Where do I come from? Where am I going? What is my purpose? Who am I?

Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Jeremiah 1:4-5,17-19

The word of the LORD came to me, saying: Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I dedicated you, a prophet to the nations I appointed you. But do you gird your loins; stand up and tell them all that I command you. Be not crushed on their account, as though I would leave you crushed before them; for it is I this day who have made you a fortified city, a pillar of iron, a wall of brass, against the whole land: against Judah’s kings and princes, against its priests and people. They will fight against you but not prevail over you, for I am with you to deliver you, says the LORD.

1 Corinthians 12:31-13:13

Brothers and sisters: Strive eagerly for the greatest spiritual gifts. But I shall show you a still more excellent way. If I speak in human and angelic tongues, but do not have love, I am a resounding gong or a clashing cymbal. And if I have the gift of prophecy, and comprehend all mysteries and all knowledge; if I have all faith so as to move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give away everything I own, and if I hand my body over so that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing. Love is patient, love is kind. It is not jealous, it is not pompous, It is not inflated, it is not rude, it does not seek its own interests, it is not quick-tempered, it does not brood over injury, it does not rejoice over wrongdoing but rejoices with the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails. If there are prophecies, they will be brought to nothing; if tongues, they will cease; if knowledge, it will be brought to nothing. For we know partially and we prophesy partially, but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. When I was a child, I used to talk as a child, think as a child, reason as a child; when I became a man, I put aside childish things. At present we see indistinctly, as in a mirror, but then face to face. At present I know partially; then I shall know fully, as I am fully known. So faith, hope, love remain, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

Luke 4:21-30

Jesus began speaking in the synagogue, saying: “Today this Scripture passage is fulfilled in your hearing.” And all spoke highly of him and were amazed at the gracious words that came from his mouth. They also asked, “Isn’t this the son of Joseph?” He said to them, “Surely you will quote me this proverb, ‘Physician, cure yourself,’ and say, ‘Do here in your native place the things that we heard were done in Capernaum.’” And he said, “Amen, I say to you, no prophet is accepted in his own native place. Indeed, I tell you, there were many widows in Israel in the days of Elijah when the sky was closed for three and a half years and a severe famine spread over the entire land. It was to none of these that Elijah was sent, but only to a widow in Zarephath in the land of Sidon. Again, there were many lepers in Israel during the time of Elisha the prophet; yet not one of them was cleansed, but only Naaman the Syrian.” When the people in the synagogue heard this, they were all filled with fury. They rose up, drove him out of the town, and led him to the brow of the hill on which their town had been built, to hurl him down headlong. But Jesus passed through the midst of them and went away.

The Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC), concluded in 2015, has begun an arduous but genuine healing of Canada’s relationship with the first peoples of the land by first, acknowledging the brutal wounds left by colonization, and paved ways for more open and candid dialogue, not only between the Canadian Government and the Indigenous peoples but also provided opportunities for Indigenous peoples to heal their wounds, reclaim their heritage and reimagine their cultures and identity. In truth, embracing both beauty and ugliness of the past, Canada as a nation must also bravely embark on a journey of truth-seeking and reconciliation in order to reimagine a Canadian identity that is characterized by honesty and trust; hope and compassion; justice and kindness; truth and reconciliation. Senator Murray Sinclair, the first First Nations justice in the province of Manitoba and chairman of the TRC in Canada, explains there are four questions that “every Indigenous person must answer in order to understand who they are” (Talaga 17). These questions are: “Where do I come from? Where am I going? What is my purpose? Who am I?” (Talaga 17-18). In fact, these are the fundamental questions that are not only central to the identity of Indigenous peoples and Canada as a nation but also to all of us sojourning as pilgrims on earth.

This week’s readings shed light onto these existential questions. In the first reading, God reveals to Jeremiah: “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a Prophet to the nations” (Jer 1:4-5). In truth, God intimately knows each and every one of us before He forms us. So, “Where do I come from?” What is our history? God reveals to us in Jeremiah that each one of us comes from His loving heart and thoughtful design. Not only are we formed by God but also “consecrated” before birth; indeed we belong to God.

The next questions, “Where am I going?” and “What is my purpose?”, lead us into a deeper exploration of our call and mission as God’s children. Through Baptism, we are “appointed … a Prophet to the nations” (Jer 1:5). What is a prophet? Simply put, a prophet is someone who speaks the truth and proclaims God’s words. The Old Testament prophets demonstrate that this is a challenging job to say the least; it takes courage and full confidence in God as each perseveres against the world’s current. Our faithful God reassures Jeremiah, and indeed all of us, “They will fight against you; but they shall not prevail against you, for I am with you” (Jer 1:19).

Our sacred call to be prophets not only guides our purpose in life but also our direction. How would we know our purpose and direction; to what rhythm shall we dance? Indeed, the pulse – the beating heart and the very essence of the Church – is animated by the Holy Spirit. In the Gospel of Luke, Jesus is “filled with the power of the Spirit” as he begins his public ministry in his hometown, Nazareth (Lk 4:14). The Spirit empowers Jesus to boldly proclaim Isaiah’s prophetic words, “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to bring good news to the poor […] to proclaim release to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free” (Lk 4:18-19). If we allow the Spirit to fill our hearts and receive these words with humility and trust, then they will surely be fulfilled in our hearing (ref. Lk 4:21).

What does this Spirit look, feel, or sound like? Like a breath of fresh air, we can only know the Spirit through its impact. St. Paul explains in his letter to the Galatians, “the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control” (Gal 5:22). Therefore, where there is love, there is Spirit. In addition, Paul reminds us that without love, none of our gifts matters: “If I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love […] I am nothing” (1Cor 13:2).

Finally, the question of “Who am I?” beautifully sums up the previous three questions. Jeremiah reminds us that we are God’s beloved and chosen ones: we are known, formed, and consecrated by God. St. Paul emphasizes that without love, we are “nothing” in his letter to the Corinthians. Most importantly, we are called to be God’s prophets; to proclaim the good news, freedom and sight to all peoples in spite of oppositions and challenges. Who we are – our true identity – reflects the face of God. Our true “self” as willed by God celebrates God’s love, prompting us to live with honesty and trust; hope and compassion; justice and kindness; truth and reconciliation.

Works Cited:
Talaga, Tanya, CBC Massey Lecture – All Our Relations: Finding the Path Forward. Canada: House of Anansi Press Inc., 2018.

Posted: February 3, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Jesus said, “You are witnesses of these things.” (Lk 24:48)
“That the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day.” (Lk 24:46) Continue Reading >
Will We Still Eat and Drink on Resurrection?
Does this mean our risen bodies will continue to live biologically? So many unanswered questions! Continue Reading >
How Jesus Deals with Our Failures
Jesus is the Lord of life, therefore, let’s look at how He resurrects life from our failures. Everyone knows that, when we fail, God forgives us and begins again, but… Continue Reading >

我從哪裡來?我往何處去?我的目的是什麼?我究竟是誰?

常年期第四主日

耶肋米亞先知書 1:4-5,17-19

在約史雅時代,上主對我說:「我還沒有在母腹內形成你以前,我已認識了你;在你還沒有出離母胎以前,我已祝聖了你,選定了你作萬民的先知。「你要束上腰,起來,向他們傳述我所命令你的一切。在他們面前,你不要畏懼,免得我在他們面前,令你畏懼。「看啊,我今天使你成為堅城、銅牆、鐵壁,以對抗猶大君王、首領、司祭和當地的人民。「他們要攻擊你,卻不能得勝你,因為有我與你同在,協助你。」——上主的話。

格林多前書 12:31-13:13

弟兄姊妹們:你們該熱切追求那更大的恩賜。我現在把一條更高超的道路指示給你們。我若能說人間的語言,和能說天使的語言;但我若沒有愛,我就成了個發聲的鑼,或發響的鈸。我若有先知之恩,又明白一切奧秘和各種知識;我若有全備的信心,甚至能移山;但我若沒有愛,我什麼也不算。我若把我所有的財產,全施捨了,我若捨身投火被焚;但我若沒有愛,為我毫無益處。愛是含忍的,愛是慈祥的,愛不嫉妒,不誇張,不自大,不作無禮的事,不求己益,不動怒,不圖謀惡事,不以不義為樂,卻與真理同樂:凡事包容,凡事相信,凡事盼望,凡事忍耐。愛永存不朽;而先知之恩,終必消失;語言之恩,終必停止;知識之恩,終必消逝。因為我們現在所知道的,只是局部的;我們作先知所講的,也只是局部的;及至那圓滿的,一來到,局部的,就必要消逝。當我是孩子的時候,說話像孩子,看事像孩子,思想像孩子;幾時我長大成人,就把孩子的事丟棄了。我們現在是藉著鏡子觀看,模糊不清,到那時,就要面對面的觀看了。我現在所認識的,只是局部的,那時,我就要全認清了,如同我全被認清一樣。現今存在的,有信、望、愛這三樣,但其中最大的,就是愛。——上主的話。

路加福音 4:21-30

那時候,耶穌在會堂裡開始講道:「你們剛才聽過的這段聖經,今天應驗了。」眾人都稱讚他,驚奇他口中所說動聽的話;並且說:「這不是若瑟的兒子嗎?」耶穌回答他們說:「你們必定要對我說這句俗語:醫生,醫治你自己吧!我們聽說你在葛法翁所做的一切,也當在你的家鄉這裡做吧!」耶穌又說:「我實在告訴你們:沒有一個先知,在本鄉受悅納的。我實在告訴你們:在厄里亞時代,天閉塞了三年零六個月,遍地起了大飢荒,在以色列原有許多寡婦,厄里亞並沒有被派到她們當中任何一個那裡去,而只到了漆冬匝爾法特的一個寡婦那裡。在厄里叟先知時代,在以色列有許多痳瘋病人,他們中沒有一個得潔淨,只有敘利亞的納阿曼。」在會堂中聽見這番話的人,都憤怒填胸,起來把耶穌趕出城外,拉他到山崖上——他們的城是建在山上的——要把他推下去。他卻由他們中間過去,走了。

原住民寄宿學校真相與和解委員會 (TRC) 在2015年有了結論,展開了加拿大與原住民之間,艱巨而誠懇的修和之路。首先承認了殖民時期給原住民留下的殘暴創傷,不只為政府和原住民之間開闢途徑,達成更公開坦誠的對話,更為原住民提供機會療傷, 重拾他們的文化遺產,重新認識他們的文化和身份。事實上,加拿大背負著美麗與醜陋的過去,一定要勇敢地踏上找尋真相與和解的路途,重新認識加拿大的國家身份,一個以誠實和信任、希望和慈愛、正義和良善、真理與修和為本的身份。上議院議員Murray Sinclair 先生,緬尼吐巴省原住民法官,加拿大 TRC 主席解釋,有四個問題是「每一個原住民為了認識自己都得回答的」(Talaga 17)。就是「我從哪裡來?我往何處去?我的目的是什麼? 我是誰?」(Talaga 17-18)。其實,這些基本問題不但是原住民身份的中心,更是加拿大這國家和所有旅居世上的朝聖者—我們—的中心。

本週的讀經解答了這些帶有存在意味的問題。在讀經一,天主告訴耶肋米亞:「我還沒有在母腹內形成你以前,我已認識了你。 在你還沒有離母胎之前,我已祝聖了你;選定了你作為萬民的先知」( 耶 1: 4-5) 。事實上,天主造我們之前,已經親密地認識了我們每一個人。那麼,「我從哪裡來?」我們有何歷史?天主透過耶肋米亞告訴我們,我們每一個都來自祂仁愛的心,為祂所精心設計。我們不單是天主所造,更是經祂「聖化」後才出生的;的確,我們是屬於天主的。

往後的問題「我往何處去?」和「我的目標是什麼?」帶領我們比較深層次地探討,我們作為天主子女的召叫和使命。藉著聖洗,我們已被「選定了 ⋯ 作萬民的先知」(耶 1:5)。先知是什麼?簡單來說,先知是真理,宣講天主聖言的人。舊約中的先知展現出先知的工作充滿挑戰;每一個先知都需要勇氣和對天主完全信賴才可於世界洪流中,持之以恆,迎流而立。我們忠信的天主向我們保證「他們要攻擊你,卻不能得勝你,因為有我與你同在」(耶 1:19)。

我們作為先知這神聖召叫不但帶領我們明認生命的目標,更指引我們生命的方向。我們怎能知道自己的目標和方向;我們應隨哪一個韻律而起舞?的確,那脈搏—跳動的心和敎會精神—的動力是天主聖神。在《路加福音》耶穌因「聖神的德能」在祂長大的地方納匝肋開始了公開傳教工作(路 14:4)。天主聖神使耶穌得到力量,勇敢地宣佈依撒意亞的預言「上主的神臨於我身上,因為他給我傅了油,派遣我向貧窮人傳報喜訊 […] 向俘虜宣告釋放,向盲者宣告復明,使受壓迫者獲得自由」(路 4:18-19)。如果我們讓天主聖神充滿自己的心,以謙卑和信任去接受,那麼,在聆聽以後,這話一定會在自己身上應驗的(參 路 4:21)。

天主聖神看來、聽來、感覺上是怎樣的?像一口清新的空氣,我們只能從聖神的影響力中認識祂。聖保祿在《迦拉達書》𥚃解釋,「聖神的效果卻是:仁愛、喜樂、平安、忍耐、良善、溫和、忠信、柔和、節制」(迦 5:22)。所以,有仁愛的地方,便有聖神。聖保祿更提醒我們,沒有仁愛,我們的其他恩寵都沒有效果:「我若有先知之恩,又明白一切奧秘和各種知識;我若有全備的信心,甚至能移山;但我若沒有愛 […] 我什麼也不算 」(格前 13:2)。

最後,「我是誰?」這問題巧妙地綜合了前面三個問題。先知耶肋米亞提醒我們,我們是天主所愛和選定的:天主認識我們,形成了和聖化了我們。聖保祿在《格林多前書》𥚃強調,沒有仁愛,我們「什麼也不算」。最重要的是,我們被召喚為天主的先知;即使面對反對和困難的挑戰也要去為萬民傳報福音,自由和遠大的目光。我們是誰—我們的真正身份—反映着天主的面容。真的「我」是天主的旨意,為稱頌祂的仁愛,促使我們活在誠實和信任;希望和慈愛;正義和良善;真理與修和中。

引用作品:
Talaga, Tanya, CBC Massey Lecture – All Our Relations: Finding the Path Forward. Canada: House of Anansi Press Inc., 2018.

Posted: February 3, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

丙年常年期第四主日:喜訊的障礙 吳智勳神父

今日耶穌繼續講下去,祂所講的很特別,很有力,但亦很刺耳,令祂的同鄉無法接受,要拉祂出城推下山。可以說耶穌不受自己本鄉人的歡迎,究竟為什麼他們不接受耶穌的喜訊?

繼續閱讀 >