God Loves Giving Life


A/N: We’re continuing our series on theology of the body, that is, God’s plan for human sexuality. I thank everyone for your feedback and questions, because I’ve tried to approach this series without overwhelming anyone, but slowly giving principles and clarity so that we all have a chance to think these matters over.
• Today we’re going to talk about the connection between sex and life. The main principle is how God loves giving life, and this will be our lens for viewing sexuality as life-giving, and how this relates to contraception, and the hope is that we grow in respect for sex as the power to create a new immortal soul.
S: When we look at the Gospel, Jesus says, “‘As the Father has sent me, so I send you.’ When he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, ‘Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained’” (Jn 20:21-23). This is Jesus’ sending the apostles on their spiritual mission, and giving them the ability to forgive sins. We know that this is a life-giving action, because it says ‘he breathed on them.’ Scripture scholars tell us that this deliberately echoes the Book of Genesis, when God creates Adam: “Then the Lord God formed man from the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and the man became a living being” (Gen 2:7). So, when Jesus breathes on the apostles, it’s a new creation, with spiritual life, and He’s commanding them to give this life to others through Confession.
• The First Reading is also a life-giving moment: The birth of the Church. As soon as the Holy Spirit comes down upon the 120 disciples, He gives life to the Church. This is the second time St. Luke talks about the Holy Spirit coming down. The first time was when He overshadowed Mary and she gave birth to Jesus’ physical body. Now He gives birth to His mystical body (https://tobinstitute.org/are-you-ready-to-burn-with-the-divine-inferno-of-pentecost-nuptials/)!
• The fundamental truth is that God loves giving life. He creates us, and so many different species, and though we have no idea how many angels there are, it’s reasonable to assume there is as much variety as we see on earth! Today, we celebrate Pentecost, about the Holy Spirit, whom we call the ‘Lord and giver life’ in the Nicene Creed!
And so we come to four reflections on human sexuality. 1) The purpose of sex isn’t pleasure. The purpose of sex is procreation and bonding between husband and wife. Pleasure is a by-product of sex, and is good. But it’s not the purpose. In the same way, the purpose of eating is not pleasure but nourishment. Pleasure incentivizes us to eat, so that we survive. If we eat only for pleasure and without any guidelines, we become unhealthy and can harm ourselves.
• And if we can think philosophically for a minute: If the main purpose of sex were pleasure, people who have as much sex as possible and therefore maximize the pleasure would have something that increases their happiness. But, we know that having sex only for pleasure doesn’t increase happiness. People who have sex just for pleasure hurt or use people; they’re so focused on it that they don’t think about the good of others. And they themselves get hurt. It’s so intimate and bonding that we say, “I thought you loved me. I thought we were more than friends.” They also have to keep on increasing the dosage to get the same effect.
o Finally, they don’t treat sex as something sacred; because it’s for pleasure, they do it when they want to. For Christians, every act of making love between husband and wife isn’t just about pleasure, but it’s meant to be an encounter with God, where the husband and wife are united in their bodies, minds, and souls. So, Christianity says sex is sacred, and only truly good when it’s within marriage, and open to God’s plan for procreation.
2) That brings us to the miracle of human procreation. Dr. Janet Smith makes a beautiful theological observation (https://www3.nd.edu/~afreddos/courses/264/contraception-whynot.htm). Every human person has an immortal soul. We know from the Bible that every person is sacred because they’re made in the image and likeness of God. No matter the race, sex, level of development, or if that person has disabilities, the Church says that person is sacred because God has placed an immortal soul in that person that will live forever. But Dr. Smith points out: sperm doesn’t have an immortal soul, and eggs of a woman don’t have an immortal soul. But, once there’s conception, there’s an immortal soul. And, because a soul is not physical, it can’t come from a physical cause and cannot be given by the parents’ bodies. It must come from a spiritual source, which must be God. At the moment of conception, God chooses to create an immortal soul.
• If we think about that, we realize the wonder of procreation: God chooses to respond to human action and create something new that will never stop existing. The entire universe is now changed because something new exists that never did before. That’s a miracle: Something, or better, someone, is created out of nothing and is holy.
o And the love between husband and wife is the setting in which God has chosen to cooperate with us in performing this miracle. He doesn’t create new human life without us; we cooperate with Him. And contraception says that we’re going to use God’s setting of procreating life while trying to stop Him from possibly creating life.
o God could have chosen to procreate life in other ways, but He chose the love between husband and wife, and our actions should respect His design. We shouldn’t say to Him: We want the bonding effect of love but we don’t want You to perform Your life-giving effect.
3) What is our gut reaction to new human life? You know, in sitcoms, whenever the wife is pregnant, the husband always faints. I grew up watching Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, The Simpsons, etc., and whenever the family has a new child, it’s not great news. Having a child can certainly be overwhelming and being a parent is the most demanding role in life, but I wonder if we, as a parish and as a society, should re-evaluate the way we look at new human life.
• If people celebrated the miracle of human life, they wouldn’t abort girls just because they’re girls, and wouldn’t abort children with disabilities. As we pointed out before, Iceland has almost no more children with Down’s Syndrome because they’re all aborted (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/31/we-get-to-choose-our-anxieties/). Thank God that Jesus offers us His forgiveness, and every sin can be forgiven if we turn to Him, but this wouldn’t happen if we saw each child as a miracle, and all of them are.
4) Contraception isn’t about preventing pregnancy. There’s already a 100% safe, effective way of avoiding pregnancy called abstinence. “Contraception was invented to indulge sexual instinct” (Dr. Christopher West, The Good News about Sex & Marriage, 110). Contraception means we can have sex whenever we want, without responsibility. This is why all Christians, every single denomination (Lutheran, Anglican, etc.), all rejected contraception until 1930. Gandhi, the great Indian leader, rejected contraception because he feared men, in their lust, would take advantage of women. And Sigmund Freud, no friend of the Catholic Church, also felt that people shouldn’t separate procreation from sex (Patrick Coffin, Sex au Naturel, 77-78).
A: Please realize that God is not telling everyone to have as many children as physically possible, and it’s always up to husband and wife to discern with God how many children they have.
• Next week, we’re going to combine these ideas with what we said last week about giving of ourselves as Christ did, and we’re going to delve deeper into what it means to give ourselves fully.
V: For now, we continue to ponder the truth that God loves giving life.

Source: God Loves Giving Life

Posted:

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Do you think that I have come to bring peace on earth?” (Lk 12:51)
When we grow weary of the challenges we face in this world, we must look to Jesus who has looked beyond the Cross to the crown of glory that God… Continue Reading >
Faith Is Trusting That God Will Keep His Promises
We don’t know how and we don’t know when, but Jesus will return as he promised. When he does, we’d better be ready! Continue Reading >
For what do you live?
It is natural that we human beings have desires. A person without any desire soon loses one's purpose to live. Continue Reading >

天主熱愛賜予生命


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
我們將繼續身體神學(Theology of The Body)系列的講道,也就是天主對人類性行為的計劃。感謝每個人的反饋和提問,因為我盡力在不讓任何人感到不知所措的情況下進行這個系列,而是慢慢地提出原則和清晰度,以便我們都有機會思考這些問題。
今天,我們將談論性和生活之間的關連。其實質是天主如何熱愛賜予生命,這將成為一個透視鏡,從中看到性是為賜予生命的,以及理解為什麼這與避孕相關聯,從而希望我們越來越尊重性,將其作為創造新的不朽靈魂的力量。
在福音中,耶穌說:「『就如父派遣了我,我也同樣派遣你們。』耶穌說了這話,就對他們噓了一口氣然後說:『你們領受聖神吧!。你們赦免誰的罪,就給誰赦免;你們存留誰的,就給誰存留。』」(若20:21-23)。這就是耶穌派遣宗徒去執行他們的屬靈使命,並給他們赦罪的權柄。我們知道這是一個賦予生命的行動,因為上面寫著「對他們噓了一口氣。經學家告訴我們,這特意呼應了《創世紀》,當時天主創造了亞當:「上主天主用地上的塵土造了人,在他鼻孔內吹了一口生氣,人就成了一個有靈的生物。」(創2:7)。所以,當耶穌在宗徒身上吹氣時,這是一個新的創造,有屬靈的生命,祂命令他們通過告解把這種生命給了人。
讀經一也是關於一個賦予生命的時刻:教會的誕生。聖神一降到那120名門徒身上,祂就賜給教會生命。這是聖路加第二次談到聖神降臨。第一次是祂護佑了瑪利亞,她給予了耶穌的肉身。現在耶穌把祂的奧體生命給予! (https://tobinstitute.org/are-you-ready-to-burn-with-the-divine-inferno-of-pentecost-nuptials/)
基本的事實是,天主喜歡賜予生命。祂創造了我們,創造了這麼多不同的物種,儘管我們不知道有多少天使,但我們有理由認為他們有我們在地球上看到的物種那麼多!今天,我們慶祝聖神降臨節,在信經(Nicene Creed )中,我們稱聖神為「主及賦予生命者」!
因此,我們得出了對人類性行為的四點反思。
1) 性愛的目的不是為了歡愉。性行為的目的是為了生育,是聯繫夫妻之間的紐帶。快樂是性愛的副產品,這很好。但這不是目的。同樣地,吃的目的不是為了快樂,而是營養。快樂激勵我們吃東西,這樣我們才能生存。如果我們只為快樂而進食,而不遵循任何指導,我們就會變得不健康,還可能傷害自己。
如果我們能以哲學方式思考一分鐘:如果性愛的主要目的是快樂,那麼那些盡可能擁有很多的性生活,從而將快樂最大化的人將會擁有一些增加他們幸福感的東西。但是,我們知道,僅僅為了快樂而做愛並不能增加幸福感。僅僅為了快樂而做愛的人傷害或利用他人;他們太專注於此,以至於他們不考慮他人的利益。他們自己也會受到傷害。性是如此親密的結合,以至我們常常說,「我以為你愛我。我以為我們不只是朋友。」他們還必須不斷增加劑量才能達到同樣的效果。
最後,他們不把性視為神聖的;因為它是為了快樂,他們想做就做。對於基督徒來說,夫妻之間的每一次做愛行為都不僅僅是為了享樂,而是一次與天主的邂逅,此時,夫妻倆在身體、思想和靈魂上都是一致的。因此,基督宗教認為性是神聖的,只有在婚姻中才是真正美好的,並且對天主的生育計劃持開放態度。
2) 這給我們帶來了人類生殖的奇蹟。珍妮特·史密斯博士(Dr. Janet Smith )做了一個漂亮的神學觀察 (https://www3.nd.edu/~afreddos/courses/264/contraception-whynot.htm)。每個人都有不朽的靈魂。我們從聖經中知道,每個人都是神聖的,因為他們是按照天主的形象和肖像而生的。無論種族、性別、發育水平,有殘疾,教會都說這個人是神聖的,因為天主在這個人身上放置了一個不朽且永遠活著的靈魂。但史密斯博士指出:「精子沒有不朽的靈魂,女人的卵子也沒有不朽的靈魂。但是,一旦懷孕,就有了不朽的靈魂。而且,因為靈魂不是物質的,它不可能來自物質的源頭,也不能由父母的身體給予。它必須來自一個靈性的源頭,那一定是天主。在受孕的那一刻,天主選擇創造一個不朽的靈魂。
如果我們仔細想,我們就會意識到生育的奇妙之處:天主選擇對人類的行動做出反應,創造出永遠不會停止存在的新事物。整個宇宙現在改變了,因為有了一些新的東西存在,這是前所未發生過的。這是一個奇蹟:一些東西,或者是人,是從無中創造出來的,是神聖的。
夫妻之間的愛是天主選擇與我們合作完成這一的奇蹟的設計。祂不會在沒有我們的情況下創造新的人類生命;因此需要我們與祂合作。而避孕意味著我們將使用天主創造生命的設計,同時試圖阻止祂創造生命的可能性。
天主本來可以選擇以其他方式創造生命,但他選擇了夫妻之間的愛,我們的行動應該尊重祂的設計。我們不應該對祂說:「我們想要愛情的結合,但我們不想履行賦予生命的效果。
3) 我們對人類新生命的本能反應是什麼?你知道,在情景喜劇中,每當妻子懷孕時,丈夫總是暈倒。我是看著《Fresh Prince》、《The Simpsons》等節目長大的,每當這家人有了新孩子,這都不是什麼好消息。生孩子當然會讓人不知所措,在生活中對為人父母的要求是最為苛刻的,但我想知道,作為一個堂區和一個社會,我們是否應該重新評估我們看待人類新生命的方式。
如果人們慶祝人類生命的奇蹟,他們不會因為懷上女孩而墮胎,也不會把殘疾兒童墮掉。正如我們之前指出的,冰島幾乎不再有唐氏綜合症兒童,因為他們都被墮掉了(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/31/we-get-to-choose-our-anxieties/).。感謝天主,耶穌寬恕了我們,如果我們求助於祂,所有的罪都可以被原諒,但如果我們把每個孩子都視為奇蹟,這些事件就不會發生,所有的孩子都是奇蹟。
4) 避孕不是為了防止懷孕。已經有一種100%安全、有效的避免懷孕的方法,叫做「節欲abstinence」。 「發明避孕藥是為了放任性本能。」(Dr. Christopher West, The Good News about Sex & Marriage, 110) 避孕意味著我們可以在任何時候發生性行為,而不需要承擔任何責任。這就是為什麼直到1930年,所有基督徒,每個單一教派(路德、聖公會等)都拒絕『避孕』。印度偉大的領袖甘地不接受避孕,因為他擔心男性在性慾中會佔女性的便宜。西格蒙德·弗洛伊德(Sigmund Freud ), 雖然不是天主教會的朋友, 也認為,人們不應該將生育與性行為分開。 (Patrick Coffin, Sex au Naturel, 77-78)
請你明了,天主並不是在告訴每個人要盡可能多生孩子,這總是由丈夫和妻子與天主來決定。
下週,我們將把這些想法與我們上週所說的像基督那樣奉獻自己的觀點結合起來,我們將更深入地探討「完全奉獻自己」的意義。
現在,我們繼續思考這樣一個事實:天主愛賜予生命。

資料來源:God Loves Giving Life

Posted: June 5, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 天主聖三節:聖三內在的生命與工作 吳智勳神父

不少教理書遇到天主聖三這個困難題目時,傾向輕輕帶過;這樣處理有點取巧、畏難的味道,未能夠發揮自己宗教信仰獨特的地方。回教和猶太教都是一神的宗教,信仰唯一的天主,但唯獨基督宗教是信天主三位一體的;所以教會在常年期再開始時,首先慶祝天主聖三節,就是希望我們正視這個信仰的根基。就讓我們以天主內在的生命、天主的工作這兩方面來談天主聖三。

繼續閱讀 >
「因父、及子、及聖神之名」 Shiu Lan

在鑒別天主聖三的三位時,我們不能把共融於一體的三位分開。

繼續閱讀 >