Are we as capable as the wicked steward in securing our future with God?

Twenty-fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Amos 8:4-7

Hear this, you who trample upon the needy and destroy the poor of the land! “When will the new moon be over,” you ask, “that we may sell our grain, and the sabbath, that we may display the wheat? We will diminish the ephah, add to the shekel, and fix our scales for cheating! We will buy the lowly for silver, and the poor for a pair of sandals; even the refuse of the wheat we will sell!” The LORD has sworn by the pride of Jacob: Never will I forget a thing they have done!

1 Timothy 2:1-8

Beloved: First of all, I ask that supplications, prayers, petitions, and thanksgivings be offered for everyone, for kings and for all in authority, that we may lead a quiet and tranquil life in all devotion and dignity. This is good and pleasing to God our savior, who wills everyone to be saved and to come to knowledge of the truth. For there is one God. There is also one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as ransom for all. This was the testimony at the proper time. For this I was appointed preacher and apostle — I am speaking the truth, I am not lying —, teacher of the Gentiles in faith and truth. It is my wish, then, that in every place the men should pray, lifting up holy hands, without anger or argument.

Luke 16:1-13

Jesus said to his disciples, “A rich man had a steward who was reported to him for squandering his property. He summoned him and said, ‘What is this I hear about you? Prepare a full account of your stewardship, because you can no longer be my steward.’ The steward said to himself, ‘What shall I do, now that my master is taking the position of steward away from me? I am not strong enough to dig and I am ashamed to beg. I know what I shall do so that, when I am removed from the stewardship, they may welcome me into their homes.’ He called in his master’s debtors one by one. To the first he said, ‘How much do you owe my master?’ He replied, ‘One hundred measures of olive oil.’ He said to him, ‘Here is your promissory note. Sit down and quickly write one for fifty.’ Then to another the steward said, ‘And you, how much do you owe?’ He replied, ‘One hundred kors of wheat.’ The steward said to him, ‘Here is your promissory note; write one for eighty.’ And the master commended that dishonest steward for acting prudently. “For the children of this world are more prudent in dealing with their own generation than are the children of light. I tell you, make friends for yourselves with dishonest wealth, so that when it fails, you will be welcomed into eternal dwellings. The person who is trustworthy in very small matters is also trustworthy in great ones; and the person who is dishonest in very small matters is also dishonest in great ones. If, therefore, you are not trustworthy with dishonest wealth, who will trust you with true wealth? If you are not trustworthy with what belongs to another, who will give you what is yours? No servant can serve two masters. He will either hate one and love the other, or be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and mammon.”

One of Jesus’ preferred methods of teaching is through parables. Though His parables are simple, often making use of everyday things, they conveyed messages that are deep and memorable. Like the parable of the unjust steward in this Sunday’s Gospel Reading; the story is straightforward and the deeds of the steward are rather commonplace. What is surprising and disturbing is the commendation that the steward receives. How can we expect to hear from Jesus that a dishonest steward who swindles his employer’s wealth and later even stealing more from him, gains praise from his employer? Certainly a puzzling parable that many of us find difficulty to understand!

To understand this parable’s unusual ending, let us first focus on the steward himself. We cannot but appreciate the decisiveness, resourcefulness and prudence of the steward when faced with the specter of disgrace and poverty. He does not waste time to justify himself with the master, nor he allows himself to have any illusion of finding another employment. His concern is to secure his future now. He is quick to come up with a solution and immediately acts on it. This is what Jesus’ comment about; he is not approving the steward’s immorality, but his cleverness. Jesus purposely sets the scene to draw from the story an important but unexpected lesson – the disappointing fact that, worldly-minded people show a keener sense of shrewdness to secure their future without delay than Jesus’ disciples do about the Kingdom of God.

While it is nothing wrong to provide ourselves and our loved ones a good life and a promising future, we should use our resources and abilities wisely and honestly. We should understand that we are that steward and God is the master. One day, each one of us has to give our master an account of what we have been entrusted – talent, time, wealth etc. Cardinal Thomas Collins, in his pastoral letter on
stewardship (October 7, 2018), reminds us of God’s gracious gifts and the proper attitude in using these gifts, namely, to live gratefully in service to others through sharing of these gifts. We are to act as responsible trustees with a deeper spirit of stewardship. He further points out that “the ideas of servant, disciple, and apostle – so central in the scriptures – all include the idea of stewardship”.

And stewardship is not limited to only looking after earthly assets; for no matter how successful one looks after one’s possessions, like the rich fool in Luke’s Gospel (rf Lk 12: 13-21), these will all pass away. But if we apply the same shrewdness in building God’s kingdom here on earth, we lay up for ourselves the inexhaustible treasures in heaven where “neither rust nor moth destroys, nor thieves break in and steal.” (Mt 6:20). Are we as capable as the wicked steward in securing our future with God?

Posted: September 22, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

God Never Gives up on Us; Why Should We?
Be persistent, “will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to Him day and night?” (Lk 18:7)  Continue Reading >
The miracle of the ten lepers
“God calls us to live in gratitude, obeying with joy to the One who has given us so much, infinitely more than we could ever give to him” (Pope Francis… Continue Reading >
Healing is Simpler Than Imagined
I know a man who’s got a lot of problems: He struggles with his closest relationships, with his work, and with his direction in life. He blames everything: God hasn’t… Continue Reading >

我們是否如不義管家般能幹,保障自己在天主內的未來?

常年期第二十五主日

亞毛斯先知書 8:4-7

聽著:壓榨窮人,使世上弱小者無法生存的人哪!你們聽吧!你們說:「月朔幾時才過去,好讓我們賣五穀?安息日幾時才過去,好讓我們打開糧倉,縮小『厄法』,加重『協刻耳』,用假秤騙人?用銀錢購買窮人;以一雙鞋,換取貧民;連麥糠也賣掉?」上主指著雅各伯的榮耀,發誓說:「我永遠不會忘記他們的所作所為。」

弟茂德前書 2:1-8

親愛的:首先我勸導眾人,要為一切人,並為眾君王,及一切有權位的人,懇求、祈禱、轉求和謝恩,為叫我們能安心,度虔敬、端莊、寧靜和平安的生活。這原是美好的,並在我們的救主天主面前,是蒙受悅納的。因為他願意所有人得救,並充分認識真理。因為天主只有一個,在天主與人之間的中保,也只有一位,就是降生成人的基督耶穌。基督奉獻了自己,為眾人作贖價;這事在所規定的時期,已被證實了,而我也就是為了這事,被立為宣道者和宗徒,在信仰和真理上,做了外邦人的教師。我說的是真話,並無虛言。我願意男人,在各地,舉起聖潔的手祈禱,不應發怒和爭吵。

路加福音 16:1-13

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「曾有一個富翁,他有一個管家。有人在主人前,告發這管家,指他揮霍了主人的財物。主人便把管家叫來,向他說:我怎麼聽說你有這樣的事?把你管理家務的賬目,交出來,因為你不能再作管家了。「那管家自言自語說:主人要撤去我管家的職務,我可做什麼呢?掘地吧,我沒有氣力;討飯吧,我又害羞。我知道我要做什麼,好叫人們,在我被撤去管家職務之後,收留我在他們家中。「於是,他把主人的債戶一一叫來。給第一個說:你欠我主人多少?那人說:一百桶油。管家向他說:拿你的賬單,坐下,快寫作五十。隨後,又給另一個說:你欠多少?那人說:一百石麥子。管家向他說:拿你的賬單,寫作八十。「主人於是稱讚這個不義的管家,辦事精明。這些今世之子,應付自己的世代,比光明之子,更加精明。「我告訴你們:要用不義的錢財,交結朋友,為在你們匱乏的時候,好叫他們收留你們到永遠的帳幕裡。「在小事上忠信的,在大事上也忠信;在小事上不義的,在大事上也不義。那麼,如果你們在不義的錢財上,不忠信,誰還會把真實的錢財,委託給你們呢?如果你們在別人的財物上,不忠信,誰還會把屬於你們的,交給你們呢?「沒有一個家僕,能事奉兩個主人。他或是要恨這一個,而愛那一個,或是要依附這一個,而輕忽那一個。你們不能事奉天主,而又事奉錢財。」

比喻是其中一個耶穌喜歡使用的教導方法。雖然他的比喻是簡單的,經常取材於日常生活,但其帶出的訊息卻是深入和令人印象深刻的。正如今個主曰福音讀經裏面不忠信管家的比喻,故事簡單直接,而管家的行為也是常見的事。令人驚奇和困擾的是管家得到的稱讚。我們怎可能相信會從耶穌口中聽到一個揮霍甚至後來竊取僱主財物的不誠實管家會得到僱主的讚許?這比喻確實令人費解。

要明白這比喻不尋常的結局,讓我們首先把注意力集中於這個管家。我們確實要欣賞該管家面對被撤職的恥辱和貧困時,所顯露出的決斷、機智和謹慎。他沒有浪費時間對主人交待解釋,也不容許自己有找到另一份工作的空想。他關心的是要立刻保障自己的未來。他迅速找到解決方法,並馬上實行。耶穌是為此而下評語; 衪認同的並非管家的不道德,而是他的聰明。在這故事裡,耶穌特意舖排一個重要但叫人意想不到的教訓 — 那令人失望的事實,是心念世事的世俗人,對於應付自己的未來絕不遲疑,比耶穌門徒應付天國的事,更為敏銳精明。

為自己和自己至親提供富足的生活和美好的未來是沒有問題的,但我們應該聰明並誠實地運用自己的資源和能力。我們要明白,自己就是那個管家,而天主就是主人。有一天,我們每一個人都要向主人交代他委託我們管理的一切 — 天賦、時間和財富等等。Thomas Collins 樞機在他有關教友的管家職務的牧函(二零一八年十月七日)裏提醒我們,天主的隆恩厚䁑和我們運用這些禮物的正確態度,就是在生活上懷着感恩的心,並藉着分享聖恩,服務他人。我們要以較為認真的管家精神,擔當負責任的受託者。他更指出「僕人、門徒和宗徒這些聖經中的核心理念,都包含了管家這個概念」。

管家的職分並不只限於管理世上產業;無論一個人如何成功地厚積財產,終於有一天財富都會逝去,就如《路加福音》裏那糊塗的富人 (參 路 12:23-21)。 如果我們同樣精明,在世間建造天主的國,我們便為自己在天堂置了用不盡的財富,「那裏沒有蟲蛀,沒有銹蝕,那裏也沒有賊挖洞偷竊」(瑪 6:20)。我們是否如不義管家般能幹,保障自己在天主內的未來?

Posted: September 22, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙常年期第廿五主日:明智地處事 吳智勳神父

今日的福音是由一個比喻和幾個教訓連在一起,表面上都是講錢財,其實各有各的訊息,最多以「明智」兩字把它們連起來。

繼續閱讀 >
政教應該分離嗎? Fr. Jusin Huang

一九五五年十二月一日,當一名公交司機要求黑人乘客給白人乘客讓座時,遭到了一位四十二歲名叫羅莎Rosa Parks的黑人婦女的拒絕。由於當時的種族主義,黑人只能坐在公車的後面。司機說:「你們最好放聰明點,讓出那些位子。」其他的三個黑人都讓出了他們的座位,但是羅莎沒有。司機問:「你為什麼不站起來?」她回答說:「我認為我沒必要站起來。」「好吧,如果你不站起來,我只能報警逮捕你。」「你可以這麼做」,四天后羅莎被判有罪,遭到逮捕。

繼續閱讀 >