A Sword Will Pierce Your Own Soul (Luke 2:35)

The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph

Sirach 3:2-6,12-14

God sets a father in honor over his children; a mother’s authority he confirms over her sons. Whoever honors his father atones for sins, and preserves himself from them. When he prays, he is heard; he stores up riches who reveres his mother. Whoever honors his father is gladdened by children, and, when he prays, is heard. Whoever reveres his father will live a long life; he who obeys his father brings comfort to his mother. My son, take care of your father when he is old; grieve him not as long as he lives. Even if his mind fail, be considerate of him; revile him not all the days of his life; kindness to a father will not be forgotten, firmly planted against the debt of your sins —a house raised in justice to you.

Colossians 3:12-21

Brothers and sisters: Put on, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, heartfelt compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience, bearing with one another and forgiving one another, if one has a grievance against another; as the Lord has forgiven you, so must you also do. And over all these put on love, that is, the bond of perfection. And let the peace of Christ control your hearts, the peace into which you were also called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, as in all wisdom you teach and admonish one another, singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or in deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Wives, be subordinate to your husbands, as is proper in the Lord. Husbands, love your wives, and avoid any bitterness toward them. Children, obey your parents in everything, for this is pleasing to the Lord. Fathers, do not provoke your children, so they may not become discouraged.

Luke 2:41-52

Each year Jesus’ parents went to Jerusalem for the feast of Passover, and when he was twelve years old, they went up according to festival custom. After they had completed its days, as they were returning, the boy Jesus remained behind in Jerusalem, but his parents did not know it. Thinking that he was in the caravan, they journeyed for a day and looked for him among their relatives and acquaintances, but not finding him, they returned to Jerusalem to look for him. After three days they found him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions, and all who heard him were astounded at his understanding and his answers. When his parents saw him, they were astonished, and his mother said to him, “Son, why have you done this to us? Your father and I have been looking for you with great anxiety.” And he said to them, “Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” But they did not understand what he said to them. He went down with them and came to Nazareth, and was obedient to them; and his mother kept all these things in her heart. And Jesus advanced in wisdom and age and favor before God and man.

Conveniently located near the Galleria Termini, the Basilica of Saint Mary Major, built in the 5th C to commemorate the Council of Ephesus’ (431 AD) proclamation of Mary as the Mother of God, sat gracefully like an affable old lady, greeting every pilgrim who came east from Vatican City to admire her ancient and imperial Roman architecture, magnificent art works and mosaics, and rich collection of ancient burials (source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Maria_Maggiore#Architecture).

Visiting this largest Marian church in Rome was one of the highlights of our family’s pilgrimage to Rome in 2007. A bitter chill greeted us as we got off the bus at the Termini. Armed with Mediterranean humidity and swirling winds, the Roman winter had its way of eating into your bones to cause you great discomfort. Snow was falling – an unusual sight at this time of the year – but accumulation was negligible. Christmas was in the air everywhere we turned. After a short and brisk walk in the cold, our family arrived at the Basilica to celebrate the Feast of the Holy Family.

Fourteen years had passed us by since our family’s visit at Saint Mary Major. In between, we managed to return to Rome together as a family for one more visit in 2012, on the last leg of a cruise trip. Celebrating the Feast of the Holy Family this Sunday brings to mind once again our first experience of the “Eternal City”, especially our trip to Saint Mary Major as a family.

As parents, we owe it to our children to guide them to become the best persons that they can be. For the parents’ guidance to be effective in achieving its lofty goal, the children also owe it to their parents to respect and obey their instructions and orders. This reciprocal filial relationship, built on love, mutual understanding and trust, is crucial for establishing a loving and happy family. On this Feast of the Holy Family, the gospel reading might have left some people wondering if this foundational filial relationship was lacking in the Holy Family.

It’s hard to believe that people would doubt even the Holy Family! But their doubt is not without reason. They are puzzled by the behavior of the adolescent Jesus, which might be fitting for a self-seeking, freedom-craving teenage rebel, but not quite for the Son of God, who in his own teaching demands righteousness and perfection from all children of God because “your heavenly Father is perfect” (Mt. 5:48).

Obviously, this cannot be the case. If this accusation against the adolescent Jesus had been true, then he would have violated his own divine commandment, i.e., honor your father and your mother. What really happened is that Mary tells her son he should have stayed close to his father, Joseph; to which Jesus replies: “I must be in my Father’s house” (Luke 2:49). What Jesus is saying to his mother is that his Father is not Joseph. Like all fathers on earth, Joseph’s fatherhood is only a pointer, pointing us to God, our Heavenly Father. It is even more so for Jesus, who is God the Father’s only Son. Also, the Temple is the Father’s house, which is where Jesus has been the whole time when his parents went looking for him. In other words, what seems like Jesus’ filial disobedience is in fact his expression of a higher filial obedience to the Father.

The main message that Jesus wants us to learn from this story is that ultimately the human family is only a transient pointer, pointing us to the Family of God, which already is present in the Church. This is why the church faithful must love each other as brothers and sisters. Like all the good things in this world that God gives us, our family is important and necessary for our good, both physically and spiritually. But we must not allow ourselves to become attached to it, and make the mistake of seeing it as the be-all and end-all. Such a mistake will cause us to overlook the real reason why family exists in the first place, which is to point and bring us to the Family of God. This is why Jesus says, “For I have come to set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother…Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me” (Mt 10:35-37).

Let’s conclude this reflection with a few more words on Jesus’ mother, the person in the story who took the blunt of Jesus’ seemingly offensive behavior. From this story, we see one more reason why we should love the Blessed Virgin Mary and honor her as the model and exemplar – her strong faith. Imagine living with God day-in-and-day-out, doing what you can as His mother to help Him accomplish His divine plan, which is just too profound for you to fathom! Not only does it take a strong faith, the experience also can be very painful, as has become evident in this childhood story of Jesus. Now we can understand better the words of Simeon who, moved by the Spirit, told Mary “a sword will pierce your own soul” (Luke 2:35). Piercing indeed is the pain of not understanding your own child. But that was only one of many piercing pains she had to suffer in order to help him accomplish the Father’s plan of salvation.

Posted: December 26, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

“Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another” (Jn 13:34)
The love that Jesus refers to is the divine love for one another that is modeled on his own acts of charity and generosity on the Cross (Ref ICSB P191) Continue Reading >
Beyond Loneliness
Were you ever lonely as a child? If so, do you remember how often? A while back, I saw some students at our school waiting to be picked up by… Continue Reading >
We Are His people, the sheep of His Flock (Ps 100:3)
This week’s readings invite us to renew our confidence in the one true God, our Good Shepherd, Lord Jesus Christ, who remains faithful and steadfast throughout our pilgrimage on earth. Continue Reading >

要有一把利劍剌透你的心靈 (路 2:35)

聖家節

撒慕爾紀上 1:20-22,24-28

時候到了,亞納就懷了孕,生了一個兒子,給他起名叫撒慕爾,說:「因為他是我向上主求得的。」約過了一年,她的丈夫厄耳卡納和全家上史羅去,向上主奉獻年祭,並還所許的願。亞納卻沒有上去,因她對丈夫說:「等孩子斷了乳,我要帶他去,將他奉獻給上主,以後他要永遠住在那裡。」撒慕爾斷乳後,亞納便帶著小孩和一頭三歲的牛,一『厄法』麵和一皮囊酒,來到史羅上主的聖殿﹔孩子還很小。他們祭殺了牛以後,孩子的母親來到厄里面前,對他說:「我主,請聽!我主,就如你活著那樣真實,我就是曾在你旁邊祈求上主的那個婦人。那時,我為得到這孩子而祈禱;上主就賞賜了我所懇求的。所以,我現在把他獻於上主;他一生是屬於上主的。」亞納便把他留在上主那裡。

聖若望一書 3:1-2,21-24

親愛的諸位:請看:父賜給我們何等的愛情,使我們得稱為天主的子女,而且我們也真是如此。世界所以不認識我們,是因為不認識父。可愛的諸位,現在我們是天主的子女,但我們將來如何,還沒有顯明;可是,我們知道:一顯明了,我們必要相似他,因為我們要看見他實在怎樣。可愛的諸位,假使我們的心不責備我們,在天主前便可放心大膽;那麼我們無論求什麼,必由他獲得,因為我們遵守了他的命令,行了他所喜悅的事。天主的命令就是,叫我們信他的子耶穌基督的名字,並按照他給我們所出的命令,彼此相愛。那遵守天主命令的,就住在天主內,天主也住在這人內;我們所以知道天主住在我們內,就是藉他賜給我們的聖神。

路加福音 2:41-52

每年逾越節,耶穌的父母必往耶路撒冷去。耶穌到了十二歲,他們又照節日的慣例上去了。過完了節日,他們回去的時候,孩童耶穌卻留在耶路撒冷;他的父母並未發覺。他們只以為他在同行的人中間;走了一天的路程後,才在親戚和相識的人中尋找他。既找不著,便折回耶路撒冷找他。過了三天,就在聖殿裡找到了耶穌。他正坐在經師中,聆聽他們,也詢問他們。凡聽見他的人,對他的智慧和對答,都驚奇不止。他的父母一看見他,便大為驚異。耶穌的母親就向耶穌說:「孩子,你為什麼這樣對待我們?看,你的父親和我,一直痛苦的找你。」耶穌對他們說:「你們為什麼找我?你們不知道:我必須在我父親那裡嗎?」但是,他們不明白耶穌對他們所說的話。耶穌就同他們下去,來到納匝肋,屬他們管轄。他的母親把這一切默存在心中。耶穌在智慧和身量上,並在天主和人的恩愛上,漸漸增長。

位於 Galleria 車站不遠的聖母大殿,是於五世紀,為紀念厄弗所大公會議 (431 AD) 宣佈聖母為天主之母而建造的。這大殿優雅地坐落在這裡,有如一位和藹可親的老太太,迎接每一位從梵蒂岡朝東而來的朝聖者。他們慕名而來,是為了要欣賞她那古羅馬帝國式的建築,宏偉壯麗的藝術品,馬賽克壁畫及年代久遠的珍貴古代塚墓 (取材: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Maria_Maggiore#Architecture)。
參觀這羅馬最大的瑪利亞聖殿是我們全家在 2007 年的羅馬朝聖之旅的亮點之一。我們在車站下車時,寒意襲人,在地中海的濕度和旋轉不定的風中,羅馬的冬天冷得刺骨,令人非常不舒服。天在飄著雪 —這是此地不常見的景象 — 幸而積雪不多。我們所到的每一處,都瀰漫著聖誕氣氛。我們一家人在嚴寒下急步行了一個短程後,便抵達聖母大殿,去慶祝聖家節。
我們一家人往訪聖母大殿後,距離現在已事隔十四年。其間,我們全家於 2012 年, 在遊輪之旅的的最後一程,得以重回羅馬。這個主日慶祝聖家節,使我想起我們第一次在「永恆之城」的經歷,特別是我們一家往聖母大殿之旅。
為人父母,我們有責任引導自己的子女,成為他們能做到的最好的自己。父母的引導要有效地達到這崇高的目標,子女對父母也有責任,要尊重和服從父母的指示和命令。父母子女之間,建基於愛、互相理解和信任的相互孝愛關係,為建立一個愛和幸福的家庭,至為重要。但聖家節的福音讀經,也許會令一些人懷疑,聖家是否欠缺了父母子女之間的基本孝愛關係呢?
我們很難相信有人會懷疑聖家!但他們的懷疑也不無理由。他們對少年耶穌的行為感到困惑,祂的行為似乎是屬於一個追求自我、渴望自由的反叛少年,而不是天主子的應有表現,況且在耶穌自己的教導中,祂要求所有天主的子女,要有義德和成全,因為「你們的天父是成全的」(瑪 5:48)。
明顯地,事情並非如此。若對少年耶穌的指控屬實的話,那麽祂便違反了自己的神聖誡命— 孝敬父母。實情是,瑪利亞告訴她的兒子,衪應該緊隨父親 — 若瑟;而耶穌則回應她説:「我必須在我父親那裏」(路 2:49)。耶穌其實是向母親說,祂的父親不是若瑟。像所有地上的父親 — 若瑟的父職,只是一個指標,把我們指向天主,我們天上的父親。對於耶穌 — 聖父唯一的聖子 — 便更該如此。況且,聖殿是天父的殿宇,當耶穌的父母在尋找祂時,祂一直就在那裡。換句話說,耶穌在孝愛上看似不服從,實際上這是他對聖父更高層次的孝順服從。
從這個故事,耶穌要我們學習的主要訊息是:人世間的家庭只是一個短暫的指標,把我們指向天主的家庭,這家庭已存在於教會內。這就是為什麼教友們必須像兄弟姊妹般彼此相愛。正如天主賜給我們在世間的所有美好事物一樣,家庭為我們身體和心靈上的健康至為重要和必要。但我們不可以讓自己依附家庭,錯誤地將家庭視為一切和最終的目的。這樣的錯誤會讓我們忽略了家庭存在的真正原因,就是為我們指向,並帶領我們到天主的家庭。這就是為什麼耶穌說:「因為我來,是為叫人脫離自己的父親,女兒脫離自己的母親… 誰愛父親或母親超過我,不配是我的;誰愛兒子或女兒超過我,不配是我的」(瑪 10:35-37)。
在這故事中,耶穌的母親首當其衝地承受了祂看似冒犯的行為,就讓我們用她作為結束這篇反思的談論。我們從這個故事看到更多理由要敬愛童貞聖母瑪利亞,並尊崇她為模範和榜樣 — 就是她堅強的信德。試想作為天主的母親,日復一日地與祂共住一起,竭盡你所能去協助祂完成那高深莫測的天主計劃!這不只需要堅強的信德,這經歷本身也可能是非常痛苦的,這一點在這個耶穌童年的故事中,是很明顯的。如今,我們可以更了解西默盎在聖神推動下,向瑪利亞所說的「要有一把利劍剌透你的心靈」(路 2:35)。不明白自己的孩子,確實是刺透心靈之痛。但為了協助耶穌完成聖父的救世計劃,這只是瑪利亞要忍受的其中一個刺心之痛。

Posted: December 26, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

父母最了解 Fr. Justin Huang

各位聖誕快樂!在這個聖家的瞻禮日,讓我們來看看若瑟和瑪利亞的養育方式,並將其與熱門動畫片中父母的形象進行比較。史蒂文·格雷達納斯執事(Steven Greydanus)是一位天主教影評人,也是奧斯卡的投票委員,他寫過幾篇文章,主題是「少年最了解junior-knows-best」

繼續閱讀 >