“You are witnesses of these things”(Luke 24:48).


When Jesus says, “You are witnesses of these things,”(Luke 24:48) are these words spoken only to the first disciples of Jesus, or are they for us as well? If they are also for us, how can we be the witnesses of the things that happened in Jesus’ time as we were not there?

Normally, when someone bears witness to something, they share what they “personally” saw and experienced, and they can testify that what they have said is true. When Jesus asks us to be His witnesses to the world, He is asking us first to see and experience who He is to us personally before we bear witness to all nations who He really is.

We may wonder, if we have not met Jesus personally, how can we be His witnesses? Indeed, we cannot be His witnesses if we have no personal experience and relationship with Him.

Let’s see what Jesus said to Thomas the Apostle when he had doubts about Jesus’ resurrection. “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe.” (John 20:29) This is exactly what Jesus asks of us, that is, to see and experience Him with the eyes and heart of faith.

In practice, we can see Jesus by spending time with Him, conversing with Him in solitude. An effective way to encounter God is through meditating or contemplating on His Word. By allowing the Word of God to sink in and by following the commandments and teachings of Jesus in the Gospels, we can experience and encounter Jesus not only in our minds but also with our hearts and through our actions. If we allow Jesus to live in and permeate our lives, we can feel Him and He becomes active and alive in our lives. Allowing God to abide in us also means we abide in the Body of Christ — the Church, and be frequently nourished by the Sacraments. This is how an intimate relationship with Jesus is established. This trusting relationship prompts us to count on Him in good times and in bad. Nourishing such a relationship with Jesus allows us to become His powerful witnesses to the world. Of course, we also bear witness by our lives, that is, by how we live that befits our identity as Christ’s follower.

In the end, our submission to the Spirit is most important. We need to admit that by ourselves, no matter how hard we try, we can never become an effective witness without receiving the power from the Holy Spirit. Just as we cannot earn our salvation no matter how hard we try, with our own power, we will never become His witness unless we allow the Spirit to take charge, to transform us and to empower us to accomplish what God has called us to. The same Spirit that empowered Jesus to fulfill the Father’s will will empower us to do the same.

“I tell you the truth: it is to your advantage that I go away, for if I do not go away, the Advocate will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you.” (John 16:7) Jesus ascended into heaven to intercede for us before the Father, granting us the best of all gifts, His Spirit.

As we prepare ourselves to celebrate the Pentecost, let us humble ourselves and make a strong resolve to welcome and receive the Holy Spirit into our lives. In doing so, we will “be clothed with power from on high” (Luke 24:49), making us His powerful witnesses and ambassadors to the ends of the earth.

Posted:

Paul Yeung

 
Executive Director of Fountain of Love and Life (FLL).


Other Sunday Reflections

“Do you think that I have come to bring peace on earth?” (Lk 12:51)
When we grow weary of the challenges we face in this world, we must look to Jesus who has looked beyond the Cross to the crown of glory that God… Continue Reading >
Faith Is Trusting That God Will Keep His Promises
We don’t know how and we don’t know when, but Jesus will return as he promised. When he does, we’d better be ready! Continue Reading >
For what do you live?
It is natural that we human beings have desires. A person without any desire soon loses one's purpose to live. Continue Reading >

當耶穌說:「你們就是這些事的見證人」(路加福音24:48)。


當耶穌說:「你們就是這些事的見證人。」(路加福音24:48)這話是耶穌單單對祂的第一批門徒說的,還是也對我們說的呢?如果也是對我們說的話,我們怎麼能成為耶穌時代發生的那些事情的見證人呢?

一般來說,當某人見證某事時,他們會分享他們親身看到和經歷的事情,他們並且可以證明他們所說的是真實的。當耶穌要求我們成為祂在世界上的見證人時,祂是在要求我們首先親自「看到」和體驗祂為我們來説究竟是誰,然後我們才能向全世界見證祂的真實身份。

我們可能會問,我們沒有親自見過耶穌,我們怎麼能成為祂的見證人呢?的確,如果我們與祂沒有一份個人的經驗和關係,我們就不能成為祂的見證人。

讓我們看看耶穌當日如何回應多默宗徒對祂復活的事實的懷疑。耶穌對他說:「因為你看見了我,纔相信嗎?那些沒有看見而相信的,纔是有福的!」(若望福音 20:29)這正是耶穌對我們的要求,就是要我們用信德的眼光和心靈去看見和經驗祂。

在實踐方面,我們可以通過花時間與主耶穌在一起,與祂單獨交談來「看到」祂。與主相遇的有效方式是通過默想或默觀祂的話語。透過讓聖言在我們心中紮根,並遵循福音中耶穌的誡命和教導,我們不僅可以在我們的腦袋中,而且可以在我們的內心和通過我們的行動體驗及遇見耶穌。如果我們讓耶穌活在我們的生命中,並滲透到我們的生活,我們就能感覺到祂的臨在,祂就會真實地在我們的生活中變得活躍。讓主住在我們之內也意味著我們住在基督的身體——教會之內,並經常被聖事滋養。這就是與耶穌建立親密關係的方式。這種信任關係促使我們不論在順境和逆境中也會依靠祂。培養與耶穌的這種關係使我們能夠成為祂有力的見證人。當然,我們也該以自己的生活去作見證,也就是以一種符合基督追隨者的身份生活。

到最終,我們對聖神的馴服才是最重要的。我們需要承認,無論我們如何努力,如果沒有聖神的力量,我們永遠無法成為有效的見證人。正如無論我們如何努力,單憑我們自己的力量,我們都無法獲得救恩,除非我們讓聖神作主, 讓聖神改變我們,並賦予我們能力去完成天主召叫我們去做的事,否則我們永遠不會成為祂的見證人。賦予耶穌完成天父旨意的同一聖神,也將賦予我們同樣的力量。

「我將真情告訴你們:我去為你們有益,因為我若不去,護慰者便不會到你們這裡來;我若去了,就要派遣他到你們這裡來。」(若望福音16:7)耶穌升天,在天父面前為我們代求,賜給我們最好的恩賜,就是祂的聖神。

當我們準備慶祝聖神降臨節時,讓我們謙卑自己,下定決心歡迎和接受聖神進入我們的生命中。這樣,我們將「佩戴上自高天而來的能力」(路加福音 24:49),使我們成為祂強大的見證人和使者到地極。

Posted: May 29, 2022

Paul Yeung

 
Executive Director of Fountain of Love and Life (FLL).


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 耶穌升天節:門徒的使命 吳智勳神父

在神學上,「初傳」的意思是指最早期基督徒所宣講的內容,而宣講的就是耶穌基督的死亡和復活;至於耶穌升天,似乎在初傳裏,不是一件重要的事,只有兩部福音提及,即路加福音和馬爾谷福音。馬爾谷福音提及升天的那部份似乎是個附錄,為別的基督徒加上。瑪竇福音重視耶穌基督與我們天天在一起,故沒有提及耶穌升天;若望福音認為耶穌復活後,就立刻升到天父那裡,不須特別提到升天。我們大概可以這樣結論:只有路加重視耶穌升天。

繼續閱讀 >