Parents Know Best

The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph

Sirach 3:2-6,12-14

God sets a father in honor over his children; a mother’s authority he confirms over her sons. Whoever honors his father atones for sins, and preserves himself from them. When he prays, he is heard; he stores up riches who reveres his mother. Whoever honors his father is gladdened by children, and, when he prays, is heard. Whoever reveres his father will live a long life; he who obeys his father brings comfort to his mother. My son, take care of your father when he is old; grieve him not as long as he lives. Even if his mind fail, be considerate of him; revile him not all the days of his life; kindness to a father will not be forgotten, firmly planted against the debt of your sins —a house raised in justice to you.

Colossians 3:12-21

Brothers and sisters: Put on, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, heartfelt compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience, bearing with one another and forgiving one another, if one has a grievance against another; as the Lord has forgiven you, so must you also do. And over all these put on love, that is, the bond of perfection. And let the peace of Christ control your hearts, the peace into which you were also called in one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, as in all wisdom you teach and admonish one another, singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or in deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Wives, be subordinate to your husbands, as is proper in the Lord. Husbands, love your wives, and avoid any bitterness toward them. Children, obey your parents in everything, for this is pleasing to the Lord. Fathers, do not provoke your children, so they may not become discouraged.

Luke 2:41-52

Each year Jesus’ parents went to Jerusalem for the feast of Passover, and when he was twelve years old, they went up according to festival custom. After they had completed its days, as they were returning, the boy Jesus remained behind in Jerusalem, but his parents did not know it. Thinking that he was in the caravan, they journeyed for a day and looked for him among their relatives and acquaintances, but not finding him, they returned to Jerusalem to look for him. After three days they found him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions, and all who heard him were astounded at his understanding and his answers. When his parents saw him, they were astonished, and his mother said to him, “Son, why have you done this to us? Your father and I have been looking for you with great anxiety.” And he said to them, “Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” But they did not understand what he said to them. He went down with them and came to Nazareth, and was obedient to them; and his mother kept all these things in her heart. And Jesus advanced in wisdom and age and favor before God and man.

A/N: Merry Christmas, everyone! On this Feast of the Holy Family, let’s look at the parenting of Joseph and Mary, and compare it to how parents are portrayed in popular animated films. Deacon Steven Greydanus is a Catholic film critic and a voting member for the Oscars, and he’s written a few articles on the theme of ‘Junior Knows Best’ (http://decentfilms.com/articles/junior-knows-best ).
• In films like Moana, How to Train Your Dragon, The Little Mermaid, Madagascar 2, Ratatouille, Hotel Transylvania, Kung Fu Panda, and Frozen, the parents range from clueless to authoritarian. Moana’s father says she can’t go out to sea, but she really wants to, and, in the end, she’s vindicated. The father is proven wrong, and had to learn from the child.
• Deacon Steven isn’t saying these films are all bad (He actually enjoys many of them), but he’s pointing out a metanarrative in our culture: Many of our films have negative portrayals of parents, who have no wisdom, and are not worthy of emulation. There are better portrayals in films like Finding Nemo, Inside Out, and The Incredibles, where we see human figures with weaknesses, but are loving, responsible leaders.
S: The Gospel begins, “Every year the parents of Jesus went to Jerusalem for the festival of the Passover. And when he was twelve years old, they went up as usual for the festival” (Lk 2:). We see here that our Mother Mary and St. Joseph are responsible, and faithful to what the Torah commanded: That Jewish adults go to the city of Jerusalem three times a year.
• “When the festival was ended and they started to return, the boy Jesus stayed behind in Jerusalem, but his parents did not know it. Assuming that he was in the group of travelers, they went a day’s journey” (2:). I used to think this was parental negligence: How could parents not know where their son is? But, given the time in history, the number and trustworthiness of people they were with, it was like having your children with close family friends. Pope Benedict XVI writes, “It illustrates very beautifully that in the holy family, freedom and obedience were combined in a healthy manner. The twelve-year-old was free to spend time with friends and children of his own age” (Jesus of Nazareth: The Infancy Narratives, 122).
o It’s fair to ask why Jesus didn’t inform His parents. There’s no clear answer. We can speculate that perhaps He felt a call from His heavenly Father while away from his parents, or perhaps He knew that His parents (and us) would learn a great lesson from this.
o Also, this isn’t another story of ‘Junior Knows Best,’ for three reasons: 1) Jesus’ parents aren’t terrible; 2) Jesus doesn’t just go off in some hope of self-expression or defiance, but in obedience to His heavenly Father; 3) And at the end of today’s Gospel, He’s still a good son. The text says, “Then he went down with them and came to Nazareth, and was obedient to them” (2:).
At the end of a two-day search, Jesus is found in the Temple, in the midst of teachers, listening to them and asking questions. “When his parents saw this they were astonished; and his mother said to him, ‘Child, why have you treated us like this? Look, your father and I have been searching for you in great anxiety” (2:). Even Mary had to grow in understanding, and that’s good news for us parents, because we’re also growing, too.
• Jesus answers, “Why were you searching for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” Jesus is telling them that His true Father is God, and so we’re reminded that we all must follow God’s will, and, when there’s a conflict between God’s will and our parents’, we must follow God. That’s why, whenever the word ‘must’ is used in the Gospels, it’s done so in relation to Jesus’ carrying out the Father’s will, as in when He has to submit to His death (Jesus of Nazareth, 124).
• “His mother treasured all these things in her heart” (2:). This is very hopeful for us parents, because we learn over time.
A: So, what is the Father asking of us? That parents act like parents, that we respect our parents, and that we look forward to becoming parents.
• And parents should always affirm the virtue of their children. At the beginning of December, I wrote to our school parents: “Today, I noticed how the whole student body was reverent during the entire Mass, and has been for the past four months, something that rarely happens! Usually, students start well in September, and then lose focus in the next few months. Not this group. Also, the way I saw children receiving the Eucharist was edifying and impressive, which is perhaps the most important sign of spiritual growth. Finally, our new altar servers were incredible. I told them afterwards that they had the poise of Gr. 11 servers. We praise God, first of all, but the students should also feel good about what they’ve done, because they’ve earned, I would think, the honour of being the most consistently reverent school body I’ve seen in 7 years, and perhaps my whole priesthood. I must thank you, parents, as a whole, because you are the primary educators, and your faith in Jesus, your virtue, and strong parenting are paying off.” I thought I’d share this with our whole parish family, because this is great news! Wow! We are growing!
And, as a gift to our parents, we have some free copies of the book that we covered during Advent, Discernment of Spirits in Marriage. I hope this will continue to help you grow! But there’s a catch: You can only take a copy if you promise to read the six chapters we covered during Advent: 4-6, 8-9, and 14, that is, what spiritual desolation is, what to change and what not to, how we need to be patient, why God allows desolation, and finally, how to strengthen our weaknesses. If you promise you’ll read those, then the book’s yours! It’s also one copy per couple. Thanks!
V: Pay attention to the stories you hear about parents, especially in films and social media. Watch out for negative portrayals and the misleading idea that junior knows best. While sometimes they do, most of the time, they don’t. God made us adults the parents! We still need to grow, but our duty is to guide our children with wisdom and grace, so that they become like Jesus.

Posted: December 26, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another” (Jn 13:34)
The love that Jesus refers to is the divine love for one another that is modeled on his own acts of charity and generosity on the Cross (Ref ICSB P191) Continue Reading >
Beyond Loneliness
Were you ever lonely as a child? If so, do you remember how often? A while back, I saw some students at our school waiting to be picked up by… Continue Reading >
We Are His people, the sheep of His Flock (Ps 100:3)
This week’s readings invite us to renew our confidence in the one true God, our Good Shepherd, Lord Jesus Christ, who remains faithful and steadfast throughout our pilgrimage on earth. Continue Reading >

父母最了解

聖家節

撒慕爾紀上 1:20-22,24-28

時候到了,亞納就懷了孕,生了一個兒子,給他起名叫撒慕爾,說:「因為他是我向上主求得的。」約過了一年,她的丈夫厄耳卡納和全家上史羅去,向上主奉獻年祭,並還所許的願。亞納卻沒有上去,因她對丈夫說:「等孩子斷了乳,我要帶他去,將他奉獻給上主,以後他要永遠住在那裡。」撒慕爾斷乳後,亞納便帶著小孩和一頭三歲的牛,一『厄法』麵和一皮囊酒,來到史羅上主的聖殿﹔孩子還很小。他們祭殺了牛以後,孩子的母親來到厄里面前,對他說:「我主,請聽!我主,就如你活著那樣真實,我就是曾在你旁邊祈求上主的那個婦人。那時,我為得到這孩子而祈禱;上主就賞賜了我所懇求的。所以,我現在把他獻於上主;他一生是屬於上主的。」亞納便把他留在上主那裡。

聖若望一書 3:1-2,21-24

親愛的諸位:請看:父賜給我們何等的愛情,使我們得稱為天主的子女,而且我們也真是如此。世界所以不認識我們,是因為不認識父。可愛的諸位,現在我們是天主的子女,但我們將來如何,還沒有顯明;可是,我們知道:一顯明了,我們必要相似他,因為我們要看見他實在怎樣。可愛的諸位,假使我們的心不責備我們,在天主前便可放心大膽;那麼我們無論求什麼,必由他獲得,因為我們遵守了他的命令,行了他所喜悅的事。天主的命令就是,叫我們信他的子耶穌基督的名字,並按照他給我們所出的命令,彼此相愛。那遵守天主命令的,就住在天主內,天主也住在這人內;我們所以知道天主住在我們內,就是藉他賜給我們的聖神。

路加福音 2:41-52

每年逾越節,耶穌的父母必往耶路撒冷去。耶穌到了十二歲,他們又照節日的慣例上去了。過完了節日,他們回去的時候,孩童耶穌卻留在耶路撒冷;他的父母並未發覺。他們只以為他在同行的人中間;走了一天的路程後,才在親戚和相識的人中尋找他。既找不著,便折回耶路撒冷找他。過了三天,就在聖殿裡找到了耶穌。他正坐在經師中,聆聽他們,也詢問他們。凡聽見他的人,對他的智慧和對答,都驚奇不止。他的父母一看見他,便大為驚異。耶穌的母親就向耶穌說:「孩子,你為什麼這樣對待我們?看,你的父親和我,一直痛苦的找你。」耶穌對他們說:「你們為什麼找我?你們不知道:我必須在我父親那裡嗎?」但是,他們不明白耶穌對他們所說的話。耶穌就同他們下去,來到納匝肋,屬他們管轄。他的母親把這一切默存在心中。耶穌在智慧和身量上,並在天主和人的恩愛上,漸漸增長。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
各位聖誕快樂!在這個聖家的瞻禮日,讓我們來看看若瑟和瑪利亞的養育方式,並將其與熱門動畫片中父母的形象進行比較。史蒂文·格雷達納斯執事(Steven Greydanus)是一位天主教影評人,也是奧斯卡的投票委員,他寫過幾篇文章,主題是「少年最了解junior-knows-best」(http://decentfilms.com/articles/junior-knows-best)。
在《莫阿娜》(Moana)、《馴龍高手》(How to Train Your Dragon)、《小美人魚》(The Little Mermaid)、《馬達加斯加2》(Madagascar 2)、《料理鼠王》( Ratatouille)、《特蘭西瓦尼亞酒店》(Hotel Transylvania)、《功夫熊貓》(Kung Fu Panda) 和《冰雪奇緣》(Frozen )等電影中,父母們有的無知,有的專制。莫阿娜的父親說她不能出海,但她真的很想出海,最後,證明她是對的,父親是錯的,父親要向孩子學習。
史蒂文執事(Deacon Steven)並不是說這些電影都是不好的(他實際上很喜歡其中的許多電影),但他指出了我們文化中的一個元敘述:我們的許多電影都對父母進行了負面刻畫,他們沒有智慧,不值得效仿。在電影《海底總動員》(Finding Nemo)、《頭腦特工隊》(Inside Out)和《超人特工隊》(The Incredible)中有更好的刻畫,在這些電影中,這些人物都有弱點但他們都是有愛和負責任的領導者。
福音開篇說:「耶穌的父母每年逾越節往耶路撒冷去。他到了十二歲時,他們又照節日的慣例上去了。」(路加福音2:41-42)。我們在這裡看到,我們的聖母瑪利亞和聖若瑟是負責任的,並忠於托拉Torah 的誡命:猶太成年人每年去耶路撒冷三次。
「過完節日,他們回去的時候,孩童耶穌卻留在耶路撒冷,他的父母並未發覺。假設他是旅途者中的一員,他們走了一天的路程。」我曾經認為這是父母的疏忽:父母怎麼會不知道自己的兒子在哪裡呢?但是,考慮到這是歷史上的時間,和他們在一起的人的數量和彼此的信任程度,這就像是你的孩子和親密的家人朋友在一起。教宗本篤十六世寫道:「這很好地說明了在聖家庭裡,自由和順從以一種健康的方式結合在一起。12歲的孩子可以自由地與同齡的朋友和孩子在一起。」(Jesus of Nazareth: The Infancy Narratives, 122).
問耶穌為什麼不事先告訴他的父母是公平的。沒有明確的答案。我們可以推測,也許他在離開父母的時候感受到了天父的召喚,或者他知道他的父母(和我們)會從這件事中學到很棒的一課。
此外,這不是「少年最了解junior-knows-best」的另一個故事,原因有三:1)耶穌的父母並不差勁;2)耶穌不是為了希望表現自我或叛逆,而是順服他的天父;3)在今天的福音結束時,他仍然是一個好兒子。經上說,「他就同他們下去,來到納匝肋,屬他們管轄。」(2:51)。
「過了三天,才在聖殿裡找到了他。他坐在經師中,聆聽他們,也詢問他們。他們一看見他,便大為驚異。他的母親就問他說:『孩子、你為甚麽這樣對待我們?看,你的父親和我,一直痛苦地找你』」(2:46-48)。即使是瑪利亞也必須在理解上有所成長,這對我們父母來說是個好消息,因為我們也在成長。
耶穌對他們說:「你們為什麼尋找我?你們不知道我必須在我父親那裡嗎?」。耶穌告訴他們,他的真正父親是天主,所以提醒我們,我們都必須遵從天主的旨意,當神的旨意與我們父母的旨意發生衝突時,我們必須跟隨天主。這就是為什麼,每當福音書中使用「必須」]這個詞時,它都是與耶穌「遵從天主的旨意」有關的,就像當他決意服從於他的死亡那樣(Jesus of Nazareth, 124)。
「他的母親把這一切默存在心中。」(2:51)。這對我們父母來說是非常有希望的,因為我們會隨著時間的推移而學習。
那麼,天父對我們的要求是什麼呢?父母的行為就像父母,我們尊重父母,我們期待成為父母。
父母應該始終肯定孩子的美德。十二月初,我寫信給我們學校的家長:「今天,我注意到在整個彌撒過程中,學生們都很虔誠,而且在過去的四個月裡,這是很少發生的事情!通常情況下,學生們在9月份開課良好,然後在接下來的幾個月裡就會失去專注。這一批孩子不是這樣。此外,孩子們領聖體時的方式在我看來是很有啟發性,而且令人印象深刻的,這可能是他們靈性成長最重要的標誌。最後,我們的新輔祭令人刮目相看。事後我告訴他們,他們有十一年級輔祭般的表現。首先,我們讚美天主,但學生們也應該對他們的工作感到高興,因為我認為,他們贏得了7年來,也許是我身為神父以來見過的最虔誠的學校團體的榮譽。我必須感謝家長們,作為一個整體,因為你們是主要的教育者,你們對耶穌的信仰、你們的美德和強有力的育兒方式正在得到回報。」我想我應該把這件事告訴我們整個堂區家庭,因為這是個好消息!我們在成長!
還有,我們有一些免費的書,作為送給父母的禮物 ,這本書是我們在耶穌將臨期讀過的,「婚姻中的精神辨識Discernment of Spirits in Marriage」。我希望這將繼續幫助你們成長!但有一個條件:如果你承諾閱讀我們在將臨期所講的六章,4-6、8-9和14章 你才能拿一本,也就是什麼是「神枯spiritual desolation」,什麼是應該改變的,什麼不應該改變,我們如何需要耐心,為什麼天主允許神枯,最後是如何加強我們的弱點。如果你保證會讀這些書,那這本書就是你的了!每對夫婦一本。謝謝!。
你要注意你聽到的關於父母的故事,特別是在電影和社交媒體上。當心負面的描述以及小孩子最了解這種具有誤導性的觀點。雖然有時他們了解,但大多數情況下,他們並不了解。天主讓我們成年人為人父母!我們仍然需要成長,但我們的職責是用智慧和恩典引導我們的孩子,讓他們肖似耶穌。

Posted: December 26, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 聖家節:聖家的啟示 吳智勳神父

聖家節使人聯想到家庭。我們每一個人都有自己的家,在認識的親友中,有些家庭是幸福的,有些是破碎傷心的,現今的社會更有很多單親的家庭。在此聖家節日,我們可能有一種感嘆:要是每一個家都像聖家一樣多好呢!的確,不少教友在家中有聖家像,願意效法聖家,並求聖家祝福。

繼續閱讀 >
要有一把利劍剌透你的心靈 (路 2:35) Edmond Lo

不明白自己的孩子,確實是刺透心靈之痛。但為協助耶穌完成聖父的救世計劃,這只是瑪利亞要忍受的其中一個刺心之痛。

繼續閱讀 >