Never Leaving the Catholic Church


A: The First Reading begins, “Certain individuals came down from Judea and were teaching the brothers, ‘Unless you are circumcised according to the custom of Moses, you cannot be saved’” (Acts 15:1). Jewish people had been taught for over a thousand years that circumcision was necessary, and now that some of them became Christian, there was a heated debate over whether they still needed it.
N: To understand just how big of a deal this was for Jewish people who had chosen to follow Jesus, we have to ask ourselves if there used to be an idea or practice that we thought was necessary to life and Jesus changed our mind.
• For many Catholics today who follow Jesus, this happens with regard to sexuality: All our life, we were taught one thing about divorce, contraception, in-vitro fertilization, etc., but now Jesus teaches something different. The reason I bring up the topic of sexuality is because next week we’re going to begin a series on theology of the body.
• But, today, we’re concluding our last homily on relationships, and today we’re talking about our relationship to the Catholic Church, and the point is: A relationship with Jesus means a relationship with His Church.
S: The First Reading continues, “After Paul and Barnabas had no small dissension and debate with them, Paul and Barnabas and some of the others were appointed to go up to Jerusalem to discuss this question with the Apostles and the elders” (15:2). This matter was so important that elsewhere St. Paul writes that if Christians get circumcised for religious reasons, then Christ won’t be able to help them spiritually (Gal 5:2). So, if we were having a debate with other Christians about the morality of divorce, contraception, in-vitro fertilization, this could get very heated because these things touch our lives. How then do we resolve the debate?
• The text says that St. Paul and St. Barnabas visited the Christian leaders in Jerusalem, where there was an address by St. Peter, two more speeches, and then a common decision. And these leaders sent two representatives back to the people with a letter outlining their decision: “For it seemed good to the Holy Spirit and to us to impose on you no further burden than these essentials: that you abstain from what has been sacrificed to idols, and from blood and from what is strangled, and from fornication. If you keep yourselves from these, you will do well” (Acts 15:28-29).
o Do you see that point, ‘It seemed good to the Holy Spirit and to us’? They’re speaking for the Holy Spirit, for God. None of us would ever dare to say this, because we can’t make that kind of moral determination. But the apostles, under very strict conditions, can speak for God in terms of recognizing what’s moral and what’s not.
o In St. Matthew’s Gospel, Jesus said to St. Peter, “I tell you, you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my Church… Whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven” (Mt 16:18-19). This is Jesus making Peter His prime minister, with His authority.
This is why Catholics believe that the Pope and bishops, when they teach authoritatively and officially about moral and spiritual principles (and not, for example, just give an interview in which they share their opinion), teach in the name of Jesus.
• Think about it this way: When the early Christians had new questions to figure out, they didn’t consult the New Testament, because it didn’t even exist. And, once it did, it didn’t even answer every question. It can’t answer questions about cloning, because it didn’t know about cloning. And, if we go the route of Protestants, where there’s no ultimate authority and everyone interprets the Bible their own way, then we’re all divided. And if each of us had to do our own homework, about the morality of cloning, stem cell research, just war theory, etc., none of us could know Jesus’ teaching fully, because it would be too difficult, and there would be no certainty.
That’s why Jesus says today, “The advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything, and remind you of all that I have said to you” (Jn 14:26). What does that mean, ‘Will teach you everything’? Obviously, He won’t teach us calculus when we need it for a test. But when there’s a question for how Christians are to love, then the Holy Spirit teaches through the Pope and bishops.
• When I was 24, sitting at lunch with other seminarians, they mentioned to me that it could be a mortal sin to have impure thoughts. I was shocked. You’re telling me that I could go to hell for intentionally having impure thoughts? They said, “Yeah, didn’t you know that?” No. I knew it was wrong, but I didn’t know that it was that wrong.
o So I went to Msgr. O’Brien and asked him if this was true, and he said, “Yeah, didn’t you know that?” Why? “Well, when we look at Jesus’ words, ‘You have heard that it was said, “You shall not commit adultery.” But I say to you that every one who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart’ (Mt 5:27-28), then we realize the severity of what He’s talking about. Jesus is saying that sexuality is so sacred to the human person and such a gift that to lust after someone intentionally in your heart is to cut yourself off from God.” That made sense, and, after that, I started guarding my thoughts very carefully. But Jesus gave me the answer first, before explaining it. The Church pointed me in the right direction so that I would be safe, because, if I had to figure out the road by myself, I would be lost.
Has anyone heard of the A&E series Secrets of Playboy, a 12-part documentary about Hugh Hefner, who founded Playboy magazine and promoted pornography in our culture? “He justified his actions as ways to defeat the religious ‘repression’ of his Methodist parents and of American culture in general, aiming to replace it with complete freedom. But each episode of the documentary shows just how twisted Hefner’s kingdom of self-gratification became, as insiders discuss the many lives devastated by drug overdoses, suicides, sexual exploitation, and excess” (https://www.catholicworldreport.com/2022/05/10/ae-series-exposes-the-black-soul-of-the-devil-named-hugh-hefner/). We’re talking about a man who had decades of abusing women, trapping them in his mansion, inviting prostitutes, and devastating the world with pornography. So many women whom he sexually abused describe him as evil and the devil. Yet he was celebrated and enabled by Hollywood and the media. If the media really cared about society, women, and children, they would have exposed him decades ago.
• Here’s my point: The Church has been fighting against pornography ever since it started, and while there have been some Christian cultures who went so extreme as to become prudish and repressive, the Church was still right in fighting against pornography. But society has to learn the hard way. Now that Hefner is dead, the media produces this series as if they learned something.
It’s true that the Church has sinful bishops, but this doesn’t change the fact that, when they teach authoritatively on faith and morals, the Holy Spirit guides them from getting it wrong.
• Actually, the fact that some bishops are sinful proves the Holy Spirit is behind their official teaching. Because, what’s truly a miracle is that all these sinful bishops have never changed Jesus’ teaching even when they were breaking it.
And we need to remember that, just as the Church passes on the teachings of Christ, she also passes on His mercy. No one here is a bad person for having looked at pornography. Many of us never knew it was wrong, or how wrong it was; many started when we were too young to defend ourselves. Many of us don’t like it, even when we do it. And, if you feel sorrow in your heart, that’s a sign of God’s love for you and your love for God. God’s mercy is greater than lust. And purity of heart is not about the past, but about the present and future. So many people have become free through Jesus’ grace. Next week, I’ll give you a list of many saints who lived bad sexual lives and still became saints!
A: What I’d like to suggest to you today is that we renew our commitment to the Church. Specifically, I’m suggesting that you make a promise to Jesus that you never leave the Catholic Church.
• The media every year will expose the faults of the hierarchy, and if it’s fair, good. But most of the time they’ll exaggerate them. So, when they say, “Why are you still Catholic?” I answer, “In spite of her flaws, she’s still Jesus’ body and still bears the good news, and still points me in the right direction.”
V: One of our sisters here once got so hurt when she heard about Jesus’ teaching on divorce that she wondered if she was excommunicated, and she was so overwhelmed that she wrote me saying she may leave the Church. I tried to explain Jesus’ teaching, but no reply. The beautiful news was that, in a few weeks, she was back. Her love for Jesus meant that she obeyed Him, even when it was hard. And so she stayed close to the Church, and we were able to help her. She knew that a relationship with Jesus means a relationship with His Church.

Source: Never Leaving the Catholic Church

Posted:

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Do you think that I have come to bring peace on earth?” (Lk 12:51)
When we grow weary of the challenges we face in this world, we must look to Jesus who has looked beyond the Cross to the crown of glory that God… Continue Reading >
Faith Is Trusting That God Will Keep His Promises
We don’t know how and we don’t know when, but Jesus will return as he promised. When he does, we’d better be ready! Continue Reading >
For what do you live?
It is natural that we human beings have desires. A person without any desire soon loses one's purpose to live. Continue Reading >

永遠不會離開天主教會


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
第一篇讀經如此開始: 「有從猶太下來的幾個人教訓弟兄們說:『若是你們不按梅瑟的慣例行割損,不能得救。』」(宗15:1)。一千多年來,猶太人一直被教導割損是必要的,現在他們中的一些人成為了基督徒,對於他們是否仍然需要行割損有過激烈的辯論。
要了解這對選擇追隨耶穌的猶太人來說有多重要,我們必須問問自己,是否曾有過一種觀點或者做法,我們認為是生活所必需的,而耶穌改變了我們的想法。
對於今天追隨耶穌的許多天主教徒來說,這種情況發生在性方面:我們一輩都被教導過這些事,關於離婚、避孕、體外受精等,但現在耶穌傳授了一些不同的東西。我之所以提出性行為這個話題,是因為下週我們要開始一系列關於身體神學的講道。
但是,今天,我將以我們與天主教會的關係來結束我們上一輪關於「關係」的講道,重點是:與耶穌的關係就是與祂的教會的關係
第一篇讀經繼續說:「在保祿和巴爾納伯同他們起了不少的爭執和辯論;大家就指定保祿和巴爾納伯,與他們中的幾個人,上耶路撒冷去見宗徒和長老,討論這個問題。」(宗15:2) 這件事是如此重要,以至於聖保祿在其他地方寫道,若你們還願意受割損,基督對你們 就沒有什麼益處。 (迦5:2)。因此,如果我們與其他基督徒就離婚、避孕、體外受精的道德問題展開辯論,這場辯論可能會變得非常激烈,因為這些事情會影響我們的生活。那麼,我們如何解決這場辯論呢?
經文說聖保祿和聖巴爾納伯拜訪了耶路撒冷的基督教領袖,聖伯多祿在那裡發表了講話,又發表了兩次演講,然後做出了共同的決定。這些首領打發兩個使者,帶著一封信回到人們那裡,信中概述了他們的決定:「因為聖神和我們決定,不再加給你們重擔,除了這項重要的事;即戒食祭邪神之物,血和窒死之物,並戒避姦淫;若你們戒了這一切,那就好了。」(宗15:28-29)。
你明白這一點嗎?這對聖神和我們來說都是美好的。他們在為聖神說話,為天主說話。我們誰也不敢這樣說,因為我們不能做出那樣的道德決心。但使徒們,在非常嚴格的條件下,可以為天主說話,認識到什麼是道德的,什麼是不道德的。
在聖瑪竇福音中,耶穌對聖伯多祿說:「我再給你說:“『你是伯多祿(磐石),在這磐石上,我要建立我的教會…。凡你在地上所束縛的,在天上也要被束縛;凡你在地上所釋放的,在天上也要被釋放。 』」“(瑪16:18-19)。這是耶穌用祂的權柄任命伯多祿為掌管者。
這就是為什麼天主教徒相信,當教宗和主教以權威和正式的方式傳授道德和屬靈原則(而不僅僅是接受采訪,分享他們的觀點)時,他們是以耶穌的名義進行教導的。
這樣想一想:當早期基督徒有新的問題要解決時,他們沒有查閱《新約聖經》,因為它根本不存在。而且,一旦它真存在,它根本沒有回答所有的問題。它不能回答有關克隆 (cloning 複製)的問題,因為它不知道克隆。如果我們走新教徒的路線,沒有終極權威,每個人都以自己的方式解釋聖經,那麼我們都是分裂的。如果我們每個人都必須自己研究關於克隆的道德問題、幹細胞研究、正義戰爭理論等等,我們中沒有人能完全了解耶穌的教義,因為這太難了,也沒有確定性。
這就是為什麼耶穌今天說:「但那護慰者,就是父因我的名所要派遣來的聖神,他必要教訓你們一切,也要使你們想起,我對你們所說的一切。。」(若14:26)。 “「教訓你們一切」是什麼意思?顯然,當我們需要微積分考試時,他不會教我們微積分。但當基督徒有一個問題是如何去愛時,聖神就會通過教宗和主教來教導。
24歲的時候,我和其他神學院學生共進午餐,他們對我說,不純潔的想法是一種大罪。我當時很震驚。你是說我會因為故意產生不純潔的想法而下地獄?他們說:「是啊,你不知道嗎?」不是的。我知道這是不對的,但我不知道是如此嚴重的錯。
所以我去找奧布萊恩蒙席(Msgr. O’Brien ),問他這是不是真的,他說:「是的,你不知道嗎?」「為什麼?嗯,當我們看耶穌的話語時,「你們一向聽說過:『不可姦淫!』我卻對你們說:,凡注視婦女人,有意貪戀她的,他已經心裡姦淫了她。」(瑪5:27-28),我們就知道他所說的是何等嚴重了。耶穌說性對人類來說是如此神聖的恩賜,以至於在你心中刻意貪戀某個人就是切斷了自己與天主的關係。這是有道理的,從此,我開始非常小心地保護我的思想。但是耶穌先給了我答案,然後才加以解釋。教會為我指明了正確的方向,這樣我就會安全,因為如果我必須自己找出這條路,我就會迷路。
有沒有人聽說過A&E系列紀錄片《花花公子的秘密》,這部12集的紀錄片講述了休·赫夫納(Hugh Hefner) 的故事,他創辦了《花花公子》雜誌,並在我們的文化中推廣色情內容。 「他為自己的行為辯護,認為這是擊敗衛理公會(Methodist )教徒父母和整個美國文化的宗教『鎮壓』的方法,目的是用完全的自由取而代之。但這部紀錄片的每一集都顯示出赫夫納的自我滿足王國變得多麼扭曲,如內部人士討論的,許多人的生活被過量吸毒、自殺、性剝削和摧毀了。」(https://www.catholicworldreport.com/2022/05/10/ae-series-exposes-the-black-soul-of-the-devil-named-hugh-hefner/)。我們談論的是一個男人,他幾十年來虐待女性,把她們困在自己的豪宅里,召妓,用色情作品摧毀世界。被他性侵的許多女性都把他描述為邪惡和魔鬼。然而,他得到了好萊塢和媒體的讚揚和支持。如果媒體真的關心社會、婦女和兒童,他們幾十年前就會將他曝光了。
我的觀點是:教會從一開始就一直在與色情作鬥爭,雖然有一些基督教文化變得極端,過於保守和專制,但教會在打擊色情方面仍然是正確的。社會必須以艱辛的方式吸取教訓。現在赫夫納去世了,媒體製作這部電視制所就好像他們已學到了什麼。
誠然,教會有一些犯罪的主教,但這並不能改變這樣一個事實,即當他們以權威教導信仰和道德時,聖神會引導他們不犯錯誤。
事實上,一些主教犯罪的事實證明聖神是他們官方教義的幕後主導者。因為,真正的奇蹟是,即使他們犯了罪, 所有這些犯罪的主教從來沒有改變過耶穌的教義。
我們需要記住,就像教會傳遞基督的教導一樣,她也傳遞了祂的慈悲。這裡沒有一個人因為看過色情作品而成為壞人。我們中的許多人從來不知道這是錯誤的,也不知道它是多麼罪大惡極;許多人在我們小時候,在我們無知和無法捍衛自己的情況下開始的。我們許多人都不喜歡這樣,即使當我們這麼做的時候。如果你心裡感到悲傷,那就是天主對你的愛和你對天主的愛。天主的慈悲比你的淫欲更大。心靈的純潔不是關於過去,而是關於現在和未來。通過耶穌的恩典,許多人獲得了自由。下週,我將給你一份名單,列出許多性生活不佳但仍然成為聖人!
我今天想向你們建議的是,我們重申我們對教會的承諾。具體地說,我建議你向耶穌承諾,你永遠不會離開天主教會。
媒體每年都會揭露等級(hierarchy)制度的缺陷,如果是公平的,那就是好的。但在大多數情況下,他們會誇大事實。所以,當他們說,「為什麼你還是天主教徒?」我回答說:「儘管她有缺陷,但她仍然是耶穌的奧體,仍然承載著好消息,仍然為我指明了正確的方向。」
我們這裡的一位姐妹,當她聽說耶穌關於離婚的教義時,她受到了極大的傷害,她想知道自己是否被逐出了教會,她不知所措,給我寫信說她可能會離開教會。我試著解釋耶穌的教導,但沒有回應。好消息是,幾週後,她回來了。她對耶穌的愛意味著—即使是在困難的時候, 她會順從祂。因此,她與教會保持密切關係,我們能夠幫助她。她知道與耶穌的關係就是與祂的教會的關係。

資料來源:Never Leaving the Catholic Church

Posted: May 22, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 復活期第六主日:分辨與突破 吳智勳神父

今天的第一與第三篇讀經都提到聖神,讓我們以聖神的恩賜來做主題。教會常說聖神七恩,其實聖神的恩典又豈止七個?不過,聖經的數字七,包含圓滿的意義。今天我們反省兩件聖神的恩賜,就是分辨和突破,傳統稱為上智和明達的恩賜。

繼續閱讀 >
什麼是真正的平安? May Tam

耶穌有平安因為祂擁有平安之源。耶穌能賜平安,因為祂是和平之王。

繼續閱讀 >