Do not be skeptical for skeptical sake


When it comes to the subject of belief, whether religious belief or any kind of belief, most people fall into one of these three groups: the gullible, the critical and the skeptical. The gullible are those who easily accept any statement at face value with little evidence required. The skeptics are just the opposite. They doubt everything in general and almost on principle. They question the authenticity of ideas, statements or people. Most people however, fall into the second group, that is, being critical. Practically, they are not suspicious but require some evidence before they would undeniably believe.

Unfortunately, today’s Gospel reading presents not only a doubtful Thomas but an extreme skeptic. First, he distrusts his own band of brothers, his closest friends and sufficiently enough as witnesses. Second, he makes a very bold and challenging demand for himself as a condition to believe. Obviously, the evidence of seeing is not enough for him (the apostles did not believe Mary Magdalene and the other women’s words that they saw Jesus after the resurrection rf Lk 24:10-11, Mk 16:11); he needs a concrete proof. Concrete to the point that he needs to see the marks of Jesus’ crucifixion and not only so, he himself has to touch the different nail marks with his fingers and hands (rf Jn 20:25). Thomas represents all those who, like him, are by nature or temperament suspicious of everyone and everything.

But today, rather than focusing on the “doubtful Thomas”, let us see how Jesus deals with this third group of people. Basically, Jesus accepts them as they are. He does not expect people to accept all His teachings and He never forces people to believe Him. Instead, He prefers His disciples to use their brains. He wants intelligent disciples who would not accept just anything without a minimum amount of evidence. Jesus’ miraculous powers, His shining virtues and His great wisdom serve as evidences to warrant belief in Him. This time, Jesus does not use such evidences as proof, rather, with utter meekness, Jesus gently submits to Thomas’ imposing demand and examination and let the evidence that he demands speaks for itself and for him. It is only after Thomas admits the fact and his skepticism dissolves does Jesus mildly chide him, “Have you come to believe because you have seen me?” (Jn 20:29).

This welcoming attitude of Jesus toward the skeptics reassures those of us who may belong to this category. Jesus does not reject us but regrets that we are so hard to convince. Though a healthy skepticism may not be harmful, we must not be skeptical for skeptical sake, certainly not to exclude a sense of wonder and an openness to mystery. An overly distrustful nature may at best, make us miss a lot of beautiful insights or discoveries and at worst, lead us to stubbornness and our hearts turn to stone. Excess skepticism could also be a sign of pride and self-righteousness; just like the religious leaders and the Pharisees. Today is also the Divine Mercy Sunday; let us pray that Jesus’ mercy and His patience will enlighten dubious minds.

Posted:

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Laborers
Are we ready to accept the Lord’s invitation to exercise the lay apostolate and our common priesthood to become God’s “laborers” in our own different ways, each according to the… Continue Reading >
“Run so as to win”
Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Continue Reading >
This Is My Body … This Is My Blood
When we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we unite ourselves to Christ and bear witness to the greatest love of all. Continue Reading >

不要為了懷疑而懷疑


當談論到有關信仰這問題時,不論是宗教信仰或是其他任何信念,大多數人都會屬於這三種類型中之一:輕易相信的、嚴謹的和多疑的。輕易相信,是指那些並不需要什麼證據,便很容易接受任何表面的陳述。相反的,便是多疑的人。他們通常會懷疑每一件事,懷疑差不多是他們的原則。對於意念、說法或人的真實性,他們都會懷疑。然而,大多數人是屬於第二種,即嚴謹型。實際上,他們並不多疑,而是需要一些真憑實據才能心悅誠服地相信。

不幸的是,今天的福音讀經表現出的不僅是多疑的多默,更是一個疑心非常重的人。首先,他對於作證的人 — 那些與他跟隨同一師傅的兄弟們和最親密的朋友們 — 起了疑心。其次,他又提出了一些非常魯莽和不合理的要求,作為令他相信的條件。顯然,看到證據對他來說仍是不足夠的 (宗徒們也不相信瑪利亞瑪達肋納和其他婦女的話,說他們見到復活後的耶穌,參 路 24:10-11,谷 16:11); 他需要無可置疑的實質證據。具體到他必要親眼看到耶穌被釘十字架的傷痕,不僅如此,他自己還必須親手觸摸到耶穌身上的釘痕(若 20:25)。多默代表了所有像他一樣本質和性情的人,他們對每個人和每件事都抱着懷疑態度。

但今天,與其把目光集中在「多疑的多默」身上,我們不如看看耶穌如何應付這第三類人。基本上,耶穌接受他們懷疑的本性。衪不期望人接受衪所有的教誨,也從不強迫人去相信衪。相反,衪更喜歡門徒們用腦思考。衪需要有智慧的門徒,不會輕易接受任何理據不足的事。耶穌施行奇蹟的大能、祂耀眼的美德和祂偉大的智慧,便是應當相信祂的證據。但這一次,耶穌並沒有用這些證據作為憑證,而是極謙和地,順服於多默的嚴格要求和審查,讓他的要求成為真憑實據,證明自己。直到多默承認了事實,懷疑完全消失的時候,耶穌才溫和地責備他:「因為你看見了我,才相信嗎?」(若 20:29)

耶穌對那些持懷疑論者的歡迎態度,使我們這些可能屬於這一類的人感到放心。耶穌沒有拒絕我們,祂只因為我們難被說服而感到遺憾。儘管健康的懷疑態度可能無害,但我們不要為了懷疑而懷疑,當然也不應該排除對奧蹟的讚嘆和開放性。過度不信任的本性,會讓我們錯過許多超卓的見解或新知,但更壞的情況,是會使我們變得固執,變成鐵石心腸。過度的懷疑也可能標誌着傲慢和自以為是;就像那些宗教領袖和法利賽人。今天也是慈悲主日; 讓我們祈求耶穌的慈悲和耐心,啟迪那些習慣懷疑的心靈。

Posted: April 24, 2022

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

通過他人治愈 Fr. Justin Huang

想像一下,如果天主告訴我們,祂會治愈我們生命中的一個人,而我們需要做出選擇。如果我們可以選擇一個人來接受天主的醫治,那會是誰?可能是我們自己。那麼我們該如何幫助這些被選擇的人呢?使他們從削弱心志的痛苦中解脫出來,恢復他們的精神健康,讓他們從虐待事件中獲得平靜,或者鼓勵他們來辦告解和參與彌撒?花十秒鐘想一想。

繼續閱讀 >
丙年(路加) 復活期第二主日:我主,我的天主! 吳智勳神父

本週的福音章節甲乙丙年都同用,最明顯的理由是它所記敘的事發生於耶穌復活後第八天,而每年復活期第二個主日正是第八天。這段聖經內容豐富,它既講述耶穌派遣門徒、預告聖神來臨、提及罪的赦免、亦透露了主日的來由(耶穌兩次顯現都在星期日,所以慢慢地基督徒以主日取代了設於星期六的安息日)。今天讓我們從多默宗徒身上作反省。

繼續閱讀 >
我們的靈魂花園 Fr. Justin Huang

各位,復活節快樂!我有兩個問題要問你。第一個問題是:有誰喜歡園藝嗎?眾所周知,自從COVID 肆虐以來,園藝越來越受人歡迎。第二個是:如果你和我一樣,都對園藝不感興趣,那你喜歡參觀花園嗎?我喜歡水、樹、花、草的和諧所帶來的寧靜和美麗。

繼續閱讀 >