We are the Voice of the Living God

Solemnity of the Nativity of Saint John the Baptist

Isaiah 49:1-6

Hear me, O coastlands, listen, O distant peoples. The LORD called me from birth, from my mother's womb he gave me my name. He made of me a sharp-edged sword and concealed me in the shadow of his arm. He made me a polished arrow, in his quiver he hid me. You are my servant, he said to me, Israel, through whom I show my glory. Though I thought I had toiled in vain, and for nothing, uselessly, spent my strength, yet my reward is with the LORD, my recompense is with my God. For now the LORD has spoken who formed me as his servant from the womb, that Jacob may be brought back to him and Israel gathered to him; and I am made glorious in the sight of the LORD, and my God is now my strength! It is too little, he says, for you to be my servant, to raise up the tribes of Jacob, and restore the survivors of Israel; I will make you a light to the nations, that my salvation may reach to the ends of the earth.

Acts 13:22-26

In those days, Paul said: "God raised up David as king; of him God testified, I have found David, son of Jesse, a man after my own heart; he will carry out my every wish. From this man's descendants God, according to his promise, has brought to Israel a savior, Jesus. John heralded his coming by proclaiming a baptism of repentance to all the people of Israel; and as John was completing his course, he would say, 'What do you suppose that I am? I am not he. Behold, one is coming after me; I am not worthy to unfasten the sandals of his feet.' "My brothers, sons of the family of Abraham, and those others among you who are God-fearing, to us this word of salvation has been sent."

Luke 1:57-66,80

When the time arrived for Elizabeth to have her child she gave birth to a son. Her neighbors and relatives heard that the Lord had shown his great mercy toward her, and they rejoiced with her. When they came on the eighth day to circumcise the child, they were going to call him Zechariah after his father, but his mother said in reply, "No. He will be called John." But they answered her, "There is no one among your relatives who has this name." So they made signs, asking his father what he wished him to be called. He asked for a tablet and wrote, "John is his name," and all were amazed. Immediately his mouth was opened, his tongue freed, and he spoke blessing God. Then fear came upon all their neighbors, and all these matters were discussed throughout the hill country of Judea. All who heard these things took them to heart, saying, "What, then, will this child be?" For surely the hand of the Lord was with him. The child grew and became strong in spirit, and he was in the desert until the day of his manifestation to Israel.

The word “prophet” refers to someone who is “chosen to speak for God” (Dictionary.com). This week’s readings highlight three very different individuals, namely Isaiah, David, and John the Baptist; all lead the way to the Son of God, Christ our Saviour. Though each person is chosen to bear witness during unique times of cultural, social and political uncertainties, their stories reveal the depth and width of God’s love for humanity as well as the splendour of God’s salvific plan. God’s invitation to each is simultaneously intimate, profound, and reassuring. Indeed, through baptism, we are also called to be prophets as these Old Testament figures were called.

Despite of what the world tells us, we are loved, valued, and treasured. Our dignity is firmly rooted in God. Genuine validation can only and directly come from our Creator God who forms us in the womb and knows us before we were born. God knows us deeply in ways only God is capable. The Psalmist exalts, “I praise you, for I am […] wonderfully made” (Ps 139:14). Indeed, each of us is “wonderfully made” in the image of God: “The divine image is present in every man. It shines forth in the communion of persons, in the likeness of the unity of the divine persons among themselves” (CCC 1702). Therefore, it is not surprising that God positions us in unique life’s circumstances, endows us with a variety of gifts, invites us to be His voice, and definitely wants to include us in His grand salvific plan.

God calls His people with great intimacy. In the First Reading, Isaiah recognizes how intimately God loves and knows him, “The Lord called me before I was born, while I was in my mother’s womb he named me” (Is 49:1). In the same way, God intentionally “found” David, “son of Jesse”; “a man after [God’s] own heart, who will carry out all [His] wishes” (Acts 13:22). In the Gospel of Luke, God names His prophet, the child to be born to Zechariah and Elizabeth: “you will name him John” (Lk 1:13). Indeed, God knows us more intimately and deeply than we know ourselves.

God’s call is profound and reveals His salvific plan out of the depth of His infinite love. God calls Isaiah His “servant … in whom I will be glorified” (Is 49:3). Isaiah is to be “given as a light to the nations, that [God’s] salvation may reach to the end of the earth”; and is called “to bring Jacob back […] to restore the survivors of Israel” (Is 49:5-6). David is called not only to lead a nation but more importantly to bring forth the Saviour: “Of this man’s posterity God has brought to Israel a Saviour, Jesus, as he promised” (Acts 13:23). Similarly, God chooses John the Baptist whose birth provokes “fear” among the neighbours, and “All who heard them pondered them and said, ‘What then will this child become?’” (Lk 1:66). Indeed, beyond human wisdom, John the Baptist would become the greatest prophet: “among those born of women no one has arisen greater than John the Baptist; yet the least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he”, Jesus explains (Mt 11:11). He is the greatest because he is the precursor of Christ; the smallest because he is not the Messiah, “but the one is coming after me; I am not worthy to untie the thong of the sandals on his feet” (Acts 13:25). Each of these individuals are called to point the way to the Messiah and Saviour.

Most of all, God’s call is always reassuring. God never dismisses His prophets with “Okay, off you go buddy, bon voyage and good luck!” Isaiah explains how God has tenderly equipped him: “He made my mouth like a sharp sword, in the shadow of his hand he hid me; he made me a polished arrow, in his quiver he hid me away” (Is 49:2). His faith assures him that God will always walk with him as he exclaims, “my God has become my strength” (Is 49:5). After David is anointed by Samuel, God journeys with him through many life-threatening challenges, such as the battle against Goliath the Philistine and Saul’s jealousy (ref. 1Sam 16, 17). Finally, John the Baptist is given time to grow in wisdom and strength before his public ministry: “The child grew and became strong in spirit, and he was in the wilderness until the day he appeared publicly to Israel” (Lk 1:80). Indeed, Isaiah, David, and John the Baptist are all “polished arrow[s]”, ready to be dispersed at God’s command. So, are we ready for this prophetic mission?

Bishop Robert Barron explains that we are all called to be prophets through baptism.

A person is a prophet in the measure that he or she bears the truth of God. G.K. Chesterton said that in an upside-down world such as ours, the prophet is the one who stands on his head so that he might see things aright.
(Bishop Robert Barron, “Priests, Prophets, Kings”. WordOnFire, Wofdigital.org. https://www.wordonfire.org/resources/article/priests-prophets-kings/477/. Accessed May 17, 2018).

One may consider the call to speak for God is extraordinary; however, God chooses each of us according to His will to be His voice in this world. Like Isaiah, David, and John, God has prepared us for the unique mission to which we are called. When the world turns away from the light, we must be the voice of hope. At times, like Bishop Barron explains, we have to stand on our head “to see things aright”!

Posted: June 24, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Will only a few people be saved?
Will we be the ones to stand outside knocking when the master come? Continue Reading >
Finding Peace
When we care for someone, we have to reveal to them their value and gifts. Continue Reading >
Making a decision
In Rome I once met a newly married couple who were visiting from Vancouver. They were clearly in love—it was very sweet. Over lunch I asked how they met. The… Continue Reading >

我們是生活的天主的代言人

聖若翰洗者誕辰

依撒意亞先知書 49:1-6

諸島嶼,請聽我!遠方的人民,請靜聽!上主由母腹中,就召叫了我;自母胎中,就給我起了名字。他使我的口,好似利劍,將我掩護在他的庇蔭下;使我像一支磨光的箭,將我隱藏在他的箭囊中。上主對我說:「以色列,你是我的僕人;我因你而自豪。」但是我說:「我白白勤勞了,我枉費了氣力,而毫無益處;但是,我的權利是在上主那裡,我的報酬在我的天主面前。」我在上主眼中是光榮的;天主是我的力量。那由母胎中,形成我作他的僕人、將雅各伯領回他面前,並把以色列聚集在他面前的上主,現在說:「你作我的僕人,復興雅各伯支派,領回以色列遺留下的人,還是小事,我更要使你作萬民的光明,使我的救恩達於地極。」

宗徒大事錄 13:22-26

那時候,保祿在安提約基雅會堂,向猶太人說:「天主立了達味為君王,並為達味作證說:我找到了葉瑟的兒子達味;他是一個合我心意的人,他要履行我的一切旨意。天主按照恩許,從達味的後裔中,給以色列興起了一位救主:耶穌。若翰在耶穌來臨以前,先向全以色列民,宣講了悔改的洗禮。「及至若翰將要完成自己的任務時,若翰說:我不是你們所猜想的那位,但是,看,他在我以後要來,我不配解他腳上的鞋。「諸位仁人弟兄,亞巴郎的子孫,及你們敬畏天主的人!這救恩之道,正是為賜給我們的。」

路加福音 1:57-66,80

依撒伯爾滿了產期,就生了一個兒子。她的鄰居和親戚,聽說上主向她大施仁慈,都和她一同歡樂。到了第八天,人們來為這孩子行割損禮,並願意照他父親的名字,叫他匝加利亞。他的母親說:「不,要叫他若翰。」他們就向他母親說:「在你親族中,沒有人叫這名字的。」他們便給孩子的父親打手勢,看他父親願意叫他什麼名字。他父親要了一塊小板,寫上:「若翰是他的名字。」眾人都驚訝起來。匝加利亞的口和舌頭,立刻開了,就開口讚美天主。於是,所有鄰居,都滿懷害怕之情;這一切事,就傳遍了全猶大山區;凡聽見的人,都將這事存於心中,說:「這孩子將成為什麼人物啊?」因為上主的手與他同在。這小孩漸漸長大,心神堅強。他住在荒野,直到他在以色列人前出現的日期。

「先知」一詞是指一個「被揀選為天主發言」的人(Dictionary.com)。本週的讀經突出了三位截然不同的人物:依撒意亞、達味及若翰洗者;他們引領人走那通向天主子—救主基督之路。雖然他們每人是在不同的文化、社會及政治不安的獨特時期被天主召叫作證, 他們的故事顯示了天主對人類的愛是如何的廣闊高深,天主的救世計劃是如何的美妙。天主對每個人的邀請既親近,又奧妙,且令人安心。的確,藉著聖洗,如同舊約的人物一樣,我們也被召叫作先知。

無論世界告訴我們甚麼,我們都是被愛、被重視和被珍惜的。我們的尊嚴牢牢扎根於天主。這是只有我們的造物主天主才能直接真正確認的,是祂在母胎中造了我們,及在我們尚未出生時已認識了我們。只有天主才能如此的了解我們。聖詠作者高呼道:「我讚美祢,因我被造,驚奇神奧」(詠139:14)。的確,每一個人都是以天主的肖像而「驚奇神奧地被造」:「天主的肖象臨在於每一個人。這肖象在人們的共融中,燦爛輝煌,一如天主三位之間的的一體性 」〔天主教教理1702〕。因此,天主給我們每人安排獨特的人生際遇,賦予每人各樣的天賦,邀請我們作祂的代言人,並不足為奇;天主一定願意把我們每人納入祂偉大的救世計劃中。

天主極親切地召叫祂的子民。在第一篇讀經裏,依撒意亞意識到天主是如何親密地愛他及認識他,「上主由母腹中就召叫了我,自母胎中就給我起了名字」(依49:1)。同樣,天主故意的「找到」達味,「葉瑟的兒子」;「他是一個合[天主]心意的人,他要履行[祂]的一切旨意」(宗13:22)。路加福音述說,天主給祂的先知,那將出生自匝加利亞及依撒伯爾的兒子起名字:「你要給他起名叫若翰」(路1:13)。的而且確,天主認識我們比我們認識自已還要親密及深入。

天主的召喚是奧妙的,祂從無限愛情的深處顯示祂的救世計劃。天主召叫依撒意亞,祂的「僕人,是我驕矜的…」(依49:3)。依撒意亞該是「萬民的光明,使[天主]的救恩達於地極」;他被召叫「將雅各伯領回[...]領回以色列遺留下的人」(依49:5-6)。達味不僅被召叫去領導以色列民族,更重要的是他要帶來救主:「天主按照恩許,從他的後裔中給以色列興起了一位救主耶穌」(宗13:23)。同樣地,天主揀選了若翰洗者,他的出生引起所有的鄰居「滿懷怕情」,而「凡聽見的人都將這事存在心中,說:『這孩子將成為什麼人物啊?』」(路1:66)。的確,以超乎人的智慧,若翰洗者將會成為最偉大的先知,耶穌解說道:「在婦女所生者中,沒有興起一位比洗者若翰更大的;但在天國裡最小的,也比他大」(瑪11:11)。他最偉大,因為他是基督的前驅;但也是最小的是因為他不是默西亞,「他在我以後要來,我不配解他腳上的鞋」(宗13:25)。這三位人物都是被召去指向救主默西亞之路。

最重要的是,天主的召喚使人安心。天主不會如此打發祂的先知:「好,去罷,祝你一路順風及好運!」依撒意亞述說天主是如何溫柔地裝備了他:「他使我的口好似利劍,將我掩護在他的手蔭下,使我像一支磨光的箭,將我隱藏在他的箭囊中」(依49:2)。信德給他保證,天主會與他同行,他因而呼喊,「天主是我的力量」(依49:5)。達味被撒慕爾傅油後,天主在許多威脅他生命的挑戰中,與他同行,例如他和培肋舍特人哥肋雅之戰及撒烏耳對他的妒忌(參照撒上16,17)。最後,若翰洗者在公開事工前,天主給他時間讓他的智慧及力量得以增長:「這小孩漸漸長大,心神堅強。他住在荒野中,直到他在以色列人前出現的日期」(路1:80)。的確,依撒意亞、達味及若翰洗者全是「磨光了的箭」,整裝待發等候天主的命令。然而,對這個作為先知的使命,我們準備好了沒有?

Robert Barron主教解釋道,因著聖洗,我們都被召叫為先知。

說一個人是個先知,是指他背負著天主的真理。G.K. Chesterton 曾說過:在我們這個顛倒的世界,先知就是一個要頭頂倒立的人,這樣他或可正確地看到事物。
(Bishop Robert Barron, “Priests, Prophets, Kings”. WordOnFire, Wofdigital.org. https://www.wordonfire.org/resources/article/priests-prophets-kings/477/. Accessed May 17, 2018).

或者我們會覺得為天主發言是件非比尋常的事;但天主是按照祂的聖意,選擇我們每人做祂世上的代言人。像依撒意亞、達味及若翰一樣,對於我們被召的獨特使命,天主早已為我們作了預備。當世界遠離光明之時,我們必須成為希望的聲音。正如Barron 主教所說的,有時候,我們需要頭頂倒立,才可以「正確地看到事物」!

Posted: June 24, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

聖若翰洗者誕辰:主的前驅與先知 吳智勳神父

路加福音詳細記載若翰洗者的誕生,他確認若翰洗者的地位,並以他的誕生與耶穌的誕生對比。教會很早便承認若翰洗者的重要,他的生與死都是大瞻禮,他的排名常在宗徒之前。聖經告訴我們,若翰的一生都是為了基督:他準備基督的道路,準備悔改的人群接受基督,介紹人跟隨基督;他是基督的前驅、基督的見證、基督的先知。他是每一位基督徒的模範,我們每個人都應做若翰洗者。

繼續閱讀 >