The “Little Apocalypse”

Thirty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Daniel 12:1 - 3

In those days, I Daniel, heard this word of the Lord: "At that time there shall arise Michael, the great prince, guardian of your people; it shall be a time unsurpassed in distress since nations began until that time. At that time your people shall escape, everyone who is found written in the book. "Many of those who sleep in the dust of the earth shall awake; some shall live forever, others shall be an everlasting horror and disgrace. "But the wise shall shine brightly like the splendor of the firmament, and those who lead the many to justice shall be like the stars forever."

Hebrews 10:11 - 14, 18

Brothers and sisters: Every priest stands daily at his ministry, offering frequently those same sacrifices that can never take away sins. But this one offered one sacrifice for sins, and took his seat forever at the right hand of God; now he waits until his enemies are made his footstool. For by one offering he has made perfect forever those who are being consecrated. Where there is forgiveness of these, there is no longer offering for sin.

Mark 13:24 - 32

Jesus said to his disciples: "In those days after that tribulation the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light, and the stars will be falling from the sky, and the powers in the heavens will be shaken. "And then they will see 'the Son of Man coming in the clouds' with great power and glory, and then he will send out the angels and gather his elect from the four winds, from the end of the earth to the end of the sky. "Learn a lesson from the fig tree. When its branch becomes tender and sprouts leaves, you know that summer is near. In the same way, when you see these things happening, know that he is near, at the gates. Amen, I say to you, this generation will not pass away until all these things have taken place. Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away. "But of that day or hour, no one knows, neither the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father."

This Sunday’s gospel comes from one of the most difficult sections of Mark that is commonly known as the Olivet Discourse or “Little Apocalypse” (Mark 13:1-37). It’s so named because the discourse between Jesus and his four apostles – Peter, James, John, and Andrew – took place while Jesus “was sitting on the Mount of Olives opposite the temple area”, and its literary style is dominated by apocalyptic and prophetic symbolism (Mark 13:3).

Hard to miss is the eschatological overtone of the gospel reading: “[I]n those days…the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light, and the stars will be falling from the sky, and the powers in the heavens will be shaken”; “and then [the Son of Man] will send out the angels and gather his elect from the four winds, from the end of the earth” (Mark 13:24-25, 27). ). The nerve-racking, end-of-the world language that begins with visions of the celestial bodies in disarray, rises to a crescendo with the appearance of the “Son of Man” – the royal, Messianic figure in Daniel 7 whose enthronement in heaven caps off the Last Day – and ends in a thunderous blast when Jesus warns that “this generation will not pass away until all these things have taken place” (Mark 13:30).

If there’s any doubt about the theme of this Sunday’s readings in spite of the eschatological language of the gospel reading, the first reading, also from the Book of Daniel, is selected to drive home the prophetic warning that the day is coming when the whole human race – from now to ancient times, from the current generation to Adam and Eve – must witness the unthinkable occurrence of the resurrection and the Last Judgement. “Many of those who sleep in the dust of the earth shall awake; some shall live forever, others shall be an everlasting horror and disgrace”, Daniel predicts (Daniel 12:2).

A key difficulty of the Olivette Discourse is that what is apparently a depiction of the end of the world that includes cosmic and catastrophic atrocities is predicted to occur at a time that is plainly inaccurate if understood literally. According to Jesus, “this generation will not pass away until all these things have taken place” (Mk 13:30), which suggests that the fulfillment of these eschatological events would have already taken place within the life-time of his contemporaries. If that’s the case, why are we still here two thousand years later, alive and kicking?

When it comes to biblical exegesis (interpreting the various passages of the Bible), it’s im-portant to understand the difference between the literal sense and the spiritual sense (see CCC 115-119). Literally, “the sun darkened”, the moon losing light, “the stars falling from the sky” (cf. Mark 13:24-25) suggest physical, cosmic disturbances. Spiritually these visions of heavenly chaos can be understood as God’s judgment against the pagan ways of Jerusalem which in Jesus’ time had deteriorated to an unseen level in terms of faith and morality (see commentary of Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament on this passage). The final punishment of Jerusalem, mentioned repeatedly by the OT prophets and Jesus himself, would be so sweeping and devastating that it could only be described in end-of-the-world language. In 70 AD, which is well within the lifetime of Jesus’ contemporaries, a large Roman army under the generalship of Vespasian, the future Roman Emperor Titus, besieged and conquered the city of Jerusalem, demolishing the 500-hundred-year-old Temple, plundering the whole city, and killing 1.1 million people, of which the majority were Jewish. The rest is history.

For real-life application, let us end this reflection with a few thought-provoking questions: Given the “pagan ways” of our world today and its new lows in morality and faith, can we see the city of Jerusalem of 70 AD as the prefiguration of the world we live in? As the resi-dents of this “world city”, are we in danger of an imminent and devastating destruction that might sweep away not only a city but the whole world? Are we nearing the day of the sun darkening, the moon losing its light, and the stars falling from the sky?

Posted: November 18, 2018

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

The Word of God Is Love Not Violence
Just as Isaiah’s nakedness doesn’t make him a flasher; Jesus’ destructive act doesn’t make him a violent person. Continue Reading >
To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Seeing Into the Future
Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise. Continue Reading >

「小默示錄」

常年期第三十三主日

達尼爾先知書 12:1-3

我,達尼爾,聽到上主這樣說:那時候,保佑你國家和子民的偉大護守天使彌額爾,必要起來;那將是一個災難的時期,是自開國以來,直到那時,從未有過的;那時,你的人民,凡冊上有名的,都必得救。許多長眠於塵土的人,要醒來:有的要進入永生,有的要永遠蒙羞受辱。賢明之士,要發光,有如穹蒼的光輝;那些引導許多人歸於正義的人,要永遠發光,如同星辰。

希伯來書 10:11-14,18

每一位司祭,都天天侍立,執行敬禮,並屢次奉獻,那些總不能除去罪惡的同樣犧牲;但是,基督只奉獻了一次贖罪的犧牲,以後便永遠坐在天主右邊,從今以後,只等待將他的仇人,變作他腳下的踏板。因為,他只藉一次奉獻,就永遠使被聖化的人,得以成全。如果這些罪已經赦了,也就不再需要贖罪的祭獻了。

馬爾谷福音 13:24-32

那時候,耶穌向門徒說:「在那些日子裡,在那災難以後,太陽將要昏暗;月亮不再發光;星辰要從天上墜下;天上的萬象也要動搖。「那時,人要看見人子,帶著大威能和光榮,乘雲降來。那時,人子要派遣天使,由四方,從地極到天邊,聚集他所召選的人。「你們應由無花果樹,取個比喻:幾時它的枝條,已經發芽,生出嫩葉,你們就知道夏天近了。同樣,你們幾時看見,這些事發生了,就該知道:人子已近在門口了。「我實在告訴你們:非到這一切發生了,這一世代,決不會過去。天地要過去,但是,我的話決不會過去。「至於那日子或那時刻,除了父以外,誰也不知道,連天上的天使和子,都不知道。」

本主日的福音來自《馬爾谷福音》,通常被稱為橄欖山對話或「小默示錄」的部份 (谷:13:1‐37),是書中最艱澀的經文之一。如此命名,因為耶穌是「在橄欖山上,面對聖殿坐著的時候」與祂的四位門徒 ─ 伯多祿、雅各伯、若望和安德肋 ─ 對話,而其文學風格是以默示錄文體和預言的象徵為主導 (谷:13:3)。

福音讀經中對末世的暗示是難以被忽略的:「在那些日子裡…太陽將要昏暗,月亮不再發光,星辰要從天上墜下,天上的萬象也要動搖」; 「那時,[人子]要派遣天使,由四方,從地極到天邊,聚集他的被選者」(谷13:24-25, 27)。這些令人精神緊張的末世言詞,以天上星宿亂了秩序開始,然後進一步增強,帶來「人子」的出現(即《達尼爾先知書》第七章,那擁有王權和代表著默西亞的人物,祂在天上登基為王時,便是末日的結局和高峰),最後在耶穌如雷貫耳的警告中結束:「非到這一切發生了,這一世代決不會過去」 (谷13:30)。

儘管福音讀經裡的言詞明顯帶有末世色彩,若大家對主日讀經的主題仍有懷疑,那麼同樣來自《達尼爾先知書》的讀經一,便是為了要落實這預言和警告:當這日子到來時,整個人類 ─ 從現在到遠古,從現今人類到亞當厄娃 ─ 必須見證復活和最後審判這些不可思議的事情。達尼爾先知預言:「許多長眠於塵土中的人,要醒起來:有的要入於永生,有的要永遠蒙羞受辱」(達12:2)。

橄欖山對話有一個關鍵性而又令人難以明白之處:對話似是描述世界末日,包括宇宙和災難性的巨劫,但從字面上理解,預言末日發生的時間,明顯是不準確的。按耶穌所言:「非到這一切發生了,這一世代決不會過去」(谷13:30),暗示末世將實現在與祂同代人的有生之日。如果是這樣的話,為什麼二千年後,我們仍然活生生地在這裡活著?

當論及聖經的詮釋(解釋聖經各段不同經文的意義)時,理解字面意義和屬靈意義之間的區別是重要的 (見《天主教教理》115‐119)。字面意義上, 「太陽將要昏暗,月亮不再發光,星辰要從天上墜下」(谷13:24‐25) 意味著實質的、宇宙性的紛亂。在屬靈意義上,天上的混亂異象,可以被理解為天主審判耶路撒冷中,異民的生活方式。耶穌時代的耶路撒冷在信仰和道德方面,已經敗壞至一個前所未見的程度 (見 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament 對這段經文的評論)。舊約先知和耶穌自己都曾經一再提及,當耶路撒冷的最後懲罰發生時,將會是徹底和具毀滅性的,只有用世界末日的語言來描述才能表達。公元七十年,耶穌當代的人還活著時,維斯帕先將軍 (後來成為羅馬皇帝提圖斯) 帶領一支龐大的羅馬軍隊,圍攻並征服了耶路撒冷城,摧毀了擁有五百年歷史的聖殿,掠奪整個城市,殺害了一百一十萬人,其中大部分是猶太人。之後發生的事,大家都知道了。

把這段經文的訊息應用於現實生活上,讓我們以一些發人深省的問題來結束今天的反思:鑑於我們現今世界的「異民生活方式」已經是道德和信仰的新低點,我們能否看到公元七十年的耶路撒冷城,就是我們現居世界的預象?作為這「世界城市」的居民,我們是否面臨著迫在眉睫且極具毀滅性的大災難?這大災難不僅可以令整個城市,甚至整個世界消失?我們是否已接近太陽變暗、月亮失去光明、星辰從天墜下的日子?

Posted: November 18, 2018

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

乙年常年期三十三主日:天主永遠常存 吳智勳神父

今天的福音讀經是馬爾谷記載耶穌最後的一篇講道。在這篇講道中,耶穌預言耶路撒冷城的毀滅、世界窮盡與及勸誡世人要時時醒寤。耶穌這篇講道與祂平日所談的主題明顯地不同,聖經學家對這類型的講論統稱為默示神學。

繼續閱讀 >