Was “John’s baptism” relevant to Christian baptism?

The Baptism of the Lord

Isaiah 40:1-5,9-11

Comfort, give comfort to my people, says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem, and proclaim to her that her service is at an end, her guilt is expiated; indeed, she has received from the hand of the LORD double for all her sins. A voice cries out: In the desert prepare the way of the LORD! Make straight in the wasteland a highway for our God! Every valley shall be filled in, every mountain and hill shall be made low; the rugged land shall be made a plain, the rough country, a broad valley. Then the glory of the LORD shall be revealed, and all people shall see it together; for the mouth of the LORD has spoken. Go up on to a high mountain, Zion, herald of glad tidings; cry out at the top of your voice, Jerusalem, herald of good news! Fear not to cry out and say to the cities of Judah: Here is your God! Here comes with power the Lord GOD, who rules by a strong arm; here is his reward with him, his recompense before him. Like a shepherd he feeds his flock; in his arms he gathers the lambs, carrying them in his bosom, and leading the ewes with care.

Titus 2:11-14;3:4-7

Beloved: The grace of God has appeared, saving all and training us to reject godless ways and worldly desires and to live temperately, justly, and devoutly in this age, as we await the blessed hope, the appearance of the glory of our great God and savior Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to deliver us from all lawlessness and to cleanse for himself a people as his own, eager to do what is good. When the kindness and generous love of God our savior appeared, not because of any righteous deeds we had done but because of his mercy, He saved us through the bath of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he richly poured out on us through Jesus Christ our savior, so that we might be justified by his grace and become heirs in hope of eternal life.

Luke 3:15-16,21-22

The people were filled with expectation, and all were asking in their hearts whether John might be the Christ. John answered them all, saying, “I am baptizing you with water, but one mightier than I is coming. I am not worthy to loosen the thongs of his sandals. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.” After all the people had been baptized and Jesus also had been baptized and was praying, heaven was opened and the Holy Spirit descended upon him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.”

Last year, my reflection on the Baptism of Jesus focused on the Son’s humility and His submission to the Father(click here to read). Today, I would like to reflect on the kind of baptism that John ministered. As Christ’s precursor, John’s preaching and baptizing were an integral part of his ministry, setting him apart from the other prophets in the past.

A loan word from the Greek word baptizo which means to “dip, immerse”, the word “baptism” is nowhere to be found in the Old Testament. But when John cried out in the desert, “the crowds went out to be baptized by him” (Lk 3:7), showing that people in his time might have already familiarized with some “baptismal” practices. [Note: Gentiles who wished to become “proselytes of the covenant” (Judaized) must undergo similar ritual cleansing. Jews practiced regularly water ceremonies for ritual impurities (mikvah) required by the Mosaic Law (Lev 15:5; 22:6-7, Mark 7:4)].

Though “John’s baptism” (cf Acts 1:22; 19:3-4) was similar to the existing rituals outwardly, it was used by John in an entirely new way. It was “a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins” (Lk 3:3). Mirroring his preaching (Lk 3:7-14), this “baptism of repentance” was a sign of spiritual redirection, a conversion that required the penitent to renounce the corrupted past and turn back to God. In doing so, the penitent was delivered or freed from the bondage of sin. Hence this baptism was also a “baptism of hope”, a symbol of a new future, a new life in allegiance to God. Yet this baptism was merely a preparatory and anticipatory rite, not an end in itself.

It was preparatory because John’s mission was to prepare the way for the Lord. By calling the people to repent, he was getting them ready for God’s approaching salvation. The washing aspect of his baptism was a symbol of cleansing and purifying the heart. It was anticipatory because he declared that “one who is more powerful than I is coming…….He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire” (Lk 3:16). If John considered Jesus superior to himself, then “Jesus’ baptism” would surely be more effectual since the actual agent of purification and empowerment was the Holy Spirit. The outward physical sign signified the inward spiritual reality. As Christians, we now know that “Jesus’ baptism” is closely linked to His death and resurrection, a rebirth which brings about grace and redemption (Gal 3:27, Rom 6:3, 1Cor 12:13). Through it, we are given a new identity (Gal 4:7, Rom 8:17) in sharing His Sonship with the Father.

So was “John’s baptism” relevant to Christian baptism? As a precursor, John had gone before Christ by birth and his preaching echoed that of His (Mt 4:17; Mk 1:15). His baptism was also meant to be a foreshadowing of the new birth (Jn 3:5-7) brought about by the actual Sacrament which Jesus later established. Though “John’s baptism” was imperfect and incomplete, together with the many other typologies in the Old Testament, it awaited its fulfillment and completion upon the arrival of the Messiah.

Posted: January 10, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

St. Luke’s version of the Beatitudes
If we live like Jesus, St. Luke assures us that we will “rejoice in that day” when He will come again, we will “leap for joy” for “surely [our] reward… Continue Reading >
The Christian call to holiness
Every vocation is a commitment to love. Continue Reading >
Where do I come from? Where am I going? What is my purpose? Who am I?
Last year, my reflection on the Baptism of Jesus focused on the Son’s humility and His submission to the Father(click here to read). Today, I would like to reflect on… Continue Reading >

「若翰的洗禮」與基督徒的洗禮相關嗎?

主受洗節

依撒意亞先知書 40:1-5,9-11

「你們安慰,安慰我的百姓吧!」你們的天主說。你們應向耶路撒冷說知心的話,並向她宣告:她的苦役已期滿,她的罪債已清償,因為她為了自己的一切罪過,已由上主手中,承受了雙倍的懲罰。有一個呼聲喊說:「你們要在曠野,預備上主的道路,在荒野,為我們的天主修平一條大路!一切深谷要填滿;一切山陵要剷平;隆起的要削為平地;崎嶇的要闢成坦途!上主的光榮要顯示出來;凡有血肉的,都會看見:這是上主親口說的。」給熙雍傳喜訊的啊!請登上高山!給耶路撒冷報喜訊的啊!請大聲疾呼!高呼吧!不要畏懼!向猶大各城報告說:你們的天主來了!吾主上主帶著威能來到;他的手臂獲得了勝利;他的勝利品與他同在;他獲得的酬勞在他面前。他必如牧羊人,牧放自己的羊群,以自己的手臂集合小羊,把牠們抱在自己的懷中;溫良地帶領哺乳的母羊。

弟鐸書 2:11-14; 3:4-7

親愛的:天主拯救眾人的恩寵已經出現,教導我們棄絕不虔敬的生活,和世俗的貪慾;而要有節制地、公正地、虔敬地在今世生活,期待所希望的幸福,和我們偉大的天主及救主耶穌基督光榮的顯現。他為我們捨棄了自己,是為救贖我們脫離一切罪惡,並洗淨我們,使我們能成為他的選民,叫我們熱心行善。當我們救主天主的良善,和他對人的慈愛出現時,他救了我們,並不是由於我們本著義德所立的功勞,而是出於他的憐憫,藉著聖神所施行重生和更新的洗禮,救了我們。這聖神,是天主藉我們的救主耶穌基督,豐富地傾注在我們身上的,好使我們因他的恩寵成義,本著希望,成為永生的承繼人。

路加福音 3:15-16,21-22

那時,百姓都在期待【默西亞】,為此,人人心中推想:或許若翰就是默西亞。若翰便向眾人說:「我固然以水洗你們,但是,比我強的那一位要來,就是解他的鞋帶,我也不配。他要以聖神和火洗你們。」眾百姓受洗後,耶穌也受了洗;當他祈禱時,天開了;聖神藉著一個形象,如同鴿子,降在他上邊;並有聲音從天上說:「你是我的愛子,我因你而喜悅。」

去年,我對耶穌受洗的反思,集中在人子的謙遜和衪對天父的服從(按此重閱)。 今天,我想思考若翰宣講的悔改洗禮。 作為基督的先驅,若翰的宣講和施洗,是他的事工的重要部分,也是他與以往其他先知不同之處。

「洗禮」一詞,是借用希臘字baptizo的一個外來詞,意思是「蘸,沉浸」,但在舊約中找不到「洗禮」這一詞。然而,當若翰在荒野中呼號,「群眾前來要受他的洗禮」(路3:7)。 這顯示在若翰的時代,人們已經熟悉一些「洗禮」的做法。 [註: 外邦人若希望歸化猶太教, 成為「盟約之民」,都必須經過類似的禮儀潔淨。 猶太人則經常遵行梅瑟所定的潔淨律法,以水洗儀式去除禮節上的不潔(mikvah)(肋15:5,22:6-7;谷7:4)] 。

雖然「若翰的洗禮」(参看 宗1:22;19:3-4)表面上與固有的儀式類似,若翰實是以全新的方式施洗。 那是「悔改的洗禮,為得罪之赦」(路3:3)。 依照他的宣講 (路3:7-14),這「悔改的洗禮」,是標誌心靈的重新定向,是需要悔罪者棄絕過往罪惡,歸向上主。 這樣做,悔罪者得以從罪惡的捆綁中解脫出來。 因此,這種洗禮也是一個「希望的洗禮」 ,象徵著一個新的未來,一個效忠于天主的新生活。 然而,這洗禮只是一個準備和預期的禮儀,自身並不是最终的。

這是個準備,因為若翰的使命是預備上主的道路。 通過呼喊人們悔改,他準備他們領受即將來臨的天主救恩。 他用水施洗,象徵心靈的清洗和淨化。 這是個預期,因為他宣稱「比我强的—位要來…….他要以聖神和火洗你們」(路3:16)。 如果若翰認為耶穌優於自己,那麽「耶穌的洗禮」肯定會更優更有效,因為實際淨化並賦權的是聖神。 外在的標記意味者內在的靈性實況。 作為基督徒,我們現在知道,「耶穌的洗禮」是與衪的死亡和復活密切相關的,是一個帶來恩典和救贖的重生(迦3:27;羅6:3;格前12:13)。 通過洗禮,我們有一個新的名份(迦4:7;羅8:17),一個與耶稣分享作為天父子女的名分。

那麽,「若翰的洗禮」與基督徒的洗禮相關嗎? 作為基督的前驅,若翰先基督出生,若翰的宣講也呼應着基督的講道(瑪4:17;谷1:15)。那麼他的洗禮,也預示後來耶穌建立的聖洗聖事所帶來的新生。 儘管「若翰的洗禮」是不完善和不完整的,但它與許多其他在舊約中的預示標記一樣,是在等待著默西亞到來時,得以實現和完成。

Posted: January 10, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙年主受洗節 : 耶穌受洗 吳智勳神父

教會把主受洗日放在主顯節後的主日,作為聖誕期的結束和常年期的開始。事實上,主耶穌以接受若翰悔改的洗禮,作為祂公開生活的開端,也是另一次主顯的事蹟,即主基督以從事傳播福音的工程,來表達天主臨在於此世的明證。

繼續閱讀 >