Healing Through Others


A/N: Imagine if God told us that He would heal one person in our lives, and that we get to choose whom. If we could choose one person to receive the healing of God, who would it be? It could be ourselves. And how would we help them? Free them of some debilitating pain, restore their mental health, give peace from an abusive incident, or encourage them to come back to Confession and Mass? Take ten seconds to think.
• Once we chosen, imagine if God then says, “I will give them healing by you praying over them and talking to them about my Son, Jesus,” or, “Now you have to go to the doctor,” or “Now stop nagging them to come to Mass and invite them to Alpha.”
S: God typically heals people through other people—what we call in theology: secondary causes. When God heals directly, He’s the primary cause. But when He heals through other people, medicine, etc., He’s using secondary causes. In the First Reading, there’s a famous verse: “They even carried out the sick into the streets, and laid them on cots and mats, in order that Peter’s shadow might fall on some of them as he came by” (Acts 5:15). The idea that St. Peter’s shadow might cure people is remarkable, and this example, along with other similar examples in Acts (), is used as part of the explanation as to why Catholics use things like holy water, candles, relics, etc. to bless people.
• So, God the Father wants to heal us and those we love through secondary causes. Why? Why not just do it directly? Three reasons: 1) It’s to remind us and others that we’re interdependent. You are not God and you need others. 2) It makes us humbler. We all want quick fixes, but many of us resist taking the time to go to a doctor or counsellor, because we’re proud. 3) Healing through secondary causes helps people become like God. He wants people to participate in His healing! There are people in your life who want to help us, but sometimes we stop them.
• Therefore, I believe that there are certain people the Father wants to heal but won’t… unless we go through other people. Maybe the plan for our healing is that we ask someone for help.
There are three other points we want to keep in mind: 1) Courage: “Many signs and wonders were done among the people through the apostles. And the believers were all together in Solomon’s Portico. None
of the rest dared to join them, but the people held them in high esteem” (Acts 5:12-13). Healing requires courage. The apostles were in the public preaching Jesus and not ashamed of being known as His followers (https://blog.adw.org/2018/05/least-peters-shadow-might-fall-challenge-church-acts-apostles/). Why? Because He’s risen and on their side! Jesus, give us courage to ask people for help, to offer to help them.
2) The greatest healing is spiritual healing: “Yet more than ever believers were added to the Lord, great numbers of both men and women” (5:14).
• When I was a teenager at St. Paul’s, one time we had a layman with the gift of healing come to the parish. Everyone lined up to be prayed over by him, but he insisted the greatest healing is in the line-up for Confession. And even when, at one point during the evening, he announced discreetly that a person had felt some healing, he insisted that an example of the greatest healing came from a little girl who was never healed and cheerfully accepted it as God’s will for her. So, our crosses are meant to lead us closer to Jesus, either by carrying them or by being healed of them.
• We have Alpha starting in two and a half weeks, beginning May 11. There’s no better introduction to faith than Alpha. It starts with a free dinner, a 25-minute video, and then a chance for people to share what they think in small groups. There are people in our lives who can benefit from this, and just need a loving invitation from us.
3) Healing from spiritual oppression: “A great number of people would also gather from the towns around Jerusalem, bringing the sick and those tormented by unclean spirits, and they were all cured” (5:16). For most people, the highlight of Alpha is the Holy Spirit weekend, when people are asked if they’d like to be prayed over; someone puts a hand on their shoulder, and asks the Holy Spirit to bless them.
• Demons are real and affect people. We’re the ones who can help. I wonder if parents are willing to pray over their children, and if husbands and wives are willing to pray over each other; not just praying for them, but praying over them. Maybe that’s the only way Jesus will heal them, through the hands of someone who loves them.
• What if the way God wants to heal us is for us to ask others to pray over us? If you want to learn how, talk to anyone on the Alpha Team; they have experience.
V: Years ago, I was at an event where people were invited to come forward if they wanted to be prayed over. Even though I don’t have much experience in this, I extended my hand and put it on this man’s shoulder, along with a few others. He told me later that he opened his eyes and saw me, and felt some healing from sexual abuse a long time ago. I was very humbled by that, that I played some role in his process of healing.
• That’s what it means to cast our shadow on someone—so simple, but necessary. Whom do we have to help with our shadow? To whose shadow do we have to go for healing?

Source: Healing Through Others

Posted:

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Laborers
Are we ready to accept the Lord’s invitation to exercise the lay apostolate and our common priesthood to become God’s “laborers” in our own different ways, each according to the… Continue Reading >
“Run so as to win”
Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Continue Reading >
This Is My Body … This Is My Blood
When we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we unite ourselves to Christ and bear witness to the greatest love of all. Continue Reading >

通過他人治愈


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

想像一下,如果天主告訴我們,祂會治愈我們生命中的一個人,而我們需要做出選擇。如果我們可以選擇一個人來接受天主的醫治,那會是誰?可能是我們自己。那麼我們該如何幫助這些被選擇的人呢?使他們從削弱心志的痛苦中解脫出來,恢復他們的精神健康,讓他們從虐待事件中獲得平靜,或者鼓勵他們來辦告解和參與彌撒?花十秒鐘想一想。

一旦我們做出了選擇,想像一下,如果天主說:「我會通過你為他們祈禱並和他們談論我的兒子耶穌來治愈他們。」 或者 「現在你必須去看醫生。」 或者 「現在不要再嘮叨著讓他們來參與彌撒,邀請他們去參加啟發課程。」

天主通常會通過其他人來治愈人們–我們在神學中稱之為:副導。 (secondary causes )當天主直接治癒的時候,祂是主導,(是治愈根源)。 (primary cause )但當祂通過其他人、藥物等治愈時,祂使用的是副導(secondary causes)。在第一篇經文中,有一段著名的經文:「宗徒們行了這麼多奇蹟,以致有人把病人抬到街上,放在床上或墊子上,好叫伯多祿走過的時候,至少他的影子能遮在一些人身上。」(宗5:15) 聖伯多祿的影子可能治愈人的想法是值得注意的,這個例子,以及宗徒大事錄中的其他類似例子,被用作解釋為什麼天主教徒使用聖水、蠟燭、聖髑等聖物來祝福人們。

所以,聖父想要通過副導治愈我們和我們所愛的人。為什麼?為什麼祂不直接做呢?原因有三:1)為了提醒我們和其他人,我們是相互依賴的。你不是天主,你需要別人。 2)讓我們變得更謙遜。我們都想要有快速解決問題辦法,但我們中的許多人拒絕花時間去看醫生或顧問,因為我們過於自信。 3)通過副導治愈有助於人們變得像天主。祂想讓人們參與祂的治愈工作!在你的生活中,有些人想幫助我們,但有時我們會阻止他們。

因此,我相信有些人是天父想治愈卻不做…除非我們通過其他人。也許治愈我們的計劃是我們向別人尋求幫助。

還有三點我們要牢記在心:1)勇氣:「宗徒們在百姓中行了許多徵兆,顯了許多奇蹟。眾信徒都同心合意地聚在撒羅滿欄下, 其他的人沒有一個敢與他們接近的; 但是百姓都誇讚他們。」(宗5:12-13) 治愈需要勇氣。宗徒們在公共場合宣講耶穌,並不以被稱為祂的追隨者而感到羞恥。 (https://blog.adw.org/2018/05/least-peters-shadow-might-fall-challenge-church-acts-apostles/).。為什麼?因為他已經復活了,站在了他們這邊!耶穌,賜予我們勇氣,讓我們向別人尋求幫助,或主動幫助他們。

2)最大的醫治是屬靈的醫治:「信主的人越越增加,男女的人數極其眾多。」(宗5:14)。

當我還是個十幾歲的孩子, 在聖保祿堂區的時候,有一次有一個教友來到這個堂區,他有治癒的天賦。每個人都排隊接受他的祈禱,但他堅持認為,最大的治愈是在排隊辦告解時。即使當晚,當他小心翼翼地宣布一個人感覺到了一些治癒的時候,他也堅持認為,最偉大治癒的例子是一個小女孩,她未曾得到治愈但卻愉快地接受了這一點,因為這是天主(未治愈她)的旨意。因此,我們的十字架注定要帶領我們更接近耶穌,無論是通過背十字架還是通過十字架得到治愈。

我們將在兩周半後,從5月11日開始 開始「啟發Alpha 課程」,沒有什麼能比「啟發Alpha 」更好地介紹信仰。它先是一起吃一頓免費的晚餐,再觀看一段25分鐘的視頻,然後讓人們有機會在小組中分享他們的想法。在我們的生活中,有一些人可以從中受益,他們只需要我們的愛心邀請。

3)治愈靈修上的壓力Spiritual oppression):「還有許多從耶路撒冷四周城市聚集的人,抬著病人和被邪魔所纏擾的人,齊集而來,他們都得到了治愈。」(宗5:16)。對於大多數人來說,啟發的亮點是聖神週末(Holy Spirit weekend),當人們被問及是否願意為他們覆手祈禱時,就會有人把手放在他們的肩膀上,請求聖神保佑他們。

邪魔是真實存在的,會影響人們。我們才是能幫忙的人。我想知道父母是否願意為他們的孩子覆手祈禱,丈夫和妻子是否願意相互覆手祈禱;不僅為他們祈禱,而且為他們覆手祈禱。也許這是耶穌治愈他們的唯一方式,通過愛他們的人的手。

如果天主想要治愈我們的方式是讓我們請求別人為我們祈禱,那該怎麼辦?如果你想了解如何做到這一點,可以與Alpha團隊中的任何人交談;他們都有經驗。

幾年前,我參加了一個活動,邀請那些想要人為他們覆手祈禱的站到前面來。儘管我在這方面沒有太多經驗,但我還是和其他幾個人一起 ,伸出臂膀把手放到了一個人的肩膀上。之後那個人告訴我,他睜開了眼睛,看到了我,他覺到他從很久以前的性虐待中得到了一些治愈。我萬分謙卑地接受,因為我在他的康復過程中扮演了一些角色。

這就是將我們的影子投射到某人身上的意義–如此簡單,但卻是必要的。誰需要我們的影子來得到治愈?我們需要向誰的影子求得治愈?

資料來源:Healing Through Others

Posted: April 24, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 復活期第二主日:我主,我的天主! 吳智勳神父

本週的福音章節甲乙丙年都同用,最明顯的理由是它所記敘的事發生於耶穌復活後第八天,而每年復活期第二個主日正是第八天。這段聖經內容豐富,它既講述耶穌派遣門徒、預告聖神來臨、提及罪的赦免、亦透露了主日的來由(耶穌兩次顯現都在星期日,所以慢慢地基督徒以主日取代了設於星期六的安息日)。今天讓我們從多默宗徒身上作反省。

繼續閱讀 >
不要為了懷疑而懷疑 May Tam

過度的懷疑也可能是傲慢和自以為是的標誌

繼續閱讀 >