Be prepared

Thirty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 6:12-16

Resplendent and unfading is wisdom, and she is readily perceived by those who love her, and found by those who seek her. She hastens to make herself known in anticipation of their desire; Whoever watches for her at dawn shall not be disappointed, for he shall find her sitting by his gate. For taking thought of wisdom is the perfection of prudence, and whoever for her sake keeps vigil shall quickly be free from care; because she makes her own rounds, seeking those worthy of her, and graciously appears to them in the ways, and meets them with all solicitude.

1 Thessalonians 4:13-18

We do not want you to be unaware, brothers and sisters, about those who have fallen asleep, so that you may not grieve like the rest, who have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose, so too will God, through Jesus, bring with him those who have fallen asleep. Indeed, we tell you this, on the word of the Lord, that we who are alive, who are left until the coming of the Lord, will surely not precede those who have fallen asleep. For the Lord himself, with a word of command, with the voice of an archangel and with the trumpet of God, will come down from heaven, and the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. Thus we shall always be with the Lord. Therefore, console one another with these words.

Matthew 25:1-13

Jesus told his disciples this parable: "The kingdom of heaven will be like ten virgins who took their lamps and went out to meet the bridegroom. Five of them were foolish and five were wise. The foolish ones, when taking their lamps, brought no oil with them, but the wise brought flasks of oil with their lamps. Since the bridegroom was long delayed, they all became drowsy and fell asleep. At midnight, there was a cry, 'Behold, the bridegroom! Come out to meet him!' Then all those virgins got up and trimmed their lamps. The foolish ones said to the wise, 'Give us some of your oil, for our lamps are going out.' But the wise ones replied, 'No, for there may not be enough for us and you. Go instead to the merchants and buy some for yourselves.' While they went off to buy it, the bridegroom came and those who were ready went into the wedding feast with him. Then the door was locked. Afterwards the other virgins came and said, 'Lord, Lord, open the door for us!' But he said in reply, 'Amen, I say to you, I do not know you.' Therefore, stay awake, for you know neither the day nor the hour."

In this Sunday’s Gospel reading, Jesus teaches us with the parable of the ten bridesmaids who take their lamps to meet the bridegroom. Five of them are foolish, they take their lamps but do not take oil with them. When the delayed bridegroom arrives at midnight, their lamps go out and they are not allowed into the wedding banquet. ‘Those who were ready went with him into the wedding banquet; and the door was shut” (Mat 25:12).

Jesus teaches us to be prepared at all times, we must ensure that we are among the wise bridesmaids who bring oil for their lamps, for Jesus said, “Keep awake … for you know neither the day nor the hour” (Mat 25:13). Indeed, when we celebrated All Souls’ Day at the beginning of this month in commemoration of the faithful departed, it is also a reminder that one day when we die or at the second coming of Jesus, we do not know when, we have to face God. When that happens, we are all the same; the rich, famous and powerful, or the poor and desolate. We cannot add a single moment to our life-span even if we own a lot of resources and possess all the riches in this world. We must leave all we have behind, we will return to God with nothing material in the same way as when we came to this world.

Therefore, we must learn from Jesus’ parable: Be prepared at all times. Be the wise bridesmaids. It is easy to stray from our path of faith in a society which is drifting further and further away from the life and the joyful hope that Jesus promises us. In this troubled world, the voice of false arguments against our Christian faith and values is becoming louder and stronger. Even worse, these false arguments are always carefully thought through with research and statistics, supported with a high moral principle and eloquently put forward. They sound so convincing that it becomes easy for us to slip and fall along our path of faith. To remain a true follower of Christ, we need wisdom to discern the truth; we need wisdom in our every thought; and word and deed to keep awake and be prepared. How do we find wisdom? By trusting in God, the Book of Wisdom teaches us, “They that trust in him, shall understand the truth” (Wisdom 3:9). The first reading also tells us that wisdom is “found by those who seek her”, she “goes about seeking those worthy of her, and she graciously appears to them in their paths, and meets them in every thought” (Wisdom 6:12, 16). If only we are willing to trust God, we will find the wisdom that enables us to adhere to the Christian faith and values, to keep awake and be prepared everyday of our life.

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe
How shall we be judged?
On this Sunday Gospel reflection, it is raised with an important topic: How shall we be judged. Continue Reading >
Thirty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time
Humanity’s Got Talent!
“She opens her hand to the poor, and reaches out her hand to the needy. She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue”… Continue Reading >
Thirty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time
Be prepared
“Keep awake … for you know neither the day nor the hour” (Mat 25:13) Continue Reading >

要做好準備

常年期第三十二主日

智慧篇 6:12-17

你們應思慕我的話,珍愛我的話,如此,你們必深受教益。 智慧是光明的,從不暗淡;愛慕她的,很容易看見她;尋覓她的,就可找到她;一有追求她的志願,她必預先顯示給他們。 清早起來,尋求她的,不必費力,因為必發現她已坐在門前。思念智慧,是齊全的明哲;為她守夜不寐的,很快就毫無顧慮。因為,智慧到處尋找配得上自己的人,她在路上,親切地把自己顯示出來,很關心地迎接他們。 你們離棄了正道,使許多人在法律上跌倒;你們破壞了我和肋未所立的盟約——萬軍的上主說。為此,我也使你們受全體人民輕慢鄙視,因為你們沒有遵行我的道,在施教上,只顧私人情面。 我們不是共有一個父親嗎?不是同一個天主,造生了我們嗎?為什麼我們彼此欺騙,褻瀆我們祖先的盟約?

得撒洛尼前書 4:13-18

關於亡者,我們不願意你們不知道,以免你們憂傷,像其他沒有望德的人一樣。因為我們若是信耶穌死了,也復活了,同樣,也必信天主,要領那些死於耶穌內的人,同他一起前來。 我們照主的話,告訴你們這件事:我們這些活著,存留到主來臨時的人,決不會在已死的人以前。 因為,在發出號令時,在總領天使吶喊,及天主的號角聲中,主要親自由天降來。那些死於基督內的人,先要復活。然後,我們這些活著,還存留的人,同時與他們一起,要被提到雲彩上,到空中迎接主。這樣,我們就時常同主在一起。為此,你們要常用這些話,彼此安慰。

瑪竇福音 25:1-13

那時候,耶穌給門徒講了這個比喻,說: 「天國好比十個童女,拿著自己的燈,出去迎接新郎。她們中,五個是糊塗的,五個是明智的。糊塗的,拿了燈,卻沒有隨身帶油;而明智的,拿了燈,又在壺裡帶了油。因為新郎遲遲未來,她們都打盹睡著了。 「半夜,有人喊說:新郎來了,你們出來迎接吧!那些童女於是都起來,裝備她們的燈。糊塗的,對明智的說:把你們的油,分些給我 們吧!因為我們的燈,快要熄滅了!明智的回答說:怕為我們和你們都不夠,更好你們到賣油的地方,為自己買吧! 「她們去買的時候,新郎到了;那準備好了的,就同新郎進去,共赴婚宴;門於是關上了。後來,其餘的童女也來了,說:主啊!主啊!給我們開門吧!新郎卻回答說:我實在告訴你們:我不認識你們。 「所以,你們應該醒寤,因為你們不知道那日子,也不知道那時辰。」

本週的福音讀經,耶穌用「十個童女」 的比喻來教導我們。她們拿着燈去迎接新郎。糊塗的五個拿了燈,卻沒有隨身帶油。當遲來的新郎在午夜到達時,她們的燈熄滅了,不能進入婚宴。「那些準備好的童女,就和祂進去參加婚宴;門就關上了」(瑪 25:12)。

耶穌教導我們要隨時做好準備,要保證自己成為那些拿着燈也帶着油的明智童女,因為耶穌說過:「你們該醒寤 … 因為你們不知道,那日子和那時間何時來到」(瑪 25:13)。的確,當我們在月初的悼亡節,紀念去世的主內兄弟姊妹時,我們也在提醒自己,在不知道的那一天,當我們離世或耶穌第二次來臨時,我們也要面對天主。那時候,無論是富豪,名人,權貴或者是窮途末路的人,我們大家都一樣。儘管擁有大量資源和世上所有財富,我們也不能把自己的壽數增加片刻。我們必須放下自己的所有,我們不會帶着任何世物回歸天主,如同我們出生的時候什麼也不帶來一樣。

所以,我們必須從耶穌的比喻中學習。在任何時候,都要做好準備。要做明智的童女。現今社會離開耶穌應許我們的生命和喜樂的希望越來越遠,我們很容易在迷失中偏離信仰之路。在這紛亂之世,反對基督信仰和價值觀的那些假論點的聲音越來越響亮。更糟的是,這些假論點都經過小心思考,附有研究和統計數字,以高道德標準來支持,並且流暢地娓娓道來。這些聽來有說服力的言論,使我們容易在信仰路上跌倒。要繼續做基督的真正跟隨者,我們需要智慧好能明辨真理; 好能在思、言、行為上,保持醒寤和做好準備。我們如何找尋智慧?信賴天主便能找到。《智慧篇》告訴我們,「倚恃上主的人,必明白真理」(智 3:9) 。讀經一亦講及「尋覓她的,就可找到她」和智慧「到處尋找配得上自己的人,她在路上親切地把自己顯示出來,很關心地迎接他們」(智 6:12, 16) 。只要我們願意信賴天主,我們便會找到智慧,讓我們堅守基督信仰和價值觀,並一直保持醒寤,在此生的每一天都做好準備。

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第三十二主日:準備的智慧 吳智勳神父

閱讀聖經有兩個要點:一是找出作者所帶出的訊息,二是把該段聖經訊息應用於今日的生活。第一個要點別人可以幫忙解釋;第二個要點必須靠自己去實行。讓我們用今日的福音,去嘗試這閱讀聖經的方法。

繼續閱讀 >