Why Is Jesus the Son of Man?

Feast of the Transfiguration of the Lord

Daniel 7:9-10, 13-14

As I watched: Thrones were set up and the Ancient One took his throne. His clothing was bright as snow, and the hair on his head as white as wool; his throne was flames of fire, with wheels of burning fire. A surging stream of fire flowed out from where he sat; Thousands upon thousands were ministering to him, and myriads upon myriads attended him. The court was convened and the books were opened. As the visions during the night continued, I saw: One like a Son of man coming, on the clouds of heaven; When he reached the Ancient One and was presented before him, The one like a Son of man received dominion, glory, and kingship; all peoples, nations, and languages serve him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that shall not be taken away, his kingship shall not be destroyed.

2 Peter 1:16-19

Beloved: We did not follow cleverly devised myths when we made known to you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but we had been eyewitnesses of his majesty. For he received honor and glory from God the Father when that unique declaration came to him from the majestic glory, "This is my Son, my beloved, with whom I am well pleased." We ourselves heard this voice come from heaven while we were with him on the holy mountain. Moreover, we possess the prophetic message that is altogether reliable. You will do well to be attentive to it, as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts.

Matthew 17:1-9

Jesus took Peter, James, and his brother, John, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. And he was transfigured before them; his face shone like the sun and his clothes became white as light. And behold, Moses and Elijah appeared to them, conversing with him. Then Peter said to Jesus in reply, "Lord, it is good that we are here. If you wish, I will make three tents here, one for you, one for Moses, and one for Elijah." While he was still speaking, behold, a bright cloud cast a shadow over them, then from the cloud came a voice that said, "This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him." When the disciples heard this, they fell prostrate and were very much afraid. But Jesus came and touched them, saying, "Rise, and do not be afraid." And when the disciples raised their eyes, they saw no one else but Jesus alone. As they were coming down from the mountain, Jesus charged them, "Do not tell the vision to anyone until the Son of Man has been raised from the dead."

Last year the CMCC Bible Study Program celebrated 15 years of studying the Bible and growing together in the word of God. The book we studied to commemorate this special year was Daniel. As usual, the program ended in June, but it will begin anew in September together with my other programs and activities. The two summer months in between provide me with a cushion not only to take a break but also to rejuvenate, study, plan, and get ready for next year.

With the fascinating and sometimes frightening images of the Book of Daniel still fresh in my head – the statue of four metals being smashed by a pulverizing stone, three young men worshipping God safely in a burning fiery furnace, Daniel being protected by God’s angel in the den of lions, the visions of the four beasts, etc. – I was pleasantly surprised to find that the Church would use one of the most well-known Danielic images – the enthronement in heaven of “the Son of man” – as a key theme that connects all three readings of the feast of the Transfiguration of the Lord.

The influence that the Book of Daniel has on Christianity is profound and indisputable. The New Testament books, particularly some of the Pauline epistles and the Book of Revelation, often take symbols, images, and phrases straight out of Daniel to demonstrate that the Danielic prophecies have come to fulfillment in Jesus. Jesus himself also refers to Daniel on numerous occasions, including calling himself the “Son of man” and linking his own eschatological glory to Daniel’s vision of the Son of man riding on the clouds of heaven (Mt. 24:30, 26:64).

The Church Fathers are quick to recognize the theological significance of the “Son of man” in Daniel’s vision. Ancient Jewish tradition identified this title with a heavenly Messiah (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible, comment on Daniel 7:13, p.32). In addition to its messianic implication, the Church Fathers see in this unusual title the mystery of God taking on human nature, and in doing so perfecting and elevating it to a lofty height inconceivable to the human mind and unreachable by mere human efforts. This gives us a more profound understanding of why our “hope in the Lord” will enable us to “soar as with eagles’ wings” (Isaiah 40:31). St. Athanasius explains this overpowering mystery of the divinization of humanity in the most succinct way possible: “The Son of God became the Son of man… so that man…could become a son of God” (CCC 460).

Of all the experiences that Peter encounters on Mount Tabor (generally believed to be the holy site of Transfiguration), he remembers one in particular: the Father’s confirmation of Jesus as “my Son, my beloved, with whom I am well pleased” (2 Pt 1:17). For Peter, the confirmation is a powerful assurance that enables him to believe “the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ” cannot be one of those “cleverly devised myths” (2 Pt 1:16).

Finally, we can’t blame Peter for appearing a little overwhelmed, if not downright disoriented, when he proposes to make three tents on the Mount of Transfiguration: “one for [Jesus], one for Moses, and one for Elijah” (Mt. 17:4). After all, revealed for the eyes of Peter, James and John to behold at the Transfiguration is “a sublime expression of God’s glory and, in a certain sense, a glimpse of heaven on earth” that have proven too much even for both Elijah and Moses to see (BXVI, Sacramentum Caritatis, n.35; 1 Kgs 19:13; Ex 33:20-23).

Posted: August 6, 2017

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

“Do whatever he tells you” (Jn 2:5)
Mary is our advocate who will intercede for us, even without our asking. So, we too, must be steadfast and faithful in doing whatever Jesus tells us to do all… Continue Reading >
Best Graces of 2021
May I ask: Are people still greeting each other, ‘Happy New Year’? If so, good, because it’s still the new year, there are still opportunities to grow, and we all… Continue Reading >
Why does Jesus want to be baptized?
Jesus' baptism is more than a ritual Continue Reading >

為什麼耶穌是人子?

耶穌顯聖容(慶日)

達尼爾先知書 7:9-10, 13-14

我、達尼爾,在神視中,看見寶座安置好了,上面坐著一位萬古常存者。他的衣服潔白如雪,他的頭髮潔白如羊毛,他的寶座好似火焰;寶座的輪子,如同烈火。一道火河湧出,從他面前流下。服事他的,成千上萬;侍立在他面前的,不可勝數。審判者已坐堂,案卷已展開。我在夜間的神視中觀望:看見一位相似人子者,乘著天上的雲彩而來,走向萬古常存者,便立即被引領到萬古常存者面前。萬古常存者便賜給那相似人子者,統治權、尊榮和國度。各民族、各邦國,及說各種語言的人民,都要事奉那相似人子者;他的王權是永遠的王權,永存不替;他的國度永不滅亡。

伯多祿後書 1:16-19

親愛的:我們將我們主耶穌基督的大能和來臨,宣告給你們,並不是依據虛構的荒誕故事,而是因為我們親眼見過他的光榮。他實在由天主接受了尊敬和光榮,因為那時曾有這樣的聲音,從顯赫的光榮中發出,向他說:「這是我的愛子,我所喜悅的。」 這來自天上的聲音,是我們同他在那座聖山上的時候,親耳聽見的。因此,我們認定先知的話是確實的,對這話,你們當十分留神,就如留神在暗中發光的燈,直到天亮,晨星在你們心中升起的時候。

瑪竇福音 17:1-9

那時候,耶穌帶著伯多祿、雅各伯和他的兄弟若望,單獨帶領他們上了一座高山,在他們面前變了容貌:他的面貌發光,有如太陽,他的衣服潔白如光。忽然,梅瑟和厄里亞,也顯現給他們,正在同耶穌談論。伯多祿就開口對耶穌說:「主啊,我們在這裡真好!如果你願意,我就在這裡,搭三個帳棚:一個為你,一個為梅瑟,一個為厄里亞。」伯多祿還在說話的時候,忽然有一片光耀的雲彩,遮蔽了他們,並且從雲中有聲音說:「這是我的愛子,我所喜悅的,你們要聽從他!」門徒聽了,就俯伏在地,非常害怕。於是,耶穌前來,撫摩他們,說:「起來,不要害怕!」他們舉目一看,見不到任何人,只有耶穌獨自一人。他們從山上下來的時候,耶穌囑咐他們說:「非等人子從死者中復活,你們不要將所見的,告訴任何人。」

去年,中華殉道聖人堂 <聖經研討聚會> 慶祝研經和在天主聖言內一起成長十五年。為紀念這特別的一年,我們研讀的是 <達尼爾書>。一如以往,聚會在六月結束,然後跟其他我負責的活動一樣,在九月再開始。中間兩個月的暑假讓我休息、更新、學習、計劃,和為來年做好準備。

<達尼爾書>中奇妙及有時可怕的影像在我腦海中記憶猶新: 一塊石頭粉碎了那用四種金屬做成的立像,三位年輕人在烈火熊爐裡安然地欽崇天主,天主的天使保護在獅子圈內的達尼爾,有關四巨獸的神視等等。這主日,我喜見聖教會用 <達尼爾書> 最廣為人知的形像中的一個 -人子在天堂被賜永存不替的王權 – 作為連結 <耶穌顯聖容慶日> 的三篇讀經的主題。

<達尼爾書> 對基督宗教影響深遠是無可置疑的。新約聖經,尤其是聖保祿宗徒的一些書信和 <默示錄>, 常直接引用 <達尼爾書>中的形象標記和章節來證明達尼爾的預言在耶穌身上應驗了。耶穌本人也在很多情況下參照 <達尼爾書>,包括稱自己為「人子」和祂在末世時會光榮再來,與達尼爾神視所見乘著天上雲彩降來的人子聯繫起來 (瑪24:30, 26:64)。

聖教會的教父們很快便領會到達尼爾神視中的「人子」在神學上的重要性。古猶太傳統認為「人子」是天上默西亞的名號 (依納爵天主教聖經研習 達 7:13, p.32釋義) 。除了暗示默西亞,教父們從這特別的名號看見天主取用人性的奧秘,也明白到天主這樣做,是要使人性完美,將人性提升到一個對人來說是不可思議的高位,一個人力不能達到的新高點。這道理讓我們更深入地明白到,為什麼仰望上主的,必能「振翼高飛有如兀鷹」(依 40:31) 。聖依勒內和聖亞大納修用最精簡的文字解釋了人類得到天主性的奧秘:「天主子成了人子…為使人…成為天主子」(天主教教理 460) 。

伯多祿在大博爾山(一般相信是顯聖容的聖地)所遇見的事情中,他特別記得聖父確定耶穌為「這是我的愛子,我所喜悅的」(伯後 1:17)。對伯多祿來說,這確定是強而有力的保證,讓他相信「主耶穌基督的大能和來臨」並不是「虛構的荒誕故事」(伯後 1:16) 。

最後,伯多祿建議在耶穌顯聖容山上搭三個帳棚「一個給你 (耶穌),一個給梅瑟,一個給厄里亞」(瑪 17:4) 。不要怪他的表現好像有點慌忙失措,甚至迷惘。畢竟,為伯多祿、雅各伯和若望來說,在顯聖容中他們所看見的是「天主光榮的偉大表現,在某情度,是天上在人間的驚鴻一瞥」,當厄里亞和梅瑟同樣地看見天主的顯現時,他們也不能承受這震憾性的經驗(BXVI, Sacramentum Caritatis, n.35; 列上19:13; 出33:20-23) 。

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

做個自信、有人情味的基督徒 (甲年常年期第十八主日) 吳智勳神父

我們常聽人這樣說:「身為基督徒,我們應該多愛耶穌」。但愛必須由認識開始,愛一個素未謀面的人並不容易。透過聖經的記載,我們可以拼揍出耶穌的面貌,而今日的福音,更有助我們認識耶穌在個人生活、培育門徒以及牧養人靈上的可愛之處。

繼續閱讀 >