The Garden of Our Souls


A/N: Happy Easter, everyone! I have two questions for you, please. First, who enjoys gardening? Everyone knows gardening has grown in popularity since COVID began. Second, if you’re like me and still don’t have an interest in gardening, do you enjoy visiting gardens? I love the peace and the beauty given by the harmony of water, trees, flowers, and grass.
• Gardens are a part of civilization and part of humanity’s desire to sustain our life and enhance beauty in nature.
S: We’re talking about gardens, because there are three important gardens in the Scriptures. 1) The First Reading for the Vigil has the account of creation, and it says at the end: “And the Lord God planted a garden in Eden, in the east; and there he put the man whom he had formed. And out of the ground the Lord God made to grow every tree that is pleasant to the sight and good for food, the tree of life also in the midst of the garden, and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil” (Gen 2:8-9). We see here three characteristics of gardens: beauty, life, and order (Fr. Paul Scalia, That Nothing May Be Lost, 175). The infinite beauty of God is reflected in the beauty of ‘every tree that is pleasant to the sight.’ ‘The Tree of life’ points us to the fact that we were never meant to die; Adam and Eve were created by the Father Who loved them and gave them eternal life, but they rejected it. And ‘the tree of the knowledge of good and evil’ reminds us that we’re made for order. We are moral creatures, free to choose good or evil, but we’re not free to change the order He’s given us—only God can determine right and wrong (CCC 396).
2) We heard about the second garden on Good Friday: “When Jesus had spoken these words, he went forth with his disciples across the Kidron valley, where there was a garden” (Jn 18:1). In this garden, we see a deeper kind of beauty: Jesus is completely overwhelmed by the prospect of the suffering that’s coming His way and wrestles with rejecting it. But, in a beautiful gesture of trust in the Father and love for us, He accepts it. Jesus tells us that there is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends, and, I would say, there’s nothing more beautiful. And wherever there’s love, there’s life. If there’s no love in our families, our families are dead. And then there’s order: Sin breaks the order God planned for us. But when Jesus trusts and obeys our Father, order is being restored.
3) The third garden is where Jesus was resurrected: “Now in the place where he was crucified there was a garden, and in the garden a new tomb where no one had ever been laid. So because of the Jewish day of Preparation, as the tomb was close at hand, they laid Jesus there” (Jn 19:41-42). Jesus was resurrected in this tomb, in a garden. As we said five weeks ago, Jesus’ Resurrected body would be as beautiful as His soul (). Furthermore, He again offers eternal life to humanity, and there’s restored order between God and man, and between body and soul.
• Who said the following? “If we may borrow the language of the theory of evolution, [the Resurrection] is the greatest ‘mutation,’ absolutely the most crucial leap into a totally new dimension that there has ever been in the long history of life and its development: a leap into a completely new order which does concern us, and concerns the whole of history” (https://www.vatican.va/content/benedict-xvi/en/homilies/2006/documents/hf_ben-xvi_hom_20060415_veglia-pasquale.html). Pope Emeritus Benedict said this in 2006. A few people had been asserting that Jesus’ rising just meant that a corpse returned to life, and this would be ultimately irrelevant to us. But, the Resurrection is something more. And so the pope recognized that the Resurrection is both a historical and transcendent event. The crucial point of this analogy for us is that it’s a leap in existence, and Jesus wants to share this new life with us.
A: How does this happen? Through faith and baptism. Faith changes everything: It allows us to know Someone Who loves us, and begins a relationship with Jesus. And then baptism allows that leap of the Resurrection to come into our lives.
• When Christa, Stephanie, and Matthew are baptized tonight, baptism will leave a mark on their soul and that’s not symbolic. It’s a transformation to a new life, and, when they die, that life in Christ will continue forever.
4) So, there’s a fourth garden, that of the human soul. The Gospel of John says, “But Mary stood weeping outside the tomb… She turned round and saw Jesus standing, but she did not know that it was Jesus… Supposing him to be the gardener, she said to him, ‘Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have laid him, and I will take him away’” (20:11,14). She’s right: He’s the divine gardener of her soul. And, in each garden, the gardener always produces a leap: in Eden, there’s a leap from nothingness to life; in Gethsemane, from our disobedience to Jesus’ obedience; and in the tomb, from death to resurrected life. So, the divine gardener loves leaps! And He wants there to be a leap in our lives as well.
• Jesus offers us a leap to a resurrected life! He also wants there to be a leap in faith, not a leap of faith, which to most people means believing in something that is unreasonable. Leaping in faith means trusting in Jesus in a more radical way.
o And this leads to more order. A couple once was struggling in their marriage, and so went away for a weekend to discern things, and came back with three rules; and one of them was that Sunday would look different. It’s the day of the Lord’s Resurrection, and they wanted their children to know that Sunday is a day of worship, rest, and family.
o Gardens have boundaries, and we try to prevent weeds from coming in. So, when we have Christ’s life inside us, we erect boundaries in our lives: There are certain sins we no longer commit, and there are loving habits that we always practice. God commands us to rest and celebrate Mass every Sunday. When we follow this order, there’s more life. And making these changes means leaping in faith!
• He also wants a leap in love! Do you think of love as beautiful? Love is not only good, but beautiful. Many of you might remember that short video we showed about the woman who goes blind, and how her husband secretly sacrifices himself for her—that kind of love is not only good but beautiful. And that’s why God allows us to suffer, so that there can be an increase in love. Jesus puts manure into our gardens so that we grow! That’s why manure happens.
o So, love is not only good, but beautiful. And sin is not only good, but ugly. One time, I was talking to a friend, and she described some of her neighbours doing some sexual act, and said, “Ugh.” I’ve never forgotten that, because I thought of that act as wrong, in an abstract way, but she saw it as ugly. And that points to the beauty of her soul.
• I’m sure we’ve all strolled through community gardens and noticed the difference between certain plots and others. Some plots are full of care and attention, and the fruit they bear is amazing! That’s what Jesus wants in our lives, too!
V: After a few years of struggle, when he was 33 years old, St. Augustine finally trusted in Jesus and experienced complete freedom from his internal problems when he was in a garden in Rome. And St. John Bosco once had a dream of the most beautiful place he could imagine, with a crystal sea, magnificent buildings, and a garden. But he said that even that could not compare to what God has prepared for us in His eternal garden.

Source: The Garden of Our Souls

Posted:

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Laborers
Are we ready to accept the Lord’s invitation to exercise the lay apostolate and our common priesthood to become God’s “laborers” in our own different ways, each according to the… Continue Reading >
“Run so as to win”
Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Continue Reading >
This Is My Body … This Is My Blood
When we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we unite ourselves to Christ and bear witness to the greatest love of all. Continue Reading >

我們的靈魂花園


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

各位,復活節快樂!我有兩個問題要問你。第一個問題是:有誰喜歡園藝嗎?眾所周知,自從COVID 肆虐以來,園藝越來越受人歡迎。第二個是:如果你和我一樣,都對園藝不感興趣,那你喜歡參觀花園嗎?我喜歡水、樹、花、草的和諧所帶來的寧靜和美麗。

花園是文明的一部分,也是延續生命、提升自然美感,人類願望的一部分。

我們說的是花園,因為《聖經》中有三個重要的花園。 (一)復活前夕守夜禮的第一讀經是關於創世紀的記述,末尾說:「上主天主在伊甸的東部種植了一個樂園,就將他形成所造的人安置在裡面。上主天主使地面生出各種好看好吃的果樹,生命樹和知善惡樹在樂園中央。」 ( 創2:8-10)我們在這裡看到了園林的三個特點:美麗、生命和秩序(Fr. Paul Scalia, That Nothing May Be Lost, 175)。天主的無限之美,體現在「百樹無不悅目」的美上。 《生命樹》告訴我們,我們永遠不會死;亞當和厄娃是由愛他們的天父創造的,並給了他們永生,但他們拒絕了。 「知善惡樹」提醒我們,我們是為秩序而生的。我們是道德的生物,可以自由選擇善或惡,但我們不能自由改變祂給我們的秩序–只有上主才能決定對與錯(CCC396)。

我們在耶穌受難日聽到第二個園子:「耶穌說完這些話,就和門徒出去,到了克徳龍溪的對岸,在那裡有一個園子,他和門徒便進去了。」(若18:1)。在這個花園裡,我們看到了一種更深層次的美:耶穌完全被即將到來的苦難所淹沒,並掙扎著拒絕它。但是,祂以信靠天父和愛我們的美好姿態接受了這一點。耶穌告訴我們,沒有比為朋友獻出生命更偉大的愛了,而且,我想說,沒有什麼比這更美麗了。哪裡有愛,哪裡就有生命。如果我們的家人沒有愛,這個家庭就沒有生命。然後就是秩序:罪破壞了天主為我們計劃的秩序(Order)。但是,當耶穌相信並服從我們的天父時,秩序就會復原。

第三個園子是耶穌復活的地方:「在耶穌被釘十字架的地方,有一個園子,在那園子裡有一座新墳墓,裡面還沒有安葬過人。只因為是猶太人的預備日,墳墓又近,就在那里安葬了耶穌。」(若19:41-42)。耶穌在這座墳墓裡,在一個花園裡復活了。正如我們五週前所說的,耶穌復活的身體會像祂的靈魂一樣美麗。此外,祂再次為人類提供了永生,天主與人之間,身體與靈魂之間恢復了秩序。

以下是誰說的? 「如果我們可以藉用進化論的語言,[復活]是最偉大的‘突變’,絕對是生命在其漫長歷史以及發展過程中所經歷的,進入全新維度的最關鍵的一次飛躍,這次飛躍進入一個關係到我們、關係到整個歷史的全新秩序。」(https://www.vatican.va/content/benedict-xvi/en/homilies/2006/documents/hf_ben-xvi_hom_20060415_veglia-pasquale.html)。榮休教宗本篤 (Pope Emeritus Benedict )在2006年說過這句話。一些人一直斷言,耶穌的複活只是意味著一具身體復活了,而這與我們最終是無關的。但是,復活具有更多的內涵。因此,教宗認識到復活既是一次歷史性的事件,也是一次超越歷史的事件。對我們來說,這個比喻的關鍵點是,這是存在的一次飛躍,耶穌想要與我們分享這種新生活。

這是怎麼發生的?通過信仰和洗禮。信仰改變了一切:它讓我們認識愛我們的人,並開始與耶穌建立關係。然後洗禮讓復活的飛躍進入我們的生活。

今晚Christa, Stephanie, and Matthew受洗時,洗禮將在他們的靈魂上留下印記,這不是像徵性的,這是新生命的轉變,當他們死後,在基督內的生命將永遠繼續。

所以還有第四個花園,人類靈魂的花園。若望福音上說:「瑪利亞卻站在墳墓外痛哭。她痛哭的時候,就俯身向墳墓裡面窺看,看見有兩位穿白衣的天使,坐在安放過耶穌遺體的地方:一位在頭部,一位在腳步。那兩位天使對她說:『女人你哭什麼?』 她答說:『有人把我主搬走了,我不知道他們把他放在哪裡了?』說了這活就向後轉身,見耶穌站在那裡卻不知道他就是耶穌。」(若20:11,14)。她是對的:祂是她靈魂的神聖園丁。在每一個園子裡,園丁總是製造飛躍:在伊甸園,有一個從虛無到生命的飛躍;在橄欖山(Gethsemane)從我們的不服從到耶穌的服從;在墳墓裡,從死亡到復活的生命。所以,神聖的園丁喜歡飛躍!祂希望我們的生活也能有飛躍。

耶穌給了我們一個通往復活生命的飛躍!祂還希望有信仰上的飛躍(leap in faith),而不是單單信心的飛躍(leap of faith);信心的飛躍對大多數人來說意味著相信一些不合理的東西。而在信仰上的飛躍意味著以一種更激進的方式相信耶穌。

這會帶來更好的秩序。一對夫婦曾經在婚姻生活中苦苦掙扎,於是他們出去度了一個週末意圖釐清及確定一些事情,過後帶著三條規則回來。其中一條是:星期天必須異於平日。這一天是主復活的日子,他們想讓他們的孩子知道,星期天是崇拜的日子、休息的日子和家庭日。

花園是有界限的,我們努力防止雜草進入。所以,當我們心中有了基督的生命,我們就在我們的生活中建立了界限:我們不再犯某些罪,而總是習慣實踐愛徳。天主命令我們每個星期天休息並參與彌撒。當我們遵循這個秩序時,就會有更多的生命。而做出這些改變意味著要在信仰上飛躍! (leap in faith )

祂還想要一次愛的飛躍!你認為愛是美麗的嗎?愛不僅是好的,而且是美麗的。你們中的許多人可能還記得我們播放的那個短片,關於一個失明的妻子,以及她的丈夫如何偷偷地為她作出犧牲–這種愛不僅是好的,而且是美麗的。這就是為什麼天主允許我們受苦,這樣就可以增加愛。耶穌把肥料放在我們的花園裡,好讓我們生長!這就是肥料的作用。

所以,愛不僅是好的,而且是美麗的。罪不僅是不好的,而且是醜陋的。有一次,我和一位朋友聊天,她描述了她的一些鄰居做的一些性的行為,並說,「醜陋!」我永遠不會忘記這一點,因為我認為從理論上說 那種行為是錯誤的,但她認為這是醜陋的。這顯示了她靈魂之美。

我相信我們都有漫步在社區花園裡的經歷,注意到某些地塊和其他地塊之間的區別。有些地塊因為受到關注,結出的果實令人驚嘆!這也是耶穌在我們的生活中想要的!

經過幾年的奮鬥,33歲的聖奧斯定(St. Augustine) 終於相信了耶穌,在羅馬的花園裡完全擺脫了內心的困擾。聖若望鮑斯高(St. John Bosco )曾經夢想著他能想像到的最美麗的地方: 有水晶般的大海,宏偉的建築和一個花園。但他說,即使這樣,也無法與天主為我們所預備的,永恆的花園相比。

資料來源:The Garden of Our Souls

Posted: April 17, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 復活期第二主日:我主,我的天主! 吳智勳神父

本週的福音章節甲乙丙年都同用,最明顯的理由是它所記敘的事發生於耶穌復活後第八天,而每年復活期第二個主日正是第八天。這段聖經內容豐富,它既講述耶穌派遣門徒、預告聖神來臨、提及罪的赦免、亦透露了主日的來由(耶穌兩次顯現都在星期日,所以慢慢地基督徒以主日取代了設於星期六的安息日)。今天讓我們從多默宗徒身上作反省。

繼續閱讀 >
不要為了懷疑而懷疑 May Tam

過度的懷疑也可能是傲慢和自以為是的標誌

繼續閱讀 >