Sexuality is About Self-Giving


A: As mentioned last week, today begins a series of homilies on theology of the body, in other words, God the Father’s plan for human sexuality. We’ll start with four human insights about the body, which show the need for reverence when discussing this subject, and then reflect on the person of Jesus in the Scriptures.
1) First Insight: The philosopher Michael Pakaluk notes that every society recognizes a difference between rape and physical assault (Quoted in Fr. John Harvey, The Truth about Homosexuality, 140)—why? Why are they different categories? Both are physically hurting the human body. The insight here is that rape assaults the sexual organs of the human person, which are different from other organs of the body; they are special. As we know, to harm these organs causes greater damage to the human person, including emotional, psychological, and even spiritual damage.
• This is why, when we talk about sexuality, we have to do it with reverence, which has spiritual connotations.
2) The theologian Christopher West notes that, in every language, there are multiple names for sexual organs—why? How many names, for example, do we have for an elbow? An elbow is an elbow. A uterus is a uterus. So, why do we come up with so many names to describe our sexual organs? Because they’re unique.
3) The pleasure produced by our sexual organs is different from the pleasure produced by the rest of our body. People get addicted to sex, pornography and masturbation, but, no one gets addicted to massages. Massages feel great. But, no one plans their day around getting a massage; no one watches videos of people getting massages. But they do watch and get addicted to watching people engaged in sexual activity, because sexual pleasure is powerful, more so than any other physical pleasure. Our society says that sexual urges are like any other physical urge: If you have an itch, scratch it! But no one gets addicted to scratching, because sexual pleasure is completely different.
4) Many advocates of sexual freedom assert that shame was introduced by Christians. If we go to certain cultures where people don’t wear clothes, they feel no shame. But the writer Dawn Eden points out that, even in those cultures, people feel uncomfortable when others stare at their private parts (My Peace I Give You, 8). Even in cultures where people are naked, they know that their private parts are sacred.
S: These four reflections point to the fact that sexual organs are deeply personal, unique, powerful, and sacred. So we shouldn’t treat them like the rest of our body. How, then, should we treat and use them?
Jesus today says to His disciples, “These are my words that I spoke to you while I was still with you—that everything written about me in the law of Moses, the prophets, and the psalms must be fulfilled” (Lk 24:44). Everything in the 73 books in the Bible written over thousands of years points to Jesus. And one truth revealed about Him is that He’s the bridegroom, married to whom? The Church (Eph 5:32). He’s the key to understanding human sexuality. If we observe the way He, the Bridegroom, loves His bride, then we’ll know how to love each other in an authentic sexual way.
• “Then he opened their minds to understand the scriptures, and he said to them, ‘Thus it is written, that the Messiah is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day’” (24:45-46). Jesus has to open our minds, and hearts, to understand His teaching, which is so different from what we’ve been taught our whole lives. What He teaches us is that He had to suffer. Why? Because a sacrifice is a kind of giving, and, when we truly love people, we give ourselves to them. When Jesus died on the Cross, it was the greatest gift. A $1000 gift is worth more than $100. If I give you a year of my time, that’s even better. And if I give you my body to shield you from a gun attack, there’s no greater gift. The giving of the body is the greatest gift.
o Jesus teaches: “Love one another as I have loved you” (Jn 15:12). He, the Bridegroom, offers His body as a gift, and that’s one of the keys to understanding human sexuality: Am I giving my body the way Jesus did?
• St. John Paul II said that the opposite of love is not hatred. What is it? It’s to use someone: We can use someone’s body for our pleasure, even while we care about them; we can use our body to get someone’s attention. But another word for love is… to give, whose opposite is to take. When we’re selfish, we take from other people. Finally, when we love someone, we sacrifice ourselves for them. And the opposite of this is lust, because lust sacrifices the other person for ourselves (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2017/02/12/20170212-love-vs-lust/).
o Love: opposite: use
Give: opposite: take
Sacrifice: opposite: lust
Jesus then says, “Repentance and forgiveness of sins is to be proclaimed in his name to all nations, beginning from Jerusalem. You are witnesses of these things” (24:47-48). ‘Repentance’ means a change of heart and mind. Because we’re wounded, we often experience sexual desire in an inverted way, not the way the Father intended it. Years ago, I heard about this billboard of Janet Jackson and how there were all these car crashes in front of it. What was happening? Men were experiencing sexual desire and I bet you that none of them was thinking: How can I love her? Believe it or not, when they saw her, they should have been thinking, “Wow, she’s beautiful! How can I love her authentically, as a person, not just as a body? How can I give myself to her to make her happy, to sacrifice myself for her?”
• Let’s clarify what we talked about last week. Impure thoughts are a sad part of the human condition. It’s no sin when they simply come into our minds—that’s a temptation. But, if we make a choice and give full consent, intentionally using them in our minds, that’s a mortal sin. If we struggle to fight it, resisting and giving in, that’s a venial sin, because it’s not full consent.
• When it comes to pornography, it’s always grave matter. So, if we freely choose to look at it, that’s a mortal sin. But, if something pops up on our screen, and we look at it briefly, and then our conscience reminds us that this isn’t respectful, that’s a venial sin.
• And touching ourselves sexually, masturbation, is grave matter for sin, because there’s no self-giving to another here. As we’ve just said, our sexual organs are deeply personal, unique, powerful, and sacred, and so, according to Jesus’ plan, they’re not meant just for pleasure, but for the gift of marriage. Admittedly, this sin is very hard to overcome, but, with God’s grace, we can do it. That’s why Confession is so helpful here, because we get grace to overcome it.
o Here’s the list of saints that I mentioned last week: Sts. Mary of Egypt, Thais, Pelagia all sold their bodies before turning to Jesus. Sts. Augustine, Mary of Edesssa, Ignatius of Loyola, Margaret of Cortona, Angela of Foligno, and Charles de Foucould all used people sexually (https://www.catholicworldreport.com/2022/05/07/a-patron-saint-for-those-who-have-been-involved-in-abortion/). I find it amazing that many saints often become known for the opposite virtue of their greatest struggle. St. Augustine, for instance, struggled with lust, but became a saint known for his pure heart. He once prayed to the Father, “Late have I loved You, O Beauty ever ancient, ever new, late have I love You.” There is so much hope!
• To be Jesus’ ‘witnesses’ means not just passively telling what we heard, but sharing what we’ve experienced. It’s such a different way of living. We get to go around all day thinking, “What’s best for others?” That might mean I affirm or encourage them, spend time with them, hug them, give them a gift, or do something for them. As we’ll talk about next week, sex is only good and beautiful within marriage.
V: Finally, Jesus says, “Then he led them out as far as Bethany, and, lifting up his hands, he blessed them. While he was blessing them, he withdrew from them and was carried up into heaven. And they worshiped him, and returned to Jerusalem with great joy” (24:50-52). You’d think that the disciples would be sad with Jesus leaving, but they’re joyful! That’s because Jesus’ ascension, Pope Benedict tells us, is a new form of closeness to us (Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: From the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection, 280-281). He is present with us, helping us to love people authentically, and so there’s amazing joy! It’s awesome to uphold people’s dignity, to think how we can give ourselves to them as Christ did!

Source: Sexuality is About Self-Giving

Posted:

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Do you think that I have come to bring peace on earth?” (Lk 12:51)
When we grow weary of the challenges we face in this world, we must look to Jesus who has looked beyond the Cross to the crown of glory that God… Continue Reading >
Faith Is Trusting That God Will Keep His Promises
We don’t know how and we don’t know when, but Jesus will return as he promised. When he does, we’d better be ready! Continue Reading >
For what do you live?
It is natural that we human beings have desires. A person without any desire soon loses one's purpose to live. Continue Reading >

性是關於自我奉獻


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
正如上週提到的,我們今天將開始一系列關於身體神學的講道,換句話說,天父對人類性行為的計劃。我們將從四個人類對身體的洞察開始,然後反思聖經中耶穌的人格。這些洞察告訴我們,在討論這個話題時要有敬畏之心。
1)第一洞察:哲學家邁克爾·帕卡盧克(Michael Pakaluk) 指出,每個社會都認識到強姦和身體攻擊之間的區別(Quoted in Fr. John Harvey, The Truth about Homosexuality, 140)—為什麼?為什麼它們是不同的類別?兩者都對人體造成傷害。這裡的洞察力是,強姦攻擊的是人的性器官,它與身體的其他器官不同;它們是特殊的。正如我們所知,傷害這些器官會對人類造成更大的傷害,包括情感、心理甚至靈性上的傷害。這就是為什麼,當我們談論性行為時,我們必須帶著崇敬的心,這是有靈性內涵的。
2)神學家克里斯托弗韋斯特 (Christopher West )指出,在每種語言中,性器官都有多個名稱–為什麼?例如,我們有幾個名字來表示肘部?肘部就是肘部。子宮就是子宮。那麼,為什麼我們要想出這麼多的名字來描述我們的性器官呢?因為它們是獨一無二的。
3)我們的性器官產生的快感有異於我們身體其他部位產生的快感。人們會沉溺於性、色情文物和手淫,但沒有人會對按摩上癮。按摩感覺很棒。但是,沒有人為按摩而安排自己的一天;沒有人看人們做按摩的視頻。但他們確實會觀看並沉迷於看人們進行性行為,因為性快感是強大的,比其他任何身體快感都要強大。有社會人士說,性衝動就像任何其他身體上的衝動一樣:如果你感覺癢,就撓!但沒有人會對抓撓上癮,因為性愉悅是完全不同的。
4)許多性自由的倡導者聲稱,因赤身裸體而羞恥是基督徒帶來的。如果我們留意某些文化,人們不穿衣服,他們不會感到羞恥。但作家道恩·伊登(Dawn Eden) 指出,即使在這些文化中,當人們盯著他們的私處時,他們也會感到不舒服。 (My Peace I Give You, 8). 即使在人們赤身裸體的文化中,他們也知道自己的私處是神聖的。
這四個反思指向這樣一個事實,即性器官是非常個人化的、獨特的、強大的和神聖的。所以我們不應該像對待我們身體的其他部分一樣對待它們。那麼,我們應該如何對待和使用它們呢?
耶穌今天對祂的門徒說:「我以前還同你們在一起的時候,就對你們說過這話-:『諸凡梅瑟法律、先知並聖詠上指著我所記載的話都必須應驗。』」(路24:44)。幾千年來,《聖經》73卷書中的每一句話都指向耶穌。關於祂的一個真相是,祂是新郎,與誰結婚?教會。 (厄5:32) 祂是理解人類性行為的關鍵。如果我們觀察新郎愛新娘的方式,我們就會知道如何以真正的性愛方式彼此相愛。
「耶穌遂開啟他們的明悟,叫他們理解經書,又向他們說:『經上這樣記載:默西亞必須受苦,第三天要從死者中復活 』」(路24:45-46)。耶穌必須開啟我們的思想和心靈,去理解祂的教義,這與我們一生中所學到的是如此不同。祂教給我們的是,祂必須忍受痛苦。為什麼?因為犧牲是一種奉獻,當我們真心愛別人的時候,我們就把自己獻給了他們。當耶穌死在十字架上時,這是最偉大的禮物。一份1000美元的禮物比100美元更值錢。如果我給你一年的時間,那就更好了。如果我以我的身體來保護你免受槍擊,那就沒有比這更好的禮物了。身體的給予是最偉大的禮物。
耶穌教導說:「這是我的命令:你們該彼此相愛,如同我愛了你們一樣。」(若15:12)。祂,新郎,把自己的身體作為禮物,這是理解人類性行為的關鍵之一:我是否像耶穌一樣給了自己的身體?
聖若望保祿二世說:「愛的對立面不是仇恨。那是什麼?它是為了利用他人:我們可以利用某人的身體來娛樂自己,儘管當我們關心他們的時候;我們也可以用我們的身體來引起某人的注意。但「愛」的另一個詞是…「給予」,它的對立面是「索取」。當我們自私自利的時候,我們會從別人那里索取。最後,當我們愛一個人時,我們會為他們「犧牲自己」。與此相對的是「淫欲」,因為為了滿足自己的慾望而犧牲了別人。 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2017/02/12/20170212-love-vs-lust/).。
愛:相對:利用。
給予:相對:索取。
犧牲:相對:淫欲。
耶穌說:「並且必須從耶路撒冷開始,因他的名向萬邦宣講悔改,以得罪之赦。你們就是這些事的見證人。」(路24:47-48)。 ‘Repentance’意思是心靈和思想的轉變。因為我們受傷了,我們經常以一種顛倒的方式體驗性慾,而不是以天父的旨意。幾年前,我聽說了珍妮特·傑克遜( Janet Jackson)的這塊廣告牌,以及它前面是如何發生車禍的。發生了什麼事?男人們正經歷性的渴望,我敢打賭,他們中沒有一個人在想:我怎麼才能愛她?信不信由你,當他們看到她的時候,他們應該這樣想,「哇,她真漂亮!我如何才能真正地愛她,作為一個人,而不僅僅是作為一個身體?我怎麼能把自己獻給她,讓她開心,為她犧牲自己呢?
讓我們澄清一下我們上週談到的內容。不純潔的思想是人類狀況中令人悲傷的一部分。當它們出現在我們的腦海中時,這並不是罪過–這是一種誘惑。但是,如果我們做出選擇,並完全同意,故意在我們的頭腦中使用它們,那就是犯了大罪。如果我們與之抗爭、抵抗然後屈服,那是犯了小罪,因為這不是完全同意。
說到瀏覽色情視頻,這是很嚴重的問題。所以,如果我們自由地選擇看它,那就是犯了大罪。但是,如果我們的屏幕上突然出現了一些色情的東西,我們輕瞄了一下,然後我們的良知提醒我們,這是不尊重的,那是犯了小罪。
觸摸自己,手淫,從罪過的角度來說是一件嚴重的事情,因為這裡沒有「獻出自我( self-giving)。正如我們剛才所說,我們的性器官是非常個人化的、獨特的、強大的和神聖的,因此,依照耶穌的計劃,它們不僅僅是為了快樂,而是為了作為結婚的禮物。誠然,這種罪很難克服,但有了天主的恩典,我們可以做到。這就是為什麼告解在這裡是如此有幫助,因為我們得到了克服它的恩典。
這是我上週提到的聖人名單:埃及的聖瑪利亞、聖佩拉加(Sts. Mary of Egypt, Thais, Pelagia) 都在皈依耶穌之前出賣了自己的身體。聖奧斯定(Sts. Augustine)、埃德薩的聖瑪麗(Mary of Edesssa)、聖依納爵(Ignatius of Loyola)、科托納的瑪格麗特(Margaret of Cortona)、弗利尼奧的安吉拉(Angela of Foligno )和查爾斯·德·福肯( Charles de Foucould) 都有過性侵犯他人的行為.(https://www.catholicworldreport.com/2022/05/07/a-patron-saint-for-those-who-have-been-involved-in-abortion/).。我發現令人驚訝的是,許多聖人的聞名於世的美德常常與他們自己最強烈的掙扎相反。例如,聖奧斯定與慾望鬥爭,但他以純潔的心而聞名。他曾向天父祈禱:「我愛你太晚了,啊, 無論是遠古的,還是至今的,我愛你太晚了。」這給與我們莫大的希望!
做耶穌的「見證人」不只是被動地講述我們所聽到的,也要分享我們所經歷的。這是一種如此不同的生活方式。我們整天都在想,「什麼是對別人最好的?」
這可能意味著我給予人們肯定或鼓勵,花時間與他們在一起,擁抱他們,送他們一份禮物,或為他們做些什麼。正如我們將在下週討論的,性愛只有在婚姻中才是美好的。
最後,耶穌說:「耶穌領他們出去,直到伯達尼附近,就舉手降福了他們。正降福他們的時候,就離開他們,被提升天去了。他們叩拜了他,皆大歡喜地返回了耶路撒冷,」(路24:50-52)。你會認為門徒們會因為耶穌的離去而悲傷,但他們是快樂的!這是因為教宗本篤十六世告訴我們的,耶穌的升天是一種與我們親近的新形式。 (Jesus of Nazareth: Holy Week: From the Entrance into Jerusalem to the Resurrection, 280-281) 祂和我們在一起,幫助我們真誠地愛別人,所以有令人驚嘆的喜樂!維護人們的尊嚴,想想我們怎樣才能像基督那樣把自己獻給他人,這真是太棒了!

資料來源:Sexuality is About Self-Giving

Posted: June 1, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 耶穌升天節:門徒的使命 吳智勳神父

在神學上,「初傳」的意思是指最早期基督徒所宣講的內容,而宣講的就是耶穌基督的死亡和復活;至於耶穌升天,似乎在初傳裏,不是一件重要的事,只有兩部福音提及,即路加福音和馬爾谷福音。馬爾谷福音提及升天的那部份似乎是個附錄,為別的基督徒加上。瑪竇福音重視耶穌基督與我們天天在一起,故沒有提及耶穌升天;若望福音認為耶穌復活後,就立刻升到天父那裡,不須特別提到升天。我們大概可以這樣結論:只有路加重視耶穌升天。

繼續閱讀 >