Too hard a demand from Jesus?

Twenty-eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 7:7 - 11

I prayed, and prudence was given me; I pleaded, and the spirit of wisdom came to me. I preferred her to scepter and throne, and deemed riches nothing in comparison with her, nor did I liken any priceless gem to her; because all gold, in view of her, is a little sand, and before her, silver is to be accounted mire. Beyond health and comeliness I loved her, and I chose to have her rather than the light, because the splendor of her never yields to sleep. Yet all good things together came to me in her company, and countless riches at her hands.

Hebrews 4:12 - 13

Brothers and sisters: Indeed the word of God is living and effective, sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating even between soul and spirit, joints and marrow, and able to discern reflections and thoughts of the heart. No creature is concealed from him, but everything is naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must render an account.

Mark 10:17 - 30

As Jesus was setting out on a journey, a man ran up, knelt down before him, and asked him, "Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?" Jesus answered him, "Why do you call me good? No one is good but God alone. You know the commandments: You shall not kill; you shall not commit adultery; you shall not steal; you shall not bear false witness; you shall not defraud; honor your father and your mother." He replied and said to him, "Teacher, all of these I have observed from my youth." Jesus, looking at him, loved him and said to him, "You are lacking in one thing. Go, sell what you have, and give to the poor and you will have treasure in heaven; then come, follow me." At that statement his face fell, and he went away sad, for he had many possessions. Jesus looked around and said to his disciples, "How hard it is for those who have wealth to enter the kingdom of God!" The disciples were amazed at his words. So Jesus again said to them in reply, "Children, how hard it is to enter the kingdom of God! It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for one who is rich to enter the kingdom of God." They were exceedingly astonished and said among themselves, "Then who can be saved?" Jesus looked at them and said, "For human beings it is impossible, but not for God. All things are possible for God." Peter began to say to him, "We have given up everything and followed you." Jesus said, "Amen, I say to you, there is no one who has given up house or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or lands for my sake and for the sake of the gospel who will not receive a hundred times more now in this present age: houses and brothers and sisters and mothers and children and lands, with persecutions, and eternal life in the age to come."

This Sunday’s Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation – first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29). The radicalism in breaking economic and human ties has always been received with averse reactions. It is even more so today when we are more easily connected to each other and the world. However, this radical demand does not lie solely in the act of renunciation, in fact, it lays out the essential condition of becoming Jesus’ disciple.

Jesus spells out three sequential and fundamental steps to the rich man for obtaining eternal life: sell one’s possessions; distribute them to the needy; become a disciple. In proposing such demand, Jesus makes it clear that discipleship is not only a costly decision, it also involves a total change of one’s attitude and lifestyle. Another radical aspect of this demand relates to the observance of the commandments. Part of the Jewish interpretation considered wealth and material goods are God’s favour earned through compliance with the Law, but Jesus declares that while it is true and indispensable to keep the commandments, it is not yet sufficient (Jb 1:10, Ps 128:1-2, Is 3:10). He challenges the rich man to “Go sell what you have . . . come and follow me” (Mk 10:21). To this, even the disciples themselves react strongly (rf Mk 10:26). And yet, as if it were not enough, Jesus also demands the renunciation of one’s closest natural relationships, even with oneself, that is, taking up one’s cross and losing one’s life (rf Mk 8:34-9:1, 10:29-30; Mt 10:37-39; Lk 14:27-33).

Why does Jesus make such an unthinkable and difficult demand to those who want to follow Him? In trying to understand this, we have to realize that there are two dimensions of life. One exists in time and space and is temporary – our life on earth. The other one is a different type of existence, a life belongs to the kingdom of God – the true and eternal life. The demands of Jesus are all based on the relationship with Him. It is in this perspective that renunciation and abandonment have meaning. Why? Because Jesus is the source and the giver of “eternal life”. The loss of everything is nothing in comparison with the loss of true life because even winning the entire world could not compensate for such a loss. To gain true life one must commit to be faithful and adherent to Jesus who promised a true treasure will be rewarded for those who do so for His sake (rf Mk 10:30).

Are Jesus’ demands addressed to the rich man and the disciples in His time only, or are we faced with a behavioral model proposed to all followers of Christ? How are we who claimed to be believers of Jesus fulfill such harsh demands? As plainly seen, the disciples at that time also felt the same, “Then who can be saved?” (Mk 10:26). Jesus’ reply reveals the omnipotence of God and the mystery of His grace, “For human beings it is impossible, but not for God. All things are possible” (Mk 10:27).

With this remark, we should not be discouraged and let our vocation be lost, like the rich man whose “face fell and went away sad” (Mk 10:22). Instead, look at the ex-amples of the saints, the martyrs and our religious brothers and sisters who bore testimonies of God’s grace in their works, beginning with the abandonment of self and the world. So, to us and to any prospective disciples, with prayers, persever-ance and determination, let Jesus’ harsh demands pose no fear. Let them not be the obstacles to follow Him but let the radicalism of Jesus’ demands be the hallmark of our Christian life.

Posted: October 10, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >
Our Bodies Are Good
A few weeks ago, some students in our school asked me if Catholics should support the LGBTQ movement—it’s wonderful that they spoke about what was really on their minds. I… Continue Reading >

耶穌的要求太嚴厲嗎?

常年期第二十八主日

智慧篇 7:7-11

我曾祈求,天主就賜給了我聰明;我曾呼籲,智慧的神便臨於我身。我寧要智慧,而不要王權和王位;財富與智慧相比,分文不值。無價的寶石,也不能與她相比,因為,一切黃金在她面前,只不過是一粒細沙;白銀在她跟前,無異一撮泥土。 我愛智慧,勝過愛健康和美色;我認為她比光明,更為可取,因為,由她而來的光輝,從不暗淡。 的確,一切美善,都伴隨智慧而來;在她手中,握有數不清的財富。

希伯來書 4:12-13

弟兄姊妹們: 天主的話確實是生活的,是有效力的,比各種雙刃的劍,還銳利,直穿入靈魂和神魂,關節與骨髓的分離點,且可辨別人心中的感覺和思念。沒有一個受造物,在天主面前,不是明顯的;萬物在他眼前,都是袒露敞開的;我們必須向他交賬。

馬爾谷福音 10:17-30

那時候,耶穌正要起程,有一個人跑來,跪在耶穌面前,問他說:「善師,為承受永生,我該做什麼?」 耶穌對他說:「你為什麼稱我善?除了天主一個外,沒有誰是善的。誡命你都知道:不可殺人,不可姦淫,不可偷盜,不可做假見證,不可欺詐,應孝敬你的父母。」 那人回答耶穌說:「師父!這一切我從小就都遵守了。」 耶穌注視著他,就喜愛他,對他說:「你還缺少一樣:你去,變賣你所有的一切,施捨給窮人,你必有寶藏在天上,然後來,背著十字架,跟隨我!」那人聽了這番話,就面帶愁容,憂鬱地走了,因為他有許多產業。 耶穌向四周一看,對自己的門徒說:「那些有錢財的人,進入天主的國,是多麼難啊!」門徒就都驚奇耶穌這句話。 耶穌又對他們說:「孩子們!依恃錢財的人,進入天主的國,是多麼難啊!駱駝穿過針孔,比富有的人,進入天主的國,還容易。」 門徒就更加驚奇,彼此說:「這樣,誰還能得救?」 耶穌注視他們說:「為人不可能,為天主卻不然,因為在天主,一切都是可能的。」 伯多祿開口對耶穌說:「看,我們捨棄了一切,來跟隨了你。」 耶穌回答說:「我實在告訴你們:人為了我,為了福音,而捨棄了房屋、或兄弟、或姊妹、或母親、或父親、或兒女、或田地,沒有不在今生就獲得百倍的房屋、兄弟、姊妹、母親、兒女、田地──連迫害也在內,並要在來世獲得永生。」

這個主日的福音讀經是耶穌許多嚴厲訓誨的其中之一, 是關於棄絕的要求。 首先,是指物質上的擁有,其次,是與他人的關係(参 谷 10:23, 29)。 要切斷經濟上和人事上的關係, 通常惹來的是負面的反應。 尤其是現今世代,我們互相交流和與世界的聯繫,都比以前容易得多,情況便更甚了。 但這激進的要求是不僅在於行為上的捨棄,事實上,這是作為耶穌門徒的基本條件。
耶穌向富人闡明了得永生的三個順序的基本步驟:變賣財產;分發給有需要的人;成為門徒。在提出這樣的要求時,耶穌清楚表明,作為門徒,不僅是一個代價高昂的決定,還要作出人生態度和生活方式的徹底改變。這激進的要求的另一面,是與遵守誡命有關。猶太人對誡命的部份解讀,認為財富和物質是因為遵守律法而獲得的恩惠,但耶穌卻宣稱,雖然遵守誡命是不可或缺的條件,但卻遠遠不夠(約伯 1:10,詠 128:1-2, 依 3:10)。他挑戰富人「變賣你所有的一切 . . .然後來跟隨我!」(谷 10:21)。對此,即使門徒們的反應也很強烈(參見 谷 10:26)。然而,似乎這樣還不夠夠苛刻,耶穌還要求人放棄最親密的自然倫理關係,甚至包括自己,也就是說,背起自己的十字架和喪失生命(參考 谷 8:34-9:1, 10:29 -30;瑪 10:37-39;路 14:27-33)。
為什麼耶穌對想跟隨衪的人,作出如此不近人情的苛刻要求? 要理解這一點,我們必須認識到,生命有兩個層面。 一個存在於時間和空間中,是短暫的 — 我們在地上的生命。 另一個層面是另外的一種存在,屬於天主國度的生命 — 真正永恆的生命。 耶穌對我們作出的要求,是基於我們與衪的關係。 要從這個角度去看,棄絕和放棄才有意義。 為什麼? 因為耶穌是「永生」之源和賜予者。 失去一切與失去真正的生命相比,根本不算什麼,因為即使贏得整個世界,也無法彌補這樣的損失。 為了獲得真正的生命,人必須承諾對耶穌信實並依靠衪,耶穌答應,為了衪而這樣做的人,會獲得到真正的寶藏作為回報(參 谷 10:30)。
耶穌的要求,是否只為衪年代的那富人和門徒們?還是向我們所有基督徒提出的行為模式? 我們自稱是耶穌的信徒,應怎樣去滿足這些苛刻的要求? 顯而易見,當時的門徒也有同樣的感受,「這樣,誰還能得救?」(谷 10:26)。 耶穌的回答,展示了天主的全能和祂恩典的奧秘:「在人不可能,為天主卻不然,因為在天主,一切都是可能的」(谷 10:27)。
憑著衪這句話,我們不應感到氣餒而失掉了聖召的恩寵,就像那富人,他「就面帶愁容,憂鬱地走了」(谷 10:22)。 相反,看看聖徒、殉道者和過修道生活的兄弟姐妹們的典範,他們從摒棄自我和世界上的一切開始, 在所做的事情上,為天主的恩典作見證。 所以,我們和所有可能成為門徒的人,應以祈禱、毅力和決心,對耶穌的苛刻要求,無畏無懼。 不要讓耶穌的要求成為我們跟隨祂的絆腳石,反而讓這激進的要求成為我們基督徒生活的標記。

Posted: October 10, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿八主日:捨棄使自己不自由的東西 吳智勳神父

馬爾谷福音常常強調作耶穌門徒的代價是:(1)捨棄自己,(2)背十字架,(3)跟隨耶穌。 今天的福音則是具體的例子,藉著對富少年和門徒所說的話,重複申明作耶穌門徒的代價。

繼續閱讀 >