Christ’s Passover is Our Passover

Pentecost Sunday

Acts 2:1-11

When the time for Pentecost was fulfilled, they were all in one place together. And suddenly there came from the sky a noise like a strong driving wind, and it filled the entire house in which they were. Then there appeared to them tongues as of fire, which parted and came to rest on each one of them. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in different tongues, as the Spirit enabled them to proclaim. Now there were devout Jews from every nation under heaven staying in Jerusalem. At this sound, they gathered in a large crowd, but they were confused because each one heard them speaking in his own language. They were astounded, and in amazement they asked, "Are not all these people who are speaking Galileans? Then how does each of us hear them in his native language? We are Parthians, Medes, and Elamites, inhabitants of Mesopotamia, Judea and Cappadocia, Pontus and Asia, Phrygia and Pamphylia, Egypt and the districts of Libya near Cyrene, as well as travelers from Rome, both Jews and converts to Judaism, Cretans and Arabs, yet we hear them speaking in our own tongues of the mighty acts of God."

1 Corinthians 12:3B-7,12-13

Brothers and sisters: No one can say, "Jesus is Lord," except by the Holy Spirit. There are different kinds of spiritual gifts but the same Spirit; there are different forms of service but the same Lord; there are different workings but the same God who produces all of them in everyone. To each individual the manifestation of the Spirit is given for some benefit. As a body is one though it has many parts, and all the parts of the body, though many, are one body, so also Christ. For in one Spirit we were all baptized into one body, whether Jews or Greeks, slaves or free persons, and we were all given to drink of one Spirit.

John 20:19-23

On the evening of that first day of the week, when the doors were locked, where the disciples were, for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood in their midst and said to them, "Peace be with you." When he had said this, he showed them his hands and his side. The disciples rejoiced when they saw the Lord. Jesus said to them again, "Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I send you." And when he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, "Receive the Holy Spirit. Whose sins you forgive are forgiven them, and whose sins you retain are retained."

Pentecost Sunday, traditionally associated with the coming of the Holy Spirit, is in fact, the celebration of the Church’s birthday. The word literally means 50th day or 50 days after Easter Sunday. Jews also celebrate the completion of Passover on Pentecost. This is an important day in the life of the Church on which Jesus’ Apostles, after receiving the Holy Spirit in the image of “divided tongues … of fire”, begin their earthly ministry of evangelization – to “make disciples of all nations” (Acts 2:3; Mt 28:19). Christ’s Passover – his suffering, death, and resurrection – is “fulfilled in the outpouring of the Holy Spirit, manifested, given, and communicated as a divine person: of his fullness, Christ, the Lord, pours out the Spirit in abundance” (CCC 731).

In the Acts of the Apostles, we learn that the Holy Spirit refuses to come quietly, rather, it announces itself with a “rush of violent wind” that fills the entire house and “divided tongues, as of fire” resting on each of the Apostles (Acts 2:3). Imagine: The wind must have blown over everyone and everything in the house; turning all furniture and household items upside down and inside out, and throwing everyone and everything into an absolute mess! However, it is from the depth of such absolute chaos that new life may arise.

The Son of God chooses to fulfill his mission by submitting to the earthly authorities of the High Priest Caiaphas and Pontius Pilate. Blown by the violent wind of injustice, the world is turned topsy-turvy where falsehoods are seen as truth. Though he is battered by such “violent wind” of false accusations and torture, he stands up tall and strong like a “a bruised reed he will not break, and a dimly burning wick he will not quench; he will faithfully bring forth justice” (Is 42:3). Three days after Jesus’ death, God raises up His “suffering servant” from the depth of hell and “allot[s] him a portion with the great, and he shall divide the spoil with the strong; because he poured out himself to death” (Is 53:12). God, the author of life, has created a new order out of utter chaos.

The Psalmist recognizes that God is the source of life and without God, everything will “die and return to their dust” (Ps 104:29). He implores God to send forth the Spirit and renew the face of the earth” (Ps 104:30). The Apostles, like the “dry bones” in Ezekiel’s writing, come alive and begin speaking in different languages about the great deeds of God: “O dry bones, [...] I will cause breath to enter you, and you shall live. I will lay sinews on you, and will cause flesh to come upon you, and cover you with skin, and put breath in you, and you shall live; and you shall know that I am the Lord’” (Ezek 37:4-6). Not only does the breath of the Holy Spirit revive and refresh the spirits of the Apostles by casting their fears aside, it also empowers them to speak boldly with conviction in order to “make disciples of all nations” (Mt 28:19).

Indeed, the Apostles’ lives have been turned upside down and inside out when Christ appears in their midst and “breathed on them”. This “violent wind” definitely kick-starts an amazing journey by first disarming whatever presumptions they might have held and challenging each one of them to be the hands and feet of Christ. Empowered by the Holy Spirit, the Apostles’ fear is dispelled and replaced with faith and joy. Indeed, the fire of the Holy Spirit sets the Apostles’ hearts on fire.

Therefore, Christ’s Passover is our Passover, too. The breath of God gives life to “dry bones” and raises up Christ from the dead. It also unravels and renews our spirit; coaxing us to shed our hard shell of fear, distrust, conceit, and deceit. Just as the Holy Spirit empowers the Apostles on the Day of the Pentecost, it also empowers us to believe and recognize that each of us is endowed with unique gifts; we “though many, are one body” in Christ through baptism. Like the Apostles, let us come out from hiding and speak boldly to make disciples of all nations!

Posted: May 20, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Invitation to God’s Wedding Banquet
Unlike my daughter who must be selective in inviting people to her wedding, God welcomes everyone to his. Continue Reading >
“I am the living bread that came down from heaven” (John 6:51)
“Whoever eats of this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh” (John 6:51) Continue Reading >
We are what we eat
Pentecost Sunday, traditionally associated with the coming of the Holy Spirit, is in fact, the celebration of the Church’s birthday. The word literally means 50th day or 50 days after… Continue Reading >

基督的逾越是我們的逾越

五旬節主日(節日)

宗徒大事錄 2:1-11

五旬節一到,門徒及眾人都聚集一處。忽然,從天上來了一陣響聲,好像暴風颳來,充滿了他們所在的全座房屋。有些散開好像火的舌頭,停留在他們每人頭上,他們都充滿了聖神,照聖神賜給他們的話,說起外方話來。那時,居住在耶路撒冷的,有從天下各國來的虔誠猶太人。這聲音一響,就聚集了許多人,都倉皇失措,因為人人都聽見他們說各人的方言。他們驚訝奇怪地說:「看,這些說話的,不都是加里肋亞人嗎?怎麼我們每人聽見他們說我們出生地的方言呢?我們中有帕提雅人、瑪待人、厄藍人和居住在美索不達米亞、猶太及卡帕多細雅、本都並亞細亞、夫黎基雅和旁非里雅、埃及,並靠近基勒乃的利比亞一帶的人,以及僑居的羅馬人、猶太人和皈依猶太教的人、克里特人和阿拉伯人。怎麼我們都聽見他們用我們的話,講論天主的奇事呢?」

格林多人前書 12:3-7,12-13

弟兄姊妹們:除非受聖神感動,沒有一個人能說:「耶穌是主」。神恩雖有區別,卻是同一聖神所賜;職分雖有區別,卻是同一的主所賜;功效雖有區別,卻是同一的天主,在一切人身上,行一切事。聖神顯示在每人身上雖有不同,但全是為人的好處。就如身體只是一個,卻有許多肢體;身體所有的肢體雖多,仍是一個身體;基督也是這樣。因為我們眾人,不論是猶太人,或是希臘人,或是為奴的,或是自主的,都因一個聖神受了洗,成為一個身體,又都為一個聖神所滋潤。

若望福音 20:19-23

一周的第一天晚上,門徒所在的地方,因為怕猶太人,門戶都關著;耶穌來了,站在中間,對他們說:「願你們平安!」說了這話,便把手和肋膀指給他們看。門徒見了主,便喜歡起來。耶穌又對他們說:「願你們平安!就如父派遣了我,我也同樣派遣你們。」說了這話,就向他們噓了一口氣,說:「你們領受聖神吧!你們赦免誰的罪,誰的罪就得赦免;你們保留誰的罪,誰的罪就被保留。」

五旬節主日傳統上與聖神降臨聯繫一起,但這天其實是慶祝教會誕生的日子。「五旬」字面上解作復活節主日後的五十天或第五十天。猶太人也在五旬節這天慶祝逾越節的結束。這是在教會生活中重要的一天,因為耶穌的宗徒們領受了「散開好像火的舌頭」的聖神後,便開始了他們在世上的福傳使命,去「使萬民成為門徒」(宗2: 3;瑪28: 19)。基督的逾越 – 祂的受難、聖死和復活 – 「就在聖神的傾注中完成,這聖神是以天主性位格的身分顯示、賞賜、和通傳給人的:主基督從祂的圓滿中,豐厚地傾注了聖神」(天主教教理731)。

從《宗徒大事錄》的記載中,我們知道聖神拒絕靜悄悄地到來,反之,祂以充滿全屋的「暴風」 和停留在每一宗徒頭上的「散開好像火的舌頭」,來宣佈自己的來臨(宗2: 3)。試想象一下:這陣風一定吹過屋內每個人和每件物件;把所有傢具和用品上下裏外翻轉,及把每一個人和每件物件拋進混亂中!但是,新生命就從這混亂的深處衍生出來。

天主子選擇了將自己交給大司祭蓋法和比拉多這些世上的權勢,去滿全祂的使命。遭受不公義的暴風吹打,世界非常混亂顛倒,假象被視為真理。雖然虛假的指控和折磨,像「暴風」一樣,把祂打擊得不似人形,但祂仍然堅強地站立起來,如「破傷的蘆葦,他不折斷;將熄的燈心,他不吹滅;他將忠實地傳佈真道」(依42: 3)。耶穌死後三日,天主從地獄的深淵中,使祂的「苦難的僕人」復活,並且「把大衆賜與他作報酬,他獲得了無數的人作為獵物;因為他為了承擔大衆的罪過,犧牲了自己的性命,至於死亡」(依53: 12)。天主 – 生命的始創者 – 從混亂中,創造了新秩序。

聖詠的作者認識到天主是生命之源,沒有天主,一切都會「死去,回到他們所由出的灰土裏去」(詠104:29)。他懇求天主派遣聖神,「使地面更新復興」(詠104:30)。宗徒們就如《厄則克耳先知書》裏的「乾枯的骨頭」,復生了,並開始用不同的語言,講述天主所行的大事:「乾枯的骨頭,[…]我要使氣息進入你們內,你們必要復活。我給你們放上筋,加上肉,包上皮,把氣息注入你們內,你們就復活了;如此,你們便要承認我是上主」(則37:4-6)。聖神的氣息不只讓宗徒們拋開恐懼、復甦和更新他們的精神,祂還給予他們力量,以堅定的信念,勇敢地發言「使萬民成為門徒」(瑪28: 19)。

當耶穌出現在宗徒們中間,並「向他們噓了一口氣」時,他們的生活的確完全改變。這陣「暴風」首先摒除了他們的疑慮推測,然後挑戰他們成為基督的手和腳,切實地為他們展開了一個奇妙的旅程。藉著聖神的力量,宗徒們的恐懼被驅散,取而代之的是信德和喜悅。的確,聖神的火燃點了宗徒們的心火。

因此,基督的逾越也是我們的逾越。天主的氣息為「乾枯的骨頭」注入生命,並且把基督從死者中復活。祂也整理及更新我們的心神;勸勉我們放下恐懼、懷疑、傲慢和欺騙的硬殼。就如聖神在五旬節賜予宗徒們力量,祂也賜予我們力量,去相信和明白我們每人都被賦予獨特的恩賜;藉着領洗,我們「衆人在基督內,也都是一個身體」。讓我們像宗徒們一樣,從躲藏處出來, 勇敢發言,使萬民成為門徒。

Posted: May 20, 2018

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 聖神降臨節(五旬節主日):火舌的溝通能力 吳智勳神父

教父聖啟祿說:「第一個有生命的人接受了聖神。」創世紀記載:「天主用塵土形成了人,在他的鼻孔內吹了一口生氣,人就成了一個有靈的生物。」(創2:7)教父把上主的氣息,看成是聖神的標記,確是很有見地。

繼續閱讀 >