Where are you God?

Nineteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

1 Kings 19:9A, 11-13A

At the mountain of God, Horeb, Elijah came to a cave where he took shelter. Then the LORD said to him, "Go outside and stand on the mountain before the LORD; the LORD will be passing by." A strong and heavy wind was rending the mountains and crushing rocks before the LORD— but the LORD was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake— but the LORD was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake there was fire— but the LORD was not in the fire. After the fire there was a tiny whispering sound. When he heard this, Elijah hid his face in his cloak and went and stood at the entrance of the cave.

Romans 9:1-5

Brothers and sisters: I speak the truth in Christ, I do not lie; my conscience joins with the Holy Spirit in bearing me witness that I have great sorrow and constant anguish in my heart. For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my own people, my kindred according to the flesh. They are Israelites; theirs the adoption, the glory, the covenants, the giving of the law, the worship, and the promises; theirs the patriarchs, and from them, according to the flesh, is the Christ, who is over all, God blessed forever. Amen.

Matthew 14:22-33

After he had fed the people, Jesus made the disciples get into a boat and precede him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowds. After doing so, he went up on the mountain by himself to pray. When it was evening he was there alone. Meanwhile the boat, already a few miles offshore, was being tossed about by the waves, for the wind was against it. During the fourth watch of the night, he came toward them walking on the sea. When the disciples saw him walking on the sea they were terrified. "It is a ghost," they said, and they cried out in fear. At once Jesus spoke to them, "Take courage, it is I; do not be afraid." Peter said to him in reply, "Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water." He said, "Come." Peter got out of the boat and began to walk on the water toward Jesus. But when he saw how strong the wind was he became frightened; and, beginning to sink, he cried out, "Lord, save me!" Immediately Jesus stretched out his hand and caught Peter, and said to him, "O you of little faith, why did you doubt?" After they got into the boat, the wind died down. Those who were in the boat did him homage, saying, "Truly, you are the Son of God."

On the night after Jesus feeds the crowd with the fives loaves and two fish when the faith of Jesus’ disciples should have been strengthened, their faith towards Jesus is not steadfast. When Peter sees Jesus walking toward them on the sea, with His reassurance that “It is I; do not be afraid”, Peter still answers, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water” (Mt 14:27-28). Then Peter indeed gets out of the boat, starts walking on the water, and comes toward Jesus. But as soon as he notices the strong wind, he loses faith, becomes frightened and begins to sink. As he begins to sink, he cries out, “Lord, save me!” (Mt 14:30).

The disciples said, “Truly you are the son of God” after witnessing the miracles of Jesus walking on the sea and calming the storm (Mt 14:33). It is easy for us to say the same if our prayers are answered and the favours we ask for are granted. But what if we do not hear anything?

Reflecting on our own circumstances, are we like Peter when we encounter a storm in our life that puts us at risks and threatens to overturn the serenity of the little universe around us? When our own life or the life of someone we love is at stake, when we cry out, “Lord, save me!” and hear no answer, will we ask, “Where are you God? Have you forsaken me?” When our faith staggers, let us remember to turn to the first reading for encouragement, the prophet Elijah hears the Lord not in the wind, in the earthquake, nor in the fire, but in the sound of sheer silence thereafter. We must surrender our whole being to God, submit ourselves to His Holy will and His plan for us in order to hear God speaking to us in the silence.

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Twenty-eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time
“Many are called, but few are chosen” (Matthew 22:14)
That we will be among the chosen few, we must live our life “in a manner worthy of the Gospel of Christ” (Philippians 1:27). Continue Reading >
Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time
What can we learn from the teaching of “repaying good for evil” ?
Free ourselves from taking revenge and we merit God's blessings as His children in perfection Continue Reading >
Twenty-sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time
Justification Is Never a Legalistic Endeavor
Justification is not a human pursuit, it’s divine mercy. Continue Reading >

天主,你在那裡?

常年期第十九主日

列王紀上 19:9, 11-13

那時候,先知厄里亞來到天主的山曷勒布,進入一個山洞,在那裡過夜。有上主的話傳於他,吩咐他說:「你出來,站在山上,站在上主面前。」那時,上主正從那裡經過。在上主前面,暴風大作,山崩石裂,但是,上主卻不在風暴中;風以後有地震,但是上主亦不在地震中;地震以後有烈火,但是上主仍然不在火中;烈火以後,有輕微細弱的風聲。厄里亞一聽見這聲音,就用外衣蒙住臉出來,站在洞口。於是,有聲音對厄里亞說:「厄里亞,你在這裡做什麼?」

羅馬書 9:1-5

弟兄姊妹們:我在基督內說實話,並不說謊,有我的良心,在聖神內,與我一同作證:我的憂愁極大,我心中不斷的痛苦。為救我的弟兄,我血統的同胞,就是被詛咒,與基督隔絕,我也甘心情願。他們是以色列人:義子的名分、光榮、盟約、法律、禮儀以及恩許,都是他們的;聖祖也是他們的,並且按血統來說,基督也是從他們來的。基督就是天主;他在萬有之上,世世代代應受讚美!阿們。

瑪竇福音 14:22-33

群眾吃飽以後,耶穌即刻催迫門徒上船,在他之前,到對岸去。其間,耶穌遣散了群眾;以後,便獨自上山祈禱。到了夜晚,耶穌仍獨自一人在那裡。船已離岸幾里了,受到波浪的顛簸,因為吹的是逆風。夜裡四更時分,耶穌步行海上,向著他們走來。門徒看見耶穌在海上行走,就驚慌地說:「是個妖怪。」並且嚇得大叫起來。耶穌立即向他們說:「放心!是我。不要怕!」伯多祿回答說:「主,如果是你,就叫我在水面上步行,到你那裡吧!」耶穌說:「來吧!」伯多祿於是從船上下來,步行水面,走向耶穌。但他一見風勢很強,就害怕起來,並開始下沉,於是大叫說:「主,救我啊!」耶穌立刻伸手拉住他,對他說:「小信德的人哪!你為什麼懷疑?」耶穌與伯多祿一上了船,風就停了。船上的人便朝拜耶穌,說:「你真是天主子。」

耶穌用五餅二魚讓群眾吃飽後的那一晚,門徒們的信德雖已被增強,但他們對耶穌的信心並不堅定。伯多祿看見耶穌在海面步行向他們走過來,耶穌對他們說:「是我;不要怕」讓他們放心,但伯多祿仍然說:「主!如果是你,就讓我在水面上步行到你那裡去吧!」(瑪14:27-28)。然後,伯多祿離開了船,在水面向耶穌走去。但他一見風勢猛烈,便失去信心,害怕起來,開始下沈。當他開始下沈時,就大叫:「主!救命啊!」(瑪14:30)。

眾門徒看見耶穌在海上行走,平息風浪的奇蹟,便說:「你真是天主子」(瑪 14:33)。如果我們祈禱所求獲得應允,我們也會輕易地說同樣的話。若我們甚麼也聽不到,我們會怎樣?

反思自己的情況,當我們生命中的風暴威脅要摧毀我們身處的小宇宙的平靜,令我們陷於困阨危難中,我們會像伯多祿一樣嗎?當自己或所愛的人生命受到威脅,我們呼求:「主!救命啊!」卻聽不到回答,我們會不會問:「天主,你在那裡?你是否離棄了我?」。當我們信德不穩的時候,讓我們記得在讀經一中尋求鼓勵,先知厄里亞不是在風暴中聽見天主,不是在地震中,也不是在火中,而是在火之後的萬籟無聲中聽見天主。我們必先要放棄自己,降服於天主,順從天主的聖意和計劃才能聽到祂在靜默中對我們說的話。

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十九主日:放心,是我,不要害怕 吳智勳神父

這個主日的福音讀經,是緊接上星期耶穌以五餅二魚令多人吃飽的事跡。耶穌在群眾吃飽了以後,便「立刻」催促門徒上船往對岸去,自己留下來遣散群眾。假如我們嘗試想像當時的情景,門徒看著餅與魚透過自己的手,源源不絕的增加,一定覺得很興奮、很光彩;耶穌這時卻叫他們「立刻」離去,實在有點兒掃興,就好像孩子在玩得最興奮時,父母說要回家一樣。

繼續閱讀 >