Christian way of tolerance and intolerance…

Twenty-sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Numbers 11:25 - 29

The LORD came down in the cloud and spoke to Moses. Taking some of the spirit that was on Moses, the LORD bestowed it on the seventy elders; and as the spirit came to rest on them, they prophesied. Now two men, one named Eldad and the other Medad, were not in the gathering but had been left in the camp. They too had been on the list, but had not gone out to the tent; yet the spirit came to rest on them also, and they prophesied in the camp. So, when a young man quickly told Moses, "Eldad and Medad are prophesying in the camp, " Joshua, son of Nun, who from his youth had been Moses’aide, said, "Moses, my lord, stop them." But Moses answered him, "Are you jealous for my sake? Would that all the people of the LORD were prophets! Would that the LORD might bestow his spirit on them all!"

James 5:1 - 6

Come now, you rich, weep and wail over your impending miseries. Your wealth has rotted away, your clothes have become moth-eaten, your gold and silver have corroded, and that corrosion will be a testimony against you; it will devour your flesh like a fire. You have stored up treasure for the last days. Behold, the wages you withheld from the workers who harvested your fields are crying aloud; and the cries of the harvesters have reached the ears of the Lord of hosts. You have lived on earth in luxury and pleasure; you have fattened your hearts for the day of slaughter. You have condemned; you have murdered the righteous one; he offers you no resistance.

Mark 9:38 - 43 , 45 , 47 - 48

At that time, John said to Jesus, "Teacher, we saw someone driving out demons in your name, and we tried to prevent him because he does not follow us." Jesus replied, "Do not prevent him. There is no one who performs a mighty deed in my name who can at the same time speak ill of me. For whoever is not against us is for us. Anyone who gives you a cup of water to drink because you belong to Christ, amen, I say to you, will surely not lose his reward. "Whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him if a great millstone were put around his neck and he were thrown into the sea. If your hand causes you to sin, cut it off. It is better for you to enter into life maimed than with two hands to go into Gehenna, into the unquenchable fire. And if your foot causes you to sin, cut if off. It is better for you to enter into life crippled than with two feet to be thrown into Gehenna. And if your eye causes you to sin, pluck it out. Better for you to enter into the kingdom of God with one eye than with two eyes to be thrown into Gehenna, where 'their worm does not die, and the fire is not quenched.'"

The mission that Jesus has entrusted to his disciples is to be accomplished in a collective and collaborative way. It must not be privatized or controlled by an elite group of individuals. We cannot exclude others because we are all members of the same Body of Christ. We share the same common mission and contribute to it in an unique way according to the talents God has given each one of us. Jesus calls all people to be his disciples and to share the same mission in spreading the Good News. As such, we need to have a grander vision and a more inclusive mentality as Jesus does: “For he that is not against us is for us.” (Mark 9:40) Jealousy and intolerance have no place in the realm of the Kingdom of God.

Besides working with fellow Christians, we are encouraged to work also with other people with different religious backgrounds and non-believers in doing good works because we are all God’s creation and share the same humanity. That is the true spirit of ecumenism and of the Gospel.

There is only one exception to this inclusive mentality. That is, we must never collaborate with evil. While we must work together to bring other people into God’s sheepfold, we ought to be vigilant not to become a stumbling block for others in their pursuit of truth and Christ. Jesus uses the analogy of the great millstone and of the bodily dismemberment to illustrate the seriousness of leading others astray and indulging oneself in sinful acts (Mark 9:42-47) (ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible). If there are any stumbling blocks preventing us from attaining holiness, whether they be bad habits or even bad close friends whom we cannot change, we need to take drastic measures to “cut them off” (Mark 9:43,45). Otherwise, they will be like tumours causing us and in turn others to sin and to turn away from God. We need to take firm and decisive actions on this serious matter if we are determined to follow the path of Christ and to bring others to Him.

Posted: September 27, 2015

Paul Yeung

 
Executive Director of Fountain of Love and Life (FLL).


Other Sunday Reflections

Have we “resurrected” too?
The mission that Jesus has entrusted to his disciples is to be accomplished in a collective and collaborative way. It must not be privatized or controlled by an elite group… Continue Reading >
Judging is Wrong, Sometimes Right
Two stories: First, aboard the papal plane in 2013, Pope Francis said, in reference to the gay lobby in the Vatican, “You must distinguish between the fact of a person… Continue Reading >
“Blessed is the king who comes in the name of the Lord!” (Luke 19:38)
Jesus went up to Jerusalem voluntarily, knowing well that He would die a violent death there Continue Reading >

基督徒應有所容,亦有所不容…

常年期第二十六主日

戶籍紀 11:25-29

那時候,上主乘雲降下,與梅瑟談話,將他身上的神能,賦予那七十位長老。這神能一降在他們身上,他們就出神說話;以後再沒有出神。當時,有兩個人留在營內,一個名叫厄耳達得,一個名叫默達得;這神能也降在他們身上;他們原來也是被錄取的,但沒有到會幕那裡去,就在營內,出神說話。有一少年跑來,告訴梅瑟說:「厄耳達得和默達得,在營內,出神說話。」自幼服事梅瑟的農的兒子若蘇厄,於是說:「我主梅瑟!你該禁止他們。」梅瑟回答他說:「你為我的原故,嫉妒人麼?巴不得上主的人民,都成為先知;但願上主將自己的精神,傾注在他們身上!」——上主的話。

雅各伯書 5:1-6

你們富有的人啊,現在哭泣哀號吧!因為你們的災難快到了。你們的財產,腐爛了;你們的衣服,被蛀蟲吃了;你們的金銀,生了銹,這銹要作控告你們的證據,也要像火一樣,吞食你們的肉。你們竟為末日,積蓄了財寶!看,工人們收割了你們的莊田,你們卻扣留他們的工資;這工資喊冤,收割工人的呼聲,已進入了萬軍上主的耳朵裡。你們在世上奢華宴樂,養肥了你們的心,等候宰殺的日子。你們定了義人的罪,殺害了他;他卻沒有抵抗你們。——上主的話。

馬爾谷福音 9:38-43, 45, 47-48

那時候,若望向耶穌說:「師父!我們見過一個人,他因你的名字驅魔;我們禁止了他,因為他不跟從我們。」耶穌說:「不要禁止他,因為沒有一個人,以我的名字行了奇蹟,就會立即誹謗我,因為誰不反對我們,就是傾向我們。「誰如果因你們屬於基督,而給你們一杯水喝,我實在告訴你們:他決不會失掉他的賞報。「誰如果使這些信者中的一個小子跌倒,倒不如拿一塊驢拉的磨石,套在他的頸項,投到海裡,為他更好。「倘若你的手使你跌倒,砍掉它!你殘廢進入生命,比有兩隻手,而下地獄,到那不滅的火裡去更好。倘若你的腳使你跌倒,砍掉它!你瘸腿進入生命,比有雙腳,而被投入地獄裡更好。倘若你的眼使你跌倒,剜出它來!你一隻眼進入天主的國,比有兩隻眼,而被投入地獄裡更好;那裡的蟲不死,火也不滅。」——基督的福音。

耶穌交付給門徒們的使命是必須以共融及彼此合作的方式完成,而並不是由一小撮人去壟斷及私有化。正因為我們同屬於同一基督奧體,我們絕對不能排擠其他人。我們分享同一的使命,並以天主所賜給我們獨特的恩寵去貢獻自己。耶穌的召叫是為所有人去成為他的門徒,並共同承擔傳播福音的使命。因此,我們須俱備如耶穌一般的遠大視野及包容的心態:「誰不反對我們,就是傾向我們。」(馬爾谷福音 9:40)嫉妒和 不包容在天主的國度裡沒有立足之地。

除了與基督徒合作,我們同樣可以與其他不同宗教背景的人和非信徒去作善工,因為我們都是天主的創造,分享著共同的人性。這是福音和基督信仰合一的真正精神。

在這包容的心態中只有一個例外,就是我們必須永遠不能與邪惡合作。我們既須共同努力去帶領其他人進入天主的羊棧,但我們亦應該警惕不要成為別人在追求真理和基督時的絆腳石。耶穌用了大磨石和砍掉肢體的比喻來說明帶壞其他人及沉醉在自己的罪惡行為的嚴重性(馬爾谷福音 9:42-47)(參考:依納爵天主教研習聖經)。如果有任何防阻我們達至聖善的絆腳石,無論是不良的生活習慣,甚至乎我們無法改變的親密損友,我們都需要採取嚴厲的措施來「砍掉它們」或離開他們(馬爾谷福音 9:43,45)。否則,他們可以像腫瘤一般,使我們及至其他人犯罪而離棄天主。假如我們有決心跟隨基督的路徑,並帶領別人歸向祂的話,我們需要果斷地正視這個重要的問題。

Posted: September 27, 2015

Paul Yeung

 
Executive Director of Fountain of Love and Life (FLL).


其他主日反省

找尋和平
關顧別人時,我們要為對方展示出他們自己的價值和天賦。 繼續閱讀 >
丙年常年期第二十主日:十字架的煉淨
中國人說:「忠言逆耳」,實在含有很大的智慧;不過,大多數人還是喜歡聽花巧的說話。聖經是天主的聖言,不會取悅人,故時常說真實的話,老實告訴人有什麼困難和危險,讓人衡量過才決定做或不做。第一篇讀經提及當權人不喜歡耶肋米亞先知的老實話,因為他預言災禍將臨於猶大國身上,只有投降給巴比倫王才能保存性命。他們把他放入污泥池裡受苦,結果是猶大果然亡國。福音裏,耶穌也講實在話,選擇跟隨祂的人要付出很大的代價。讓我們好好反省這段聖經。 繼續閱讀 >
懶惰還是休息?
你們誰在家裡做事最多?丈夫還是妻子?你,還是你的兄弟姐妹?誰什麼都不做?把他們指出來! 我們今天談論的是「懶惰」這個問題。有些人下班回家後,從不做飯,不打掃,也從不會主動幫別人的忙。他們還說他們需要休息,覺得上個小學五年級很辛苦的什麼的。現在是「安息夏天」──我們在天主內休息,慶祝祂;但有些人過的是「安息年」。 繼續閱讀 >