Beyond Loneliness


A/N: Were you ever lonely as a child? If so, do you remember how often? A while back, I saw some students at our school waiting to be picked up by their parents; they were the last ones to be picked up, and there were very few of them. It reminded me of the times when I was at school and didn’t have many friends. And then I remember that I had very few birthday parties to go to, and was bored and empty during the summer. I felt so left out.
• Here’s a chart from the American National Family Life Survey showing how childhood loneliness is increasing greatly, and that it’s a strong predictor for adult loneliness (https://ifstudies.org/blog/growing-up-lonely-generation-z). Please identify to what generation you belong, and roughly how often you felt lonely, and then notice the increase in succeeding generations.
S: We’re obviously continuing with our theme of relationships, and we see different kinds of community in the Readings today. 1) We see St. Paul and St. Barnabas living their mission of evangelization together: They journey by boat from Perga to Antioch, they go to the synagogue together, preach together, and, the next day, are driven out of the town together.
• It’s bizarre that most of us do our spiritual journey individually. But this isn’t what Jesus wants. Jesus founded the Catholic Church, which is a community of disciples. He sent his disciples in pairs (Lk 10:1), and prayed that we be one (Jn 17:21).
There are four reasons why we need a local church family, and why, generally speaking, we shouldn’t parish hop (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 132-135). It’s good when we go to another parish in order to participate at Mass! But we should prioritize one community.
1) A church family identifies you as a genuine believer. Jesus said, “By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you have loose associations with one another.” Sorry, wrong translation. “… if you have love for one another.” What kind of love for one another is Jesus talking about? Do you actually think the world looks at our parish and says, “Wow! You must be Christian, by the way you love each other!”? But when they see committed love, then they will know.
• 2) The Body of Christ needs you. Because each person has a gift from God to share, we have a responsibility to use it for others in the body. The Catholic Church is a real family, a dysfunctional one, but still a family, and we have a responsibility to our family.
o I found it fascinating to learn that the New Testament uses the phrase ‘each other’ over 50 times! E.g. Love each other, pray for each other, encourage each other, admonish each other, etc. And this doesn’t mean ‘love all people in the world.’ It’s referring to Christians making sure they love each other.
• 3) Together, we share in Christ’s mission. When Jesus was on earth, God worked through Jesus’ physical body. Now He works through Jesus’ mystical body, that is, us. Jesus’ mission to the world happens through us as a community.
o Do you remember the Dead Sea analogy (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/11/17/a-call-to-service/)? The Dead Sea has no life in it because water only goes in but never out. Spiritually, if we only receive and never give, we die.
• 4) A church family keeps you from backsliding. St. Benedict, in his rule, says there are four types of monks and the best are the Cenobites, who live in community. Yet even better are hermits, who have built up strength in a community and are now ready for individual combat with the devil (http://archive.osb.org/rb/text/rbejms1.html#1). Very few of us are strong enough to fight the devil on our own. We need a community to hold us accountable. And when we fall, we need people to pick us up.
A: So, how can we slowly strengthen our relationships? All of our ministries are partly there so that we can experience healthy relationships.
• Alpha is for everyone, and it’s a place of welcoming, where no one is judged. And there’s no commitment, because it’s the beginning of a spiritual journey.
• Faith Studies has a six to ten-week commitment, so that people can share in a deeper way.
• And Ricky has now started four Life Groups, which are all about a long-term commitment to spiritual relationships. Even if there’s no activity to be done, the group still meets every two weeks to pray together and share. To join, one has to be a disciple, that is, one has consciously made Jesus the centre of one’s life, because, at this level, the sharing and accountability are very deep.
I hope that all people can have beautiful relationships through these groups, but our mission is much deeper. We’re not a community centre. Our vision is to have a relationship with Jesus, and share Him with everyone! Alpha’s specific gift is that it allows us to start to have this relationship, where we can ask questions about it, and express our doubts and desires. Faith Study’s gift is helping us put Jesus at the centre of our life, and then building this relationship.
In the Second Reading, it says, “After this I, John, looked, and there was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb” (Rev 7:9). St. John is having a vision of heaven, and sees all the saints praising Jesus as a community. This is important because people ask if they can see their family and friends in heaven. The answer is yes.
• This is great news, but it leads to important questions: What if we couldn’t see other people in heaven? Would we still be lonely? What if we were only with God? Would we then be unsatisfied? It’s understandable that, when we’re young, we’re worried about being alone in heaven. But, as we mature, we should get to a point where God satisfies us, where we never feel lonely because He’s with us.
V: 3) Jesus says today, “The Father and I are one” (Jn 10:30). This is the perfect community, that of the Trinity. All that the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit have, They give to each other. That’s why God is never lonely, because perfection itself is loving perfectly. This is also why Jesus said to His apostles, the night before He died, “The hour is coming, indeed it has come, when you will be scattered, every man to his home, and will leave me alone; yet I am not alone, for the Father is with me” (Jn 16:32).
• Even if we have a good community, it’s possible that we’ll still feel moments of loneliness because we desire a deep connection that only Jesus can fill. And eventually, our family and friends will die. But we’ll never feel lonely if we have the same closeness that Jesus has with the Father.
o When you go through moments of loneliness, go to the chapel, where Jesus is waiting. If you want to come in the evening, you can get the code to the side door from the Welcome Booth.
For someone who was, at times, very lonely as a child and needed other people to fill the hole in my heart, it’s a miracle that I feel lonely maybe once a year. And those few times I do, I go to adoration and, within an hour or two, I feel so close to Jesus and He fills my heart to the point of overflowing, where I’m so happy.
• Jesus wants us to have deep relationships with each other, and, most of all, with Him.

Source: Beyond Loneliness

Posted:

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Laborers
Are we ready to accept the Lord’s invitation to exercise the lay apostolate and our common priesthood to become God’s “laborers” in our own different ways, each according to the… Continue Reading >
“Run so as to win”
Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Continue Reading >
This Is My Body … This Is My Blood
When we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we unite ourselves to Christ and bear witness to the greatest love of all. Continue Reading >

非常孤獨


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
你小時候有沒有孤獨過?如果有,你還記得多久一次嗎?前段時間,我看到一些學生在學校等候家長來接他們回家,那是最後為數不多的幾個。這讓我想起了我上學的時候,當年我沒有很多朋友。然後我想起來,我幾乎沒有參加過別人的生日聚會,整個夏天我都感到無聊和空虛。我覺得自己備受冷落。
這是一張來自美國國家家庭生活調查的圖表,圖表顯示,童年的孤獨感正在大幅度地增加,而且它強有力地預示了成人的孤獨感(https://ifstudies.org/blog/growing-up-lonely-generation-z)。
請確定你所屬的年代,以及你感到孤獨的大致頻率,你隨之會注意到孤獨感在接下來幾代人中逐漸增加。
顯然我們還在談論人際關係這一主題,我們在今天的經文中看到了不同類型的社區。 1)我們看到聖保祿和聖巴爾納伯一起執行他們的傳道使命:他們乘船從佩爾加( Perga )到安提約基雅(Antioch),他們一起去猶太教堂,一起傳道,第二天,他們一起被趕出城。
奇怪的是,我們中的大多數人都是單獨進行神修之旅的。但這不是耶穌想要的。耶穌創立了天主教會,這是一個門徒社區。他打發門徒兩人一組出去福傳(路10:1),祈求我們成為一體(若17:21)。我們需要一個本堂教會家庭的原因有四個,而一般而言,我們不應該穿梭在各個堂區之間(Rick Warren,The Purpose Driven Life,132-135)。為了參加彌撒,我們去另一個堂區是好的!但我們應該優先考慮只去一個堂區。
1)教會家庭認為你是一個真正的信徒。耶穌說:「你們若彼此交往鬆散,眾人就知道你們是我的門徒了。
對不起,翻譯錯誤。 「…。如果你們彼此相愛的話…..」耶穌所說的彼此之間的愛是什麼?你真的以為全世界看著我們的堂區就會說:「哇!從你們彼此相愛的方式來看,你們一定是基督徒!」?但當他們看到承諾的愛時,他們就會知道。
2)基督的奧體需要你。因為每個人都有來自天主的恩寵可分享,我們有責任為奧體中的其他人使用我們的恩寵。天主教會是一個真正的家庭,雖然問題多多,但仍然是一個家庭,我們對我們的家庭負有責任。
我發現新約聖經中「彼此」這個短語用了50多次,我覺得很有趣!例如,「彼此相愛,「為彼此祈禱」,「相互鼓勵」,「相互告誡」等等。這並不意味著愛世界上所有的人。它指的是基督徒應確保彼此相愛。
3)在一起,我們分享基督的使命。當耶穌在世上時,天主通過耶穌的肉身工作。現在祂通過耶穌奧體工作,也就是我們。耶穌在世界上的使命是通過我們作為一個團體發生的。
你還記得死海的比喻嗎? (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/11/17/a-call-to-service/)?死海裡沒有生命,因為水只進不出。在神修上,如果我們只接受而不給予,我們就會死亡。
4)一個教會家庭會讓你不會神修倒退。聖本篤 St. Benedict在他的法則中說,有四種類型的僧侶,其中最好的是Cenobite,他們生活在團體中。然而,更好的是隱士hermits,他們在團體中建立了力量,現在準備好與魔鬼(http://archive.osb.org/rb/text/rbejms1.html#1).進行單獨戰鬥。我們中很少有人足夠強大,能夠獨自與魔鬼作戰。我們需要一個團體來監督我們負責任。當我們跌倒時,我們需要有人扶起我們。
那麼,我們如何才能慢慢加強我們的關係呢?我們所有的事工在一定程度上都在那裡,這樣我們就可以體驗健康的關係。
「啟發( Alpha)適合每個人,它是一個熱情歡迎人的地方,在這裡沒有人會受到評判。沒有承諾,因為這是精神之旅的開始。「信仰研究(Faith Study))需參與六到十週,這樣人們就可以更深入地分享。
里奇(Ricky)現在組成了四個生活小組(Life Groups),它們都是關於對神修關係的長期承諾。即使沒有活動可做,這個團體仍然每兩週聚會一次,一起祈禱和分享。加入的條件是,這個人必須是一個門徒,也就是說,這個人已經有意識地把耶穌作為自己生活的中心,因為在這個層面上,分享和責任是非常深的。
我希望所有的人都能通過這些群體擁有美好的關係,但我們的使命要深得多。我們不是社區活動中心(CommunityCenter)。我們的願景是與耶穌建立關係,並與每一個人分享祂! 「啟發( Alpha)」的特殊恩典是,它讓我們開始建立這種關係,在這種關係中,我們可以提出問題,表達我們的疑問和願望。信仰學習的恩典是幫助我們把耶穌放在我們生活的中心,然後與祂建立這種關係。
第二讀經中說:「在這事以後,我看見有一大夥群眾,沒有人能夠數清,是來自各邦國,各支派,各民族,各異語的,他們都站在寶座和羔羊面前。」(默7:9)。聖若望有一個天堂的異象,他看到所有的聖人作為一個團體一起讚美耶穌。這一點很重要,因為人們問他們是否能在天堂見到他們的家人和朋友。答案是肯定的。
這是個好消息,但它引出了一些重要的問題:如果我們在天堂看不到其他人怎麼辦?我們還會感到孤獨嗎?如果我們只和天主在一起會怎樣?我們會不會不滿意呢?這是可以理解的,當我們年輕的時候,我們擔心一個人在天堂。但是,隨著我們的成熟,我們應該達到天主能滿足我們的程度,在那裡我們永遠不會因為祂與我們在一起而感到孤獨。
3)耶穌今天說:「我與父是一體。」(若10:30)。這是一個完美的團體,三位一體的團體。聖父、聖子和聖神所擁有的一切,都是彼此給予的。這就是為什麼天主從不孤獨,因為完美本身就是完美的愛。這也是為什麼耶穌在祂死的前一晚對祂的門徒說:「時辰到了,且已來到,你們要被驅散,個人歸於個人的地方去,撒下我獨自一個其實我並不是獨自一個,因為有父與我同在。」(若16:32)
即使我們有一個良好的團體,我們仍有可能感到孤獨的時刻,因為我們渴望一種只有耶穌才能填補的深層次聯繫。最終,我們的家人和朋友都會死去。但如果我們像耶穌與天父一樣親近,我們就永遠不會感到孤獨。
當你經歷孤獨的時刻時,去禮聖體小堂,耶穌在那裡等你。如果你想晚上來,你可以到歡迎台取得進入側門的密碼。
對於一個小時候有時非常孤獨,曾經需要別人來填補內心的空洞的我來說,真是一個奇蹟,因為我現在一年中可能只有一次感到孤獨。那幾次孤獨襲來時,我去朝拜了聖體,在一兩個小時內,我感覺到與耶穌如此接近,祂填滿了我的心,我在那裡感到如此幸福。
耶穌希望我們彼此之間有深厚的關係,最重要的是,與祂保持深厚的關係。

資料來源:Beyond Loneliness

Posted: May 8, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

「愛」是生命延續的根源
愛不是內向的,不是為自己而是為別人的,即使愛自己也是為了別人... 繼續閱讀 >
什麼是真正的平安?
耶穌有平安因為祂擁有平安之源。耶穌能賜平安,因為祂是和平之王... 繼續閱讀 >
丙年(路加) 復活期第五主日:新天新地
若望福音敘述在最後晚餐中,耶穌告訴門徒祂會去一個地方,這地方... 繼續閱讀 >