Jesus said, “Be alert and watch” (Mk 13:33)

Thirty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Daniel 12:1 - 3

In those days, I Daniel, heard this word of the Lord: "At that time there shall arise Michael, the great prince, guardian of your people; it shall be a time unsurpassed in distress since nations began until that time. At that time your people shall escape, everyone who is found written in the book. "Many of those who sleep in the dust of the earth shall awake; some shall live forever, others shall be an everlasting horror and disgrace. "But the wise shall shine brightly like the splendor of the firmament, and those who lead the many to justice shall be like the stars forever."

Hebrews 10:11 - 14, 18

Brothers and sisters: Every priest stands daily at his ministry, offering frequently those same sacrifices that can never take away sins. But this one offered one sacrifice for sins, and took his seat forever at the right hand of God; now he waits until his enemies are made his footstool. For by one offering he has made perfect forever those who are being consecrated. Where there is forgiveness of these, there is no longer offering for sin.

Mark 13:24 - 32

Jesus said to his disciples: "In those days after that tribulation the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light, and the stars will be falling from the sky, and the powers in the heavens will be shaken. "And then they will see 'the Son of Man coming in the clouds' with great power and glory, and then he will send out the angels and gather his elect from the four winds, from the end of the earth to the end of the sky. "Learn a lesson from the fig tree. When its branch becomes tender and sprouts leaves, you know that summer is near. In the same way, when you see these things happening, know that he is near, at the gates. Amen, I say to you, this generation will not pass away until all these things have taken place. Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will not pass away. "But of that day or hour, no one knows, neither the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father."

As Jesus and his disciples went out of the temple, one of them was admiring the temple building and Jesus said to him, “Not one stone will be left upon another, but all will be torn down” (Mk 13:2). Jesus’ prediction of the destruction of the temple prompted questions from Peter, James, John, and Andrew who asked him in private, “Tell us when this will be. What sign will be given us before all this happens?” (13:4).

There would be wars, earthquakes and famines. Jesus responds, “Brother will betray brother, even to death” (13:12). His church will greatly suffer, “[They] will be … taken to Jewish courts … beaten in synagogues … stand before governors and kings for [his] sake to bear witness before them” (13:9); “False messiahs and false prophets will arise … to deceive even God’s chosen people” (13:22).

Then Jesus speaks of cosmic disturbances – “The sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light” (13:24) – in the manner of the prophets as in Isaiah 13:10, “The sun is dark when it rises, and the light of the moon does not shine”. These are not literal predictions; Jesus turns the language of the prophecy towards Jerusalem to condemn its pagan ways, forecast its doom and to emphasize the magnitude of God’s dreadful judgment (Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P 91).

Jesus goes on to say, “[P]eople will see the Son of Man coming in the clouds with great power and glory” (13:26). Jesus is identifying himself with the son of man, the OT royal figure, “One like a son of man came on the clouds of heaven … Dominion, honor and kingship were given him, and all the peoples and nations of every language served him … his kingdom shall never be destroyed” (Dan 7:13-14). The oracle foretells Jesus’ heavenly ascension and his second coming in glory. Jesus, who has conquered evil, is now enthroned in heaven, exercising his kingship over the world through His church (Ref. ICSB NT P 141).

In this week’s gospel reading, Jesus’ talk of cosmic catastrophes and future judgement of God leads some to believe that Jesus is predicting his second coming and the end of the physical world. This interpretation seems to take Jesus’ words at face value. A better interpretation of Jesus’ words in the context of ancient Judaism is that He is predicting the demise of the Jerusalem temple. There is a similar OT event when God allowed the destruction of the Temple in 586 B.C. as punishment of Israel’s sins (Ref. 2 Kings 25:8-10). The Jerusalem temple was the architectural symbol of the Old Covenant. With the destruction of Jerusalem in AD 70 by Roman legions, claiming the lives of one million Jews, the Old Covenant world was brought to a violent and dramatic end. (Ref. ICSB NT P 50, 90).

With the destruction of Jerusalem, the end of the Old Covenant world and God’s vengeance on those who have rejected Jesus as the Messiah, Jesus’ prediction that “This generation will not pass away until all these things have taken place … my words will not pass away” stands vindicated in the lifetime of his contemporaries (30-31, Ref. ICSB NT P 50).

When will this be? “[N]o one knows … but only the Father”, Jesus said (13:32). His advice to Peter, James, John, and Andrew, “Don’t let anyone mislead you” (13:5) and “Be alert and watch” (13:33), is equally relevant to us who are now awaiting his second coming. The present time is not only the time of the Spirit and of witness, but also a time of distress and evilness that ushers in the struggles of the last days. While this is a time of waiting and watching, the second coming could happen at any moment (Ref. CCC 672, 673).

As we are waiting and watching the distress and evilness of the day, often with restlessness, let us find hope and joy, courage and consolation from Daniel’s prophecy in the first reading. May we be among the wise who “shall shine like the brightness of the sky” and who that “lead many to righteousness, [shall shine] like the stars forever” (Dan 12:3).

Posted: November 14, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

When the Word of God Is Proclaimed
Can we feel the awesome power of the Word that is enough to crush our pride and literally wrestle our bodies down to prostrate to the ground? Continue Reading >
Being Healed of Passivity
The point of today’s homily is that the Father wants us to become more active as persons, because we tend towards passivity. We want a better life, but we want… Continue Reading >
“Do whatever he tells you” (Jn 2:5)
Mary is our advocate who will intercede for us, even without our asking. So, we too, must be steadfast and faithful in doing whatever Jesus tells us to do all… Continue Reading >

耶穌說:「要當心, 要醒寤」(谷 13:33)

常年期第三十三主日

達尼爾先知書 12:1-3

我,達尼爾,聽到上主這樣說:那時候,保佑你國家和子民的偉大護守天使彌額爾,必要起來;那將是一個災難的時期,是自開國以來,直到那時,從未有過的;那時,你的人民,凡冊上有名的,都必得救。許多長眠於塵土的人,要醒來:有的要進入永生,有的要永遠蒙羞受辱。賢明之士,要發光,有如穹蒼的光輝;那些引導許多人歸於正義的人,要永遠發光,如同星辰。

希伯來書 10:11-14,18

每一位司祭,都天天侍立,執行敬禮,並屢次奉獻,那些總不能除去罪惡的同樣犧牲;但是,基督只奉獻了一次贖罪的犧牲,以後便永遠坐在天主右邊,從今以後,只等待將他的仇人,變作他腳下的踏板。因為,他只藉一次奉獻,就永遠使被聖化的人,得以成全。如果這些罪已經赦了,也就不再需要贖罪的祭獻了。

馬爾谷福音 13:24-32

那時候,耶穌向門徒說:「在那些日子裡,在那災難以後,太陽將要昏暗;月亮不再發光;星辰要從天上墜下;天上的萬象也要動搖。「那時,人要看見人子,帶著大威能和光榮,乘雲降來。那時,人子要派遣天使,由四方,從地極到天邊,聚集他所召選的人。「你們應由無花果樹,取個比喻:幾時它的枝條,已經發芽,生出嫩葉,你們就知道夏天近了。同樣,你們幾時看見,這些事發生了,就該知道:人子已近在門口了。「我實在告訴你們:非到這一切發生了,這一世代,決不會過去。天地要過去,但是,我的話決不會過去。「至於那日子或那時刻,除了父以外,誰也不知道,連天上的天使和子,都不知道。」

耶穌與衆門徒從聖殿出來的時候,其中一位門徒對聖殿的建築頗為欣賞,耶穌卻對他說:「將來這裡決沒有一塊石頭留在另一塊石頭上,而不被拆毁的」(谷 13:2) 。耶穌預言聖殿的毁滅,促使伯多祿、雅各伯、若望和安德肋私下問祂:「請告訴我們 : 什麽時候發生這些事?這一切事,要完成時,將有什麽先兆?」(13:4)。
到時會有戰爭、地震和飢荒。耶穌回應說:「兄弟將出賣兄弟 … 置於死地」(13:12)。祂的教會將經歷極大的磨難與苦痛,他們會被「解送到公議會 ⋯ 在會堂裏要受鞭打⋯並且也要為【耶穌】的原故,站在總督和君王面前,對他們作證」(13:9);「假默西亞和假先知興起 ⋯ 他們連被選者都要欺騙」(13:22)。
之後,耶穌用先知在《依撒意亞書》 13:10 的語言 —「太陽一升起即變為昏黑,月亮也不再放光明」— 來談及星際的動亂,祂說:「太陽將要昏暗,月亮不再發光」(13:24) 。這些不是字面上的預言;而是耶穌用先知的語言,來譴責耶路撒冷的異端作為;預告它的末日,並強調天主的審判會是駭人的 (參 Ignatius Catholic study Bible New Testament 91 頁)。
耶穌繼續說:「人要看見人子帶着大威能和光榮乘雲降來」(13:26)。耶穌認同自己為舊約聖經中的人子,一位尊貴的皇室人物,「一位相似人子者,乘着天上的雲彩而來」,被「賜給統治權、尊榮和國度,各民族、各邦國及各異語人民都要侍奉他 ⋯ 他的國度永不滅亡」(達 7:13-14)。這預象是耶穌升天和祂第二次光榮再來的預言。征服了邪惡的耶穌,現在天國,已登基為王,並藉着祂的教會,行使祂的王權於普世 (參ICSB NT 141 頁)。
在本週的《福音讀經》,耶穌談及宇宙的大災禍和天主未來的審判,令有些人認為耶穌在預言祂的第二次來臨和世界末日。這解釋好像只是耶穌說話的表面意思而已。一個較好的解讀,是以古猶大背景來了解耶穌的說話,祂是在預言耶路撒冷聖殿的死亡。舊約聖經裏有一相似的事件,天主容許聖殿於公元前 586 年被摧毁,以懲罰以色列民的罪惡 (參 列下 25:8-10)。耶路撒冷聖殿是舊盟約的建築標記。當耶路撒冷於公元 70 年被羅馬軍隊徹底摧毁,一百萬猶太人喪失生命,舊盟約的世界遭受粗暴和戲劇性的結束 (參 ICSB NT 50, 90 頁)。
隨着耶路撒冷的毁滅、舊盟約世界的終結,以及天主對拒絕耶穌為默西亞的人的報復,耶穌的預言「非到這一切發生了,這一世代決不會過去 ⋯ 我的話決不會過去」 的確在與祂同時代的人的世代中發生了 (30-31, 參 ICSB NT 50頁)。
什麼時候會發生呢?耶穌說:「除了父以外,誰也不知道」 (13:32)。祂給伯多祿、雅各伯、若望和安德肋的忠告──不要讓「人欺騙了你們」 (13:5) 和「要當心,要醒寤」(13:33) ──為在等待祂第二次來臨的我們,也是同樣的適用。現今世代,不只是聖神和為主作見證的年代,也是迎來末世掙扎的一個令人苦惱和邪惡的時代。這是一個等待和警醒的時間,但主的第二次來臨可以隨時發生 (參 CCC 672, 673)。
我們在警醒等待時,看着使我們難過的邪惡之事,經常都會心緒不寧,願我們從先知達尼爾在《讀經一》的預言中,找到希望和喜樂,勇氣和安慰。也願我們成為「發光有如穹蒼的光輝」的賢明之士,也成為「永遠發光如同星辰」、「引導多人歸於正義」的人 (達 12:3)。

Posted: November 14, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期三十三主日:天主永遠常存 吳智勳神父

今天的福音讀經是馬爾谷記載耶穌最後的一篇講道。在這篇講道中,耶穌預言耶路撒冷城的毀滅、世界窮盡與及勸誡世人要時時醒寤。耶穌這篇講道與祂平日所談的主題明顯地不同,聖經學家對這類型的講論統稱為默示神學。

繼續閱讀 >