearing “a bright, clean linen garment” (Rev 19:8), is ready. The Lamb, with eyes “like a fiery flame”, “many diadems” on his head, and a cloak soaked with blood on his body (Rev 19:12-13), is somehow depicted as glorious and victorious. This somewhat bizarre image, of course, is the Book of Revelation’s rendition of the sweet bridal union of the Church with Christ, her Bridegroom, in the end.

The Lamb, slain but standing (cf. Rev 5:6), has been enthroned to receive honor and glory (cf. Rev 5:6, 12; 3:21). The bride, married to the Lamb and one in unity with Him, is already a heavenly reality even if she continues to traverse in this world order as the Church and the Mystical Body of Christ. As we celebrate the beginning of another Advent season, we must, on the one hand, follow St. Paul’s advice to “stay alert and sober”, knowing that the final curtain of this long human drama is about to come down at any moment (1 Thes 5:6). On the other hand, we also must remember our one-flesh union with Christ and stay hopeful every time we receive the Eucharist. Fear not! For wherever the Head goes, his Body follows. It is the whole Christ – the Mystical Body together with the Head – that is taken into heaven. “[A]s the Head cannot be separated from the members, so the members cannot be separated from the Head,” explained Pope Leo the Great. The fact of the matter is: heaven already belongs to us! Stay in communion with the Church, the Mystical Body of Christ, and we will receive “the crown of righteousness” (2 Tim 4:8)!

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Third Sunday of Advent
‘“Make straight the way of the Lord”’ (Jn 1:23)
Is there a part we can play to make straight the way of the Lord? Continue Reading >
Second Sunday of Advent
“. . . among those born of women there has not risen a greater than John the Baptist”
Is it because of His status? His relation to Jesus? His role? Continue Reading >
First Sunday of Advent
The Jitters of the Last Day
Fear Not! Wherever the Head goes, His Body follows. Continue Reading >

世界末日令人忐忑不安

將臨期第一主日

依撒意亞先知書 63:16-17,19; 64:2-7

你、上主是我們的父親;「我們自古以來的救主」,就是你的名。上主!你為什麼讓我們離開你的道路?使我們的心變硬,而不敬畏你?求你為了你的僕人,為了作你產業的各支派,回心轉意吧!啊!望你衝破諸天降下;諸山在你面前震盪。因為你行了誰也想不到的驚人事蹟;是人從未聽過的,耳朵從未聽過的,眼睛從未見過的:除你以外,沒有一個神,對依靠自己的人,是如此行事的。你歡迎那些履行正義和緊記你道路的人。但是,看,你發了怒,我們仍犯罪如初,仍照舊違背你。我們都好像成了不潔的人,所行的正義,好似染了經血的內衣;又似乾枯的葉子,我們的罪惡好似狂風,將我們捲去。沒有一個人呼求你的名,或起來投奔你,因為你掩面不顧我們,將我們遺棄於我們罪惡的權下。如今,上主啊!你是我們的父親;我們只是泥土,你是我們的陶工,我們都是你手中的作品。

格林多前書 1:3-9

願恩寵與平安,由我們的天主父和主耶穌基督,賜給你們。我時時為你們,對天主在基督耶穌內,所賜與你們的恩寵,而感謝我的天主,因為藉著他,你們在一切事上,在一切言論和知識上,都成了富有的;並且我為基督所作的證言,在你們中,是這樣的堅定,以致你們已不缺少任何恩寵,只待我們的主耶穌基督的出現。天主必要堅固你們到底,使你們在我們的主耶穌基督的日子上,無瑕可指。天主是忠信的,因為你們原是由他所寵召,為同他的聖子,我們的主耶穌基督,合而為一。

馬爾谷福音 13:33-37

那時候,耶穌說:「你們要當心,要醒寤,因為你們不知道,那日期什麼時候來到。正如一個遠行的人,離開自己的家時,把權柄交給了自己的僕人,每人有每人的工作;又囑咐看門的,須要醒寤。「所以,你們要醒寤,因為你們不知道,家主什麼時候回來:或許傍晚,或許夜半,或許雞叫,或許清晨;免得他忽然來到,遇見你們正在睡覺。「我對你們說的,我也對眾人說:你們要醒寤!」

這個主日是將臨期的開始。聖教會繼續為上主的降臨作準備,包括祂的第一次來臨作我們的救主,和祂的光榮再來作我們的審判者。如果我們留心,一定會注意到最近數週主日讀經裡面強烈地意味着末世快來:

• 為上主做好準備,祂再來時,會帶領已亡者同衪一起來;不要犯《十個童女》比喻裡糊塗童女的錯誤 (讀經二和福音讀經,常年期第三十二主日)。
• 保持警覺!上主會「像夜間的盜賊一樣來到」(得前 5:2);在最後審判時,我們要為從祂而來的恩典作出交待 (讀經二和福音讀經,常年期第三十三主日)。
• 在末世的那一天,耶穌會根據我們各人的善工來審判我們。義人去祂的右邊,得到永生;不義的人則去左邊,永受懲罰。(福音讀經,基督普世君王節) 。

在這將臨期的第一主日,主的日子快要到來,更形迫切。「要當心,要醒寤,因為你們不知道那日期什麼時候來到」,耶穌這樣告訴祂的門徒 (谷 13:33)。聖保祿也為格林多教會祈求天主「必要堅固你們到底」,使他們「在我們的主耶穌基督的日子上,無瑕可指」(格前 1:8)。

聖經用了很多不同的隱喻來解釋基督的再來。除了上述的,其他比較普遍的隱喻有:一塊石頭從山上滾下,粉碎了用鐵、泥、銅、銀和金來打造的立像 (達 2);「一位相似人子者,乘著天上的雲彩而來」(達 7:13);天災、戰爭、基督徒受迫害(路21:10-28);來自海上和地中的兩隻獸 (默13)、新耶路撒冷聖城 (默 21)等等。

聖經採用很多令人驚訝的形象來揭示人類歷史的終結篇。那是人的思維所不能抗拒,也不能明白的一篇。在眾多的形象中,最引人入勝的是羔羊和他的新娘在歡樂的天國婚宴中的結合 (參默 19)。穿上了「華麗而潔白的細麻衣」(默 19:8) 的新娘準備好了。被描繪成光榮和得勝的羔羊,眼睛「有如火焰」,頭上戴著「許多冠冕」,身披一件染過血的衣服 (默 19:12-13)。當然,這個有點怪異的影象就是《默示錄》為聖教會和基督 ─ 聖教會的新郎 ─ 最後甜蜜結合所作的表達。

那羔羊是被宰殺了的,但卻站立著(參默 5:6) ;他坐在寶座上堪享光榮(參默 5:6, 12; 3:21)。那新娘是在共融中與羔羊結合的,她已經是天國裡的事實,縱使她在世上仍以聖教會和基督妙身的方式繼續前行。當我們慶祝一個新的將臨期的開始,一方面,我們必須跟隨聖保祿的忠告「當醒寤清醒」,要明白這人類的長篇劇會隨時落幕 (得前 5:6)。另一方面,每次領聖體聖事時,我們必須懷着希望,謹記這是我們與基督肉身的結合。不要害怕!無論頭到哪裡,肢體都會跟隨。被領到天國的是整個基督,即祂的妙身和祂的頭。教宗良一世解釋說「像頭不能與肢體分開,肢體也不能與頭分開」。事實上,天國已經屬於我們!只要我們與聖教會 ─ 基督的妙身 ─ 保持共融,最終必獲「正義的冠冕」(弟後 4:8)!

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

乙年將臨期第一主日 – 耶穌神秘的來臨 吳智勳神父

  乙年禮儀年以馬爾谷福音為主。四部福音中以馬爾谷福音為最早,也最簡短;大家相信瑪竇及路加在若干程度上是引用馬爾谷的,而人們對四部福音的印象是:若望寫得最深奧,最有神學味道;瑪竇有較完整的教理;路加神修性最佳;馬爾谷卻似乎一無是處,敬陪末座,不大為基督徒重視。

繼續閱讀 >