Why would an all loving God allow suffering to exist?

Palm Sunday of the Lord’s Passion

Isaiah 50:4-7

The Lord GOD has given me a well-trained tongue, that I might know how to speak to the weary a word that will rouse them. Morning after morning he opens my ear that I may hear; and I have not rebelled, have not turned back. I gave my back to those who beat me, my cheeks to those who plucked my beard; my face I did not shield from buffets and spitting. The Lord GOD is my help, therefore I am not disgraced; I have set my face like flint, knowing that I shall not be put to shame.

Philippians 2:6-11

Christ Jesus, though he was in the form of God, did not regard equality with God something to be grasped. Rather, he emptied himself, taking the form of a slave, coming in human likeness; and found human in appearance, he humbled himself, becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Because of this, God greatly exalted him and bestowed on him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bend, of those in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Time passes unnoticeably until I realized that this is my third reflection in a row about the Passion of Christ on Palm Sunday. The last two reflections had, respectively, dealt with the crowds that Jesus met on His way to Calvary and His “paschal story” being desensitized over time. This year, I would like to reflect on the mystery of suffering which inevitably comes to light when we think of Jesus’ Passion. Suffering is a mystery because as Christians, we cannot fathom why an all loving God would allow suffering to exist. But conversely, a benevolent God would not have permitted suffering if it has no value or meaning. Therefore, it behooves us to find out what is God’s purpose to let us suffer.

To say that suffering has a purpose means that as an averse but inescapable human experience, suffering does provide us with benefits, some temporal, some spiritual. One of the temporal benefits is learning to be humble and compassionate. When we suffer, our vision of life takes on a different level. We come to realize our limitation that we are not the masters of our lives. Suffering teaches us to loosen our grasp on things that are no longer important. The reality of suffering can make us pass from mere sympathy to empathy for those who suffer because we are/have been “walking in their shoes” too (rf 2 Cor 1:3-7). Suffering also helps us to build character and engender virtues. We become more mature, more courageous and more patient (rf Romans 5:3-5, 2 Cor 4:8-10).

Inasmuch as we profit from suffering temporally, as Christians, the spiritual benefits of suffering are even more beneficial. Suffering reminds us of our dependence on God and restore our relationship with Him through faith, prayers, repentance, endurance and resignation (2 Cor 7:8-11, Jas 1:2-4). Suffering assists us in seeing the consequence of sins (either our own or others’). Sin incurs punishment and for forgiven sin, reparation has to be made to God who is offended. Suffering offers a means for expiation. (CCC 1472, 1473). Suffering is also meritorious if we offer it to God through our willingness to suffer (rf 1 Pt 2:19-21). Suffering is a gift of inestimable value for it can purify (1 Pt 1:6-7), strengthen (1 Pt 5:9-10, 2 Cor 12:9-10) and sanctify us (rf 2 Thes 1:5-11).

That suffering is able to sanctify has something to do with love (saints often say that their greatest desire is to love and to suffer*). The essential element is for an innocent person who voluntarily accepts the suffering, not in a morbid way, but out of love for God. And that brings us to the highest suffering—-Christ’s Passion. Jesus who is sinless, chooses to suffer for other people’s sins so much so that He takes on the pain of every member of the human race as His own pain (so that when we alleviate the pain of others, He considers it being done to Him) (rf Heb 9:13-14). It is not the gruesomeness or the tolerance of His suffering that sanctifies, it is the ungrudging offering of His suffering to God out of love for Him and for sinners that sanctifies (rf Heb 10:5-10, CCC 606). By such, Jesus elevates suffering to a sacrifice, He transforms it into a redemptive tool and He gives it power to merit participation in God’s plan of salvation. Christ’s redemption has won for us partakers in His divine nature through grace, and “co-redeemers” in His human nature through suffering.( rf CCC 601-603, Salvifici Doloris 1984 No.19)

Redemption does not exempt us from suffering but by the remembrance of Christ’s co-suffering with us, we hope that our own suffering may groom our souls for eternity.

*The greatness of our love of God must be tested by the desire we have of suffering for His love (St. Philip Neri)

If you really want to love Jesus, first learn to suffer, because suffering teaches you to love (St. Gemma Galgani)

He who wishes to love God does not truly love Him if he has not an ardent and constant desire to suffer for His sake (St. Aloysius Gonzaga)

Suffering is nothing by itself. But suffering shared with the passion of Christ is a wonderful gift, the most beautiful, a token of love (St. Teresa of Calcutta)

Posted: April 9, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Will only a few people be saved?
Will we be the ones to stand outside knocking when the master come? Continue Reading >
Finding Peace
When we care for someone, we have to reveal to them their value and gifts. Continue Reading >
Making a decision
In Rome I once met a newly married couple who were visiting from Vancouver. They were clearly in love—it was very sweet. Over lunch I asked how they met. The… Continue Reading >

為什麼一個至仁愛的天主會容許痛苦的存在呢?

基督苦難主日(聖枝主日)

依撒意亞先知書 50:4-7

我主上主賜給了我受教的口舌,叫我會用言語,來援助疲倦的人。他每天清晨喚醒我,喚醒我的耳朵,叫我如同學生一樣靜聽。我主上主開啟了我的耳朵。我並沒有違抗,也沒有退避。我將我背,轉給打擊我的人;把我的腮,轉給扯我鬍鬚的人;對於侮辱和唾污,我沒有遮掩我的面。因為,我主上主協助我,因此,我不怕蒙羞;所以,我板著臉,像一塊燧石,因為我知道:我決不會受辱。——上主的話。

斐理伯書 2:6-11

弟兄姊妹們:耶穌雖具有天主的形體,並沒有以自己與天主同等,為應當把持不捨的,卻使自己空虛,取了奴僕的形體,與人相似,形狀也一見如人;他貶抑自己,聽命至死,且死在十字架上。為此,天主極其舉揚他,賜給了他一個名字,超越其他所有名字,致使上天、地上和地下的一切,一聽到耶穌的名字,無不屈膝叩拜;一切唇舌,無不明認耶穌基督是主,以光榮天主聖父。——上主的話。

瑪竇所載主耶穌基督的受難始末 26:14-27:66

時間不知不覺地流逝,轉眼間這已經是我連續第三次在聖枝主日撰寫基督苦難的反思。上兩篇的反思, 談及耶穌在往加爾瓦略山路上遇到的人群,和祂的 「逾越節故事」隨著時日的過去而淡化。今年,我的反思是痛苦的奧秘 。想及耶穌的苦難,難免會與痛苦的奧秘聯上。痛苦是一個奧秘,因為作為基督徒,我們不能理解為什麼至仁愛的天主會容許痛苦存在。反過來看,假如痛苦是沒有價值或意義的,仁慈的天主就不會容許它的出現。因此,我們不妨找出天主讓我們受苦的用意。

說痛苦有作用的意思是: 痛苦雖是個厭惡但卻無可避免的人生經驗, 但痛苦確能為我們帶來好處, 有些是在世的, 有些是靈性上的。 其中一個的在世好處是讓我們學習謙卑和富有同情心。 當處於受苦時,我們對生命的看法會有一個不同的層次。 我們認識到自己的有限,生命並不由我們來掌握。痛苦教導我們對不再重要的事情放手。真實的痛苦經驗讓我們從同情受苦的人提升至與他們產生共鳴,因為我們「曾經此苦」(參考格後1:3-7)。痛苦也有助於培育自己的品格和修德。我們變得更成熟,更勇敢,更有耐心(參考羅馬書5:3-5, 格後 4:8-10)。

縱使我們會從痛苦中獲得些在世的好處,但對基督徒來說,痛苦在靈性上的益處更大。 苦難提醒我們要依靠上主,並透過信德,禱告,認罪悔改,堅忍和順從來與天主和好。(參考格林多後書7:8-11,雅各伯書1:2-4)。 苦難幫助我們看到犯罪的後果(不論是自己或他人犯的罪)。 罪帶來懲罰,赦免了的罪也須向被冒犯的天主作出賠補。痛苦提供了一個贖罪的方法。(天主教教理1472,1473)。如把我們願意接受的痛苦獻給天主,那麼,痛苦不但有益處, 更是有功的。(參考伯前 2:19-21)。 痛苦是無價的禮物,因為痛苦能精煉(伯前 1:6-7),強健(伯前5:9-10, 格後 12:9-10)及聖化我們(參考得撒洛尼後書 1:5- 11)

至於痛苦能有聖化的能力, 當中是因為有愛 (聖人常說,他們最大的願望是愛和受苦*)。 就如有一個無辜的人,不是以不健康的心態,而是由於對天主的愛而甘願受苦。這正好把我們帶到終極的痛苦, 那就是基督的苦難。無罪的耶穌, 選擇為別人的罪而受苦,祂不但肩負全人類的痛苦,也視每個人的痛苦為自己的痛苦(所以當我們為他人減輕痛苦時,祂看成我們是為祂減輕痛苦)(參考希伯來書9:13-14)。耶穌的苦難之能夠聖化,並不是因為他的苦難極其殘暴,或因為祂能忍受磨難時的痛苦,而是因為耶穌出於祂對天主和罪人的愛,甘心將祂的苦難獻給天主作補贖(參考希伯來書10:5-10,天主教教理 606)。耶穌將苦難昇華為犧牲,成為救贖的工具,將痛苦化為功率, 好使其能參與天主的救世計劃。基督的救贖,使我們領受了能分享祂的天主性的恩典,藉着他的苦難, 使我們成為了祂在世時救贖工程的參與者.(參考天主教教理 601-603,Salvifici Doloris 1984 No.19)

救贖的恩典不能免我們於痛苦,但結合了基督的苦難,我們的痛苦能孕育我們的靈魂為永生做好準備。

*要測試我們有多愛天主, 就要看我們有多渴望為愛祂而願意受苦(聖斐理伯內利)

如果你真的要愛耶穌,首先要學習受苦,因為痛苦讓你懂得愛(聖女瑰瑪)

要愛天主的人,如果沒有熱切不斷地渴望因祂的原故而受苦的,就不算真正地愛天主(聖磊思)

痛苦本身不算甚麼。 但以痛苦來分擔基督的苦難卻是一件美妙的禮物,最美麗的愛的標記(加爾各答 聖德蘭修女)

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 聖枝主日(基督苦難主日):基督苦難的力量 吳智勳神父

 耶穌的受難始末,不應把它當作歷史故事去讀,它與我們息息相關,裡面處處有我們的影子。今天就讓我們撇開那些像司祭 […]

繼續閱讀 >