Didn’t Understand the Saying

Twenty-fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 2:12 , 17 - 20

The wicked say: Let us beset the just one, because he is obnoxious to us; he sets himself against our doings, reproaches us for transgressions of the law and charges us with violations of our training. Let us see whether his words be true; let us find out what will happen to him. For if the just one be the son of God, God will defend him and deliver him from the hand of his foes. With revilement and torture let us put the just one to the test that we may have proof of his gentleness and try his patience. Let us condemn him to a shameful death; for according to his own words, God will take care of him.

James 3:16 - 4:3

Beloved: Where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there is disorder and every foul practice. But the wisdom from above is first of all pure, then peaceable, gentle, compliant, full of mercy and good fruits, without inconstancy or insincerity. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace for those who cultivate peace. Where do the wars and where do the conflicts among you come from? Is it not from your passions that make war within your members? You covet but do not possess. You kill and envy but you cannot obtain; you fight and wage war. You do not possess because you do not ask. You ask but do not receive, because you ask wrongly, to spend it on your passions.

Mark 9:30-37

Jesus and his disciples left from there and began a journey through Galilee, but he did not wish anyone to know about it. He was teaching his disciples and telling them, “The Son of Man is to be handed over to men and they will kill him, and three days after his death the Son of Man will rise.” But they did not understand the saying, and they were afraid to question him. They came to Capernaum and, once inside the house, he began to ask them, “What were you arguing about on the way?” But they remained silent. They had been discussing among themselves on the way who was the greatest. Then he sat down, called the Twelve, and said to them, “If anyone wishes to be first, he shall be the last of all and the servant of all.” Taking a child, he placed it in the their midst, and putting his arms around it, he said to them, “Whoever receives one child such as this in my name, receives me; and whoever receives me, receives not me but the One who sent me.”

In this Sunday’s gospel reading, Jesus continued to prepare his disciples for his death and resurrection, telling them, ““The Son of Man is to be handed over to men and they will kill him, and three days after his death the Son of Man will rise” (Mk 9:31). Unfortunately “they did not understand the saying” (Mk 9:32).

But why didn’t they? Was it so hard to understand something already foretold everywhere in the Old Testament, by different people (especially the prophets), at different times, and in so many different ways?

Take the first reading as an example: “Let us see whether his words be true; let us find out what will happen to him. For if the just one be the son of God, God will defend him and deliver him from the hand of his foes” (Wis 2:17-18)

Doesn’t this ring a bell? Yes, that was exactly what happened to Jesus in the gospel (see Mt. 27:43)! My heart skipped a beat when I read this passage. Scripture cannot be clearer in revealing the trials and tribulations of the future Messiah through the inspired author of the Book of Wisdom some 100 years before he was even born!

Again: “Let us condemn him to a shameful death” (Wis 2:20). A shameful death was what awaited Jesus when he made his triumphant entrance into Jerusalem to celebrate the Passover.

Jesus promised to send the Holy Spirit to enlighten his disciples after his death, resurrection, and ascension. And so he did: We read about the outpouring of the Holy Spirit and the birth of the Church on Pentecost in Acts 2. But before then – until their hearts were touched by the Holy Spirit – “they did not understand the saying” (Mk 9:32) in spite of all the “clues” that God had given them through the OT scriptures.

No wonder the resurrected Jesus had to exclaim in exasperation when he met the two disciples on the road to Emmaus who also “did not understand the saying”: “Oh, how foolish you are! How slow of heart to believe all that the prophets spoke! Was it not necessary that the Messiah should suffer these things and enter into his glory?” (Luke 24:25-26).With the help of the Holy Spirit, they finally understood and said: “Were not our hearts burning (within us) while he spoke to us on the way and opened the scriptures to us?” (Luke 24:32). Until our hearts are “burning within us”, until they are touched by the Holy Spirit, we will continue to “not understand the saying”.

Posted: September 20, 2015

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Epiphanies in our life
Today’s readings are about God’s epiphanies in our life, but we need patience, focused listening, and faith before we can hear or see them. Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >

不明白這些話

常年期第二十五主日

智慧篇 2:12, 17-21

惡人胡思亂想,說:「我們要陷害義人,因為他太令我們討厭,反對我們的作為,指責我們違犯法律,控訴我們行為不檢。我們要看看他的話,是否屬實,看他究竟有什麼結局。「因為,如果義人是天主的兒子,天主一定會幫助他,拯救他脫離敵人的手。來吧!我們用恥辱和酷刑試驗他,查看他是否溫良,考驗他是否忍耐。我們判他受可恥的死刑,看他是否蒙受眷顧,如同他所說的一樣。」惡人這樣思想,真是荒謬,因為邪惡使他們喪失了理智。——上主的話。

雅各伯書 3:16-4:3

親愛的:那裡有嫉妒和紛爭,那裡就有擾亂,及種種惡行。至於從上而來的智慧,它首先是純潔的,其次是和平的、寬仁的、柔順的、充滿仁慈,及善果豐碩的、不偏不倚的、沒有偽善的。為締造和平的人,正義的果實,是在和平中種植的。你們中間的戰爭,是從那裡來的?爭端是從那裡來的?豈不是從你們的肢體,因私慾的爭鬥而來的嗎?你們貪戀,如果得不到,於是,便要兇殺;你們嫉妒,如果不能獲得,於是,就要爭鬥,起來交戰。你們得不到,是因為你們不求;你們求而不得,是因為你們求的不當,只想滿足自己的淫樂。——上主的話。

馬爾谷福音 9:30-37

那時候,耶穌和門徒經過加里肋亞。耶穌不願叫人知道,因為他那時正教訓他的門徒。耶穌給他的門徒說:「人子將要被交在人手中,為人所殺;被殺以後,過了三天,他必要復活。」門徒卻不明白這番話,又害怕詢問他。他們來到葛法翁,進入屋裡,耶穌問他的門徒說:「你們在路上爭論些什麼?」他們都默不出聲,因為他們在路上,彼此爭論誰最大。耶穌坐下,叫那十二人過來,給他們說:「誰如果想做最大的,就得做眾人中最小的,並要做眾人的僕役。」耶穌於是拉一個小孩子過來,放在門徒中間,又抱起他來,給門徒說:「誰因我的名字,收留一個這樣的小孩子,就是收留我;誰收留我,並不是收留我,而是收留那派遣我來的。」——基督的福音。

在這個主日的福音,耶穌繼續教訓他的門徒,為他的死亡和復活作準備,給他們說:「人子將要被交在人手中,為人所殺;被殺以後,過了三天,他必要復活。」(谷9:31)。 不 幸的是,「門徒卻不明白這些話」(谷9:32) 。

但是,他們為什麼不明白? 這些在舊約中,已經很多次,由不同的人(特別是先知),在 不同時間,和用不同方式說過的預言,真的是很難理解嗎?

就以第一讀經為例:「我們且看他的話是否屬實,看他究有什麼結局。 因為,如果義人 是天主的兒子,天主定要幫助他,拯救他脫離敵人的手。」(智2:17-18)

這話聽起來不是很熟悉嗎? 是的,就在福音裏,這正是發生在耶穌身上的事(瑪27:43)! 當我讀到這段話時,我的心幾乎停止跳動!在默西亞還沒有出生的百多年前,通過受神默感的《智慧篇》的作者,聖經已清晰地揭示了衪要承擔的考驗和磨難!

又如:「我們判他受可恥的死刑」(智2:20) 。 當耶穌榮進耶路撒冷慶祝逾越節時,等待著 衪的正就是可恥的死亡。

耶穌曾答應,在他的死亡、 復活與升天以後,會派遣聖神來開啟他的門徒。 衪也確實地這樣做: 在宗2 我們讀到聖神降臨和在五旬節日新興教會的誕生。 但在此之前,儘管天主在舊約聖經給了他們所有的提示,「門徒卻不明白這些話」 (谷9:32) , 直到他們的心充滿聖神。

難怪當復活了的耶穌,在往厄瑪烏路上遇到兩個「不明白這些話」的門徒時,不禁忍無可忍地驚歎道:「唉!無知的人哪!為信先知們所說的一切話,你們的心竟是這般遲鈍! 默 西亞不是必須受這些苦難,纔進入他的光榮嗎?」(路24:25-26) 。 在聖神的幫助下,他們終於明白了並說:「當他在路上與我們談話,給我們講解 <聖經> 的時候,我們的心不是 火熱的嗎?」(路24:32)。直到我們的心「在我們內燃燒」,直到它們被聖神觸摸而感動,我們將繼續「不明白這些話」。

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

耶穌──偉大的教育家 吳智勳神父

研究馬爾谷福音,便會發現這本福音雖然較短,但描述耶穌教育門徒則是最出色的。… 這是耶穌第二次預言被出賣及被殺害,「門徒不明白這些話,又不敢問祂」。本來這是教學常見的現象,學生在課室裡不敢問老師,寧願下課後問同學或問補習老師。不過,門徒不敢問可能另有意思。

繼續閱讀 >